Log-sided home with three bedrooms and two baths. Tongue and groove ceiling in dining/living area, nice corner rock fireplace, TVs, Blu-Ray/ DVD players, washer/dryer, and full kitchen with pine cabinets, stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more. Clean, open feel to lay-out. Great deck in back with spa and barbecue. Front deck has slight view of ski runs at Big Bear Mountain.
Master Suite has a king bed, private bath, and deck.
Bedroom two has a queen bed, TV and DVD player.
Bedroom three has a bunk bed and a twin bed.
Living room has a sofa sleeper....
Convenient location near stores, restaurants, and more. Sleeps 9. Parking for 3 vehicles.
Whispering Forest comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the home clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
Sorry, but no pets are allowed at Whispering Forest.
Left on 02/13/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | disappointed
Our party started out at Happy Bear to find the bed broken and unusable. I remember reading that in a review, but it said the issue had been addressed. It had not and the office knew about it but still rented it out. Additionally, on our way up the driveway a nail sticking out the side of their driveway took out our tire! The office didn't care about this and did nothing, I love buying $300 ties just for fun. So back to the office we headed for our downgraded "upgrade". No Wi-Fi, but at least we could sleep since by the time everything was taken care of it was about that time. Now to remove the advil I found on the floor of the room so the kids didn't eat it. We could only go for one night and I wish we hadn't. Read more
We are very sorry to hear that your experience was any less then spectacular. Unfortunately I show no record of anything you mentioned in this review. If you would be so kind as to give our office a call so we can make it right, I would really appreciate it!
Left on 12/05/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | EDMAR
The first thought that came to my mind when we first opened the door to the cabin was, wow!
Not knowing what to expect, we were happily surpised to find a spacious and very clean cabin. This is a beautifully kept and comfortable cabin. The kitchen is well equipped. Beds were comfortable. My only suggestion is to have more sitting. There is only one sofa and one recliner. This was not enough sitting for a cabin that accomodates nine people. Maybe another sofa or even a love seat would be a great addition. The same for the dining table. Only had six chairs. Extra chairs would be great so all could eat at the table at the same time. We were there for Thanksgiving and eating together was important to us.
The location is good. Only about a five to ten minute drive to town.
We would definitaly rent this cabin again.
Boca del Cielo
Good Times !
Left on 10/16/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Renex
Great cabin, great location. All it needs is internet for entertainment.
It was worth the money I paid for it.
Left on 07/22/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Mer
This place is awesome! Went here with friends for a weekend summer getaway and all of us were happy about the place. They've got all you need handy around the house as though they saw what you'd need ahead of time.
During our stay, it was clean except we were attacked by ants. But they had a Raid spray there ready for your use.
My only complain is that it was a little hot during our stay. It drove me out of my good mood. Plus, we had kids and certainly they didn't appreciate the temperature inside the house.
We were out of hot water, but when I called and reported the problem they were prompt to fix it. :)
Fourth of July Family Trip
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Lynda
The staff at cool cabins were very welcoming and helpful. The location of the cabin was in a nice quiet neighborhood. When we arrived it was very hot in the cabin. We were not very happy that there was no ac or swamp cooler to try and cool the house down. I immediately called cool cabins and was very disappointed when the lady told me there was no kind of cooling system for that house. It was very stuffy and uncomfortable to sleep in at night even with every window open in the house. There were also ants everywhere but we found raid in the hall closet so that helped. Another issue we found was that there was no hot water. Whoever was supposed to set up for our arrival failed to turn the hot water heater on and left it on vacation. On a good note there was plenty of room, the hot tub was great and if there was some kind of cooling system for the entire house I would book it for entire week in august but it is way to hot to even consider sleeping in the conditions. My husband said next time we will stay in a hotel so he can have aC. He said he works in the heat everyday and was expecting to be cool while he at least slept at night.
Cabin needs some attention
Left on 03/27/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | teknowledge
i wrote to Cool Cabins during our stay but still haven't heard a response. I send them photos of the torn couch and broken oven handle discovered upon our arrival. I also reported that one of the ceiling "can lights" was burned out. My last note to them recommends that they have a coat rack; the only place to hang coats is in the bedrooms.
It was snowing hard when we arrived and even though we had chains, it would have been nice to know that this cabin is up a significant hill. Aaa didn't come for two hours but a good Samaritan towed up us the hill. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review in the future please feel free to give us a call anytime and we will be more then happy to fix any issues. We will have the couch, light, and oven repaired. We will also speak to the homeowner and see if they would be interested in purchasing a coat rack or hanger. We apologize for any inconveniences and hope you will be back to visit us soon!
Left on 03/21/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | Roman M
We came to whispering forest with our children and it has so much space for them, everything were in place and cleaned as desired. Just the water at the spa was a litle dirt.
If I have trhe opportunity, definetely will rent again Whispering Forest cabin.
Las Vegas NV
Left on 07/03/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Ericka
We really enjoyed our stay, definitely will come back soon :)
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Versanchez
the service is great; the original cabin that i rented was dirty and had some construction going on so the people at the check in were so nice to give us an upgrade and move us to this cabin; cabin is nice and clean but it didn;t have a blender and i couldn't got to work the DVD player
Left on 04/11/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Jami
We really loved the house and the time we spent there. We had a few concerns about it. The Tv's did not work well at all. The remotes didn't work in the back room. The shower in the hallway the doors were not on a track and it seemed very dangerous.
The hot tub was great and we really enjoyed ourselves just a few minor things I would fix. Read more
The staff at Big Bear Cool Cabins is pleased to hear that your stay at Whispering Forest was enjoyable. We want you to know that we do respond to each issue and rectify them as needed. Upon receipt of your review maintenance was sent to the home to look at the televisions, remotes and the hall shower. We thank you for your business and hope to see you in the near future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 01/04/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Dro
The cabin was super clean and nice,we had a good time over there.
Left on 12/29/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Martinez
The furniture is in really bad shape the add offers wi-fi and there is none the hot tub does not work so there are many details the make this place unconfortable Read more
I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed staying with Big Bear Cool Cabins and Whispering Forest. Most guests find Whispering Forest to be cozy and more than accommodating. Prior to your arrival the hot tub at Whispering Forest was serviced and there were no notations of any issues per the spa technician. To ensure that there was no error during his servicing we have sent another technician to look over the hot tub. Whispering Forest does not advertise internet, but we will suggest that to the owners of the property. We have also suggested new furniture to the owners for further consideration.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Endure the Bear
Left on 09/22/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Rick
The cabin was nice however probably could of used some additional maintenance like air filters and such. The cabin itself was clean and everything needed was provided. Overall our stay was great and look forward to staying again!
There are many better places for the same price
Left on 08/19/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Ari
Although this place was large, had a nice kitchen, and had a great hot tub, the carpets were stained, slats were missing from the window blinds, it smelled musty, the water out of the shower heads was weak, the hinges of the doors creaked loudly, it was quite hot, the TVs and cable box worked poorly (sound was muffled, kids channels available in master bedroom but not living room, etc.), a pad was missing from one bed that we had to put on ourselves, and a guide was missing from the shower doors that left the doors swinging and dangerous and had to be repaired. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information about your stay; your feedback allows us to address any issues and resolve them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you ran into during your stay. I wanted to inform you that we have sent maintenance to the property to address the issues with the blinds, the shower and the carpets. We have also informed housekeeping of the issues with cleaning. Thank you once again for taking the time to inform us of these issues. We look forward to welcoming you to Big Bear in the future!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 07/20/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Carmen
The cabin was clean and roomy. However, since it was family, we do like to cook, but there was not enough flatware or utensils, plastic containers and pans. Other than that it was a nice place.
Home away from home
Left on 05/27/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Madrid Family
We were extremely satisfied with oour stay at this cabin! It was very immaculate, not to mention spacious and very clean. I am actually going back end of month! five stars
Granada Hills, CA
Great place but not so great policy
Left on 04/14/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Tyler
I was extremely happy with the cabin we stayed in for the weekend. It had a nice jacuzzi and a spacious layout. When you check out, make sure the house is spotless or else they will slap you with a $50 trash fee on your credit card. We got up early our last day to make sure the place was perfect. We cleaned for about 3 hours in and out. The only stuff we didn't touch was a trash bin on the porch that originally had some debris inside from before we got there. When the cleaning crew came, they told the rental agency that we had left trash all around the house. I'm figuring it was the can on the porch. Anyways, I tried contacting the cleaning crew to find out what all this garbage was, but they never returned my call. It was a great place, but their policy needs some modifications. Probably won't be coming back unfortunately. :( Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Whispering Forest as many of our guests do! I apologize for the confusion in regards to the trash situation. According to our records upon check out our maintenance team noted that there were cigarette butts, glow sticks, and other "protective," items all over the property. We did note this on the day of your check out, and charged you accordingly. If there is anything you would like to dispute or question please feel free to give us a call or email us anytime.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 01/20/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Cam
The cabin was awesome. It housed all 8 of us perfectly with no issues whatsoever. Everything was nice and ready to go upon walking through the door. I would recommend Big Bear Cool Cabins to anyone!
Nice cabin, needs some attention
Left on 12/30/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | maddmike
The cabin is nice and in a nice area. It needs some attention though. The heater didn't work when we fist got there. Someone eventually came around to fix it in a few hours but it was a cold few hours. The coffee maker needs to be replaces, it just doesn't work. There needs to be an additional couch too. One chair and a three person couch doesn't work for a cabin that serves up to 8 people.
This cabin is well worth the price.
Left on 12/15/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | jeremy
Me and my friends stayed here for the weekend everyone had a blast. The cabin is behind the airport opposite the slopes, its still a good base camp.
Changed cabins to Whispering Forest for 4 star rental
Left on 12/07/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | michelle
First we were in a cabin called Pines & Needles. Unfortunately, this cabin was substandard and too expensive. There was no heat and the chimney needed to be cleaned. So there was no heat for 3 hours.
Cool Cabins tried to fix it but it was getting dark, cold and it would be difficult to get a tech out to fix it on Thanksgiving. After, many calls to the office, some back and forth with the manager, we were given the keys to this wonderful rental. We would stay here again! It was dusty, but warm, clean and welcoming.
it was a big hassle on Thanksgiving weekend, we understand. However, when I tell the staff that the heater does not work and the fireplace is exuting smoke because the chimney is not clean. I felt exhausted explaining after 3hrs and 2 technicians later, this cabin in not as advertised.
I do apologize for the heating issues you experienced at your original cabin. Unfortuantely, we can not relocate our guests right away because we must attempt to resolve the issues first. If we find that the issues are beyond our control then the next step would be relocation. It is very unfortunate that there were issues beyond our control at Pines & Needles but I am very glad we were able to accomodate you into a cabin more enjoyable for you and your party.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.