Acadia View in Bar Harbor
|Minimum Stay||4 nights|
|Living space||800 square feet|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
|Theme||Adventure, Historic, Romantic, Mountain, Ocean, Village|
Description from the owner
ACADIA VIEW is located on the edge of the Bar Harbor downtown at 30 Forest Street--a dead end street in a quiet neighborhood. It is about half a mile to the village green in the center of town and only a half mile the other direction into Acadia National Park, with free shuttle buses running frequently in both directions. The household has an airy modern layout with a breakfast bar separating the den and kitchen. The kitchen is complete and includes a dishwasher. The household also has its own laundry, cable TV, and wireless internet access. There is a convertible sofa in the den, so that you can expand to sleep 6 adults. Outdoors there...Read more
Acadia View in Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor, Maine
Additional Location Information
Though it is within the downtown village of Bar Harbor, ACADIA VIEW is tucked into a peaceful neighborhood on a dead end street. With no truck or tourist traffic, it is quieter and safer for children and pets than most locations. It also provides ready access to Acadia National Park--just 1/2 mile away--without having to pass through the busy center of town. There is a large lawn with fruit trees and picnic table and gas grill. Behind the property a wooded hill slopes sharply upwards, so there are no neighboring houses in back--just peace and quiet.
Location Type Mountain, Ocean, Village
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$200||$200||$995 - $1,195||$0||4 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 22 2013
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 17 2013
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 7 2013
|All Other Dates||$200||$200||$1,195||-||4 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate - 7% of rental - Tax
Additional notes from owner
For multi-week rentals, deduct a further $100 for the second week. All rentals are subject to a lodging tax of 7%.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Disappointed that we had a 2nd floor apt. rather than a house
This listing described the property as a "house," but acadia View a is an upstairs apartment. We had no access to a deck or outdoor living area as advertised. The kitchen faucet was leaking badly when we arrived, so I called the owner immediately to notify him. He was non-responsive in getting it repaired during our stay. The apartment was only moderately clean.
Response from Paul DeVore - 09/08/2011
These folks were unfortunate enuf to have booked during the week of Hurricane Irene, so their flight was delayed twice and then the weather kept them mostly indoors--and disgruntled. We didn't know the faucet was leaking until she phoned. We tried to be 'responsive', but plumbers were all out on emergency calls. It is now repaired. Besides being muddy weather, it was also the final week of the season. In spring our crew works every day for two weeks: cleaning ovens, shampooing carpets, repainting, etc. In the following 12 weeks they have only a few hours per week to launder linens and clean bathrooms and floors = get the place 'moderately clean'. It is simply not true that there is no access to the sundeck and lawn, which is half a block wide and furnished with picnic tables and grills--but only enjoyable in good weather.
Dick & Lin A.
What a Wonderful Time
We want to thank Paul and Karen for a great week at acadia View. Everything was fresh and clean, and I'll bet none of the furniture or appliances are more than a year or two old. The kids had a great time playing on the lawn, and we didn't worry about them because there was almost no traffic at any time of day. Absolutely silent at night. And yet the place is just down the road from the national park and also within easy reach of all the shops and restaurants. Acadia View and Paul and Karen are a good part of why my visit to Mt. Desert Island so pleasant. It would be hard to find a more comfortable place in a more strategic location. We'll definitely be back--maybe with the dog next time!
Response from Paul DeVore - 07/05/2011
Thank you for your kind words. We always try to keep everything clean and current so that there's no distraction from the 'main events'--the nearby downtown and, of course, the national park.