|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Beautiful arts and crafts home in historic Grove Park district of Asheville. Totally renovated and furnished beautifully. Main floor has gourmet kitchen, living room/dining area, master bedroom with king sized bed and full bath , bedroom with two twins with half bath and utility room with washer/dryer. Upstairs has a living room, small kitchen, two bedrooms with queen beds, a bedroom with two twins, and a full bath with a clawfoot tub (no stand-up shower in this bathroom). Less than a mile from downtown Asheville or a 10 minute drive from the Biltmore Estate. LINENS INCLUDED for your convenience.
Asheville, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$385||$450||$2,295||$6,885||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2012 - Dec. 30 2013||$385||$450||$2,295||$6,885||2 nights|
|Dec. 31 2013 - Jan. 1 2016||$385||$450||$2,295||$6,885||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 17, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
the four golfers
Way above expectations
Laurel cottage looks nice via the photos, but once arriving it was way better than we expected. With our group of four adults, we were able to spread out and have lots of privacy. The house is full of antiques and amazing furniture pieces and its a real joy to stay in such a wonderful house. I would recommend this to anyone needing lots of bedrooms and space. Even the smallest bedroom is nice and good sized.
Very relaxing vacation in a picturesque home
My friends and I rented this home for a bachelorette weekend in asheville. The home had ample room for the eight guests, and the lack of a second shower really didn't cause a problem for our short visit. The location was great and close to downtown.
Perfect Weekend Getaway!
A group of girlfriends and I went for a weekend in asheville and stayed here. We loved it! The house has tons of space to cook and relax in and plenty of personal sleeping space! It's very close to everything downtown and great for anyone looking for a great house to explore asheville from!
50th Birthday Party with Friends
We loved this home complete with stylish antique furniture and modern appliances. Pretty dished and houseware. You don't need anything but clothes and your toothbrush. Close to everything. Literally minutes from Grove Park inn and about 15 min to Biltmore through downtown. We enjoyed our stay and would rent again. Highly recommend if you want Inn Town experience for your vacation. Complimentary pumpkin bread was delicious.
Blue Ridge, GA
Laurel Cottage is nearly 100 years old and full of history and c
We were in asheville for a family wedding and decided to rent a warm gathering place rather than hotel rooms that would separate us. The kitchen is very well equipped and spacious to accommodate all our cooks who like to pile into the kitchen at the same time. While the adults searched the internet for history on the house, the children searched for secret passageways and hidden staircases to the attic. We loved walking around the neighborhood and we walked to Grove Park Inn for lunch. There were nice linens, but not all the beds were as comfortable as the master. The front bedroom needs updating. We suggest moving the large rocks to accommodate more parking and the ability to turn around. The rental company could not have been more accommodating.
Amazing asheville experience!
I rented this house for my bridal party the weekend of my wedding. It was perfect. The details of this home are phenomenal. The beautiful kitchen was our favorite spot. The house was very convenient to downtown asheville (less than 5 minutes away). There was more than enough space for everyone to feel comfortable and relaxed. The guys loved the TV room upstairs. The unique charm of the home created wonderful photo opportunities for the wedding party as well. The only downside of the home were the bathrooms, but if even that didn't take away from our love this house! There is a large master bathroom and half bath on the first floor. The second floor has a claw-foot tub and hand-held shower; however, the ceilings in the bathroom are too low to be able to stand for a shower.
This was one of the most unique and beautiful homes I've ever seen, let alone rented. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to asheville with a group of family or friends!
Tom and Judy
Winston Salem, NC
This house exceeded our expectations!
We were a bit skeptical about comfort with a "historic home" but the location was great for Unca graduation and downtown excursions. This place was such a pleasure it seemed like an attraction in itself! It is very well-kept and updated to meet all our needs very comfortably while still maintaining coziness and ambiance.
Great place! Beautiful home...would def go back! Great for large group of people. We had a bachelorette group there and it was perfect!
Beautiful old home in a perfect location for downtown asheville!
There are so many unique features to this house that make it a wonderful place to stay - the clawfoot bathtubs, the 3 porches, the spacious bedrooms, and the gorgeous, updated kitchen! We filled all 5 bedrooms and had two babies in the house any everyone felt comfortable and had a great time. If you have a large group and want to be near downtown asheville, this is the perfect house.
The pictures do not due this house justice. We were floored when we walked into this wonderful house and saw that it was decorated like a real home not a rental. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. (i loved the high end appliances) The entire group I traveled with commented on how the linens were all so comfortable and smelled so fresh (we even went in the laundry room to try to figure out what they had used) There are many little nooks and cute porches to steal away a quiet refuge. The only downside (and it was a minor one) was that there was only one shower in the house, there was a second bathtub but when traveling with all adults it made getting ready a length process.
One of the main benefits of this house was that it was only about 1 mile from the heart of the action downtown. I hope to have the opportunity to stay here again.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 03/22/2012
We hope you can come stay with us again as well. Thank you so much for the feedback. It was a pleasure having you!
Greybeard Rentals Staff
Atlanta to Asheville
Downtown Luxury and Convenience
This is a great property with a lot of character. It's convenient to downtown and area attractions. The kitchen is completely redone and a great place to congregate in the mornings. Porches galore! Just about every area of the hous has a great porch within a few steps to relax and take in the mountain air.
Awesome Cottage and Wonderfu Weekend in asheville
A group of nine old high school buddies get together twice a year. We agreed this was the best vacation rental we had ever had... everything was charming and perfect! Plenty of room for 10 people. Only issue -- circuit breaker had to be tripped when we lost electricity when two people were using hair dryers at the same time, but it was no problem after we took care of it. Thank you, thank you !
Can't wait to return with family!!!
I had rented this for 3 business colleagues and myself to use while we attended a conference at the nearby Grove Park Inn. We were delighfully surprised as we explored each spacious room, immaculately cleaned and maintained (luxurious linens provided).The kitchen was well-equipped with high-end appliances, glassware, utensils, etc; nothing was lacking! It provided a quiet, relaxing escape from the hotel atmosphere. I plan to return with my family in the near future.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Fabulous girls weekend
It was so nice to walk into Laurel Cottage where the air conditioning had been turned on for us (it was 93 degrees on day of arrival), home-made bread in the kitchen, clean towels and beautifully made beds. The house is quite spacious and more than we need for the 4 of us for girl's weekend. It is located near just about everything. The only comment I have is the 2nd bathroom. The tub/shower combination is difficult to use as just a shower. The ceiling is quite low making it hard to stand up and shower. I think it is an important fact to list in the description of the house. We did have one other issue on check out day. We were instructed to run the dishwasher and put all the clean dishes back. I would expect to have the dishes cleaned when we leave, but not have to wait for the cycle to finish to put them all away. Aside from this, we truly loved the home and especially loved the kitchen which was wonderful for cooking.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/12/2011
We are so glad you enjoyed that house...it is a favorite of ours. We have added a more thorough description now letting folks know that there is not a stand-up shower in the upstairs bathroom.
Thank you for your feedback on the final instructions also. We hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience and would never penalize anyone if they left dishes in the dishwasher. We always are looking for ways to improve so thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you come again.
It was a very lovely home, albeit expensive for a long weekend. One major concern is that many of the windows had no screens...a big safety issue for children! Not to mention the bugs that came in, etc.
Wonderful time with Great Friends in super location.
We thought the Laurel Cottage was in a very convenient location. Delightful cottage for people "younger" than our group, which were all over 70. We had no house phone service the entire stay and had no Internet until Friday afternoon at 3:25 p.m. and spent lot of time waiting for repairman. We would prefer better shower/bath facilities but knew what was there when we rented. Because of our ages, we'll try something on one level on next trip. One of our group had difficulty getting to living room which was upstairs. Renda at Greybeard Realty was delightful to work with and we would definitely use her services again.
Loved the house, setting, and decor. Could have used more than one shower for the 8 of us, but we were able to make it work.
Great place to spend with family
What a wonderful home. We had some doubts about the bath tubs, but actually there were no problems. Our college age grandchildren loved the area and the house. Friendly neighborhood and feeling of safty..The house was clean and decorated tastefully. The floors were in need of some cleaning, but the rest was spotless. The only problem we had was not understanding the trash pick-up. The trash was full when we got there on Saturday. We thought it was out, but realized it had to be moved to the curb. Hope to spend our next visit at the same house. Thanks for a great time. The Corba family
Laurel Cottage - a great house!
We enjoyed our stay at Laurel Cottage. It has everything you need - a nice
well-equipped kitchen, plenty of room, tastefully furnished decor! I really like
the spaciousness of the house and it's charm, but also the modern kitchen,
private porch, and large bedrooms. My least favorite thing about the house is
that the bathrooms only have claw-footed tubs. The upstairs tub doesn't have
enough room to stand in to take a shower, and the full bathroom downstairs
has the shower curtain around the tub, which you can stand in and shower,
but every time you use it, you feel like you are getting water all over the floor.
It would be really nice to have one separate tiled shower in the house
Laurel Cottage Review
House is beautiful - very well laid out, very nicely decorated, etc. Kitchen appliances are brand new.
Back porch located off of the kitchen! Very nice, spent a lot of time there (breakfast / coffee).
Other: Walking distance to a Starbucks and City Cafe Bakery.
We were worried about the gas leaking from the kitchen stove. You guys took care of that quikely though. Also, the upstairs tub should be converted into shower like the one downstairs. It wouldn't be hard to do. Otherwise, the house was great. Ami
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/03/2009
Amy, thanks for your response. Luckily, there was no problem with the gas stove, but thanks for letting us know quickly that you were concerned. As for the upstairs bath, because of the dropped ceiling, it is not able to be converted into a shower. Otherwise, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Beautiful Historic Home
Laurel Cottage is a beautiful property perfectly located in the Grove Park area. 9 adults fit comfortably in the 5 bedrooms, and we added 8 more for a celebratory lunch.
A small negative is the upstairs bath, which contains a clawfoot tub, but no shower. The downstairs bath has the only shower, attached to a clawfoot tub. We found the location and beauty of the home worth that inconvenience. We were very pleased with the helpfulness of the staff at Greybeard Realty, and recommend this property to others.