Left on 02/24/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | Jeff
We stayed 5 nights in this condo. Although the unit and decor were dated, it was clean and comfortable There seemed to be plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure. Because the units are attached, you do hear the neighbors somewhat. The maintenance people were very good about keeping the parking lot plowed and bringing fresh towels. Its hard to beat ski in/ski out! It is very convenient to ski right to the back door. Read more
Response from Big Powderhorn Lodging Association - 02/26/2014
Thank you for a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Better then expected!
Left on 12/14/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | Bruce Walter
The heating system works great but was noisy. Everything else about the stay was great.
Left on 02/06/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Chip
Great location and accommodations. The Bpla staff is so friendly and helpful from the top of managenet of down. Great experinces. Been staying at Bpla a for 37 yrs
Left on 01/24/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Andy
Well equiped kitchens, on the hill, 50 yards from the aplen Inn. What more could you ask for.
We had a very enjoyable time despite the weather.
Left on 01/10/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Glori
Our condos 1 and 2 were very clean and comfortable except for the couches. Plenty of nice kitchenware. The service was super, they were
there in a jiffy when we could not find a wine bottle opener. It was great to ski from the back door . We hope to return next year.
excellent location, wonderfull people to work with
Left on 08/09/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Viorel
This was the 3rd time we went out there and the experience was very good. We had minor (almost insignificant) complaints and the front desk handled it with care.
This is an excellent location for an off grid vacation no matter the season. Wild life is a step away, views are amazing, beach (Lake Superior) is a few minutes away, excellent trails thru the woods, and lets not forget the waterfalls! We will definetely be back many many times...
We love it in the up and at the area we stayed but would love to
Left on 03/24/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Bob Burns
We have been coming to the up for many years and have stayed in the alpen Villas for many of them. We love it there.
While we do love the area and realize times are tough and rentals are often empty the place is extremely outdated.
Some small changes are really required for the future.
The bathrooms: Just some new caulk would improve greatly. Not looking for fixtures etc.. but Caulk around counters and shower.. would be very attractive
The beds: Worn.. need a good nights sleep after skiing.
We also had a spill or vomit outside the sliding door on the deck. Should have been spotted by housekeeping prior to our check in. But was taken care of by maintenance ... very courteous and thorough.
Loved the TV! My wife got ill while there and we watched more than usual Usually just into the beautiful setting.
If anything could be done about paneled walls.. would be nice.. but not necessary for us to stay. Bathrooms are an issue.
Love the gas grill. The hot tub is great. Place to lock skis outside a plus. Access to the slopes outstanding! Can stop back in for a break any time you please. Great for family!
The location is great.
Left on 02/23/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Carol price
The alpens are located in a great spot on the mountain, however they could really use updating and new appliances. The ovens in both villa 1 & 2 worked when it felt like it so several of our meals took hours to cook and/ or reheat. The swivel chairs located upstairs are broken so when you sit in them you feel like you are going to flip over. The heat in villa 2 in the downstairs didn't work to well.
Comfortable and predictable
Left on 02/15/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Tim
We have stayed in alpin Villa 3 times. We like the ski in/out feature and affordability. Beds are extremly hard and need updating, other than that we have been pleased with our stays.
Left on 03/30/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Chad
Skiing was great for late March. Rental was nice. Kids enjoyed the stay (and had fun in the hot tub).
Union Grove, WI
fun and relaxing
Left on 03/09/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | ski mom
Having a ski in ski out location always makes for a great time and it is so much easier to coordinate breakfast and lunches, even popping in for a quick hot cocoa in the afternoon. The accomocations were clean and spacious. We had all the kitchen supplies that we needed.
West Salem, WI 54669
Left on 03/04/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Adams Family
Only problem was pipes rattling, otherwise a very painless trip. Can't wait to see what they do for new facilities. Snow conditions were excellent.My three year old granddauughter hit the slopes for the first time and had a great time. It made for a very memorable weekend.Everyone at the hill was very friendly.
What we expected
Left on 02/16/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Timmy G
Bed very uncomfortable (hard), no remote for lower level TV
Got fresh snow overnight, Great! would have been nice to groom 1 swath to Villa, hard to get to bottom lift and back to Villa.
Overall we love staying at Powderhorn, (4th year) just a few things to improve... Thanks for asking... Tim
Our stay here was OK, not sure if I would stay here again.
Left on 02/10/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | rja
Overall our stay was OK. There was alot of dog hair in our living room area and the water in the hot tub was yellow and very cloudy.When I called about hot tub, someone came and changed the water, but we were unable to use the tub for our first 2 days. Inside was very dated but seemed to be kept up.Even though we supposedly got a very good deal, it seemed a little expensive for what we got.
Mr. Final quality control unit
Left on 01/19/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Mr. Final quality control unit
It looked as thought someone was living in the basement (food and empty soda cans).
There were noises in the walls as if a hibernating animal woke up.
The caulking job in the upstairs bathroom is terrible.
Two of the four burners on the stove did not work.
Some of the wood work is falling off.
Some of the door hardware was very loose.
When we left I had expected the person who checked me out to ask how my stay was. I was prepared to explain the above short comings but was surprised when the check out person did not ask "How was your stay?".
My family has been coming for years and have stayed on the slopes for the past 4 years. Read more
Response from Big Powderhorn Lodging Association - 01/21/2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding the issues during your stay. We take all of the issues you have raised seriously and are getting them remedied.
Yoosta Be A Yooper
Las Cruces, NM
family vacation base
Left on 08/23/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Yoosta Be A Yooper
This unit is a great value. We don't travel with a pet, but extended family stay in another unit in alpen Villa with their dog, so it works out great for all of us. The kitchen is very well equipped. I particularly appreciate having coffee filters there, so I don't have to buy 100 just to get 4. My only complaint is the wobbly chair in the living room. We'll be back.
Left on 08/12/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | tim austin
bathrooms and kitchen and bedrooms need updating, no remotes for tv's in bedrooms
Our stay at Powderhorn.
Left on 07/14/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Carol Bonkoski
It's a very nice place. We liked it a lot and would stay there again.
THE MORRIS CLAN
MT. MORRIS, MI
NORTHERN MICHIGAN EXPERIENCE !!
Left on 03/02/2010 for a stay in November 2009 | THE MORRIS CLAN
WE CAME TO THE SKI LODGE IN NOVEMBER OF 2009, THIS WOULD BE OUR SECOND TIME HERE AND WE CAME TO DO A LITTLE WHITETAIL HUNTING IN THE AREA, WE LOVE IT HERE, THE ALPEN VILLA 1 WAS GREAT , VERY NICE PLACE REALLY NICE PEOPLE HERE, WE WILL DEFINATLY BE BACK!! DID'NT GET A DEER THIS YEAR BUT WE HAD A FABULOUS TIME ANYWAY!!! CAN'T WAIT TO COME HERE AGAIN, THANKS FOR THE WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY!! DIANNE & BRADLEY MORRIS
2010 Ski Trip Olympians
Left on 02/24/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | 2010 Ski Trip Olympians
We really enjoyed our stay at the Alpen Villa! Check in was quick and convenient. The Villa was laid back and casual with the luxury of a flat screen tv and spacious hot tub! All amenities made it very simple to walk in and enjoy ourselves! Bill and Gena were very attentive to anything that we needed. The location of the Villa to the main lodge was very convenient! Having the shuttle service available for guests is outstanding and we utilized it on several occasions. We will be returning to Big Powderhorn for another weekend get away...hopefully annually!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.