Gorgeousl three bedroom plus game room, two bath cabin with beautiful forest views - packed full of amenities - deck with hot tub and barbecue, pool table, fireplace, 5 TVs including a Plasma and 47 inch LED, Direct TV with Football package, DVD player for each TV, WiFi, washer/dryer, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more.
Master bedorom has queen bed, TV, DVD player, and private bath.
Bedroom two has a queen bed, TV and DVD player.
Bedroom three has two sets of bunk beds (4 twins), a single sofa bed, TV and DVD player.
Living... room has a sofa bed and game room has a futon.
Sleeps 12. Parking for 2 vehicles.
The Nut House comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the cabin clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
No indoor smoking is permitted.
Additional amenities include: pool table, sofabed, washer/dryer, laundry, queen: 2, dogs permitted, bunk bed: 2, futon bed: 1, barbecue: gas, DVD player(s): 5, views: for, cleaning/towels/linens provided.Read more
Left on 07/12/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Cecilia C
The nuthouse cabin was an average rental. The carpet was dirty, very stained, and had a strong urine smell that was very hard to ignor. The refrigerator in the kitchen had a small leak so every time we opened the door we found ourselves having to use paper towels to dry water of our food, and the shelves inside...When checking out I was asked how everything had been during our stay at this cabin.. I proceed to slain the bothersome issue but all I was told after hearing what I had to say, was ok. I had read some of the previous reviews, and the stained dirty carpet as well as the strong urine smell had been mentioned before. I call prior to my booking the rental, and was told the issues had been fixed but that was not the case! I do have to say I was really disappointed! This is a beautiful cabin with some great amenities, fun place for the whole family, if only the small issues were really addressed. ..we have stayed in some of their other cabins before, and had some great experiences. Read more
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are in the process of addressing these issues and we thank you for bringing them to our attention!
Los Angeles, CA
Weekend getaway with friends
Left on 03/19/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | *misfitgrl*
We booked the Nut house for our winter weekend getaway with our friends. Upon arrival we entered the house and were surprised with how roomy and updated it was. We loved the layout of the house. As you walk in you're immediately at the living space and kitchen. There's a full bath on the first floor with a laundry room next to it and an exit to a roomy spacious deck. The kitchen is updated with amenities including towels and dish soap (even a dishwasher). In the living room there's a Blu-ray/dvd player and cable t.v. There's an upstairs with 2 bedrooms and 1/2 a bath. Downstairs is the master bedroom, full bathroom, game room and access to the hot tub. We booked the perfect weekend it snowed both days we were there. The house is very comfortable and warm. The only negative things I have to say about this house is the dryer needs to be repaired. It leaves clothes damp and cold. The other negative was the master bedroom had no heating. It was the coldest room in the house. We tried opening the door to the game room to let in some heat, but it was still too cold. The Wi-Fi does not work and the cable kept going out luckily, we brought along some movies. The house is located on a hill, about a 10 min drive to the village, we didn't mind that. Overall it was great and we had fun. We would like to stay here again.
Left on 02/06/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Lara
We loved the nuthouse. The home was clean and provided everything to make the stay comfortable. Our only complaints.. The jacuzzi worked great the first night but shorted out while we were in it and could not use it the second day. We called but it never did start working. The shower downstairs is super slick. I slipped and fell. Just be careful getting in and out.
it was not bad
Left on 01/10/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | rustam muhitdinov
Not bad but couple thinks need to be fixed pool table standing not right the walls giving the problems to play normal ,second think it was no gas in barbecue ... in description they have write the problem about a pool table . But if you drunk actually dont care where is it:) it was fun and very clean place. Recommend! But price have to be lower!
Not Happy with this Cabin!
Left on 10/24/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | NRojas
We decided to stay two nights in Big Bear at the nuthouse which was our first visit at this rental but third time with Cool Cabins. We first checked in to have a rude remark by the young kid at the counter about how we didnt need to check in and should have gone straight to the cabin. I asked why and how would I know that and his reply was that they sent an email. There was never any email sent. I rechecked as well. Anyways, upon arriving, the first thing we noticed when opening the door was a strong smell of urine. By surprise, thirty minutes later someone from cool cabins showed up and asked us if everything was ok which I found weird since we never called them. I told them about the smell and he said he couldnt do nothing about it but would make a note of it! We actually really only used the upstairs becuase the downstairs was, where I believe, the main source of the smell of urine was coming from. After reading the past reviews, this has been an issue that this company seems to overlook, which, is not cool! I would never make such a complaint if it wasnt that bad, but, this time around, it was. On the other hand, the cabin wasnt a bad place to stay. It had alot of nice things about it and was stocked with pretty much everything you need to make your stay comfortable. But I would not stay here again until that urine problem is fixed!!! Read more
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay with our company. Upon further investigation of this matter we discovered there was a leak down stairs and the issue is being taken care of. This home will not be available until it is fixed. We have emailed you a discount to be used on a future stay.
Exactly what I was looking for!
Left on 10/17/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Eric
I loved it. It took me no time at all to look through all of the houses, pick this one, book it, done. The house was exactly what it advertised itself to be...we had an amazing weekend.
Not the worst, but not the best
Left on 09/12/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | NutHouseVisitor
This was my family's 1st annual get together and we enjoyed our stay but definitely felt the need to leave some feedback on our stay. First of all, we loved that the house was pet friendly (as we had one indoor dog and one outdoor) but was very surprised at how dirty and stained the carpets were (most likely from pets). My whole family felt very uncomfortable sitting on the floor as there were stains throughout the entire house. Also, the bottom level of the house smelled like urine and dirty carpet that we literally had candles burning to kill the smell, which was very unpleasant. I think had the place felt and smelled cleaner, we would have definitely enjoyed our stay a little more. Additionally, I had family that was looking forward to using the pool table but that was very dirty as well with lots of stains and debris (plus we couldn't find the rack to place the balls for the entire weekend). Lastly, thank God we had a handy man with tools staying with us because the chairs on the table were very loose and unstable that my grandmother fell off of. On the plus side, there was definitely enough room for 12 adults and there were many extras that came with the cabin which we enjoyed.
We used to like this cabin, but things are falling apart
Left on 09/12/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Yvonne
We have been to this cabin several times and used to enjoy it, but it seems that things are not being kept up. One of the major issues is the completely out of date hot tub that was only lukewarm and there are no controls to adjust the temperature other than the old control panel under the tub, and it is so old you can't even read it. No instructions either. The jets didn't work either and I have called at previous stays about the hot tub already. In addition, the pool table was missing the triangle. The beds were awful, all of us thought the mattresses were too worn out, even my 12 year old said it was really uncomfortable. One of the window blinds couldn't even be pulled up any longer, which is minor, but it added to the things that bugged us. This is potentially a very nice cabin, too bad it is not being updated. Read more
Thank your for leaving us your feedback for this property. The owner has recently put a lot of money into the spa and we have not had any issues with it since then. We will definitely address these issues with the homeowner and see what we can do to make the home more comfortable, thank you for informing us! We hope to see you soon!
It could have been better
Left on 08/15/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Wongs
Big Bear Cabins gave excellent service. They were very pleasant, willing to help and answered issues very quickly. The cabin was in a great location. The beds were nice, the cabin was clean and spacious. It was very central to the main things in Big Bear, however, the cabin, it's comfort and amenities could be updated. It was not very hot in Big Bear, but I could not imagine staying in this cabin if it gets any hotter. It did not have a/c or ceiling fans, which then having floor fans would had made it more tolerable. If it wasn't for the "basement" bedroom, we would not have had a good night sleep. The pool table did not have the full set of balls and they got stuck in the table after the second game, rendering it useless. I would also suggest providing instructions for using the TV, Satelite box and dvd player, so you do not spend so much time figuring out how to use it. The main Tv's dvd player remote was missing. Good thing the dvd player's remote from another room worked for the main TV. And as a person who has rented many vacation homes, providing a little binder with restaurants, stores, etc. as a resource would make it more like a vacation home.
it was OK
Left on 07/11/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | bigbearlover
The house itself was very nice how ever a little misleading. We had 6 adults staying in the cabin and when we arrive the 2nd bdrm upstairs had 2 bunk beds not the full bed we had thought. With that we had to pull the sofa couch out in the living room where we were greeted with a few critters. Off to the downstairs foutob mattress which was actually pretty comfy. The cabin is pet friendly with extra bowls and everything but no yard to let them free in. Apart from the sleeping situation the house was great the hot tub was huge and the porch was verynice. Bring fans if your staying in the summer!
Great cabin experience - some drawbacks here and there
Left on 03/13/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | Mike R
The cabin is located in a great area. There is parking for at least two vehicles right in front. We almost didn't realize what the driveway looked like as we arrived after a heavy snowfall. There are many winding neighborhood roads, but of course that is part of the experience.
The cabin key only opens the back door, which I find ridiculous since another reviewer had mentioned this quite some time ago and it still hasn't been fixed. Trekking through several feet of snow after a long drive to get in the back door is not the best way to start off a vacation.
Everything was clean when we arrived. There are certainly plenty of utensils and cooking equipment, so this would be a great place to stay if you are doing any cooking. Several grocery stores are just down the street.
The are two bedrooms (one quite small, another a little larger) that overlook the living area. Another bedroom suite is located in the basement. Keep this in mind if you are coming with a family - the 'master' bedroom is two floors away from the others, and the rooms are all vastly different sizes.
There is a dining table that accommodates 6, and can extend (although the extension piece was nowhere to be found).
The pool table downstairs was unplayable. This was a major reason why we booked the cabin, but unfortunately it is not even worth considering. It needs to be completely refurbished. Several of the cues were broken.
There is one half-bath upstairs, a full bath (with laundry) on the main floor, and another full bath downstairs.
Overall, this is a nice cabin and has a great feel to it. I recommend it for the price. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and bring the issues to our attention. According to our records we had fixed the door and no one brought it to our attention again. We want you to now that we will be re-keying the entire house so that there is no longer an issue. We will also be replacing the pool cues and contacting the homeowners to see if they would be interested in doing some updates. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back soon to visit us!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Great Weekend Getaway
Left on 12/08/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | DJMAX
We stayed in this dog friendly cabin and enjoyed it quite a bit. The hot tub worked quite well, the place will sleep an army, and the parking is level with the entrance which is very convenient. The kitchen is very well stocked with every thing the cook needs, the fireplace is quite large and with a few logs makes for a very nice atmosphere in the evening.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Loved the home
Left on 06/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Lisa Glass
Loved the home, there were a few things that were falling apart. One of the chairs at the table was falling apart. My six year old granddaughter was sitting on it when we saw this. Thank goodness it didn't brake. There was no front keys on for the back door. It was very warm upstairs in the bedrooms to sleep. There weren't any fans so my daughter had to buy two of them. The good points were there was a lot of room for the kids to play and the home was cosy and very nicely furnished.
C- A little above average
Left on 04/19/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | RFC
We enjoyed our stay however there were several things that occurred while we were there for our 3 day visit. First, the key did not open the front door, but opened the back door and since we arrived at night, it was very difficult to see where it was. Second, the next morning we had a knock on the door and it was the gas company to "shut off" the gas, third, the electric company came and left a note of turning off that service and lastly, a representative from a bank came by to leave an envelope for the home owners. It seemed the timing was off considering we were a bit bothered by the owners personal issues. That being said, it's a nice home and we enjoyed it very much. Read more
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Upon receipt of your review we did inform the owners of the property of the issues you experienced and we did ask that they inform all parties involved in the sale of the home to respect our guests and their privacy. Once again we are very sorry; we hope you will give our company another chance in the near future. If you are willing to give us another chance please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally ensure that the home you choose is in outstanding condition prior to your stay.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 04/18/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Jboren
Loved that I could drive straight to cabin, punch in the code and be "checked in". Saved alot of time. The cabin was nice, a little dark and struggled to understand where all the lighting was. However once we were settled in, really had no complaints. I think it would advisable to clean a cabin right before new renters arrived as I think there may have been a long gap between renters due to spiders and cobwebs. That would be avoided if they cleaned right before we got there. That was a little gross. The downstairs gets very cold and the heater down there takes a long time to heat the game room and attached bedroom. However, it does warm up just give it time. Very comfortable and the kids were able to play downtowns and the moms enjoyed some quiet wine time by the fire upstairs...perfect for relaxing!
Beautiful, Big and Comfy Cabin
Left on 01/29/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Dee
I rented the cabin and Cool Cabins were very helpful when I needed there assistance. I rented for four days three nights. I loved the cabin and so did the guest I brought. Everyone thought is was really nice. It is close to the village and stores, but it take some time to drive through all of the side streets and can be tricky. I loved the hot tub and how spacious the cabin was. I also liked how it had just about everything you would need. The extra blankets and pillows were great too. The hot tub was not filled correctly when I got there, but when I called they contacted the company that takes care of the tub and they helped resolve the issue within a reasonable time frame. Great clean cabin. They were great about giving me an early check in and a late check out. The cabin has everything thing you would need. Make sure to turn increase the heater temp from low to high so you have plenty of hot water. Also, the dishwasher left soap on the dishes so wash them twice, if it is not fixed yet. The pool table is old and worn so it is difficult to really play pool and make bank shots, but it is still nice to have the pool table. Overall, the cabin is a really nice one and I would rent it again. I think that a few things need to get fixed like the dryer, which does not seem to work. And it could also use a large frying pan and the dishwasher needs to be fixed. Otherwise, it is a great cabin that I recommend!
Left on 12/19/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Vickie
Had a wonderful time, the jucuzzi did not get hot at first but Cool Cabins got someone right out there to take care of it and everything else was perfect. The only bad thing is the pool table is to close to the wall to play a good game of pool
Left on 08/19/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Jo
My husband and I had the downstairs master suite with bathroom. My daughter, son in law and teen girls stayed upstairs. The bathroom in the master suite had a pile of termite droppings in the corner and smelled very bad. No matter what we did we had to put up with the smell every night. I would imagine it is the toilet ring that needs to be replaced. No broom, not enough kitchen towels. Not quite what I expected. Lots of bugs and spiders in doorways. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them immediately. According to our records you did not call and report any issues with cleanliness or lack of supplies during your stay. If you had a concern at anytime during your stay we wished you had informed us so that we could immediately attend to any issue you may have had. You are our valued guest, and it is our desire to make sure our guests know we care about their needs. As of today all issues have been addressed and are in the process of being resolved. If there is anything we can be of assistance with please feel free to give us a call or email us anytime. We look forward to welcoming you to Big Bear in the future!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Great Place to stay
Left on 07/13/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | jamie
We came up from la for the 4th of July weekend. Had so much fun and were very happy with the cabin. Very cozy and well kept. Had fun with the pool table and hot tub. We would stay here again! The water heater had a leak which i'm sure will be replaced, the pool table needs to be leveled, and the owner should keep a broom somewhere for the leaves/debris on deck and deck tables/benches-but these are our only suggestions. Thanks again for a great weekend!
Left on 07/12/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Anna G.
This cabin has so much room, it's great! There were 8 adults staying here and plenty of room to sleep all of us! It is located quite a bit away from the village and takes many turns/streets to get to it, but the neighborhood is quiet, woodsy, and the jacuzzi is awesome (though more warm bath water than hot jacuzzi temperature). Multi-level really separates everyone, without you feeling distant, but still cozy - plenty of bathrooms for everyone and lots of kitchen supplies.
Everyone thought this cabin was great.
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in July 2010 | Daniel Horner
This cabin has everything and is ideal for an extended family. We would highly recommend it.
Perfect spot with teenagers in tow
Left on 04/14/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Keith
Arrived on a thursday night with 4 teenage boys. Didn't know exactly what to expect as we'd only seen the photos. Walked in the door and couldn't believe how perfect the place was for our needs. Downstairs had a game room, TV and Bedroom and bathroom. Great for the teens to hang out and make noise as teens do. Street level living room and kitchen were beautiful and stocked with all the goodies needed for a comfy stay. Bedrooms upstairs were well insulated from the noises of kids downstairs which was just fine with me. Awesome place to stay surrounded by lots of beautiful trees. Needed a broom to sweep pine needles off of deck but that was only complaint if u can call that one. Would go back to the same place in a heartbeat !!!
A great cozy cabin with lovely amenities
Left on 03/24/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | yogibeth
The cabin was perfect. Lovely and cozy and super close to the slopes - about a 3 min drive!
The hot water was a little hit and miss, but that was the only thing.
The kitchen was really well stocked (although didn't seem to have a chopping board or good sharp knife).
Great area for sitting around the fire and enjoying wine with friends after skiing.
The Nuthouse - Big Bear's hidden secret!!
Big Bear Cool Cabins Wins again!!
Left on 03/05/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | The Nuthouse - Big Bear's hidden secret!!
This is 7th annual snowboarding trip my friends and I taketo Big Bear. For the last 4 years we have been using Big Bear Cool Cabins and even though every year we get someone who researches other sites, we keep coming back. This year, we lost our original choice of cabin 3 weeks before our trip. Big Bear Cool Cabins notified us and was able to get us back on board with an awesome cabin "The Nuthouse." This cabin has everyone we needed; ammenities, location, size, etc. Thanks for helping us with saving our trip and we will be back in 2012.
Antonio G A
A must go back
Left on 01/12/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Antonio G A
It's our second time in big bare, but if I have to rent a cabin I would definetly rent the nut house again, the kids had a lot of fun in the back slop, but I absolutly loved the downstairs bedroom and pool table, it's a verry nice place with everything you might need, exept for a passward to the wi-fi, that was not available,
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.