Nine "9" Pines Lodge #537
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Renovated from top to bottom, this 1940â€™s 4-bedroom, 2-bath cabin has been transformed into an ideal mountain retreat that sleeps a family of 8 or provides 4 couples their own private bedroom. And what a location to enjoy the best of Big Bear at the lowest rates of the year! In fact, we doubt you will find such a well-appointed, 4-bedroom, 2-bath cabin in all of Big Bear! Itâ€™s only minutes to the lake and quaint Village, but far enough away to be the middle of a forest. Nine Pines Lodge was named for the large pine trees that tower above the log-sided structure. They shade the large two-level deck thatâ€™s perfect for outdoor barbecues. I...Read more
Nine "9" Pines Lodge #537
Big Bear City, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$320 - $570||$320 - $570||$0||$0||1 night|
|Mar. 31 2013 - May. 23 2013||$320||$320||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$345||$345||-||-||-|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$345||$345||-||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$445||$445||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$570||$570||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$495||$495||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$345||$345||-||-||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$445||$445||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$570||$570||-||-||-|
|View all 39 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 19, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
A group of Catalina Friends Up for the Weekend
Seven of us friends from Catalina fell in love with the picture of this cabin. Perfect for the dog and roomy for everyone. Walking thru the door of the cabin defintely took our breath away, not because of the beauty but because the carpet was so dirty that the entire place smelled dirty and musty. There were cob webs on the kitchen chandelier and the bathroom lights. There were missing light bulbs in the kitchen, there were broken chairs and towel bars. There were even baby ants in both bathrooms, we found them in the bed as well. The kitchen garbage and floors were dirty. Coming from a resort community on Catalina Island, expectations of the housekeeping are high even if it's a cabin in the woods. One last thing, the rooms are roomy, but the living room is so small that we could not all sit in it. It sits only 5 people comfortable (three on the small couch, two in the chairs). We still had fun, did a lot where we were away. It was appreciated that it was pet friendly with the fenced yard. Keep in mind that if you take a taxi to the bowling alley it will cost you $70 round trip including a tip.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/24/2012
Thank you very much for your review of Nine "9" Pines Lodge. Your feedback is very useful as it can allow us to determine problems when they arise and help to prevent such issues from occurring for other guests when preventable. We hope to have to the opportunity to help you plan a future vacation in Big Bear Lake.
This is our second time returning back to Nine "9" Pines Lodge and were happy. We are glad to see the recommendations were taking serious and in action. We love staying there because its comfortable. The only minor concern we had was the dining table chairs, there were a few lose that we used the fold up chairs. Other than that the stay was awesome and thank you for the improvements such as the cement parking area and 2nd floor bathroom.
Thank you! and will be back next year
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/23/2012
Thank you for the helpful review. Weâ€™re so happy to see you returned to stay in Nine "9" Pines Lodge for your winter time stay in Big Bear Lake. If you are contemplating a summer time trip to Big Bear, our Vacation Planners are able to help your find the right home for your future vacation.
San Diego area
It was the perfect little get away for our family!!
Congratulations to the owners. You have done yourselves proud. Your place was clean, cozy and completely equipped. There were seven of us - two older adults, three young adults and two teens. We spent lots of time playing cards and board games (remember those?). We cooked fun meals in your very well equipped kitchen. We definitely look forward to renting this cabin again! Thanks for doing it right.
The Huerta/Liuzzi Stay!!
The best Huerta/Liuzzi family vacation!!!
The "9 pines" cabin was everything we thought it would be. We traveled with 4 adults and 5 kids. The living arrangements were perfect, just enough space. The location of the cabin is situated perfectly with the back of the cabin facing the afternoon sun. The front has a room enough for a small sled run. Perfect for the kids to play. The distance from the cabin to the mountain and to local stores was perfect, not to close but not to far to get lost. The beds in the cabin are older and the living room furniture was a little old and dirty. Nothing that you couldn't cover with a blanket or survive for a fun weekend getaway. We cooked all weekend and the utensils were hard to come by, so be prepared and bring your own along with paper plates and etc. Our family just loved the stay here, the cabin had such a warm feel to it, like you were in a real log cabin. The kids absolutely loved it. We are making this cabin our annual winter cabin to come to every year we enjoyed our stay so much. Thanks for the wonderful trip!!!
Cute and cozy
We had a pleasant stay at this cabin for the most part. It is pretty small for 8 people. We had 4 adults and 4 kids and, even though everyone had room to sleep, there wasn't a lot of space to just hang out. One of the beds upstairs was very comfortable, the other was not at all. The water pressure is extremely low. Overall, the cabin is pretty dark and the upstairs is very cold (even with the heater on). We would stay again simply based on the fact that it was a good location, reasonable price, and newer and cleaner than other cabins we've stayed at. It is a very cute and cozy cabin. I would probably return with less people.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 06/30/2011
Thank you for completing our survey
Our Nine Pines Lodge has very hands on owners
Here is a message from them;
We have installed a shower upstairs, replace the downstairs shower curtain with a glass sliding shower door, built in a knotty pine bookcase in the living room, and totally refurnished the living room with "log style" furnishings and added a picnic bench.
We plan to keep improving things each time we return for visits, but meanwhile we wanted you to know that we are trying to make our costumer's happy.
There you have it, everone here cares about your stay. Come vacation at our Nine Pines Lodge soon!!!
Reading other reviews and yes I agree the minor downfalls 1) parking - it was muddy so there is no pavement 2) one bathroom has only one shower head 3) one of dressers door was broken 4) shower pressure is low and water is either hot or cold. It is perfect people for a small size family of 8 due to size of the home. The house is not spacious and be ready for the stairs. My family liked the house because it was cozy and felt like we were in the woods. They did love the bath/jacuzzi upstairs. The house was clean when we arrived and had essential basic needs. Checking in and out was great service.
San Dimas, Ca
Overall good, very cozy
The place was clean and well equiped. the bedrooms were comfortable. My only complaint and disappointment was the driveway/ desinated parking area. It had snow/ice big paddle of water. very unsafe for entering or existing our vehicle. Also the water pressure in the downstair shower was too low. almost unable to rinse properly.
Clean smaller cabin
The cabin was cute but definetly small for a four bedroom.
There were some inconveniences with the cabin such as only one shower the other bathroom is a tub. This wouldn't have been that big of deal if the water pressure wasn't so bad takes 15 mins to take a quick shower. The beds are not super comfy but still a decent place to stay.
I liked very much, may be I?LL return the next year
M & M
Los Angeles, CA
We had an awesome time. The cabin was great, a tight fit for eight but very cozy. Would definitely return:)
Overall great experience
Great but for a few exceptions:
1. Wi-Fi not available. Calls not returned regarding access.
2. Front door does not work... needs to be repaired.
3. Two of the stove burners had to be lighted manually.
4. Legs on chairs in LR broken, but useable.
5. Parking not well defined.
Long Beach, CA
A Great Family Retreat
I came with my adult son, daughter, her husband, her children, and my ex-husband for our yearly family vacation. The cabin was cozy, and equipped with everything we needed. The children loved it! We would definately do it again!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/08/2011
We are glad to hear your family vacation in Big Bear was enjoyable.
Thank you for your review on 9 pines Lodge #537.We hope to see you again soon.
My wife and I were there with 2 other couples and we loved it, But, we thought it was a bit expensive.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/19/2010
Thank you for your response. We try to provide the perfect spot with the proper pricing. Hope you try us again in the fuiture
our summer vacation
we had a great time!!!
The place was awesome, the kids and us truly enjoyed our staying. The service was excellent...
La Mesa, CA
This property is a rental and is for sale. We had a realtor stop by with a family to show the place while we were there. Since there is a lock box on the front door, I was certain that if we weren't home at that moment, he would have came in and showed the place. He had no idea that it was a "rental." He asked if I was the owner... That incident left me wondering who else may have come in while we were gone. I was very upset over this and felt like we needed to put up a sign on the door, as well as hide our things. Further... there is only about 4 or 5 forks, bowls, knives, etc in the place - I was constantly washing dishes and the family ate in shifts. There is no can opener. The place is extremely small - the square footage is around 1200 sf or so. For a max occupancy of 8 that is a tight fit. As others have stated... the stairs are a killer. We parked in the mud at the foot of the stairs. We thought the "forest" would be quiet - but there are dogs that barked all night long!! This place was very disappointing.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/02/2010
Thanks for the review. We have addressed the situation with the realtor walking in and extended your reservation at no charge to you. We are very sorry that this happened to you during your stay with us, I hope it doesn't reflect badly on us and our services. Also, we have a 24 hour answering service so if there are any items that are missing or things that you may need we can get those out there we just have to be notified. Thanks
great vacation getaway for 2 families
It was great to stay in an updated cabin, but a few inconveniences. Lighting in kitchen is so dim, we had to move one of the lamps from the living area. Dishwasher didn't work if it was pushed in all the way. Maintenance came to inspect it and pulled it out 3 inches, then it worked. Inside door handle fell off when we first opened the door, but we replaced it. The upstairs bathroom is beautiful, but only has a bath without shower head, so you couldn't rinse without using a bucket or bowl. We ended up having 7 people using the downstairs shower. Maybe a hand-held shower hose could be installed? Some of the (new) windows didn't lock. There was no broom in the house (we were able to get one when we exchanged the towels). The kitchen is minimally equiped - the blender didn't work, barely enough dishes, glasses, and silverware for 7 people. We still had a wonderful time -it was the perfect set up so one family could be upstairs and the other downstairs, but next time, I'll know to bring more kitchen items with me.
Big Fat Guy with Family
A place big enough to relax in
For a stay of a few days with 7 of us, the cabin was big enough. Having 2 bathrooms is a must of course. If you plan on cooking while here you better bring a couple of pots and pans as well as knives and cooking utensils. We cooked a few times and muddled through with what was there. Be warned though, there are at least 2.5 flights of stairs to reach the entrance and 1 more to get upstairs. Lugging everything in and out is killer, and so is coming back after a long tiring day of activities. If you're not in shape don't rent this place (I'm not in shape that's how I know, this is the only drawback to this place. We wanted seclusion, it was not "secluded" in the true sense of the word, but it was far from everything, definitely not in walking distance from anything, which was want we wanted. Lugging everything in and out is killer, and so is comming back after a long tiring day of activities. If you're not in shape don't rent this place (I'm not in shape that's how I know, this is the only drawback to this place. We wanted seclusion, it was not "secluded" in the true sense of the word, but it was far from everything, definitly not in walking distance from anything, which was want we wanted. Our stay was for 4 nights, 5 days.
It was cool gave a real cabin feel. The wood finish inside and out is really a work
the cabin was nice and cozy. Had plenty of room for 8 people. everything worked. It was a great weekend, it was very relaxing. I would recommend this place, I'd come back. Although if you're lazy and don't like stairs you shouldn't stay here
This cabin had a lot of good qualities. The location to Bear Mountain was great...5 min drive. Lots of room for guests. Big enough kitchen/dinning area to feed everyone. The price was great!
The downside was that you are responsible for doing the dishes and we were not told that the dishwasher was broken. And what was with all the ants??? Does every cabin have an ant issue???
I felt as the location and other amenities made up for the wear and tear on the cabin.
Great for a couple of days
I loved the house. The check-in was EASY and very helpful. Service was
immediate. Unfortunately the house had no flat, safe outdoor area for the kids
to play... a steep slippery slope to the road. Like I said 'great for a couple of
day'. It was good that one family could sleep upstairs and the other was
It was clean and everything worked. Close to the skiing and shops. We found
driving around simple.
granada hills, ca
so , so
first off there was a worker there by the name of curtis i believe who had a very poor attitude. 2nd the cabin was very nice and the scenery was great but a few issues. the cabin was way small than what they promised. a lot of broken items inside and outside the cabin. but none the less had a great time with the friends we with. what i liked best about it would probably be the cabins front deck because it was nice size and had a decent view of mountains. least would have to be size and the condition the cabin is.
We had a good time and the house is in a convenient location. Nicely
decorated, plenty of space for 8. Make sure you can handle carrying luggage
and full coolers up the stairs
1. No coffee pot
2. Top bunk had no sheets, only a comforter and we could not find any in the
house to put on the bed.
3. Listed as pets okay, with fenced yard, but the fence did not go around the
property so dogs could get out.
4. Could have used a few more pots and pans, so glad we brought our own.
Los Angeles, CA
We were five with two dogs and we had a great time. The fireplace was
beautiful and heated the main rooms well. The upstairs required space heaters
unless we left the bedroom doors open.
The kitchen was a good size for us to cook and gather in... and we thought
there were plenty of chairs (unlike one of these silly reviews!)
We only wish we could have ordered the snow storm that blew in after we left
to arrive earlier so we might have had to stay longer!
Because of the dogs we brought our own child gates to try and close off the
balcony... ours didn't quite reach.
Might we suggest adding permanent gates, front and back?
Thanks for a wonderful weekend!
San Diego, CA
Beautiful home but...
...there are couple of gripes I have about this place. Other than the 40+ steps you have to endure each time you want to go inside, please be accustomed to the altitude or you'll pass out.
I read the reviews on flipkey earlier regarding "all" the towel racks falling apart (which I just put aside and reattached before we left the cabin). The seven chairs in the dining area that were noted in previous reviews were just 4, for a cabin occupancy of 8, there really wasn't many places to sit, but on the floor or at the fireplace. The upstairs bedroom on the right of the stairs had a door that for some reason closed on its own each time you left it open. There was a sort of a eerieness to it, so I just propped something there to keep it open. When you did close the door and slam it by accident, the green - antler shelf would fall, but with my clumsiness those antlers scratched me a goodsome (again, I put that aside until the trip was over and reattached it later). In that same bedroom (if you didn't know already, it was the room I stayed in), the TV had 3 remote controls at which none of the 3 worked for that Curtis Mathes, so forget about watching TV in there unless you hunt around the house in the middle of the night bothering your guests with their remote. The upstairs bathroom is a euro bath, so get used to wetting the entire bathroom when rinsing off. (There isn't a shower curtain and the towel racks behind it falls off as well). I have to say that the bathroom is fabulously decorated with plenty of towels to spare.
Living room/family area is seated for 4 people plus the rocking chair in would be 5. Not much space for laying out on the loveseat couch.
All in all, the cabin is beautiful and wonderfully furnished inside and out. Our dogs had a wonderful time barking at the squirrels from the entrance deck. We brought our own dog gates to enclose deck from the stairs and on the side that leads to the back. Wonderful home for an occupancy of 4, not 8 like it said
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/17/2009
Occupancy rating are set by city ordinance based on square footage of properties. Big Bear Vacations reccomends to owners to supply sleeping arrangements for occupancy, however, dining and seating arrangements can vary. There ARE eights chairs for the dining table; however, some of them are located in the four bedrooms so guests can have a place to sit to put on their shoes, rather than sitting on the edge of the bed.There are 30 steps leading to the front door, and they are divided into three sets of 10 with landings between each set.
Nice and clean but.........
the villa was nice, the carpet was stained though, but that was not the biggest issue....
The place is for upto 8 people, but there were only seven chairs in the kitchen (you guess where the 8th person sits) and there were only 4 balcony chairs (again guess where the others will sit). That was a problem because we were 6 people and there was not enough chairs for all of us plus the balcony table was broken, it was not usable at all.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/07/2009
Occupancy ratings are based on city ordinance per square footage. Sleeping arrangements are provided for occupancy, however, seating may not be available.
San Gabriel, CA
Free Wifi, But Password Protected.
I read some reviews from past visitors and heard there were few issue with the cabin. Property management said they already took care of the problems, so I took a chance and gave it a try since this cabin was rated 4 stars. First impression of this cabin was warm and cozy. In the kitchen there was a broken chair. TV stand in the living room looked kike it was about to collapse, so any new comer need to be very careful. Then come the disappoint part, Wifi had a password protection even though, they said it was free. A phone call to property management, the staff said there is no password for the Wifi and they couldn't help me. A 4 stars cabin feel like a 3 stars.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/07/2009
Free WI-FI access is available at Nine Pines Lodge. Please conatact Big Bear Vacations office 24 hrs a day regarding any issues with ammenities.
North Hills, CA
This place was wonderful. The home was nicely decorated and clean. I enjoyed my stay at 9 pines lodge very much. Everything was close by and easily accessable. It was a perfect getaway without feeling you're too far away. Only thing is, the stairs were killer going up and down. Especially a day after snowboarding. Other than that this place was picture perfect. I will most likely come back again.
What a nightmare!
I paid $1300 for 2 nights to have few friends over and to celebrate my birthday in this cabin. The cabin looks nice from outside, and we didn't mind the stairs leading to front door as others have complained in the other review. Where can i start... The heater wouldn't work properly and the rooms downstairs were freezing cold. Even if we put up the temperature up in the heater, it kept going down to 60 something degrees. Second morning, my friend was taking a shower and all of sudden, the water turned ICE COLD and hot water wouldn't come out. Some people had to take a cold shower until we made a call to maintenance and they came to fix it. And when i did try to take a shower, the hot water knob kept falling off every 2 minutes. And all the towel racks would not hold any towels. The bar kept falling which was very annoying. The worst part is, inside of the toilet broke and wouldn't flush, so we had to call maintenance AGAIN! To avoid cleaning fees, we're suppose to wash the dishes and leave them in the dishwasher. So we started our load right before we checked out, and we noticed there was water all over the kitchen floor, and noticed part of the dishwasher outside was broken and there was water leaking from it! We had to cancel the load and i would be very very pissed if i get charged for not doing our dishes.
To sum it all up, basically everthing in this house was broken. Even one of the bed upstairs, the mattress is so concaved in that I woke up in the morning from lower back pain. I must say, I did have a great time with my friends but it would've been so much better if things were working properly and we didnt' have to call maintenance everyday we were there.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/09/2009
Maintenace is on call 24 hours for issues like this. Sometimes things go wrong with items like water heaters and dishwashers while guests are there. Big Bear Vacations maintenace does its best to take care of all issues as they occur.
NIce, but a little deceiving.
The pictures looked great as did the 4-star ranking on this property, but we were surprised when we got there and discovered it had a massive staircase leading in (not an issue for us, but I think this should be stated upfront for those with mobility issues). Also, the house smelled dusty or smokey and the carpet was filthy and stained. We found more than a few beefy spiders in the bathrooms and generally felt it hadn't been cleaned or cared for much inbetween visits. I was happy bigbearvacations.com provided us with box fans because it was toasty upstairs.
Also, the beds were hit and miss in terms of comfort. I'm tempted to get a hotel next time, but need more space.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/28/2008
Thank ypo for your response. The carpets have been cleaned and we have addressed your concerns on housekeeping.
Great for two families!
We rented this for two familes of four. The location was perfect for everything - eating, playing, etc. The only downside - the very, very, very long stairway to the front door. My husband was furious, until he saw how beautiful the rental was inside, and how perfect it was for our girls and their friends. But consider this if you have young children who need assistance on stairs.
The Venegas Family
All the comforts of Home!
This house was exceptional. It had all the amenities and then some. It's decorated tastefully as well. We all enjoyed it very much. The only downfall is "all the stairs". But once your in and settled it's Awesome.