Chalet of the Bears Studio Apt wi Ocean Beach
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||4 nights|
|Living space||350 square feet|
Suitable for childrenNo
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
|Theme||Adventure, Romantic, Wilderness, Away from it all, Beach, Ocean|
Description from the owner
The Chalet of the Bears (le Chalet aux Ours) is an authentic Swiss chalet brought from Interlaken, Switzerland, and constructed on its current site in 1929. Perched on a wooded cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, it is one of the first places in the United States to see the sunrise each day. There are beautiful ocean views from the property, and a mile-long wooded road that forms an oval--perfect for strolling or jogging.Fire up a gas grill just outside your door and dine there or descend a long stairway through our woods and take your breakfast or lunch on a deck right over the ocean. Enjoy a relaxing walk on the private cobble beach. Nes...Read more
Chalet of the Bears Studio Apt wi Ocean Beach
Bar Harbor, Maine
Additional Location Information
The Chalet of the Bears is in the first cove out from downtown Bar Harbor. It is in the woods on a private road just one mile from Acadia National Park and only three miles from the bustling downtown, but it feels like a million miles away. It is on a cliff above Frenchman Bay and offers a vista all the way to the mainland--especially spectacular at dawn. Down a stairway through our woods you reach a private cobbled ocean beach, perfect for strolling, collecting, sunning. Our private road forms a mile-long wooded oval that offers glimpses of the ocean thru the trees--perfect for walking, jogging or biking.
Location Type Away from it all, Beach, Ocean
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$175||$175||$795 - $995||$0||4 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 22 2013
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 31 2013
|Aug. 31 2013 - Nov. 2 2013
|All Other Dates||$175||$175||-||-||4 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate - 7% of rental - Tax
Additional notes from owner
For the 2013 season we are giving a further $100 discount from our listed weekly rates. This discounting applies to both our shoulder season and midseason rates. Also, if you visit for more than one week, you will receive a further $100 discount on every week after the first one. Maine lodging tax of 7% is added to all rates.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
It is a horror show
I was really disappointed with the dishonesty of the representation of this "Chalet." I won't go into the details of my experience and the sadness which I felt when I discovered my situation but lets just say, there is no cooking facilities except a camping 2 burner stove which is set up on a table outside the door and there is no kitchen sink except for a utility sink in the bathroom and the bathroom! The whole thing is deceptive and very expensive. I loved Bar Harbor and Hiking but I never wanted to go back to my place to relax because it was dark, depressing and a grim reminder of how stupid I felt about accepting this place on line. It has some very unique qualities as it is a chalet brought over in the 1920's. Just be honest, let people know what they are getting and please lower the price.
Response from Paul DeVore - 02/15/2013
It is difficult to respond to a review when the visitor waits seven months and does not care to "go into the details" of her sad experience. To the extent that she does so, her memory is oddly inadequate. There is no dishonesty whatsoever in our description of 'cooking facilities'. Yes, there is a 2-burner stovetop just outside the door--as advertised. There is also a large gas grill, a microwave, a toaster and a coffeemaker. In the bathroom there are actually two large porcelain sinks, side by side = no need to wash dishes and brush teeth in the same sink if that bothers you. As for our pricing, it is in line with the cost of an average hotel room for two--without any cooking facilities, dining area, private woods or ocean beach.
We felt incredibly lucky to find such a perfect spot for a Labor Day weekend retreat. It was charming and private yet close to Bar Harbor and acadia. We enjoyed picking up wine and lobsters and bringing them home to eat on the virtually private beach front. Incredible moonlit evenings and early morning views! Everything we needed (and more!) was readily available from cookware and utensils to extra linens, blankets, etc. All was very clean and tidy! The history of the chalet itself was fascinating, especially given the personal journey Paul has taken to keep it authentic and share its story. We look forward to many happy returns!!
beautiful and affordable
My girlfriend and I drove up from Maryland to spend several days in Bar Harbor with our dogs. We immediately noticed that the chalet setting was quite beautiful, catching glimpses of the bay as we drove up the hill to arrive. The chalet is nearly all wood and very pretty. The immediate access to forested area and beach was wonderful for both the dogs and ourselves. Don't expect to walk barefoot on the beach! Rocky, as most beaches seem to be in Bar Harbor. Paul was friendly and gave us a tour of the chalet, describing it's colorful history with good humor. The town is a quick drive south and acadia Nat'l Park is very close as well. Bugs are a part of life when you live in the woods and didn't cause us any concern. With our two dogs and their crates, our rental space seemed a little cramped at times. All appliances worked fine but the food in Bar Harbor was so good that we never tried cooking for ourselves - save some s'mores by the fire I made one night.
Response from Paul DeVore - 09/17/2012
Really glad you 'n your dogs had a great stay. Yes, I imagine with two dogs milling about, it must have felt crowded at times!
Forever Fan of Chalet of the Bears
In mid-August we enjoyed a memorable and beautiful week at Chal
We were immediately enchanted by the architecture and history of Chalet of the Bears. The hosts were indeed hospitable regaling us with the tale of the original owner,s eccentricity and good taste. Our studio apartment on the second floor of the chalet was just as we had hoped, very private amidst the serenity of the wooded and pine scented property, with the sound and view of Frenchman,s Bay just beyond. The interior of our apartment consisted of the most beautiful and intricate wooden trims and beams. It was cozy, cool and very comfortable. We especially appreciated the comfort of the mattress and the entertaining selection of Dvd's, which were very welcome after each of our six days of hiking at acadia National Park. The apartment was well equipped with kitchen supplies and linen. Best of all was the adventure of walking down to the private beach where we took full advantage of unforgettable sunrises almost every morning.
New York and Florida
Not Unless You Have To
I read the reviews in Trip advisor written by aGL and Emily and booked this studio apartment. The pictures looked good. It wasn't until after my husband and I spent a week there that we read the review submitted by Tptarheel and I can only wonder where the first two stayed, it certainly wasn't the same plae Tptarheel and we stayed.
The walkway to the door of the apartment was covered with pine needles which were absolutely impossible to remove from your shoes, thereby tracking in a good deal of dirt. The kitchen is furnished with a microwave plus a sufficient number of dishes, silverware, bowls, and pots and pans, a table, chairs and two cupboards. The refrigerator is in a hallway between the kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen sink is in the bathroom. That about turned my stomach when I first saw it. There is no stove, it is a grill located under the eaves just outside the door. The bathroom is ancient - a clawfooted tub with a make shift shower that was almost impossible to climb in and out of except for some type of handle which was gripped to the tub. The queen size bed was comfortable. There are two chairs in the bedroom which can be used for relaxing and/or reading. This all makes for a pretty tight squeeze. The damp, cold apartment is overrun with crickets, what more can I add? There is a small space heater to provide some warmth and can be transported from room to room as necessary - i.e. the bathroom and the bedroom when sitting and reading which we did one very rainy day. There are plenty of linens available as well as may amenities you might need. We threatened to leave almost every day, but finally stuck it out until Friday (our week was up on Saturday). If you book it for your trip - please be forewarned. The location is lovely, quiet and in the woods, but the accomodations leave a lot to be desired.
Response from Paul DeVore - 09/08/2012
The first thing to say about this review is that pretty much everything mentioned is true. We intentionally scatter pine needles along the walkway, and on a rainy day these cling to your shoes. It seems preferable to us that some needles get deposited on the rugs rather than mud. And, yes, the only sink available is a large, clean porcelain sink in the bathroom. A dishpan and drying rack are nearby. If this turns your stomach, then clearly the Chalet studio will not please you. The clawfooted tub/shower does, indeed, feature a 'Homelife' handle that rises 12" above the rim to help in safe use. If this annoys you, it can be unscrewed and removed. The description of the apartment as "damp and cold" is not totally untrue--tho phrased negatively. For 150 years visitors have come to Bar Harbor precisely because of our 'natural air-conditioning'; they depend on it to range between 60-80* on days that might reach over 100* back home. This time of year, crickets suddenly show up throughout the woods and National Park, and occasionally one sneaks under the door to serenade us. In the unlikely event that this occurs during your week, we can provide a trap--but only if you let us know. We were not informed that the writer was unhappy while here. Please note that she says that "the location is lovely, quiet and in the woods...." Further, she writes quite positively about "sufficient" kitchenware, the "comfortable" bed, the reading chairs, and "plenty of linens available, as well as many amenities you might need." She does not mention the private ocean beach--not available at most properties. It seems that needles underfoot, the pedestal sink, and an amorous cricket still dragged this down to a rating of only one star. If this seems fair to the reader, then the Chalet of the Bears studio is probably not going to enchant you--as, fortunately, it has hundreds of others.
Although the cottage (upstairs) itself is glorious, the apartment (downstairs) is a sad situation. Poor plumbing, odd layout (laundry sink in the bathroom is the only sink, refrigerator in a hallway, grill outdoors), damp (mold in bathroom).
I had not intended to camp out for a week -- running toilet took days to fix and owner accused us of breaking the (old and rusted) mechanism.
Note that "beach" is a rock shoreline and access is on a ill-used path through woods to a three-story stairway.
Response from Paul DeVore - 08/14/2012
Unquestionably, this was a most unfortunate week--the worst in 20 years of rentals. These folks phoned on Saturday evening to report that the flush had failed. I showed up that same eve and discovered that it was beyond a quick fix and, in fact, needed non-standard parts because of the age of the fixture. On an island, my first opportunity at getting the parts didn't come until Monday. Then at the hardware store I was told there would be a 2-day delay waiting for the parts. So for several days, flushing required lifting a metal stem by hand. Very unpleasant. But, no, I did not 'accuse' anyone of breaking the old mechanism. That would be dumb.
The rest of this 'cup half-empty' review stems from the toilet trouble. Water running thru the toilet--plus rainy days--caused the tank to sweat and drip. So, yes, the bathroom felt damp much of the time. If mold developed, it would have been slight; we scour all surfaces with bleach every week. The bathroom sink is a divided porcelain sink with a dishpan in one side and the other side available for brushing teeth or filling pans. The refrigerator is in a niche flanked by shelves that hold spices on one side and trash bags on the other; we think of it as a pantry, not a 'hallway'. The customers also found it odd that the grill is outdoors. Well, if it were indoors, they would have died either from carbon monoxide or smoke inhalation. As I say, 'cup half-empty'. The description of our cobbled beach and the stairway down thru the woods from our dramatic clifftop location is accurate enuf as an unglamorous restatement of what we say in our ads and show in photos. The 'ill-used' path could be described simply as 'little-used', because that is the kind of privacy and seclusion that we offer at the Chalet of the Bears
Beautiful, quiet location
The location, just outside busy Bar Harbar is amazingly quiet and peaceful. The apartment is extremely well stocked and managed, making it easy prepare both gourmet and "on the fly" meals. We ate in more frequently than we visited the many Bar Harbor restaurants. It was a pleasure staying at the Chalet.
Romantic, private, peaceful and idyllic
The Chalet of the Bears was amazing - more than we had hoped for. The setup was very welcoming; everything we could have needed was there. The location is so lovely; It was exactly what we had hoped; a chance to reconnect with each other and to have peace and privacy away from the city (we live in NYC.) You have thought of everything; we found it so easy to cook, find the beach, wander the woods and enjoy Maine. Highly Recommended!
Exactly the accomodations & views we wanted on our honeymoon.moo
Andy and I were so thankful to arrive at the chalet. Paul and Karen were a great help to us. The chalet was just the secluded spot we were looking for to relax and spend time together. The private stairs to the ocean are great and worth the journey. Andy and I went to the ocean at least once every day. And thanks for equipping the chalet with everything we needed to make dinner. There is a winery close by, and blackberry currant was our favorite.
Response from Paul DeVore - 06/23/2011
Thanks for your kind words. We'll have to try to blackberry currant wine!