Loch Lomond Waterfront
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
|Living space||1000 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
|Theme||Luxury, Romantic, Lake, Mountain, Village|
Description from the owner
Fabulous luxury self catering lodges in 18 acres of exclusive Loch Lomond shoreline, ideal location for touring, walking, fishing golf and watersports. Private hot tubs, steam cabins, all bedrooms ensuite, fully equipped kitchens and loch views. Open all year.
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Balmaha, Scottish Highlands & Islands, Scotland
Additional Location Information
Situated on the Eastern shore of Loch Lomond on the B837 3 Miles from the village of Drymen. As you enter the village of Balmaha the lodges are on the left hand side of the road and you enter the site through two round stone pillars.
Location Type Lake, Mountain, Village
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in GBP) (change)
|Rate Summary||$181 - $346||$252 - $483||$1,403 - $2,700||$0||1 night|
|Jan. 4 2013 - Feb. 7 2013
|Feb. 18 2013 - Mar. 3 2013
|Mar. 4 2013 - Apr. 21 2013
|Mar. 22 2013 - Apr. 7 2013
|Apr. 8 2013 - May. 23 2013
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
|May. 24 2013 - Jul. 4 2013
|Jul. 5 2013 - Sep. 1 2013
|All Other Dates||$304||$304||$2,126||-||3 nights|
|View all 8 Rate Periods|
- Damage deposit - $152 / stay - Security Deposit
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 03, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Romantic break with my husband
Just got home today from staying at the Waterfront luxury lodges with my husband and can safely say we will be back! The cabins and location are gorgeous! I read a couple of reviews before going which stated the cabins were a little further back from the loch than they would have liked but in my opinion they were as close as they safely could be and the view from our patio was beautiful!
Thanks for a lovely relaxing stay.
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 02/23/2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
A Christmas to remember!
I cannot let the opportunity to go by without thanking you for the time we spent at the Lodges over Christmas 2012.
As you know it was a long overdue family reunion with 9 adults and 6
children, some coming from as far away as Singapore.
Each of the three Lodges we occupied reached a very high standard in terms of cleanliness and the facilities provided, with full provision of all the items we needed to cater for 15 people over a Christmas period.
Not least was the Christmas tree you provided in each of the Lodges which made it especially memorable for the children.
I had the responsibility of booking the lodges with everyone else arriving sight unseen - and it is praise indeed for the facilities you offer that I was thanked by everyone for the choice I had made. In truth however, those thanks are due to you and all those who work at Loch Lomond - Waterfront.
May I wish you and everyone there every success for the coming year.
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 01/08/2013
Thank you very much for your review. We very much enjoyed your family visit to our lodges and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Excellent Lodges, Excellent Location
We stayed here for 3 nights in august last year and had a great time. On the bonny banks of Loch Lomond we sat in the hot tub at night looking over the loch watching Ducks, rabbits and deer roaming about.
Lodge was very spacious and clean, we had 4 adults 1 child and 1 baby. 2 Bathrooms, Steam room, Hot Tub all you would expect from a luxury lodge. Excellent location and parking.
Resrtarunt/Pub very close by serving good food and beers.
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 01/09/2013
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased that you enjoyed the lodge and location.
Great facilities, very clean, well stocked for self catering and excellent location. Hot tub was very nice to relax in and the local pub was only a 5 min walk which has good food and real ales. Overall I would highly recommend for a great break.
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 01/03/2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
My wife and I had a 2 night stay in November at the lodges, the warm welcome coupled with the sublime quality of the lodges themselves set us up nicely for what was to be the most relaxing 2 days I remember in a long time! My wife and I felt the same level of refreshment as If we had been away for over a week! Thanks to everyone at Llwf & we will most definitely be recommending to friends/family and returning soon
George & Debbie Fulton
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 12/04/2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!!
Everything a relaxing weekend should be
Excellently equipped,,, hot tub fantastic after a days walking,,, crisp October evening under the stars relaxing in hot tub with a glass of wine a real winner very chillaxing. Views & scenery excellent,,, steam room wonderful. I would thoroughly recommend these lodges for a relaxing weekend.
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 11/20/2012
Thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hot tub. I had the rare pleasure of relaxing in one of the hot tubs recently. Don't forget to mention that you are a returning guest on your next visit for a "special discount".
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Very good location, excellent lodge
We stayed at loch lomond waterfront for a 3 day midweek stay in october. we got the lodge at a great rate as we got a 50% off seasonal discount. first of all, I'll talk about the things we liked. and most of the things we did.
check in was quick and effortless, and we were given free maps of the local area. we settled into our lodge nicely, since it was only two of us staying there, and the lodges are built for bigger parties, we had way more space than we needed, which was brilliant! I've never had a choice of 3 bathrooms before!
the fridge and kitchen was nicely stocked with some things we may need, tea, coffee and milk etc, and there was a great cooker and dishwasher, as well as enough cutlery to serve a 10 person 3 course meal, so no problems in that area.
we had, as I said, a choice of 3 bathrooms, including the downstairs one, and in the downstairs one, we found a particular gem, the electronic shower-sauna, which is awesome! enjoy a nice sauna in the morning to wake you up! that was definatly a favorite part of our stay.
we also liked the tv and dvd that are provided, and even though we temporarily rearranged the sofa to put it in front of the tv (as the furnature is arrange so that 6 people can see the tv, which is fine, because as I said the lodges are built for more than 2) so that wasn't a problem, but we enjoyed the big tv and good tv signal.
we took some of the walks around the local area, balmaha village is only a few mins walk up the road, and that consists of a village shop, which, like most little village shops i've come across, seems to be extremely well stocked with everything you'd ever need! i've seen entire supermarkets not as well stocked as some little shops i've come across, and this one is certainly no exception. we then went down to balmaha pier to feed some very over friendly ducks we came across!
we also discovered that reception at the waterfront carries a selection of board games and dvd's so if you forget to bring some entertainment, you're well covered.
there is a lot of wildlife that lurk around very close to the site, just walking down the road on the site we saw a dear, a heron, and later at night, many bats!
now, on to the things I didn't like so much, there are not many of them, but I need to put these on here.
first of all the location. the grounds are lovely, but i know plenty of lodges that claim to be on the waterfront of loch lomond that actually are. this one isn't. there is about a 500m walk down a path to actually get to the loch, the view of which from the lodge is partially blocked by trees. it didn't have panoramic loch view i was expecting.
also, we are on orange for our phones, and there is no signal on the site. while I appreciate that this isn't in waterfront's control, here's something that is, and this is why i'm bringing this up. we were told that every lodge has complementary wifi, which indeed it does. however the signal, at least in our lodge (no3) was extremely poor. it dropped off all the time, and the data transmission rate was very slow. we could only reliably get a signal at the kitchen table, which considering that the study desk at the back of the living room was set up for a laptop, and the wifi range didn't seem to reach there, made the desk itself rather useless, as the laptop had to be used on the kitchen table.
I appreciate that a lot of people come up to loch lomond to get away from technology, but speaking for us, I still need my internet connection, and I found the wifi was certainly not as advertised. the wifi is a shared network across the whole site, however wifi signal boosters that can be purchased quite inexpensivly, and could be put in every lodge could have sorted that problem.
the other thing was some water and heating issues. the central heating worked perfectly, and kept the lodge warm, however the towel rails in both of the upstairs bathrooms would not work no matter what we tried, I did report this to reception, and was told to twiddle the knobs at the bottom which we did, but unless i was missing something obvious, they stayed clay cold no matter what I did.
on the other side of the temperature scale, the downstairs electronic shower sauna had its own problem. you could heat up the water for a sauna, which was lovely, but then you wanted a shower afterwards, and that unit did double as a shower. first of all, it had massage jets on the back wall, and I could not get them to work. again, i reported this to reception and was told to make sure that the selector switch was set to make them come on, but when we turned the switch, all we got out of the jets after turning them on on the control, was the faintest trickle of water, not even close to being a massage jet, however, that probably wouldn't matter for the next reason i'm going to mention.
as I said, the sauna has both a handheld shower head, as well as a big "rain style" shower head on the top. after having a sauna, and wanting to complete your shower, you turn on the shower, and the water comes out at an unacceptable temperature, and we couldnt' turn it down on the temperature control. it went from scalding 3rd degree burn temperature at the lowest setting, to just steam coming out of the shower nozzle at the highest. the result of this was that we had to use the sauna, then run upstairs to the upstairs shower to get a shower afterwards, which i found rather silly.
having said the above, to be fair, these are still minor points on what was otherwise a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, and I would recommend this place for anyone wanting to experience to peace and tranquility of scotland.
Response from Suzanne Cottam - 11/16/2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do have wifi issues at times and this is why we do not charge for the service. We have tried everything suggested to us, including the boosters. BT inform us that it is actually the broadband width supplied to our area that is the main issue. We have installed more devices since your stay and have strong signals in some lodges so best to check before you book if this is a priority. The steam shower selector is very sensitive and unless in exactly the right position the jets will not work correctly.
The lodges are set back from the water as in Winter months the levels can rise quite dramatically. All have excellent views over the Loch with trees to either side of the site that gives it that intimacy and privacy that most of our guests enjoy, especially the foreshore area that is for the private use of lodge guests only.
Hope to see you again sometime :-)
Everything a holiday shoud be and more
Our three day stay away from home started as soon as we turned left into the carpark the veiw was sensational only to be matched by the standard of our accommidation.
As you walk from the spacious lounge through the patio doors to be greeted with a large patio not forgeting the hot tub a Garden table large enogugh for six yet stll room
to move around you could hill walk all week and still not see a better view than from our accomodation.
Upstairs was just the same fantastic size the standard outstanding.
Exceded our already high expectations but dont take our word of it go along and see for yourself.
Thank you and all your saff for a great holiday in your beautiful location.
Julian & Belinda
Fantastic setting and we had a wonderful break
Just wanted to thank you both for a brilliant break, the lodge couldn't have been better! Such a beautiful part of the country and so glad we made the drive.
Will definitely be coming back!
Belinda & Julian
Outstanding luxury lodge in a terrific location
We have travelled the world and stayed in all sorts of accommodation - Loch Lomond Waterfront is right up there with the best. The facilities, quality of fixtures and fittings and the setting all add up to a superb holiday experience and one that I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone. Outstanding!
exceeded expectations !
arrived on a cold dismal afternoon , check in was easy and i was advised the heating and lights would be on for us, on entering the lodge we were pleasantly surprised to see just how cosy and welcoming the lodge was. , the lodge is open plan with a beautiful view of the loch. The bedrooms anre gorgeous, huge beds, beautiful bed linen, and the view from the balcony is stunning, huge bath, thick fluffy towels and a shower in a lovely spacious ensuite bathroom just made the day, there is a steam shower downstairs which must be tried!, these lodges are superbly kitted out, everything thing you would ever need , even an extra special set of glasses and crockery for a special occasion, this was a xmas present for my hubby and i couldnt have chosen better,
I booked a massage for my husband through Waterfront Lodges and as he had never had one before he was a bit aprehensive, Claire arrived early and afterwards my husband couldnt praise it enough..he now says he wants one on a regular basis !..the staff are lovely right down to Rafael the maintainence man who was ever so friendly and polite..
The Oak Tree Inn which is a five minute walk does lovely, tasty food, we ate there twice and both times our meal was faultless, the wee shop next door too is well stocked..
all in all out weekend break was fantastic and i would not hesitate to recommend these lodges.
We loved this place
The waterfronts website doesnt do this place justice. It was far better than our expectations from viewing the website. Us and the children thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didnt want to leave. Will definitely be back. Little expensive but worth it. The ldges are excellent and beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. I have recommended this place to many friends who have since made bookings after viewing my photos if the place.
Simply the best Lodges we've been
We decided for Loch Lomond for some weekend fun with friends and finally found Loch Lomond Waterfront cottages through the Internet. Smooth reservations were made over the phone, we had to pay the full amount upfront because at time of booking our stay was only one week away. A bit stiff on the cancellation policy but if ran the place I would probably do the same. We were assigned with two cottages (Nmbr. 3 & 4) for 6 people, all bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, which is certainly a big plus. The connecting door gave free access to both lodges and offered ample space for our group. We assigned one kitchen for breakfast preparations and the second one for dinner. The lodges were impeccably clean and comfortable. Bedrooms had great big beds. WiFi Internet access is a bit of a struggle you have to move a lot to get a good signal. Upon arrival on a friday night we were invited for bonfire night on saturday evening and attending the fire, the barbecue and the fireworks really enhanced our weekend. The Loch Lomond area is great for hiking and the lake offers possibilities for watersports.