Home Sweet Home #1139
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Home Sweet Home is a wonderful retreat for your vacation in Big Bear Lake. This 2 story home has 4 bedroom and 2 baths and is snuggled against the National Forest in a quiet corner of Moonridge. The home has comfy furnishings and decorated in mountain cabin charm. The 1st floor has a practicl kitchen with a microwave, laundry, living room with a wood burning fireplace and access out to the back deck with a charcoal BBQ. On the 1st floor are 2 bedrooms, one with a full and the 2nd has 2 twins and a full bath in hallway. Upstairs great room with a 2nd fireplace, 42 inch HD TV/DVD/DVR, foos ball table and front deck surrounded by tall pines. Th...Read more
Home Sweet Home #1139
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$280 - $505||$280 - $505||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$280||$280||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$303||$303||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$393||$393||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$505||$505||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$438||$438||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$303||$303||-||-||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$393||$393||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$505||$505||-||-||-|
|View all 37 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 10, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Not bad for the price
Description: The house is older, kind of rustic, outdated furniture, outdated beds & bedding, outdated carpeting, outdated windows, blinds, curtains, etc. There are two bedrooms downstairs, two upstairs, and a full bathroom on each floor. One of the bedrooms have 2 twin beds, all the others have queens. The beds are super soft. The kitchen is adequate with almost all the necessities. The bathrooms have towels, but you might want to bring your own depending on how many people are staying. The house is not insulated very well. It gets very cold.
Pros: Very close to the ski resorts. Ample parking for up to 4 cars. Kitchen had toaster, coffee pot and microwave. Foosball table was cool.
Cons: Bottom floor heater did not work, so everyone slept upstairs. Luckily there were only 5 of us, so one had to sleep on couch. The bottom floor was not enjoyable because it was so darn cold. The top bathroom has rug flooring, and the shower leaks. I find that kind of unhealthy. I can only imagine the mold under the rug.
Overall: We got a good deal on Groupon. So overall we are satisfied. Sure it’s not a glamourous cabin, but at the end of a long weekend, we enjoyed ourselves. We had a great time skiing & being with our friends.
Suggestions to the owners: Update, update update!! The house needs new insulated windows, new blinds, new attic insulation, new doors, new furniture, new carpeting, new everything.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/24/2012
It’s excellent to see you had such a wonderful time at Home Sweet Home! Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, as it allows us to address concerns that our guests might have with a vacation home. We hope you will consider us for future stays here in Big Bear!
Carlsbad Ca. San Diego
Make sure hot water is avalible
We had a great time in a nice cabin home. Four bedrooms & we had 8-of us, enough room for all. Except no hot water!! we called Sat morn & someone came down said he fixed it but did not. Guy's took Polor Bear shower's Lady's did not, They were upset..Big Bear Vacation gave me a cert to come back another day which was nice of them to do. We will be back...
View from Alta Loma, CA
Alta Loma, CA
Worked for Us
The cabin was a wee bit out of the way location wise; parking was convenient and worked for all of our three cars; entering the cabin at first glance it seemed perfect, living room on the entry level with two bedrooms, a kitchen and bathroom and then upstairs another living room, two bedrooms and a bathroom, but upon unpacking and just relaxing we found one of the rotating chairs on the bottom floor was lopsided and the hot water in the bathroom upstairs had to be turned on and off below the sink because of an unrepaired leak (these items should have not been an issue, given the contract agreement which we felt we had to sign our lives away in order to rent this cabin)...the cabin was in average condition...it worked for our group (6 adults and one 13 year old) for the one night, and we were all eager to check out first thing in the morning, but I'm not sure if I would want to stay there for any longer length of time, plus we had to find our way to a trash receptacle, which we did not do and just took our trash home to deposit instead of trying to figure out the illegible map to the trash receptacle given us...as far as convenience of checking in and checking out, Big Bear Vacations worked very well with us and we would definitely use them again, but I would suggest the Big Bear Vacations include in the descriptions of their cabins for rent the trash issue!
San Diego, Ca
Not worth the money
We were very disappointed in our stay at this cabin. All the reviews sounded good, but we were shocked.It was very dirty. There was cobwebs everywhere and lots of dust. The carpet and furnature were very dated and worn out. Kitchen was missing toaster and cupboards were gross. The backyard was a mess. Door mats were left on table and not appealing to eat dinner on. Neighbors were super close. We did enjoy the TV and internet. They also have a great hiking path down the street. Overall we will never stay at this cabin again. We spent way too much for such a gross cabin.I told the lady at check out but she acted like she did not care.
Older parents to little ones who keep us young!
Sweet Home #1139
Very nice cabin, quiet.Lacked a few items in the kitchen such as frying pans, toaster, and the upstairs bathroom toilet kept sticking when flushed, but other than that, very comfortable. Speaking of comfortable, the beds were terrific and very nice linens!
We had a great time in the cabin. It was spacious, but still quaint. The small of pine was all around, and it was close to any place we wanted to go . The here was ample meeting space for a small group like ours. All in all it was charming, we'd stay there again
we stay at this house from 07/01-07/06. we loved location.if you would like to be separated from the world- that house for you... but, there are millions of mosquitoes and they bite you day and night.we bought special candles and sprays, but they are really not much help. bring all sprays and protection with you.house is small and kind of old, but reasonable for the price.you get what you paid for...no toaster and no cleaning chemicals. we have to buy our own broom and shovel to clean a little every day. i left that in the house for other people. overall it not the best house we stayed at big bear, but it's ok.we did late check out at 1 p.m.we paid extra $33.you have to call same day from 8 to 9 a.m. to confirm that. i started calling at 8 a.m, but nobody... i spoke to someone only at 8.40 a.m. a called 10 times. wasted. a lot of my morning time.we always making later check out time, but this is a first time i have been charged. other company don't do that, they just let you stay couple hr. for free, i knew that house have been rented only in 2 day after us, i checked on the computer.but thanks any way, we had time to clean after us a little.
Great Value...Better Than Camping
Our family rented this cabin as an alternative to camping, so it was just what we were looking for! We had a dog, so the open space behind the house was terrific. The neighbors with their pets were all really friendly and welcoming as well. We stayed in the summer, so the afternoons were a bit hot on the second floor. My only real complaint was the lack of a dishwasher. We had 4 kids with us, and cooked home almost every meal. We had to spend a lot of time washing dishes. Otherwise, the cabin was perfect for those not looking for luxury accommodations. We had a great time connecting with family.
Los Angeles, CA
Peaceful Vacation in a Peaceful Cabin!
After a long and stressful school year, Home Sweet Home couldn't have offered me more peace and quiet. The location was magnificent as it was very close to the forest walking trail. The cabin itself was quite excellent, cozy and comfortable. With the exception of a few minor damages and a missing window tent which prevented us from opening one of the bedroom windows at night, the cabin certainly exceeded our expectations. Finding a comfortable cabin with a suitable price for a big family is not easy but if you're planning on going there with several people I would strongly recommend this cabin. With its fantastic back porch, which directly opens to the forest behind the house, you will have that peace and quiet you've always wanted.
San Diego, CA
The Perfect Way to End the Winter Season
The house was the perfect size and was clean overall. It was what we expected for the price. Everyone thought it was close to the ski area. The upstairs balcony was perfect for my dogs and their safety. Even with lots of snow, we had no problems with cars getting stuck. Plenty of room for cars. Washer and dryer came in handy! Definitely would rent this place again!
Steve and Susan & Family
Top of the Mountain Cabin
The house was fine for our needs. High up the mountain, up against the wilderness. Kids had a ball playing in the 24inches of fresh snow we got Pres. Day Weekend.
Only complaint... kitchen not well stocked. No toaster & no potholders!! Only one frying pan.
Dryer Gross inside. No shovel for snow removal.
Needs new toilet seat upstairs.
A lot of fun!
It was a lovely place with everything that you needed to live for a few days. Couches and beds were nice, and the hill in the backyard was perfect for sledding. It was a very nice experience and i would definitely do it again next year. (:
Great location, mediocre facilities
The location was really nice, slightly remote (away from the main town and roads) with beautiful trees, snow, and paths leading to pleasing hikes. The accommodations were adequate but pretty rough around the edges. Examples include a dining room chair/lazy boy with no support on one side (so anyone sitting it fell over onto the ground if they leaned the wrong way), sheets that were too small for the bed, stained, old furniture, etc. Oh well, not the best but a great location.
Wee really enjoyed staying at this rental and would recommend it to others. I feel it was to expensive due to the amount of open dates of the rental.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/27/2010
Thank you for your response. One of my favorites for its proximity to the National Forest.
A very happy Palm Springs customer
Exactly what I wanted from Big Bear!! :-)
What an awesome Big Bear trip this was & this cozy back in the woods cabin was perfect. I will definitely visit this cabin again. :-)
The location of the house was nice.
The refrigerator was not working, paper towels were not provided.
House was dirty and dilapidated.
People in the office are not helpful; lady was on the phone all the time we were checking in.
The check-in process requires 7 pages that one has to sign individually, all about multiple restrictions on what you can and can’t do.
Will never go back to this rental outfit!
Will definitely return!
Very clean home, exactly how it was described, very nice neighborhood, about 5 minute drive down into town. Close to hiking
not great at all
I already left a review, I don’t know why I got another request to do it. anyhow, as I said before the place is not great at all. The only good thing about it is the location because it’s in the woods, you can go hiking from the backyard BUT the cabin itself is worn, used, so many things are broken including a bed and a kitchen chair. Not worth the money for sure!
Fountain Valley, CA
A little maintenance needed
All in all, the cabin is a nice layout in a very nice area of Moonridge. The surrounding homes are mostly beautiful log type homes. We really enjoyed our stay, it snowed, we sledded, skied and huddled around both fireplaces and truely enjoyed some very welcome family time. The little things that were somewhat annoying were the upstairs toilet valve would stick and not refill the tank or the chain would slip under the flapper and the toilet would run all night. Upon entering the cabin the first thing we noted was one of the 2 wooden dinner table chairs had the back broken and just set together. Also the percolator/coffee pot was missing a part of the lid, but I must say that when we called the office they ran a coffee maker over right away during the storm. I know that some renters can break things and they don't get reported, and we weren't that put out. We walked the neighborhood with our granddaughter and dog, and sledding slopes were just 2 houses away, Skiing was perfect the day after the storm and the neighborhood was very peaceful and quiet. The game room upstairs is a nice gathering spot to play games and watch the largescreen T.V. in front of the fireplace. I'm sure the minor details will be fixed. I wouldn't mind staying here again.
We arrived at Big Bear Lake tired and wanting to relax and the Service Matt
gave us at the front desk was right on the dot. He greeted us with a smile
and answered all our questions.
It took a little navigating to get to this house but nothing too complicated.
Upon arrival we discovered that the upstairs bathroom had a problem with
the tank stopper so I called maintenance and they sent a guy over in 5
minutes... He took care of everything perfectly.
The location was perfect. Just a short drive from the slopes and just far
enough so it felt a little secluded and private. I don't think I even saw the
neighbours the whole we were there so that was kind of nice to feel that it
was just us out there.
This cabin fits 8 people comfortably on beds. The only small detail was that
there were 4 couples in our group and one had to sleep on seperate twin
beds. Other than that the cabin feels very spacious... not cramped at all.
The thing we all liked the most where the comfortable beds and couches
and the big screen TV. Good for watching movies after skiing.
Thanx a lot to the Big Bear Vacations staff. Everything was really nice and
we had a great time!
COMING BACK NEXT YEAR
We deffinately had a great time at the this cabin. We will be back next year no doubt. I will make sure we look for this one. Dont let the front full you though. There was mounds of snow and it was really hard to bring all of our belongings in without falling. I would say right off the bat that this is our only complaint. But its a huge one. The snow was not removed from the front door or back door area, or drive way really. There was room to drive up and walk around the car but the path to the house was all ice. I would reccomend that this be removed or have all tenants remove it. We had a great time though. Plenty of room, great area, huge hill in the back to sled down. We planned to go to a snow park but after seeing the hills, there was no need to.
Worth every penny
My husband and I stayed here with three other couples and we had a fantastic time. We loved that there were two different living spaces to hang out in, though we all ended up cramming into the smaller downstairs area because of the table. The house was clean and comfortable... I feel the photos didn't do the cabin justice! The one downside was that the front walkway was not shoveled and so it was very difficult to get in and out of the house (esp with luggage) because of the mounds of slippery snow and ice. The Big Bear Vacations staff were all courteous and quick with our check in/out. This is my third winter rental with them and this cabin did not disappoint. Will be back next year!
Great for the whole family lots to do and very cozy.
This home was great. We try to a vacation trip every year to Big Bear and thees always something wrong or something missing in the homes that we have booked in the passed. this home had it all tha same and activiting for the whole family. The back yard was SUPER FUN. We did a summer/winter combo with BBQ and sleds down the hill it was great. The inside of the house was also good. The separation between the living rooms and bed rooms worked out great the older people stayed downs stair while the younger ones stayed up all nigh playing games and watching scarry movies.THANK YOU FOR A GREAT TIME WITH FAMILY.
Our family had a great time. The cabin fit all of our needs. We loved the upstairs bonus room. That was the best! (Although would have loved a tv downstairs because half of the family insisted on football and half wanted anything else but)
The location was perfect! The kids had a great hill to sled down behind the cabin and a perfect location to walk our dog just 3 cabins away. We will definitely be back!
Great family getaway
We loved the cabin, home sweet home. the cabin had plenty of room for the kids to play and the beds were comfy also. The only complaint that I would have is the grill was old and broken. I actually told the staff at Big Bear Vactions so hopefully it has been replaced. I would go back to this cabin again in the future.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/17/2010
We're so glad that you enjoyed this lovely home as most guests do! We did notify the property manager about the broken grill and have gotten that replaced. Thanks for the great review!
We so totally loved this cabin!
For our 1st time ever to expiriance going to Big Bear it was awesome. The location was perfect and the amenities where great. We so recommend this place to everyone.
Orange County, CA
Nice Summer House
This cabin is located in the beautiful Moonridge area, and close to many shops and restaurants. The pictures show what exactly what you will be getting, and the rooms were clean and ready to use.