Vintage Lakefront with hot tub!! Three bedrooms plus loft, two and one half bathroom, pool table, card table, large brick wood burning fireplace, 3 TVs including sports and kids channels (flat screen In the living room), WiFi, 3 DVD players with a movie library of over 70 titles, iPod/iPhone/CD stereo system, and washer/dryer. Huge fenced yard with giant sequoias and eagle nesting trees. Private balconies with gorgeous views. Hot tub on the wraparound deck with a barbecue with lake and mountain views. The pool table has been recovered, deck has been re-stained and house has been repainted.
Fish from the shore or just listen to the gen...tle lake waves lap the shore. On the lake in a shallow cove in the Eagle Point area. Spectacular lake and mountain/ski slope views. Just a few minutes drive to the ski slopes, golf, horseback riding, sledding, shops, and restaurants. Walking distance to the park and public beach. This area of the lake is very shallow this year.
Master Suite has California king bed, private bathroom, cable TV, DVD player, and lake views.
Mini-Master has a king bed and deck with lake views.
Bedroom three has a queen bed.
Loft has a queen sofa sleeper, twin sofa sleeper, cable TV, DVD player, and balcony.
Full kitchen with breakfast bar, stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans and more.
Maximum occupancy 9. Parking for 4 vehicles.
Alpine Lakefront comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the home clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
Left on 07/24/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Lorna J
We enjoyed our stay. Cabin is comfortable especially if you have pets. Found the master bedroom upstairs to be very warm (needs a fan) and a little strange to find carpet on the bathroom floors. Nice area,
Dusty and Rickety
Left on 06/22/2014 for a stay in June 2014 | Debby B
The place was extremely dusty in a deep old musty way, and the heater gave us both breathing problems.
The couches were beyond dead and
the deck was scary rickety, and seemed very unsafe.
The beds ranged from awful to fair.
We had to pack up and ask for a new house. The rental co was very accomodating tho and got us a much better home for the same price right away.
Would recommend Cool Cabins, but not this one. Read more
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We will definitely look into the issues you had and see how we can improve the property.
Left on 03/20/2014 for a stay in March 2014 | Jeanette
I reserved this cabin for my bday and I absolutely loved it ! Amazing view and it was comfy and nice and warm (: I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone .. It's very close to restaurants and if you're trying to go skiing there's so many places you can go to and they're all nearby !
Great Cozy Cabin -
Left on 01/24/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | JC
I loved the cabin, everything was very clean and had such a nice cozy feeling. My family and I loved it, we played pool, got in the hot tub, lit the fireplace. The view is beautiful and the location is amazing. I would recommend it highly to anyone who is thinking of going.
SAN DIMAS, CA.
Left on 09/05/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | SUNSHINE'S GRAMMY
The cabin was dirty and had alot of cobwebs. The deck had a broken board that I almost fell through. The washing Machince didn't work. The dock was all beat up and filthy, you Couln't even sit on it. There were weeds and stickers to get down to the lake if the lake was there, but instead it was just a big mud pit. The inside of the cabin was okay, just old and used some, but you expect that out of a rental. The weather was beautiful. Eagle point is not the place to stay if you plan on going into the water. Read more
Very sorry to hear that you had issues while staying at Alpine Lakefront. We did want to take a moment to update you as well as anyone else reading the reviews who are interested in renting this property. The cobwebs have been taken care of and the home is currently in the process of being repainted on the out side. Once again we wish to apologize about the broken board we were not aware of it upon your arrival. So glad our maintenance department was able to fix it so quickly for you! Also we are very sorry the washer was not working but glad the homeowner was able to get a repair man out within 24 hours so that you could use it for the remainder of your stay. As far as the condition of lake, unfortunately it is the lowest it has been in quite some time and 90% of the perimeter is mucky... Once again we are deeply apologetic for the issues you had while staying at this cabin and we hope the money you were refunded as well as the future discount offered was helpful. Hope to see you soon!
Just okay for the money
Left on 06/26/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Susan B
We rented this cabin for three nights at the cost of $1461.00 total. The cabin is old and a bit run down surrounded by nicer cabins. The boat dock is unacceptable, broken, rotting wood and a hazard, you had to be careful where you stepped. I am sure the owner is aware of this as it didn't happen overnight. The boat dock was important to us as we brought our own boat to use daily.The place had some major dust build up on baseboards and other hard to reach areas, also there is a dust build up all around the edges of the carpet. The fenced yard is a joke, any large animal can get in or out (big gaps in several places)and we paid to have a fenced area to keep our small do in so we had to watch him every second. Everything else worked okay. I rated the cabin poor because of the price we paid and I specifically wanted a dock and fenced yard that were both unacceptable. I would have rated this cabin a 3 star if the rental amount wasn't so high or some long overdue repairs were done. On a final note, I did not research this cabin as I had another one picked out and Cool Cabins called me the week before our vacation and told me the cabin I booked 2 months before (Ivy lakefront)was no longer available and they were offering me this upgraded one with everything I requested for the same price. Maybe we should be grateful this cabin was an upgrade! Read more
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Alpine Lakefront is one of our more vintage Lakefront Cabins and we apologize if you were taken by surprise, however the homeowner is always prominent in taking action against any issues reported and tries to make it as comfortable for our guests as possible. The fence is well maintained but it is made of natural wood, unlike a chain link fence, there is some space between the slats and unfortunately it is possible for a smaller dog to slip through. In regards to the dock, you were the first to report any issues and the dock was fixed immediately upon your departure. We will have new pictures up this week. Thank you for bringing the concerns you had with the cabin to our attention and we hope you will be back to visit us very soon!
Yorba Linda, CA
Left on 03/14/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | Tom L.
The staff at Big Bear Cool Cabins was great, but the cabin itself was terrible. It was old, run down, dirty, dingy, and in need of basic maintenance. Cob webs everywhere inside, dirty carpets, dog hair on the couches, paint peeling off on exterior. Again, the service was great, and I would consider using Big Bear Cool Cabins again, but I would never stay at this cabin again. Read more
Hello Tom! Thank you for taking your time to write this review, we want you to know that we value our guests and their opinions. We are working with the homeowner to update the cabin and make some changes. We appreciate all your feedback and hope you will be back to visit soon.
Newport Beach, California
We loved the lakeside location, fenced yard, spa, pool table, bi
Left on 12/05/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | LouC
Location, Location. We enjoyed feeding the ducks from the dock, playing pool and soaking in the spa. The fenced yard was great for our dog and grandchildren to play. The kitchen appliances,and funiture are a bit older. Also, general exterior wood repairs and painting is needed. Check-in and out was very easy.
Great Service! Great Value!
Ok. A bit pricey but overall satisfied.
Left on 11/13/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | armandop
As a first time cabin occupant I had a great time and will definitely look this cabin up each time the family decides to head to Big Bear. I added a few details for dog owners.
Cons (Start first since there are a few)
1. Leaks - first floor bed room, right side bedroom from entrance. Leak is right under the door.
2. Spider webs top beams. Plenty of spiders webs. A good dusting would clear it up, so not a problem.
3. For dog owners: Fence in the backyard is constructed of wooden beams and the space between them is enough to allow small dogs to pass through them, both under and between them.
4. No trash pick up. For the price I kinda expected trash pick up at least. Public trash bins are near by though (2 minutes away near the hospital)
1. Few steps from the water.
2. Good condition. There were some spider webs in one of the bedrooms but, we are in a cabin after all, so it was ok.
3. Great space for entire family to enjoy. There were 6 adults, 2 dogs, and 1 infant. Everyone had their own space to explore and call their own.
4. Appliances are in good working condition and get the job done (some complained they were outdated...but they were ok).
5. A few minutes from Vons, Starbucks
6. Pool table and rec room are well maintained.
7. Big fire place.
8. Launch point to water a few houses down.
Left on 09/17/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | dori kelley
Great cabin and location. One problem was that the entrance to the dock was very wobbly. Read more
Thank you for the great review!!! The owner is aware of the issue with the dock and we are in the process of repairing this issue.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Boulder City, Nevad
great vacation, Big Bear is a great vacation destination to re
Left on 09/13/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Wayne Johanson
The cabin needs serioius updating and maintenance. The appliances are old and terrible, sink faucet sprays from cracks. paint falling off of all walls outside. patio awning :becareful leaning on it) you may end up in the yard below. The dock not even sure what to say about that, (I own a dock building company). However, I didnt rent the cabin to live in it only to rest my head and have a great view. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay; each review is accounted for and followed up on. With that said the team at Big Bear Cool Cabins wanted to inform you that we are in the process of repairing the dock, replacing the stove, and painting. Maintenance has been sent to the home to make sure all railings and balconys are safe and up to code. Last but not least the kitchen faucet has been replaced. Thank you once again.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 08/29/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Vhoeuy
Love it! Beautiful view! Will book this cabin again next year!
Pico Rivera, Ca
amazing sunset view
Left on 07/10/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Castro Family
A;pine lake front was a nice cabin was a little old but made it feel like a cabin in the woods it could use a little upgrade. the water by the dock was full of weeds so we were not able to swim and the dock itself needs some attention.i reviewed this cabin before i went and read the main bathroom lock did not work, well it still did not work and someone was always getting walked in on. I notified cool cabins they sent someone out and the guy told me that they had to get the owners permission to replace it well thats been a few months since the first report of a broken lock(come on mr.Or ms. owner its just a lock replace it). also it was suppose to sleep 9 it only had engough beds for 8 my son had to sleep on the couch and that was after everyone went to bed. overall it was good the deck was nice and the rooms were big. i would stay here again Read more
Thank you for the favorable review of Big Bear Cool Cabins and Alpine Lakefront. We wanted to take the time to let all past and future guests know that we do note and follow up on all issues noted. With that said the owner of the home has replaced the bathroom door lock. We have sent a property manager to the home to verify that it is equipped to sleep 9 people. Unfortunately Big Bear Cool Cabins nor the owner of the home are responsible for the shoreline but we have informed the Municipal Water District of Big Bear Lake of the issues and we are working hard to get this resolved. Thank you once again; we hope you will give Alpine Lakefront another chance in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Encinitas Family
We wanted a place right on the lake with a large fenced yard for our dogs. this had both. The place was very clean and well stocked and as always, the rental place helpful and friendly.
It was great to sit on the deck and watch the sunsets and we even had a few ducks that let our dogs swim with them !! very cute and a resident Pelican !! Very Quite at night, great for star gazing.
Two drawbacks. One was the yard. It was full of thorny weeds (next time weed killer in the spring would help) which made it uncomfortable for us or the dogs to walk on and we had to clean a bunch of trash off the beach outside our gate.(wish the cleaning crew would check that out) but, we will definitely stay there again if these 2 issues are resolved. We gave an average on cleanliness because of the trashed beach and thorny yard Read more
We are glad to hear that your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins and Alpine Lakefront was enjoyable. Many of our guests love Alpine Lakefront and the fact it is pet friendly and lakefront. Upon receipt of your review we did inform the yard maintenance company of the issues with the weeds and that is in the process of being resolved. We have also contacted our local Municipal Water District to inform them of the issues at the shoreline of Alpine Lakefront and hope to have this resolved in the near future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Big Bear Visitor
Everything was great
Left on 06/04/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Big Bear Visitor
Big Bear is gorgeous this time of year. It's our favorite time even though every season is great. Everything was wonderful with our stay.
great lake view
Left on 04/11/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Jennifer
I did not like the fact that the wall behind our beds and the roof had so many spider webs, that was very gross. the windows seem like they haven't been cleaned in years so i couldn't really see the beautiful lake view from my master bedroom, which was pretty upsetting. Also when we hit the bed sooo much dust came out of it :/ our family really enjoyed the amazing lake view and the pool table overall i dont think i would ever rent a cabin from Big Bear cool cabins ever again, as my first time i was very dissapointed just because of how unsanitary they are. Read more
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins and Alpine Lakefront was not enjoyable. Our main goal is customer satisfaction and to hear that you were not satisfied is upsetting. According to our records you did not call at any time during your stay to report any issues leaving us unaware of your situation. Had you of called and reported these items we would have exhausted all measures to ensure an exceptional stay. With that said housekeeping has been sent to the property to rid it of any excessive cobwebs, but unfortunately we are in the mountains; a perfect setting for spiders and their webs. The windows are scheduled to be cleaned this spring once the snow has cleared. Thank you for your business; we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Mission Viejo, CA
A great time had by all
Left on 02/16/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Michael Peck
The home was very comfortable for 2 adults and 4 teenage snowboarders.
The view is to die for. One sunset photo was magazine material. The spa was a major hit with the kids after snowboarding 8 hours. We cooked all our dinners in and the kitchen and dining area was great. one little problem, the downstairs bathroom did not lock there were moments of excuse me. Overall it was a great time. Read more
We are so happy to hear that you had a great time at Alpine Lakefront! We have informed the owner of the property of the issue with the downstairs bathroom lock and hope to have that resolved very soon.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Paying for a view
Left on 01/08/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Bolender Family
The view was the only great experience. The cabin should be listed as extremely rustic. Several items such as shower drain in upper bathroom were clogged, none of the dryers in the garrage worked, the cabin was not cleaned properly. Read more
Alpine Lakefront is a beautiful lakefront home that boasts an amazing view as well as many other amenities. According to our records you did not call and report any issues during your stay; which prevented us from providing the best customer service possible. Housekeeping has been informed of the issues with cleanliness and as of today we have verified that the shower was clogged and is now in working order. Per our technicians records the dryer was working in the home upon his inspection. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience; we hope to see you in the future!
-The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Los Angeles CA
Cool alpine Lakefront Cabin
Left on 01/05/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | David
The family did enjoy the stay, although it did need some attention towards minor fixes, such as door lock, blinds.. pots pans cups etc to be cleaner.. During one evening a strange big dog had trespassed into the outside property which terrified my girlfriend.. So be aware of a strange Big Dog or Big Bears my friends! :) But other than that we had a Cool alpine Christmas Holiday.
Our Pups Loved It!!
Redondo Beach, California
Left on 10/14/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Our Pups Loved It!!
We booked the alpine Lakefront for 5 nites. I initially thought the house was a little shabby, considering what I paid, but I think it's because the interior is all dark wood and the window coverings need attention. However, once the bright morning sun came up and I opened all the blinds, I discovered what a solid built home it is. Absolutely gorgeous views!! We found the alpine Lakefront through FidoFriendly magazine. Our motto...If our dogs can't go, we stay home. Needless to say, they loved the fenced yard and dock, the neighborhood is safe, friendly, and beautiful. Great for long walks, but I wouldn't go too far after dark because of the lack of street lights. They rated the house "five out of five paws up". Overall, the furnishings (especially master bed) were comfortable. If I was in the market for a 2nd home, I would consider buying this location.
My husband caught a couple of small fish fm the dock...too small to eat, though. There's lots of fishing within a short drive. Many dog friendly restaurants, especially Paoli's in the Village! Only problem was a broken microwave, which was replaced by management. Can't wait to return...had a memorable time! Read more
We like to make our guest’s stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible; while we can’t guarantee everything to be perfect, we have been very happy with the way Cool Cabins has responded to major unexpected issues or inconveniences which impact guests and their stays. We continually try to update our cabin with practical items (such as ipod stereo player/charger) and understand the necessity of not being completely ‘unplugged’ (we have had free wifi for years), but part of the enjoyment of the property as shown by the guests comments is its phenomenal location and just enjoying the serenity of the lake and beautiful views. Thank you very much for your reviews; we look forward to welcoming you to Alpine Lakefront in the future!
Big Bear Weekend
Left on 10/09/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Risk Master
The cabin location on the lake and the views were absolutely wonderful. The cabin is in need of some maintenance. The sliding door was rather sticky. The deck is need of repair. The telescope falls apart if you touch it and is no functional. As far as having a stero - it did not work and it is in need of updating to adapt to more current devices. It did ot take long for the ants to show up.
Los Angeles, CA
Great House, Stinky Beach
Left on 09/06/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | LA family
The house was very nice and the deck was great. The yard is beautiful! The advertised swimming beach smelled like a sewer and no one (not even the dogs) wanted to swim in it. The two downstairs bedrooms had beds that must be 20 years old. Our stay was very nice, but could have been great if the beach did not stink and the beds had been replaced. Read more
Thank you for your review of Big Bear Cool Cabins and Alpine Lakefront. Your feedback allows us to identify and issues and rectify them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins and the owner of Alpine Lakefront we would like to apologize for the condition of the beach area. Several days before your arrival we had the Municipal Water District of Big Bear Lake out to the property to clean it up as much as possible. Per the MWD there is not much more we can do to resolve that issue. Unfortunately summer has taken its course and the level of the lake as lowered; causing the beach area to be messy and unattractive. This issue is not only pertinent to Alpine Lakefront, but to a lot of lakefront homes throughout the valley. In years past when the level of the lake was lower the property did boast a sandy beach area. Once again we deeply apologize for this issue; we have tried our very best in remedying the situation. We hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 08/28/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Miss Kimmi
Stained glass in door broken. Big Bear Cool Cabins stated that they were aware of the issue and that a handman had been out.His way to "fix" it was to tape a plastic bag over the hole. Unfortunately somebody could have put their hand through the hole and unlock the front door. We had to put my husbands bike inside the entry so it would fall over if somebody tried opening the front door while we were sleeping. Broken blinds with missing slats and slats that fell off when you opened the blinds. Curtain in downstairs mini master bedroom does not open. Fireplace log holder is broken and tips over. Fireplace screen hard to open and close and has a wire sticking out of the top. The "sandy beach" that was advertised, is actually a smelly swamp littered from the shorline to the dock with trash and debris. It stinks when boats are on the lake and the waves start hitting the shore. The dock ramp is unsafe as it tips to one side. The dock is unstable when walking on it. The pathway by the back gate is sticking up due to a tree stump lifting it. I stubbed my toe and tripped on it in the dark looking for the circuit breaker as the spa was not working. Exterior of house is in poor condition. It needs to be powerwashed as it is covered in cob webs. House and deck needs cosmetic repair and a pain job. Stains in carpeting. Pool table bumper on one side is broken and it is difficult to play a real game of pool. Misc broken appliances in the garage and yard (two dishwashers, washer, dryer, barbeques, lawn chair, etc)Refrigerator was hard to keep cold even at the highest setting, freezer was fine. Overall very disppointed. The house was not as described. Owner should seriously consdier fixing this property and bring it up to rentable conditions as it is definately not worth what we paid for. Especially after driving around and seeing alot of awesome cabins that are for rent. On a positive note, the front and back yard was nice as was the floor plan of the cabin. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. The front door has been repaired. Upon inspection of the home the blinds are not missing and are currently working. We are in the process of replacing the curtains in the downstairs bedroom, and the fireplace screen and log holder are being looked at. The dock was inspected by the MWD and was deemed as safe. Unfortunately the beach area has been affected due to the receding lake water, and the MWD was sent to the property to clean as much debris as possible. The carpet was also inspected and only has one stain by the pool table, and the outside of the home has been cleaned to rid it of the cobwebs. Once again thank you for taking the time to share this information; we look forward to welcoming you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
we'll be back
great location/ very charming/love the views
Left on 08/26/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | we'll be back
this is on the water with phenomenal sunset view and beautiful protected cove. The yard is large and kid and pet friendly. The deck looked recently stained. The outside of the home shows its age but did not put any type of damper on our stay as some of other guests. It was too hot to use the fireplace but it is large and would be great for winter
Great Location, Great Rental agency, Cabin Could use Work
Left on 07/18/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Firecracker
We rented this cabin last year and had a great time. So we booked the same cabin again because we loved it so much.
It's kind of fallen apart and needs work now, though. I feel like it's not worth what we paid this year (since we were charged significantly more this year). The beach area was messy and smelled bad.
The hot tub's water was very clean but the hot tub itself wasn't in great condition. The cabin overall has a lot of character. We had a great time, we love the view and location, it just needs some attention. Read more
Thank you for sharing information regarding your stay at Big Bear Cool Cabins and Alpine Lakefront. Your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them accordingly. We wanted to inform you that the issues with the spa have been resolved by adding new spa handles, and the dock area has been cleaned up by the City of Big Bear Lake. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced, and we hope to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
charm of a cabin with comforts of home
Left on 07/06/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Jill
My husband, teenage daughter, dogs, sister-in-law, friend and i all enjoyed 4 nights at alpine Lakefront. The deck is wonderful and the view magnificient. Great location close to village.
Very enjoyable stay. Would definitely go back!
Left on 07/06/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Mark
This cabin was absolutely perfect for our stay. We loved the hot tub and the stunning views over the lake. The only thing I would say is that I think with a paint job on the outside of the house it would be even more impressive.
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in August 2010 | Bigbearlover
We had used Cool Cabins before with good results, but this property was not in good shape...smelly and tired, obviously a party house with stained carpeting and broken knobs on the stove. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allows us to accommodate our guests according to your opinions and experiences. Please feel free to add us on Facebook where you can keep up to date on our specials and promos. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. All of the issues you noted have been resolved and everything is now in working order. Thank you once again, we look forward to doing business with you in the future. If you have any questions or need anything at all please feel free to give us a call or email us anytime.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Garden Grove California
Left on 05/06/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | M.Arnold
Great...cabin for the family with kids. The booking is so simple. Cool Cabins made me a hero with the family.
Left on 01/05/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | tyaz
There was a 1/2 inch gap between the window frames and the house never got above 62 degrees. There was literally snow blowing into the cabin through the gap and I had to use my own duct tape to stop the wind and snow from blowing into the house. We kept the heat on for 3 days and it still never got above 62. There was broken glass on the kitchen floor and the place did not look clean. There were no patio lights (the bulbs were burned out) and much ice and snow on the front walk, making it very dangerous at night.
SAN DIMAS, CA
Left on 12/15/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | SCOTT S
The alpine Lakefront was in a great location. It could have used some upgrades, small TVS only one DVD player. Overall was a great trip.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.