|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This mountain escape is perched atop Scenic Wolf Ski Resort, offering your family the perfect place to get away and relax. Game Keeper is tastefully decorated with a hunting lodge theme, and has an open kitchen, dining, and living area that will bring you together with your loved ones during special quality time. After a long day of outdoor adventures, spend some downtime curled up by a cozy fire while the kids play downstairs in the game room on the ping pong and air hockey tables. The view will lure you to take a break on the covered back decks, where you can grill out and soak in the hot tub while you take in the extraordinary valley vista...Read more
Asheville, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Get $75 off your stay See Details »
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,432 - $2,797||$0||2 nights|
|Apr. 2 2013 - May. 22 2013
|May. 23 2013 - May. 29 2013
|May. 30 2013 - Jun. 26 2013
|Jun. 27 2013 - Jul. 31 2013
|Aug. 1 2013 - Aug. 28 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 29 2013 - Sep. 2 2013
|Sep. 3 2013 - Sep. 30 2013
|Oct. 1 2013 - Oct. 31 2013
|Nov. 1 2013 - Nov. 24 2013
|Nov. 25 2013 - Dec. 2 2013
|Dec. 3 2013 - Dec. 19 2013
|Dec. 20 2013 - Dec. 27 2013
|Dec. 28 2013 - Jan. 2 2014
|Jan. 3 2014 - Apr. 16 2014
|Apr. 17 2014 - Apr. 21 2014
|Apr. 22 2014 - May. 21 2014
|May. 22 2014 - May. 28 2014
|May. 29 2014 - Jun. 26 2014
|Jun. 27 2014 - Jul. 31 2014
|Aug. 1 2014 - Aug. 27 2014
|Aug. 28 2014 - Sep. 2 2014
|Sep. 3 2014 - Sep. 30 2014
|Oct. 1 2014 - Oct. 31 2014
|Nov. 1 2014 - Nov. 23 2014
|Nov. 24 2014 - Dec. 1 2014
|Dec. 2 2014 - Dec. 19 2014
|Dec. 20 2014 - Dec. 27 2014
|Dec. 28 2014 - Jan. 4 2015
|View all 28 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great Rental--Poor Mangagement
I thoroughly enjoyed the rental; however, it took me months to get back my deposit! I have a feeling that if I didn't bother management with a phone call nearly every day, I would never have gotten my deposit back.
Response from Carolina Mornings - 03/12/2013
Thank you for your kind review of Game Keeper and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We mailed the original check within the standard time frame to your address on file and after we were notified that you never received it we immediately dispatched the replacement check. We were delighted to hear in your email to us that you were pleased with our service and plan to return next year. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return!
A very relaxing experience
My children and I really enjoyed staying in Mars Hill for the weekend. We would do it again.
The house was nice and a good location.
The website did say the indoor pool would open on april 1st and it did not which was a little disappointing but the kids found other things to occupy their time.
Our cabin was very clean and very homey. The only thing we needed to do was stock our refrigerator. All utensils, cookware, cleaning products, etc. were already there. The family went to rest and relax and get restored and that is what we did. Our mental and physical states were restored and for that I am very thankful. The view was breathtaking and the weather was perfect - I know that only God is in charge of those two things but it just made our stay even better. We enjoyed playing ping pong and air hockey and my daughter enjoyed the hot tub. We had a wonderful guide for a horseback ride.
A group of my friends and I planned this trip from Charlotte to see asheville and the surrounding area. The cabin was very cozy and the views were amazing. I would recommend this resort/cabin without question.
The website says the cabin sleeps 10, which it does, but I would call it 9 comfortably (not including the big couch). The basement had so much room for activities like ping-pong, air hockey, and the additional couch and chair to watch tv. The hot tub was great because it was at the far end of the back deck so you could see stars really well. The grill was much better than I expected. It cooked our food evenly and really fast.
The location of the resort is great. I could go on and on about the views, so just trust me that they are amazing. We didn't use any of the amenities only because we wanted to spend as much time as we could in the cabin.
The only bad thing I have to say was checking in at night. The directions they provide to the resort work well, but we assumed the after-hours check in location would be closer to the road leading up the mountain. Just be sure to drive much slower once you get off the highway. It was nighttime when we got there and without many lights we drove right past the house to check in at, continued all the way up the hill only to learn we had to drive all the way back. Partially our fault, just keep an eye out if you're driving at night.
nice resort, enjoyed snow during the stay, missed using the indoor pool.
Family & Friends Ski Trip
Had a great time and have booked to return. Vacationed with 59 friends and family, 3 years old to their 60's. The ski school was not set up to handle lessons for our kids under 10 y.o. The lesson was not well organized for the number of kids attending and the ages present. As parents, we ended up having to teach the kids ourselves. The school was good at adult snowboarding lessons. Brian, a 33 y.o. from TN, was a great instructor with a lot of patience. A green ski run that leads you to the lower lodge without having to go through blues would be great. We weren't able to visit the lower lodge because our new skiers couldn't ski down using blues and road conditions made it difficult to reach during our stay. A couple of tips that we pointed out in our check-out sheet. (1) The window in the main level bunkbed room between the beds does not close. It is not aligned properly and it will not lock and a cold draft came in the whole time. (2) A shovel for snow days would be helpful. We had to borrow one to shovel a pathway. (3) A dust pan would make it easier to sweep and keep the floors clean during our stay. (4) A laundry basket to haul clothes to/from the basement. (5) Many of the cups/glasses were chipped. (6) DVD player needs cleaning or needs to be replaced as all movies would get stuck throughout viewing. (7) Maintenance/clean up team should check the gas level on the BBQ. We were all set to have a BBQ only to find that we had no gas. Cell phone coverage for those staying at Scenic Wolf was spotty. We were thankful to have brought walkie-talkies to communicate with our friends/family on the mountain during our stay. Lastly, you definitely will need chains for your tires during snow season. Many folks had trouble getting up the mountain. Many also ended up stuck along the road and had to get towing assistance.
Fun at the Game Keeper!
The house was perfect! We loved the ping pong table and air hockey table. We were in the jacuzzi every night even though it was 7 degrees! The only thing I would ask for is that you supply more ping pong balls. We only had one to play with and they dent really easily! It is about 50 yards to the upper slope of Wolf! If you have your stuff you can walk to the slope and get right on. Make sure you get your lift pass and skis before you come up the mountain! Would love to stay again!
Mr. and Mrs. Smith
We will be back!
Beautiful location and cabin; have already recommended it to friends. We will be back!
This cabin had all the amenities of home and more, between the community pool for my daughter and friend and the hot tub on the balcony of this cabin I was relaxed. The cabin with the view was just what I needed and now realize I need more of.
I'll be back.
Oak Ridge, TN
Family Reunion and Memorial
I can't thank you enough for the beautiful and restful environment so close to so much to do for everyone. The varied ages and desires of everyone were accommodate. We had a lovely gathering to remember our sister and aunt on Friday evening outside on the road, and took photos, and shared memorabilia from our mom/grandma's things. We will definitely consider this as an alternative to our usual beach gathering. Thanks again. Yours, Mary Palmer Campbell
Beautiful, peaceful Summer retreat!
This was a wonderful stay for our family! The cabin had everything that we needed. We brought the majority of our groceries from home, for our fresh produce, etc. we went to "Ingles" in MarsHill, this is a very nice market! Our plan was to spend time with family from the local area and this spot was the perfect place to entertain!
The view and peacefulness of this mountain retreat were wonderful,rejuvinating and relaxing. What a way to celebrate Easter than with a beautiful mountain sunrise.
Missy was wonderful with getting us extra information for things to do with the children outside the retreat. The pool was wonderful with a great view. Our decks also had wonderful views. The game room downstairs was a great bonding of family with the children.
The house had all we needed as far as cooking and cleaning.
The main draw back was the road to the top of the mountain. I have a 4 wheel drive vehicle but would be very hesitant to drive this road in the winter with ice and snow. They also say no refund if you can not get to the top of the mountain. If you have a policy like this I feel you need to have a better and easier road to travel. Also there is no safe and easy turn around point at the cabins.
An awesome family getaway!
We had an amazing time. The cabin was just lovely with all the amenities you could want. Skiing was great, and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Your stay here will certainly exceed your expectations. Enjoy!
Walking distance to upper lodge. We had 8 people(4 adults- 4 kids) plenty of room. Would have liked to have used the hot tub outside , but windchill was -4. Overall a great place to stay. We will be back.
Lovely and marvelous experience, exceeding all expectations.
I am not in position to talk about service becuase everything was so perfect that I didnt need any service. After the booking couple of weeks before my stay, EVERYTHING was so clear and detailed that my only communication with any SWR staff was to take and drop off the keys of the cabin. EVERYTHING in the house was ready at arrival, in perfect condition and exactly as per your indications. Amenities in the house were so many that we were not able to enjoy them all (so we will need to come back soon). Views from the house were just spectacular. Balconies, a dream. Furniture and fireplace, as comfortable as one can imagine. What I liked the best was the cabin itself. A dream come true. The only thing I liked least was long distance from grocery stores and restaurants.
Anita W Axin
This makes the 3rd visit to Scenic Wolf Resort. Easy to rent, check in went smoothly and check out was fast!
This was the first time renting Game Keeper. Easy to find. Plenty of room. Enough kitchen supplies to cook for a large group. Liked the loft area with the Day Bed and Trundle.
Beautiful view! Intended to venture out to the swimming pool, however, the view and the hot tub made it hard to leave.
We needed more paper products during our stay. The office was closed because it was the weekend, we informed the maintenance personnel who were collecting trash in the mornings about getting more supplies. Within 15 minutes we had what we needed! THANKS!
With only 2 bathrooms it did get a little hecktic at times with our groupbut nothing we could not handle.
Will be back in the fall of 2010!
Late summer long weekend
First off, let me say the house and host family (Mr. Wolf and staff) far exceeded our expectations. Great people and a truely beautiful home - great for a small family.
That being said, this was our second stay at Scenic Wolf, so we somewhat knew what to expect. If we would change one thing, it would be to not come again during the Bristol race weekend. There was a lot of yelling and swearing at all hours from other cabins, which made it tough to enjoy the hot tub with our 7 year old, but we worked that out as best we could. The real deal breaker was our last trip with our son to the pool. Some of the immature drunks decided it was a good time to go for a swim and vomited in the pool. Our son was crushed that we couldn't go use the pool and slide one last time.
We understand it is tough to ensure all guests do the right thing - just the one or two bad apple theory, I guess. We'll be back, just not at the same time next year.
A great stay
My family and I enjoyed the beautiful location, the comfortable cabin, convenient amnities,
and wounderful people of Scenic Wolf. I highly recommend them to all my friends and
Family Bonding at its best!
We came to Scenic Wolf on our last vacation before our first child left for college.We have teens and young children.There was plenty for us all to enjoy.The cabin was amazing and decorated beautifully.We had the time of our lives and are already planning to return.Scenic Wolf is the best mountain getaway- so close to The Biltmore and Tennessee.This was a great family bonding trip.
Get $75 off your stay
Save $75 off your stay PLUS Free Biltmore!
Stay 3 nights in May and save $75 off your total stay! Even over Memorial Day. Wow! The savings don't stop there... any stay with Carolina Mornings also receives our EXCLUSIVE Mountain Discovery Pass! This pass gives you a FREE Biltmore Estate pass for your stay ($59 value/day), a FREE ziplining ride ($75 value), and a FREE LaZoom comedy tour ride ($23 value)! Come see why our guests return year after year to be pampered by Carolina Mornings! Please note: $75 discount is valid only for new reservations made after 5/14/2013, and is valid at participating properties only.