|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyNo
Description from the manager
Murella is a recently restored house set in a national park crowning the hill of MonteMarcello, in a small dell surrounded by Holm oaks. Set in its own terraced garden, this house is in an ideal position for exploring the hill villages and coast of the Cinque Terre, Liguria and Northern Tuscany; it's also the perfect place to return to after your travels and relax under the pergola with a glass of local white wine.
All ground floor rooms have French windows, making the outside pergola and garden part of the everyday use of the house and giving a very summery feel. Walking in from the large pergola one enters an elegantly furnished livin...Read more
Ameglia, Liguria, Italy
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP) (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$2,174 - $2,896||$0||7 nights|
|Jan. 5 2013 - Mar. 23 2013
|Mar. 23 2013 - Apr. 6 2013
|Apr. 6 2013 - May. 4 2013
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 29 2013
|Jun. 29 2013 - Sep. 7 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Oct. 5 2013
|Oct. 5 2013 - Dec. 21 2013
|Dec. 21 2013 - Jan. 4 2014
|View all 8 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 05, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Not for the fainthearted !
We couldn't believe how filthy the property was when we arrived ! If we hadn't had a young child and extended family and if it had been earlier in the day, we probably would have left straightaway...
We spent the first evening and first morning cleaning to make the place bearable for our stay:
- the bathrooms were dirty (one shower full of hair),
- everything was sticky in the kitchen (fridge, antique glass cabinet, dishwasher...), footprints on the base in the inside of the fridge, food or drink spillages in the fridge
- glasses were dirty
- we brushed the floor in the living area of the property and collected half of a dustpan of hair and dust
- the place was covered in dust
- every corner of the house has cobwebs and spiders ...
The owner encourages the holiday makers to leave organic waste at the limit of the property (which by the way is not fully enclosed): the wild boars of the forrest come and visit at night to eat the waste: this results in the grounds to be covered with wild boar dejections, so you have to be careful where you walk! Our stay was also at the end of a hot and long summer: there was not grass left on the property, just bare brown soil
We were so relieved to go home at the end of our stay ...
It could be a fantastic holiday home if the place was well maintained.
To add to our disappointment: although we sent some feedback to the property agent on our return, we still haven't heard from them, since their last visit of this property
Response from Invitation to Tuscany Ltd - 01/28/2013
We were very sorry to hear of your experience, and even more to hear that you had written and we had not responded - we have now found the email and don't know why it wasn't picked up. We will be looking into why the owners normally good standards of cleanliness slipped so much, and shall make sure this doesn't happen again.
An update. Dear Sandrine, I have since discovered that Laura had been in touch with you but you never responded, as you haven't responded to my later emails. The owner is mortified and is changing cleaners, but this could have been solved on the day you arrived if you contacted either the owner, or our on-ground reps and we could have sent more cleaners round. We remain very sorry this happened, but can't solve things with no communications at all.
Peaceful and relaxing
Holiday home was set in a rural area and would not have been accessible without robust transport as the unmade roads were very bumpy!
The house itself is beautiful and has everything you could want but it was slightly disconcerting to have the owner within a short distance who watched our movements and even phoned when we had left some external lights on in error.
It was an expensive property and we did find this lack of privacy slightly intrusive, although the owners were very helpful
all in all we had a good time but would not go back to this property
La Murella - a pleasant house in a most beautiful setting.
We had a lovely holiday at La Murella. Unusually for us, we spent much of our holiday at our holiday home itself - playing in the pool and the beautiful gardens, and walking nearby. Our children especially enjoyed the daily visits of a family of wild boar who cane down to the garden from the woods each afternoon. We were in Italy during a heatwave, and really appreciated the cool and shade of the trees and gardens. It was wonderful to have so much sun, but it was incredibly hot at night - and there were many mosquitoes. The one improvement to our stay would have been to have had mosquito screens on at least some of the windows and doors.
The owners of La Murella are extremely friendly and helpful, but not at all intrusive. It was really nice to meet them.
Response from Invitation to Tuscany Ltd - 10/22/2010
We're very pleased you enjoyed Le Murella - it is one of my favourite houses! We have had several reports of mosquitoes this year - apparently the damp May meant that there were more around than normal, and they were also in places were we have not had reports before. The owner is fitting mosquito nets to all the windows for 2011, so hopefully they will be less of a problem for future guests. Kind regards, Dan Wrightson
Fantastic House and area
Le Murella is a beautiful genuine Italian House. It's very nice and have everything you need both inside and outside. Garden is great with swimmingpool and good chairs there is even hammock in the tree. The area around is amazing and if you like walking it's great to visit the nearby small villages for a cappucino, local marked or go to the beach. The owner was very helpful, speaks excellent english and was happy to share information with us. Well worth a stay. we already planning to go back again soon.
Not sure i should tell you this but...
This house is set in a beautiful secluded setting of woodland. Its on the wrong side of the hill for the spectacular views over the Bay of Poets but its still stunning all the same. The pool is big enough for adults to exercise as well as kids to play. The kitchen is well fitted with mod cons and the beds are comfortable. The wildlife is amazing but best of all are the owners welcome you as long lost friends and see to your every request or leave you alone as is needed.
We never go back to the same place twice but are planning our third summer holiday there this year. I don't like telling people in case it becomes too popular and we cant book it again in the future!
Perfect place, perfect location.
From Pisa to the village only needed a good driver and Sat Nav. Our flight times had been changed to late in the evening. No problems we emailed Invitation to Tuscany who arranged with the owener to meet us for a late arrival. Nothing seemed to much trouble and Margot met us at the local Restaurant at 11pm. Margot then guided us to the house. It sits in a National Park about 10 minutes from the main road. Margo spent a short time with us going through the House domestic's and promised to come and see the following morning after breakfast to give us some more information about the area. Margo's husband also went to a lot of trouble to try and sort out a Wifi problem. What service you couldn't ask for more than that.
The house was set in a quiet location with a well tended garden and pool. At breakfast and in the early evening we were fortunate enough to see wild boar at the bottom of the garden. A pretty house, well renovated providing all the requirements three couples could need.
Most days after breakfast using the excellent guide information we explored the beautiful villages and small towns. Faboulous scenery with mediterranean coloured houses clinging to the hillsides. The equally attractive coast line with small harbours and bars were all within a short drive. To our suprise we found the cost of a Cafe Latte between one and two Euro and a meal equally well priced - good food in stunning locations.
All six of us enjoyed our holiday. Not one for the infirm as the locals seem to live hanging off cliff edges. If you enjoy stunning scenery and are happy to drive its the place for you. Great fun, friendly local people, breathtaking scenery.
Idyllic, peaceful location. Magic surroundings, comfortable house. the host is most welcoming and always ready to help. Do remember to take insect repellent as the mozzies can be enthusiastic!
great area -could be a great villa.
This house was full of potential but like so many holiday lets, it was ill-equipped and uncomfortable.
No thought went into the stay of guests: for example there were only 2 sun-loungers for this 3 bedroomed house.
2 uncomfortable armchairs and a small 2 seater sofa.
The pool was not heated. There were no mosquito screens on the windows and so during hot weather you would not be able to open the windows at night.
There were many messages from previous guests in the guest book, complaining about the merciless mosquito's.
It doesn't cost much to fit these and so their absence was a big issue for such pricey accommodation.
The road to the villa was really shocking. It was like driving on a dry river bed a mile long and so we always dreaded coming and going in our hired car.
So for the money we paid we were very disappointed.
If the owners spent a small amount of money on making the villa more comfortable it would be a great place to recommend as the location is great and the surrounding garden setting is beautiful.
There are so many great places and beaches close by and I would definitely recommend the area.
Response from Invitation to Tuscany Ltd - 02/18/2011
This comment is incredibly unfair! The owner of Le Murella is one of our most engaged and striving owners - he is constantly thinking of ways to improve the house and making changes or buying new furniture. He spends enormous amounts of money trying to make this house perfect in every way. We have never had a comment like this about this beautiful house - and I have just re-read the entire house-book from 2009 to check. The only legitimate comment is about the mosquitoes - I have never noticed them but a couple of other customers have, and Ottavio (the owner) is going to fit mosquito nets to all the windows. There are plenty of sun-loungers, a comfortable lounge and a beautiful table under the pergola. Very few pools are heated in Italy, and it is very non-ecological to do so. We have 2 houses with heated pools - one uses solar panels, the other waste heat from nearby geo-thermal sources. I'm very disappointed you felt the need to write such an untrue comment particularly after the owner specifically bought a separate child pool for your child before you arrived.
A further comment: the pool is now heated and the road has been re-surfaced; tarmacamed as far as it was, then new drainage and surfacing on the white road.
Where my family is
My 60th Birthday
To celebrate my birthday I gathered four of my kids from all over Europe, and we came to Le Murella for a week of get-together and rest. The place is beautiful, secluded yet just a few minutes drive from the neighbouring villages and town, not to mention the trips to Lerici, Cinque Terre, etc. The house was everything we expected. When we had a small problem with the Internet, the owner came all the way from Milan to help us out. We were six of us in the house, and we all remember our stay as an exhilarating yet relaxing experience.