Moonridge Vistas has an incredible view overlooking the ski slopes in the winter or just beautiful mountain scapes through the off season.
This economical upper Moonridge cabin offers a spacious open floor plan.
Brief Overview: 2 Story Floorplan
Please Note: In order to get to the front door you must climb stairs, the front entrance is on the second level.
2 Bedroom/1.25 Bath
Bedroom #1: 1 Queen and 1 Twin (downstairs)
Bedroom #2: 1 Twin/Twin Bunk and 1 Twin (downstairs)
Sleeper Sofas: 2 Queen size (upstairs)
TV: Basic Cable, Wireless Internet
View...s are endless when guests occupy the main room of the home. The upper level is where guests enter on and is also where the family room, kitchen, and dining area is.
The family room is spacious and boasts an entire wall of floor to ceiling windows to allow the beauty of the outdoors to be seen. A back door leading to the deck allows for easy access to the bbq and outdoor furniture as well as an even closer view of the great outdoors!
A beautiful native rock floor to ceiling fireplace dominates the family room, just perfect for bringing couples or families together on chilly evenings. There are opposing sleeper sofas, each a Queen sleeper.
The kitchen is open to the living room with the dining table adjacently located near, easy to work in and welcoming to its chefs.
Down stairs is where both private bedrooms are as well as one full bath and one 1/2 bath with washer/dryer.
One bedroom has a Queen bed with a wonderfully romantic brick fireplace. Also part of this room is a Twin bed.
The main bathroom is situated between both bedrooms.
The guest bedroom has a built in set of Twin over Twin bunks as well as one traditional twin. Within this room is a door leading to a 1/2 bath (single toilet) and a washer & dryer.
CALL FOR CURRENT RATES & DISCOUNTS
TOT City Tax
One Time Cleaning & Linen Fee
Additional amenities include: 2 star, pets friendly, washer/dryer.Read more
Left on 07/28/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Cynthia T
PROS: If you are looking for a low budget rental, this is a good choice. The Gold Rush organization is very helpful and friendly, and I highly recommend them. The Moonridge cabin itself has a great view, and is a good size for a family rental and is located in a very nice, quiet area overlooking the mountain and ski areas. Lots of room in the kitchen/living areas, which are very light and bright. Huge TV and nice fireplace too. They are also pet friendly and you can bring pets, however they charge an extra $25 per night per pet, so it ends up costing almost as much as a kennel.
CONS: 1. The upper bunk bed has no rail (our kids wouldn't sleep there). 2. There is a great deck with a view, but the deck furniture dates back to the 1940's--questionable rickety iron chairs and crappy tables. Not exactly comfortable for enjoying the view. 3. The folding card-table chairs for dining chairs leaves something to be desired. Definitely gives a budget feel. 4. The fold out sofa beds are so old and terrible as to be unusable. You could feel the springs in the mattresses. Not good. We opted to sleep on the sofa itself. Really, the cabin is listed as sleeping 7, but only sleeps 6 if you can use the bunk bed with no rail. 5. They advertise wi-fi, but we could never access the network, and we tried all weekend. 6. All the little notes on everything that tell you how to open shower doors, blinds, windows, doors, use the TV, etc., are annoying. A little minor repairs and maintenance, along with updated comforters (need I say that these were from the 80's and very threadbare) and more fans would go a long way to make the stay more enjoyable.
Left on 01/12/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Roger
First of all, the condo is big and better yet it's affordable. Although you can see the slopes from the balcony, it's still a 5 minute drive to get there. Ample parking for 3 cars and multiple entrances into the condo, making unloading easy. As you make your way through the main entrance there are a few sleds tucked away under the outside steps, so you don't have to bring your own. There's room to sled on the property. Too bad there wasn't enough snow during our visit. The main floor is huge and makes up the kitchen, dining area and living room. The living room has 3 couches and 2 of them are fold out beds but they are pretty worn out and not so comfortable. Theres a TV with VOD. The balcony has a great view of the slopes and is adjacent to the living room. There is also a small charcoal BBQ. Bedrooms and bathrooms are downstairs. The main bedroom has a large bed with a smaller full size bed on the side. It also has a fireplace. The smaller room has a bunk bed and another bed on the side, which was perfect for the kids. Overall, I was pleased with the accommodations. It is not the most modern condo, as seen in the furniture, but for the size and price it was well worth it. I would rent it again in the future. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/10/2014
Thank you for your generous review. Yes, this cabin has lots of nice things to make its guests quite comfortable.
We hope to see you on a return visit. Don't forget to check our website for specials as we offer many during the coarse of the year.
Thank you again,
The Gold Rush Team
Left on 10/16/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Sara
I had a wonderful experience with Gold Rush Rentals. I had made an
original reservation at a different cabin. When I arrived iy wasn't quite what I had expected and I asked if we could change to another location. Bree was very helpful in changing our cabin to moonridge.
When we arrived the cabin was clean and cozy... Some things I would update are the kitchen table which was a basic card table with an old plastic table cloth on it. and the outside deck chairs and tables which were rusty from the weather. otherwise the space was perfect and the view from the huge open windows was amazing.
I would recommend this to couples and small families. it is very cozy with two fire places that warm you inside and out.
Nice View But very Unconfortable Furniture
Left on 01/20/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Jacobo
Cabin location is great, but starting with the driveway a lot of things need to be fix and/or replace, driveway is in very bad conditions, narrow and dangerous, the lay out of the interior and the view are excellent, but the furniture, blinds, beds, tables and chairs (in and out),carpet need to be replace asap, too old and uncomfortable. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/09/2012
We are disappointed to read your review, however, we always appreciate any feed back our guests are willing to share in order to help us and others.
Moonridge Vistas has been a cabin that many have enjoyed! While we understand that it isn't a 5 nugget rated cabin it still has been an enjoyable experience for many.
In our effort to help guests understand a variety of issues pertaining to the specifics of any cabin in our inventory, we list lots of important information within our website to help our guests make an informed decision.
We pride ourselves in making sure our descriptions are accurate as well our our "RATING SYSTEM". Our rating system is done in an unbiased way and has also been explained in detail in our "Rating Guide" so that our guests know exactly what to expect. Our rating system goes from 1 to 5 Nuggets instead of stars.
Moonridge Vistas is rated as a 2 Nugget..... our rating guide describes it as.....
2 Golden Nuggets – Miners Choice
Basic & Cozy, clean, standard units with basic amenities at economical pricing. Decor and amenities can be dated, but not necessarily. These units can offer TV, DVD, VCR, and other amenities but they are not required at this rating. Please review the specific amenities listed on the Big Bear cabin rental you are considering.
Although this is rated at the lower scale it doesn't mean that the cabin is not an enjoyable experience. We understand that peoples views differ and for that we apologize if you were expecting something different.
Renting private homes far out weigh staying in a hotel room or other, however, each homes decor it subject to its owners choices etc. These are issues we are not able to control except to post pictures, descriptions, ratings, and guest reviews - all in an effort to support our guests shopping and comparing the vast variety of issues among each of the homes.
We hope our explanation here helps you understand the lengths that we go thru to help our guests make the right choice for themselves. We really do want our guests to experience a memorable vacation while they are with us.
We hope you will choose to stay with our company again.
The Gold Rush Team
Santa Clarita, Ca
Left on 01/12/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Satisfied Customer
The staff as well as our stay in the Moonridge Vista Cabin exceeded our expectations. The cabin is in a great location; a minute or less from both mountains with a breathtaking view of the slopes. The cabin was clean and the kitchen accommodated our cooking for 7 people. The heater worked very well too. We had such a great time. As stated before, I think Moonridge Vista is 1/2 properties that have a steep driveway so be sure to have a truck to clear it appropriately. There is free overnight parking that will accommodate your vehicle if you only have a car. Just ask the staff they are more than willing to help and give you references for anything you need. I will be returning year after year with my family. If Moonridge Vista is not available then I will find a different cabin with the same management company because the customer service is outstanding! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/09/2012
Wow, your enthusiasm really shows in this review! We are tickled pink to read your generous thoughts.
Moonridge Vistas really has an awesome view and is convenient to much of all Big Bear activities as well as shopping etc.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the property as well as our team. We work tirelessly to help our guests know we appreciate them in every way we can. It's always nice when a guest shares that they have noticed!
We look forward to extending hospitality to you in the near future. Don't forget to look up our VIP discounts as well as our promotions for exceptional savings on your next visit.
The Gold Rush Team
Moonridge Vista (Christmas 2010)
San Diego, CA
Left on 12/29/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Moonridge Vista (Christmas 2010)
Great accomodation with all the ammenities needed. Plenty of kitchen utensils. Nice steep slopes on both sides of the property for sledding. Great fun for the kids and adults alike.
A bit damp in the ground level where the two bedrooms are located which is understandable due to rain and snow.
Stairs leading down to the ground level can be dangerous for small children due to possible fall.
Driveway is very steep and can damage your front bumper. It parks two cars, but in tandem.
Yes, Moonridge Vistas is a great place to spend some R&R, especially with the slopes for winter play!
Just an FYI, stairs in any property during the winter months with snow and ice on the ground are dangerous for adults as well as children. Extra caution needs to be taken anytime icy conditions exists including on level landscape.
As this home is in Moonridge and on a hill it does have its benefits as you were able to take advantage of the nice hill side slope for winter play. However, parking can be a little steep at many properties in the Moonridge area. Next time you visit tell us if this issue is a concern and we'll make sure to find you a different cabin.
We are so glad you had a great stay and hope that we will see you again on a subsequent stay.
Thank you for sharing and reviewing your stay at the Moonridge Vistas Cabin.
The Gold Rush Team
San Diego, CA
Left on 03/04/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | southca
We stayed for 2 nights and the place was more then we expected, sense they put us in the wrong cabin which i am very thankful for. We rreally enjoyed staying in the Moonridge Vistas and would love to go back again. Affordable Accommodations is the only way to rent a vacation cabin. Hope to use their services again soon.
Warren Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 03/12/2010
Thank you for taking your time to review. It's always important to us that our guests are happy in the accommodations.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
The Gold Rush Team
Left on 02/11/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | SOOOOO DISAPPOINTED
We were unable to actually go and stay due to family illness. Affordable Accomodations has not been very accomodating. We have tried several times to get in contact with them for paperwork we need for our refund, and NO ONE is calling us back. It was a totaly waste of over $600.00. We will NEVER use them again, and I suggest no one else does. Save your hard-earned money. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/11/2010
Your review leaves us confused as the information below is the documentation within your file.
The time line states these specifics.
Jan. 18, you reserved a stay at "Log Heaven" for Feb. 5, your rental agreement was sent reflecting your request. You were informed about CSA travel protection insurance and made the choice to pay for the insurance. As you know, we are not the insurer, only a middle party to help make the purchase of the insurance convenient to our guests. You are encouraged to contact CSA for the specifics on the plan, as with any insurance policy there are provisions that need following if a claim would be filed.
Please review your documents, It is important to note and remind you that our rental agreement is extremely specific on our cancellation policy and we highly encourage every guest to purchase the policy for unexpected issues that can arise without warning. Unavoidable issues can interupt the best laid plans.
As we always do our best in helping our guests understand the importance of this issue, you will note that your initials and signed acknowledgement in regards to the cancellation policy and CSA travel insurance is right below the paragraph pertaining to such.
Jan. 19, you called and asked if we could change the home to Moonridge Vistas. We made the change happily and sent you the proper rental agreement to reflect such change of property only, all other provisions, such as your purchase of the travel insurance remained the same.
Jan. 20, we recieved the signed agreement and had to call you to confirm the proper credit card number. Once recieved your card was charged as authorized by you. Your receipt as well as confirmation documents were sent. CSA sends your policy direct.
Feb. 2, only 3 days prior to your arrival, our office received a fax requesting to cancel your reservations.
Feb. 3, Our conversation with you was that your child was ill and now you were feeling like you were getting the cold as well. We looked up your documents and found you had purchased the travel insurance and told you to contact CSA as they were the proper party and would handle your claim directly. Further discussion with you was that you also had asked if we could move your reservation by one day. Unfortunately, we were unable to help with that due to circumstances beyond our control. However, we also told you that as long as your documentation for cancellation met the criteria set forth in the insurance you would have nothing to worry about. CSA has helped many of our guests successfully. At that point you said you would let us know what the doctor says tomorrow.
Feb. 4, the day before arrival you called our office stating that CSA requested from you the doctors documents needed to process your claim properly. This is customary and follows the proper protocol according to the insurance you purchased. Please review your insurance documents you were provided.
On this phone call you also had a concern over not being able to provide all the medical documents the insurance required for review and thought that the specifics of your wanting to cancel may not meet the criteria for insurance coverage.
That said, we offered suggestions to possibly consider a friend of yours coming and paying you back or we could try to re-rent the cabin. If we were able to re-rent it for the same dollars or less we could credit you any balance less the administrative fees, this is also clearly stated in your contract, please re-read where you had to initial your understanding of such. At the time of our suggestions you were delighted and happy to have us try and help and shared your appreciation.
We alerted all reservationist to try and re-rent the cabin, Unfortunately the timing of this last minute scenerio put you at a disadvantage. We were unable to rent the cabin, therefore, your only option if you insisted on not coming would be for you to process your insurance claim under their guidelines you agreed to when purchasing the insurance.
As always, we are happy to help in any way we can. However, there are times when things are beyond our control and must fall back on the guest taking responsibility for their own choices and actions.
Were are truly sorry you ended up not being happy. We continue to urge you to try to process your insurance claim. There are no documents needed from us, the insurer has requested your doctor records which we have nothing to do with those.
Your review saddens us as you have grossly misrepresented the help you have received.
It is our hope that you take a few moments to reflect back on the documentation we have stated above and reconsider your views on our company.
The Gold Rush Team
orange county, ca
Left on 01/06/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | roueness
We enjoyed our stay at the Moonridge Vistas... the home was just fine for our
needs. The mountain views from the living room were amazing, although it
gets almost too bright and hot midday, new window coverings from top of the
window should solve the issue. The only thing I would suggest to the
management is to have more than one roll of toilet paper in each of the
bathrooms and extra paper towels in the kitchen. Otherwise, we would
probably stay again. Thanks! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 01/13/2010
You're right, Moonridge Vistas has incredible views. We will pass on your suggestions to the owners about the window coverings.
With regards to the issue on toilet paper and paper towels. We do our best to let our guests know that renting private homes are very different than hotels, one difference is no endless supply of paper products, just an initial supply for convenience.
Trying to keep rental costs down for our guests is important. We will share your thoughts to the owners to see if they would be willing to provide more supplies.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on a return visit.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Moonridge Vistas.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.