Happy Haynes Hideout #1223
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Happy Haynes Hideout is a quaint A-frame style cabin in a great location to the Big Bear City Convention Center. Walk to the Octoberfest and Just minutes to either of the ski slopes, village area or the lake. The property is 2 story with a comfortable living room with wood burning fireplace, DSL internet (bring cord), TV / DVD Combo (the DVD on the Left side of the TV) and a VCR. The kitchen has the basics with a microwave (no oven) and dining table. The first bedroom is downstairs with a full size bed and a full bath. There is access out the back to the fully fenced yard with charcoal BBQ. The second bedroom is opened to the living room an...Read more
Happy Haynes Hideout #1223
Big Bear City, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$260 - $460||$260 - $460||$0||$0||1 night|
|Mar. 31 2013 - May. 23 2013||$260||$260||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$260||$260||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$340||$340||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$340||$340||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$360||$360||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$460||$460||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$340||$340||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$340||$340||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$400||$400||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$260||$260||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$260||$260||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$260||$260||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$340||$340||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$340||$340||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$360||$360||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$460||$460||-||-||-|
|View all 39 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
San Diego, California
The entire cabin was filled with gas when we arrived. Had we arrived at night & turned on the light we would have been blown to bits! When maitenance arrived we were told the stove & oven were the cause of it and it was the 15th time in about a year it has been called in!!! Needless to say we couldn't cook the whole times. The master bedroom bed was broken & we had to support it with firewood to hold it up so we could sleep on it but it was sagging the entire 3 days and albeit maintenance was due back to fix it the next day they never came back. They claim to have TV service as well when we got there the TV wasn't working but maintenance fixed that and we found out TV means 2 channels and the rest is pay per view. The upstairs had no lamp at all and long black hair in the bed! Disgusting! The master bedroom lamp had 2 huge burn holes in it . The 2 living room lamps one had a shade that was burnt cracked & broken & the other had no shade at all! the rug was filthy and it doesn't look like anyone has spent a dime on this place in many years! The bath towels ere very dingy grey and the dishes and cups were all old & mis matched. You'd see nicer in Salvation army. When our stay was over & we dropped off the key we mentioned to the clerk that they should dis-associate from this property and explaind why & they did give us a $125 voucher for another property which I thought was a nice gesture since I wasn't insisting on a refund.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/06/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review this property. We have addressed the issues in this home with our property manager and they are being brought to the owners attention. As far as the issue with the gas, after reviewing the history for this property, whomever you spoke to, spoke incorrectly when the said that this is the 15th time this house has had this issue. We keep a very detailed report about the number of times a property has had a specific issue, and this is not the case with this home. Thank you for your honest review so we were able to address these issues immediately.
san diego ca
not worth the money
it was dirty. no blankets. very cold. heater broke one night. the kitchen didnt have everything to cook with like pots and pans. the ones they had were broken and gross. the bathroom was very clean. thats the only plus. the beds were old. the whole place needs to be upgraded. next time i wont pick big bear vacations.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/23/2012
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, as it allows us to address concerns that our guests might have with a vacation home. Had you called our offices (open or closed) maintenance could have come and gotten it working for you right away. Likewise, we would have been able to address the other issues you experienced during your stay as well.
Looking for a deal
San Juan Capistrano
A great price for 6 people
We expected "small" so we were not disappointed;brought a trunk load of wood so we enjoyed the fireplace. Didn't use TV, just family fun and games. Bring blankets if you want any more than one light spread. The livingroom and bedroom heaters kept it warm enough but they ran a lot. Cute bathroom but it's off the downstairs bedroom.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/23/2012
It's great to see you had a nice time in Happy Haynes Hideout. And thank you so much for the informative review! We evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
My stay was great!
There were only a couple of things in the cabin that i didnt like. The lighting in the rooms was too dim and the main room did not have light. The cabin was alot smaller than i thought, but overall the stay was great!
Big Bear Octoberfest was fun
Cabin was cute, just got really cold at night not enough heat to warm the whole place up, but otherwise our we still had fun!
Everything was great
We had a blast and although it is a small cabin the space is ulitized in such a great way it seems bigger
San Pedro, CA
Perfect location but not comfortable
The sofa and both beds were long past time for replacement. Customer service was very good regarding check-in and check-out.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/21/2011
We are very sorry the beds and sofa beds were not as comfortable as you had hoped. However we are very pleased that our customer service and check in/out process was enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!
A Perfect Oktobeerfest!
Clean clean clean!!! An excellent way to get us to come back and do more business with you.
We had one of the best times at this rental. We use to stay at the Motel 6 across the street from the Convention Center when we attend Octoberfest. This year, we wanted to do something a bit different and were so lucky to find this little gem of a cabin. Literally across the parking lot from the Convention Center yet far enough away that you don't get the louder crowd noises that get going after a few beers and chicken dances late at night.
We brought our own grill (there is one provided), and sat in the backyard having a great early celebration with Brauts and Beer. That was the beginning of a great stay.
Now for some insites for those who are looking to rent this place.
As stated in earlier reviews, the stairs are a bit steep and we would only recommend smaller children use the loft area for sleeping.
The Dish-Network that was available was okay (couldn't find fox network as we like to watch the Sunday NLF pre-game show with Howie, Terry, Mike and Jimmie).
There was only a VCR but we always bring a DVD player (learned from past cabin rentals).
For cooking, we suggest bringing your own cutlery and cutting boards (2) as there were none that we could find... no biggie.
Don't bring too many perishables as the refrigerator is very small.
The Internet was available so the teenager could do her NetFlix and Facebook stuff... she wasn't bored to death.
None of the negatives are meant to cast a shadow but to assist others with information. We make do with what we are given and we make it a fun time. Having a clean cabin to start with is a big plus.
All in all, we had a very nice time here and plan to do the same thing next year at the same cabin, ... if they'll have us.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/24/2011
Of course we would love to have you stay with us again! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You couldnt have picked a more convenient cabin for going to the Oktoberfest. Great feedback for the other guests too! Thanks for staying with us and we can't wait to see you again!
Cute little cabin
This is a small cabin, but very cute. The fence in the backyard is not very tall, my dog would have jumped it but if you have a smaller or older dog then it shouldn't be a problem. There is only one bathroom, it is connected to the main bedroom. The other bed is upstairs, and the stairs are narrow, not ok for older people. The beds are small, maybe a full size. I'm used to a cal king so that was a tight fit. There is a coffee pot but when you check in you only get 1 coffee filter and one pack of coffee, just an FYI for my fellow coffee drinkers. There is one TV and it's in the living area. The heat works very well so no worries about getting cold! Overall this place was just fine :) Not fancy but worked great for us. The above information is not meant to be complaining, just information I think that others would like to know before staying at this cabin. We went to Octoberfest and I could have thrown a rock to the convention center, where Octoberfest takes place.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/06/2011
thank you for your review on our survey.the average fence heigth in Big Bear is normally 4 feet.Thank you again for your reply
Motel 6 is better and cheaper.
It is a very old and small cabin. Do not expect anything good. Beds & sofa are so uncomfortable. I found a Motel 6 across street. They are cheaper and better than this over valued cabin.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 09/09/2011
This is is very quaint A-frame 2 star cabin, perfect for a small family. It is located close to Big Bear Snowplay and the Convention Center.
Enjoyed our stay
We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. The location was great... everything was with-in 5 min of driving. Everything is also easy to access with bikes. The beds were comfortable, everything worked in the kitchen besides the oven stove. The kitchen was also fully equiped. We didnt stay long there throughout the day, but at night we enjoyed our stay very much!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 09/09/2011
Perfect review of this cabin, it is exactly that. Small, cozy, and comfortable. We hope you will stay again soon!
you get what you pay for. it's a decent place. The upstairs bed room is difficult to get up to because of the small and steep stairs. Otherwise the place was pretty nice.
Nice place to stay
This was a very pleasant place to stay for me and my 2 sons. The heaters worked really well, although we did bring our own blankets and pillows. It was clean, but sort of dusty and affected my allergies a bit. Otherwise, for the money, it's a great place to stay for a small family!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 05/26/2011
This home is exactly that!!!
A great place for a couple and kids, clean, efficient, and great location.
Cute inside but trashy neighbors will ruin your experience
Checked in, arrived at the property and began to get settled. I did not like its location (it's on a street that looks kind of dumpy), but the inside was cute and it was clean. I figured okay, it was a last minute booking, all is fine. I go out with my 8 year-old to the little fenced back yard to hear the neighbor (if you're looking toward the yard from the back porch, he lives on the right) cursing loudly and throwing things around. So my wife hears the same and comes outside, right about when the trashy neighbor yells at us to make sure we "keep our f*cking dog out of the back yard" because he didn't want his dog to see it. Now, my dog was clean, is very well trained and did not bark or do anything. This is just what he said to us upon our arrival!! Didn't need my 8 year old to hear that. Also, when we would go out back to throw snow balls, he yelled at us to "shut the f*ck up" even though it was my wife, myself and my little girl and it was the middle of the day. Meanwhile, his dog barks nonstop and will not allow you to sleep at all. Would have been a great experience if it weren't for that neighbor, but he unfortunately won't be going anywhere, so i would definitely suggest you go elsewhere unless you're looking specifically for someone to ruin your trip and provoke confrontation. We actually woke up to find the backyard littered with beer cans he threw over, which of course we had to clean up. We just sucked it up and kept our mouths shut but it's really enough to cause a scene if you're not careful. He's a hateful man who is very bitter about the house being rented out. The property itself is very cute inside and well maintained, but it doesn't make up for a crude jerk alcoholic going out of his way to try to stir things up with the renters.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 05/21/2011
Well, we are glad to hear that we provided great service and a clean cabin for your stay.
We have spoken to the neighbor and it apparently was a guest of his that does not live there permanently.
We hope that this will not affect any future plans made at our lovely Happy Haynes Hideout #1223
Moreno Valley, CA
Fun but rather Cold
This place is very nice for a couple, but we had some friends join us and you can literally hear everything they say above or below. If you want to keep warm during the Winter please bring your own blankets and make sure to Keep the bedroom door open or you will be frozen all night like my fianc?e and I were.Also the bathroom is in the master bedroom so if someone needs to use it in the middle of the night they will have to come into the room and it will wake you up. I loved the back yard though because my dogs had a place to go. The fold out bed couch is extremely uncomfortable but they do provide Satellite Television/VCR/DVD player which did help the trip. I would personally not stay here again just because it is really small, but it was a great little cabin for a fun weekend. Plus it is directly in town and a short drive to everything. If it is only 2 people I would suggest it, if it is more than that, find a larger cabin.
Verrry small, with no frills at all
The plusses: roughly the same price as a hotel room, reasonably clean, easy to get to, while small, we were duly warned. The minuses: we were not given the key until 4:30pm, after being told that there was a reasonably chance of getting in before 3. No napkins or paper towels. There is a penalty for leaving any trash or not doing the dishes. The flat screen TV is one of the smallest I've ever seen.
Simi Valley, Ca
Staying in this home reminded me of a ginger bread house really cute. My family had brought our wii game system so we could watch movies on Netflix but the wifi did not work
:(, Good thing there were a few games and movies there.The one thing that would have made our stay better was blankets it was so cold that we had to go buy blankets because there were none, Sheets and bed covers are not enough in cold weather. We used the heater and fire place it was still cold.
Long Beach, California
The neigborhood is quiet. The heater is not capable to warming up the house. There is an air filter through the walls and the back door.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/08/2011
Thank you for Hayne's Hidaway #1223.We will look into the heater issue and inform the owner.