|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Alpine Haus is walking distance to Bear Mountain Ski Resort, hiking trails, Moonridge Zoo and the Moonridge Golf Course. Just a short drive away on Big Bear Boulevard are restaurants and grocery stores.
Living room is large with a leather sectional couch and a raised hearth, brick fireplace perfect for making sâ€™mores on cold winter nights. For your entertainment is an LCD TV with surround sound home entertainment center, Ipod port, DVD player, DVD collection, books, puzzles and games.
There is seating for six at the table in the kitchen. If you are interested in making your own home cooked meals, there are pots and pans availab...Read more
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Stay 2 nights, get night free See Details »
|Rate Summary||$149 - $466||$149 - $466||$583||$0||1 night|
|May. 1 2013 - May. 23 2013||$149||$149||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$165||$165||-||-||1 night|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$149||$149||$583||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$269||$269||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$165||$165||$583||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 1 2013||$217||$217||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$165||$165||-||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$289||$289||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$269||$269||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 19 2013||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 20 2013 - Dec. 25 2013||$341||$341||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 26 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Dec. 27 2013||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 28 2013 - Dec. 28 2013||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 29 2013 - Dec. 29 2013||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 30 2013 - Dec. 30 2013||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 31 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$466||$466||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 1 2014 - Jan. 1 2014||$315||$315||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 2 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 28 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Mar. 1 2014 - Mar. 31 2014||$217||$217||-||-||1 night|
|Apr. 1 2014 - Apr. 30 2014||$165||$165||-||-||1 night|
|May. 1 2014 - May. 22 2014||$149||$149||-||-||1 night|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 25 2014||$165||$165||-||-||1 night|
|May. 26 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$149||$149||$583||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 5 2014||$269||$269||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 6 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$165||$165||$583||-||1 night|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Aug. 31 2014||$217||$217||-||-||1 night|
|Sep. 1 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$165||$165||-||-||1 night|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 29 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Nov. 30 2014 - Dec. 18 2014||$269||$269||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 19 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 23 2014||$289||$289||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 24 2014 - Dec. 25 2014||$341||$341||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 26 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Dec. 27 2014||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 28 2014 - Dec. 28 2014||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 29 2014 - Dec. 29 2014||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 30 2014 - Dec. 30 2014||$446||$446||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 31 2014 - Dec. 31 2014||$426||$426||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 1 2015 - Dec. 31 2015||$295||$295||-||-||1 night|
|View all 44 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 23, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Mostly good experience
This cabin is located just blocks from Bear Mountain. It's an easy walk. If your carrying your gear though then maybe not so much. But the area is really pretty. It turned out we spent most of our time at The Summit instead of Bear Mountain. But it's only a 5 minute drive to Summit so it was no big deal.
The cabin is small but cute. We called it the "Hobbit" house. It fit 4 of us comfortably. The beds were not great, but comfortable enough. The bedrooms are surprisingly spacious so you don't feel cramped. Living room has a nice large comfortable couch and there is a nice flat screen TV.
We didn't discover this until the end of our stay but there is a closet between living room kitchen that is stocked with board games, and fishing poles, among other things.
Bathroom is flimsy. It feels like a motel 6 and the towels to match. I would bring my own towel. Shower head is terrible too.
Bedrooms and bath were very clean, and kitchen was clean for the most part. Some of the cooking pans were greasy and some of the appliances could use some scrubbing.
Fireplace was a problem and leaked smoke throughout the cabin unless glass doors were kept closed at all times. So you can't really use it for heating purposes. We notified Cool Cabins so hopefully they will address the issue.
There is a BBQ as advertised, and it works. we used it. but they need to replace it. It's really funky!
All in all we mostly enjoyed our stay at alpine House, though we all felt like it would have been a better experience if fireplace was working properly, BBQ was replaced, and bathrooms had real towels. Small things, that could really make all the difference.
We would definitely consider staying at alpine House again.
Woodland hills ca
Very cozy and romantic
We were searching a bunch of places and ended up booking this one. Had a great time, location was best, close to everything and walking distance to slopes. We had fire wood already placed in cabin which saved us time and was priced well. Would definitely stay again. Only issue well not so much an issue but if you are looking to make your own coffee that's not instant bring a kettle. We had to go buy one for 20 bucks down the street, they do have a coffee maker but you cant heat up water. Over all staff was "cool" and lastly don't forget to leave key in the lockbox. It's not on the paper they give you but they do tell you, I didn't realize it and brought it back and at first was told to go back and drop it off but after realizing it wasn't on paper they were very accommodating and took the key. Overall cabin was great and so was cool cabins.
last minute Thanksgiving getaway
The family decided to get away to Big Bear at the last minute for Thanksgiving in hopes to see snow. It didn't snow but the kids enjoyed an overnight stay in the mountains. The cabin was a two-story so the kids had fun in the space although the stairs are a little steep and narrow so those middle of the night bathroom runs, make sure you have those night lights on and holding onto the rail as the older folks could take a stumble. The cabin was equipped with everything we needed and it was cozy. Just be ready for cold water when you initially turn on the faucet or the shower! There were plenty of blankets, pillows and towels for the family. I think we are going to make it a yearly tradition to plan a trip to the mountains as the kids loved being in the outdoors and the fresh air...great to get away from the city. The cabin is a bit far from the rental office so initially I thought I got lost because I thought it would be much closer to the office.
Grand Terrace, California
This is the second time we've stayed at alpine Haus, and the second review I've made. We loved it the first time, but the sofa was unbearably uncomfortable. That's been rectified, and there's a nice leather sofa sleeper. Everything else was wonderful, just as we knew it would be. Convenient location, beautiful fireplace, great TV and surround sound, clean and welcoming. We've already planned our next visit to this cabin, which now feels like home. Note: This cabin is not for people with mobility issues, unless they sleep on the sofa sleeper. The stairs to both bedrooms are extremely steep!
Nice until we tried to use the fireplace
Fireplace obliterated the entire house with smoke and ruined our overnight stay and our vacation. We had to open all of the upstairs windows all night in 30 degree weather and it still didnt clear out. We were awake all night.
Obviously their is a problem with the chimney because the flue has a built in fan to help pull the smoke...but it didnt help enough...and yes the flue was completely open and yes, the extra fan was running from the outset.
The next day we complained to Big Bear Cool Cabins and all they said was that they would send someone to look at it??? I dont care about fixing the problem after the fact, i care about them stepping up and making a bad siuation right. Which they didnt do. Unless someone refunds us our money, or gives us a credit for our stay, we are not going to use Big Bear Cool Cabins ever again.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 06/13/2012
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Maintenance was immediately sent to the property to address the issue with the fireplace and we have informed the owners of the need for a professional chimney sweep. Per our records you did not call during your stay to report this issue but only reported it after check out. Unfortunately we were not able to try and remedy this issue while you were here and for that we apologize as well. Once again we are very sorry and hope you are willing to give us another chance in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
The cabin was really nice from the outside but the inside was even better. The cabin was super clean and organized. It was only 5 minutes from the lake.
Very pleasant stay
The whole process from making reservation to arriving at the location was easy. The cabin was average but we were happy with it, nice, clean, warm and cozy. It had everything we needed, clean towels, pots and pans and a DVD player. Although wood was not provided for the fireplace, we had no problem getting them and setting up the fire. Our kids had a lot of fun. Big Bear Ski Resort was only around the corner but it was not quite walking distance like it says in the description. We still drove there, less than a minute drive, but it was not a big deal. On the whole, our kids loved it, had a lot of fun and we were happy parents.
Thanks for the experience
As a family we wanted to have and be able to make a wonderful experience for our children, just like our parent's did for us when we were children. The alpine Haus had all the facilities we were looking for our vacation. Of course we have to also thank the weather because on our first night it started to snow and that just was the best treat to our vacation. I will always recommend staying at the alpine Haus and we will be back. Thank You!!! Again, Thanks for the experience.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 12/04/2011
-The owners of Alpine Haus are happy to report that they have recently replaced the couches in the home! We look forward to doing business with all past and future guests.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
We would stay there again. Very well kept. Such a great set up. Very nice location close to lake boat launch, stores, and restraunts..
Grand Terrace, CA
Terrific place, but hard on the tush!
Everything about the cabin was wonderful, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat, except for one thing. There's a big L-shaped sofa, great for families, with a large TV and beautiful fireplace, so the layout is fantastic. The one problem, and it's a big one, is that the sofa has gotten soft, so they placed boards under some of the cushions which makes it impossible to get comfortable! No matter where you sit on the couch, you either sink in so far you can't get out, or it's like sitting on concrete. If the sofa is replaced, it would be 100% perfect and we would stay here every year, guaranteed! It was perfect, except for the seating.
Clean, warm, and comfortable it isnt, but the location is great.
The location was great. It had hot water, clean bathroom, clean towels, clean sheets, flat screen TV. the first problem we had after arriving was the front porch light didn't work, so unloading the car was a little dicey in the dark with ice on the steps and porch. There was no heat in the cabin. I checked the thermostat and read the posted instructions...(do not turn heater off or set below 55 degrees). It was turned off. I turned it on... still no heat. The heater didn't work! I'll put a fire on. "you must buy your own firewood" for the fire place, the sign read above the empty firewood rack. So I go to call Cool Cabins about the heat problem on my cell phone...no signal. Ok, the cabin has a phone on the wall right next to the front door...But the phone doesn't work. Off comes the cover of the old gas wall heater, the pilot light was out. Ok, no problem, I'll light it... No matches, no lighter (we are non smokers) anywhere in the cabin, I looked . By this time its past 2am, my 8 year old, 13 year old and wife are freezing, its 25 degrees...The couch wasn't so comfortable. It hurt to sit on. I lift up the cushions and I find a 2 x 12 wood board running the length of the couch right under the cushions. There were to bedrooms upstairs, each with a single bed and a queen with electric blankets, YaH!!! ...only one of the blankets worked and one of the single beds was broken (not a problem if you don't mind sleeping tilted at an angle) and one of the queen beds had a very big, deep indentation on one side. Very uncomfortable! By mid morning the next day the place was just starting to warm up and with daylight we could see the place was not very clean at all. There were huge cob webs in the corners of the ceiling, along the walls, and it was dusty & dirty around the whole perimeter of the front room. For the amount of money we payed for renting this place, one would expect at the very least, the place to be safe, clean, warm, and comfortable.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 03/18/2011
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to standards. All of the issues you ran into during your stay have been addressed and are in the process of being remedied. Upon noting these items, if contacted Big Bear Cool Cabins would have responded and tried to remedy any or all problems. I have notified maintenance in regards to the heater, bed and sofa, and housekeeping has been notified in regards to the cleanliness of the cabin. Once again thank you for taking the time and addressing the issues you experienced during your stay.
Big Bear Cool Cabins
The cabin was very clean and comfortable. I traveled with my husband and 2 toddlers. The beds were decent, plenty of blankets etc, Nice comfortable living room. Wish I would have gone through the closets to find all the games and baby gates etc before I was checking out. Well equipped and perfect for a quick getaway.
Alpine Haus Review
EL Segundo Ca
Big Bear stay with Cool Cabins
Excellent location near Bear Mountain. Basically walking distance. Would do it again, only thing, the heater took forever to warm up the house, but I guess that's expected when it's a wall heater.
Overall, excellent stay.
Great home away from home
Our stay was pleasurable. The home has all the amenities to make the stay comfortable. Kids made a great snowman in the morning. Will definitely be back pretty soon.
Stay 2 nights, get night free
Book 2 get 1 FREE
Stay two nights receive the third night free.Offer must be mentioned at the time of booking. Please call to make reservations. Offer not valid with any other offer or holidays. Certain restrictions apply. Offer ends June 10th. Not valid for stays from December 15th to April 1st.