Located on a corner lot, this three bedroom/two bath pet friendly ski lease and rental cabin features newer flooring, brand new redwood deck with hot tub and patio furniture, rock fireplace and HD TV in the living room, good winter access, and a loft area for extra living space. The pet friendly vacation rental cabin is located in Agate Bay (between Tahoe Vista and Carnelian Bay on the north shore of Lake Tahoe). In the summer, the home is within walking distance of the Agate Bay pool, tennis courts, Patton Beach (pet/dog friendly), and Carnelian Bay.
*For larger groups including weddings and family reunions, this pet friendly vacation... rental is across the street from the Rice Dog Friendly Rental, and about 5 doors down from the Brogden Dog Friendly Cabin, and the Empey North Tahoe Vacation Rental.
All Agate Bay Realty vacation rental homes are fully equipped with free high speed wireless internet, linens, bath towels (equal to the maximum occupancy of the house), pots/pans, dishes, microwave, coffee pot, blender, toaster, TV & DVD, washer & dryer, and barbeque (many are only usable in the summer). The house will also provide a starter set of toilet paper, soap, and paper towels.
Agate Bay Realty guests can purchase Discount Lift Tickets through our office to Northstar-at-Tahoe, Alpine Meadows, Squaw Valley and Diamond Peak. The tickets are good everyday of the season and you save $10-$30 per ticket depending on the dates of redemption and packages.
The Agate Bay Pool & Pier facilities are open from the Saturday before Fathers Day to the Sunday of Labor Day.Read more
Butterfield Tahoe Pet Friendly Cabin - Hot Tub Agate Bay, California
Additional Location Information
Conveniently located in Agate Bay (between Kings Beach and Tahoe City) and close to Northstar, Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. In the summer, the property has access to a community pool, pier & buoy field, and tennis courts.
More About This Location
Lake nearby, Mountain nearby, Resort
AvailableUnavailableLast updated: April 10, 2014◀▶
Left on 08/01/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Magda
We rented this house with another couple to celebrate a 30th birthday and couldn't have asked for more! Coming from the city, we wanted a deck so that we could sit outside an enjoy meals, a bbq for grilling and a hot tub for the chilly nights. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking, complete with condiments, spices and grilling tools. There was access to the pool, private beach club, and tennis. It was also central for many hiking trails and King's beach.
Left on 07/18/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Tahoe visit
We had a wonderful stay at the Butterfield. The deck was great for dining. The hot tub was wonderful after a day at the lake. The living room was comfy and warm. The kitchen is small but well equipped. It suited our needs perfectly for a nice quiet little get away. My only minor complaint is that It was a tiny bit smaller than I imagined, however it was perfect for the four of us.
Left on 01/10/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Cheryl
I really enjoyed staying here especially because of the location of the home. It is very close (15 mins) to the Safeway grocery store and the Northstar Ski Resort. The size and comfort were pretty good and we really enjoyed the amenities such as the fireplace and the backyard. The only thing that we found a bit troublesome is that, although the cleanliness of the place was pretty good, it seemed that there was a bit of dust in the rooms and it gave some of us allergies. Other than that, the kitchen, bathrooms, living room and pretty much every other living space was very clean and comfortable. I would definitively stay here again! The service we received was amazing, they answered all of our questions and we had a great time!!
Left on 01/10/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Jen M
We had a wonderful time staying at the Butterfield over New Year's Eve 2010! The home is well-equipped with everything we needed -- firewood, towels, linens, kitchen equipment, etc. We so enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace and cooked many delicious meals in the kitchen. Then beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and spacious. Excellent accommodations and service.
Left on 01/10/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Vicki from PTown
We stayed at the Butterfield between Christmas and New Years. We had two grandmothers, two couples, and one 15 year old. There was plenty of room for all of us. The house, though not modern, had a beautiful floor to roof top window where we could enjoy the foot and 1/2 of snow that fell over night while we were there. The fireplace was stocked with lots of wood which came in very handy! The kitchen was well stocked with plates and utinsels. We took our left over Christmas dinner up with us and enjoyed the left overs surround by beautiful scenery. The snow plows came and made it easier for my wonderful husband who had to deal with the chains for two cars!! Overall a very memorable and wonderful stay.
Left on 09/17/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Looking for the perfect rental
We love agate Bay but haven't found the perfect rental. This house was very clean but it needs a lot of TLC. The bedding is horrible, I recommend you bring your own. Cooking utensils are cheap and worn, don't plan on cutting anything with the knives, they need to be sharpened or replaced. Upstairs bathroom leaked into bottom bathroom, plumber said the wax ring was bad. Tv faded in and out, never did figure out why. Just lots of little things...not good when your spending over 2k for 6 nights! If the owners spend a little money this place would be great. Very sunny, nice location. If you stretch really hard you can see the lake! Read more
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated as it enables us to make improvements that we wouldn't otherwise know are necessary. The tv problem was related to the low quality of HD availability in the area, which has since been resolved. The plumber did replace the wax seal as a precaution but indicated to us that the leak was due to the toilet repeatedly overflowing during your stay, as you had indicated to the plumber. Please note that you were not charged for the plumber's visit or the ensuing damage, but in the future please do contact the office sooner rather than later if there is a plumbing issue. Thank you again!
Dated T.V.s / Uncomfortable Living furniture and sapping deck
Left on 10/01/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | RHINO
For the most part the time spent at this home was enjoyable.
The furniture was very uncomfortable, and the T.V. was very small for todays standards.
The deck was nice, with the exception that the Realter should have removed the tree sap that was on the floor of the deck, as it kept us from using the table and chairs on that side of the deck. Our dogs kept getting it all over their feet, which they did not like.
Other than that the home was nice, if these things were corrected, I would stay there again, but if not I would not recomend staying.
Thank you for your review. We do spray off the decks and patio furniture of pollen during the summer but many times additional pollen and sap drops on the deck during your stay because of the trees adjacent to the deck.
A rented vacation home that required work from us.....
Left on 08/18/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | LoveTahoe
The home is beautiful but poorly maintained. The toilets were clogged, the stove only had 2 burners that worked.(yes I did push in the electric conductors) The fuses blew several times during the week without any extra electrical devices plugged in. The biggest problem was the spa. On the last evening my daughter developed a rash that later turned into puss filled red bumps all over her waiste, arms and legs. The doctor's said it was a staph infection from the spa. the last day we were there we looked for chlorine but to no avail. We could only surmise that they empited the spa weekly as opposed to weekly maintaining the proper chemical balance. Or perhaps the weekly/monthly spa treatment was missed. Not sure. No we won't return to this home. Read more
Thank you for staying at the Butterfield home. We did some investigation into the issues that you mention. The spa, like all the spa's, are serviced prior to each guests arrival and departure. Lake Tahoe Spa Company indicated that the water was a real good condition on August 1st but the hot tub needed a dump & scrub on August 8th when you departed. The tub has an automatic bromine feeder so you would notice chlorine. In turn, it seems that the cause may have been one or some of your children in your group may have urinated in the hot tub or people were not using the tub properly. This also make sense because your daughter didn't get the rash at the beginning of the week when you checked in but rather on your last night. This also substantiates Lake Tahoe Spa Company's records that the tub was clean upon your arrival. As far as the oven burners, we have had two additional tenants come in the home and they have indicated all the burners are working. Lastly, toilets are typically clogged by guests accidentally putting too much in the toilet or something that doesn't belong in the toilet not by the toilet themselves. The entire sewer line was replaced in June 2009 so everything has been working real well before and after your stay. Thank you again for staying.
The place I would like to come back every year
Left on 08/03/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | icebee
Excellent home, very clean, very convinience.
The only thing is I lelf my pillow from my bed set. I called the management company but they have never returned to me. Read more
Thank you for the review. As we mentioned, unfortunately the housekeeper never found your pillow in the home. If it turns up, we can contact you. Thank you again for staying with us.
San Francisco, CA
Home Away from Home
Left on 06/13/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | Aprileeta
Independence Day has always been my holiday and I can't imagine a better place to spend it than Agate Bay in Tahoe. I booked the Butterfield Home through www.homeaway.com for a group of friends and we could not have imagined a nicer place to stay. The house felt incredibly homey and came with everything we could have asked for. We had a great time grilling out, relaxing in the hot tub and visiting the nearby pool. The ice cream shop and beach volleyball court were great added perks too.
Butterfield itself had everything we needed. It was in great condition and spotless when we arrived. The layout was perfect for our group and the house's living room was a comfortable spot to hang out and play games after a day in the sun. We look forward to returning to Butterfield again and again in the future! Thanks so much!
Left on 06/04/2009 for a stay in September 2008 | CHRIS
This house is great, we spent a week with our 2 golden retrievers. loved the nice quiet neighborhood, views of lake from deck. The location is excellent, everything on the north shore is very accessible. The dogs were very comfortable there also and enjoyed the walks you can take from the house....Hot tub was a nice way to relax under the stars after dinner each night. We can't wait to get back!
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.