Two bedroom, two bath, large deck with hot tub and charcoal barbecue, wood burning fireplace, TV, DVD player, WiFi, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more. Wheelchair accessible.
Master Suite has a queen bed and private bath.
Bedroom two has two twin beds.
Living room has two futon beds.
Maximum occupancy 6. Parking for 2 vehicles.
Angel's Retreat comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the cabin clean and ready before your visit and doe...s the cleaning after your stay.
No indoor smoking is permitted.
Additional amenities include: barbecue: gas, queen: 1, dogs permitted, wifi: wifi, twin: 2, futon bed: 2, single story, views: for, cleaning/towels/linens provided, wheelchair accessible.Read more
Left on 07/12/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Chris V
We enjoyed our stay and relaxed. The carpet was a little ragged, but it was pet friendly...so what do you do? Maybe tile? There wasn't a fenced yard but we were able to contain our dogs on the deck. There wasn't a back gate so we kind of made our own.
Other than that we really enjoyed our stay.
Very roomy, exactly what I hoped it would be
Left on 03/12/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | DucksFan30
This home was in a great location, has plenty of living space and very comfortable... I would recommend this place to a friend and also stay here in the future!!
Christmas in Big Bear
Left on 01/02/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | DAOS|
Great cabin, the jacussi has perfect temperature everything work fine inside the cabin. Price a lit high.
Dirty & Poor Condition
Left on 09/26/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Songsak
I've used Big Bear Cool Cabins several times and this is by far the worst cabin we've ever received.
Upon entering the unit we found the kitchen smelled of rotten fish. We called the office and two very nice employees came down to clean the area (they even admitted the fish smell was awful).
The carpet was dirty, stained, torn / ripped.
The master shower leaked water onto the floor when in use, and we had to use towels to keep the water contained.
The bottom of the front door has a 2 inch gap ... which seems crazy to me in a mountain / snow environment.
The jacuzzi controls work half of the time, it's a miracle we were able to turn it off. The jacuzzi hadn't been cleaned in awhile, as evidenced by the gross oily brown bubbles that formed when the jets were turned on.
There are other issues, but in general this place looks like someone hasn't taken care of it in awhile, and it was put together to rent in the cheapest way possible.
We've always been satisfied with Cool Cabins, but this last rental has me considering other companies. Read more
Thank you for taking the tie to leave this review, in an effort to try to keep your buisness we are looking into these issues and having them addressed immidiately. We will update you as soon as we identify the issues and figure out ways to solve them.
Left on 08/15/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Dan
The cabin is fairly well-equipped, although we had trouble finding lamps with working bulbs. We did really enjoy the great front deck and the spa. The location is near town and we found it to be a very quiet location. Overall, we like this place because of its quiet location.
Easy check in/out and we loved our cabin!
Left on 07/19/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | drunkhiker
The cabin was larger than it looked in the pictures. We also forgot shampoo and conditioner so we were pretty happy the cabin came with everything. The location of angel's retreat was awesome. Next to businesses and restaurants, but not on the main road. The only thing we had a problem with was all the squished bug carcasses on the walls.
This cabin was perfect for a short weekend away but not recommen
Left on 06/27/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Devin
Well where to start? The house itself was satisfactory for a short stay. Reason I say short is probably based off of what I consider to be homey and comfortable. Overall this wasn't a cabin that made us feel relaxed and "at home." Condition of the home was acceptable. Only problem we had was with the construction that started outside of the home at 7am in the morning. Jackhammers, heavy equipment operation and lots of crew all congregated in front of the rental and proceeded to work on the gas line that went along the road the home was on. At 730 we were brought out of bed by a crew member knocking on the front door alerting us to the fact the gas to the house was being turned off. So needless to say there was no breakfast, no hot shower and no peace and quiet. Big Bear Cool Cabins was great at acknowledging our concerns and dissatisfaction with our stay and took care of the problem. My only grip is the home owners knew there was going to be interruption to the gas service and still opted to rent out their home to us. I know when ever we have had major constitution on our street, interrupting gas water etc. we have received something in writing from the city. The next step should have been to alert Cool Cabins and have their home removed as available for that time. There is always 2 sides to everything, maybe the home owners were never informed? Never the less, we appreciated Cool Cabins stepping in and handling our situation as they did. Won't return to this home, but will definitely go through Cool Cabins again. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to inform of us of the issues with your stay. We are very happy to hear that you were well taken care of by our staff. After having read this review we did take the time to call the city and find out what had happened. It was reported to us that it was actually a gas leak in "The Village" and was not anticipated. As far as the construction the homeowner was not informed however it was temporary and has now ceased. Again thank you so much for taking your time to leave this review and we hope you and your loved ones will be back to see us very soon!
Left on 05/30/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Edgar
Every thing was grate I stayed there for 2 nights with my girlfriend and 2 other friends. Everything perfect and clean only the hot tub was dirty but when I called twice they come and cleand it
Left on 04/17/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | Aj
Cozy cool cabin, best cabin ever. enjoy your staying.
Left on 04/10/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | butch
everything was great cabin was well equiped with all the thing you need just bring your self and food and enjoy great stay.
Great location, average cabin
Left on 01/10/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Xaddam
We stayed here over the Christmas holiday. This was our second stay at angels retreat. We love the location, hot tub and fireplace.
We did have an issue with the hot tub, which needed 2 visits by a tech. So we were out of a hot tub for 1 of the days. Also the wifi did not work for us at all while we were there. It was not very clean when we arrived. cob webs, spiders, dust and dirt. The carpet Really needs to be replaced.
Cool Cabins offered us a very small credit for all of these issues.
Overall, we really like this place but probably won't stay here again.
Best family, dog friendly retreat:-)
Left on 12/14/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | Chris
Walking distance to a park, the lake, and Main Street. Had the best time ever. Bbqed every night. Relaxed in jaqquizi every day. Quite and peace full with the smell of pines. Had more than enough space for a family of 4. Good Times...
Angel's Retreat--Pleasant Stay
Left on 08/09/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Dan
We had another pleasant time at this cabin. We especially enjoyed the deck and the spa and that we were able to keep the dogs fenced in on the deck. The neighborhood is also very quiet. One thing that could be improved is to replace some of the burned out light bulbs. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience.
Simi Valley, CA
nice cabin...horrible driveway!
Left on 06/20/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | John T
The cabin was clean and well kept. The jacuzzi was awesome. Customers should be warned that the driveway is damaged and difficult to maneuver. I now have two deep scratches on my brand new Infiniti. I will not go back.
Las Vegas, NV
Angel's Retreat is a nice home with a great deck.
Left on 06/08/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Joe Birg
I was pleasantly surprised how comfortable angel's Retreat was. I loved the big deck off the front of the home where we could watch the birds and squirrels in the pine trees. We found plenty of everything in the home. Everything was very clean when we arrived.
Escape the heat
Once you get past the ants, very pleasant location.
Left on 06/06/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Escape the heat
Nice location, cabin. Ants were prevalent, fortunately plenty of bug spray was on hand. Very quite area, just off the main road. Within minutes of snow summit. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Christine
My family enjoyed our stay at angel's Retreat.The cabin was neat and well maintained.And the location was perfect.We are planning to our next stay.
Cozy cabin but the maintenance must be kept up
Left on 04/11/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Tony
It is a cozy cabin and the stay is pleasant. The problem is the master bedroom door is not lockable and door frame is not finished and door swing both way. Having difficult with the charcoal grill because it is falling apart. Read more
Thank you for your favorable review of Big Bear Cool Cabins and Angel's Retreat. We are looking into the issues you noted about the master bedroom door and the barbecue. Thank you once again; we hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
San Diego, CA
Great Family Vacation Getaway!
Left on 04/04/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | OLRam
We had a wonderful time at angel's Retreat! The cabin had everything you needed and was very clean when we arrived. The jacuzzi was clean and ready to go when we got there. The only problem we had was the internet. We were not able to connect to the internet even though we were given the password by Cool Cabins. We called Cool Cabins in the morning to get some help. The girl we spoke to said she would have to call the owner of the cabin and she took our number and said she would call us back. But we never received a call back! Otherwise, we had a wonderul at this cabin and would stay here again.
Chris from LA
This is the place!
Left on 02/29/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Chris from LA
I was really excited to go to Big Bear for the holiday weekend. It was our first time using Cool Cabins and I have to say it was a great, I figured it being a holiday weekend check in would be a long ordeal,but my wife was back in the car in no time at all,thank you Cool Cabins.
Now for the cabin itself, Awesome, for some reason the pictures make this place look alot smaller than it actually is. The place has two bedrooms great size and a huge living room area. My party was my wife, our son, our two dogs -one German shepherd and a beagle- and our nanny came with her boyfriend, and there was still room to spare. The fire place was awesome during the night. The hot tub was alot bigger than I thought and was great after skiing all day, it was definitely the highlight of the cabin. The house itself is in a quiet neighborhood, and feels secluded. The house was clean and the owners keep it stocked with things you don't even know you'll need... again thank you.
Get this place!! it even has views of the ski slopes, and a big back yard, we'll be back for sure. would recommend to anyone anytime of the year.
Quiet, yet close to everything!
Left on 02/16/2012 for a stay in July 2011 | fran
My husband and I, our grown son, and our two Doxies stayed here July 2011. The house was roomy and the bedrooms were nicely separated on two ends of the cabin, each with their own full bathrooms. The living room was spacious, the kitchen modern and complete, and there was a good-sized, covered front deck with picnic table. The back yard was rustic and quiet, with a BBQ and chairs. We were happy we rented this cabin, and would do so again. It was within walking distance of the boulevard, to restaurants. We walked to hiking trails from the house, too! The service we received was good.
Great Cabin, Better than expected!!
Left on 02/08/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Chris M.
Cabin was wonderful! Very clean and cozy. Would stay here again without a doubt.
San Diego, CA
Way Better than Expected
Left on 01/26/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | oh_alex
I really liked this cabin, and would book it again. It was more spacious then the pictures seem and held me and my group of friends really well. The fact that it is one story was nice too. It is very centrally located and when we ran out of drinks or food there was a shop in walking distance! The kitchen and living room are great communal areas where me and my friends hung out most of the time. We played board games and cooked meals. The DVD player was missing, but I notified staff of it. The Jacuzzi was big enough to fit everyone and worked great. There are other homes on each side of the cabin but I still felt like it was pretty private. Overall we all had a blast. Read more
Thank you for the great review! We have sent maintenance to the property and the DVD player has been replaced. Thank you once again!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Content with the Cabin
Cozy, convenient location
Left on 01/25/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Content with the Cabin
The overall cabin lay out and decorations are very cozy and ideally what I wanted. The kitchen did lack a few things like foil, a baking tray etc but we made do. The jacuzzi was very warm, heater was functioning. Carpet did not smell or have stains like previous reviews had stated- maybe they had just shampoo'ed them. The driveway was a tad tricky and we did scratch the bottom of our cars- luckily we had a rental car. The room with the single queen has a broken curtain rod- I went to open the curtains and it came down on me. I told the office about this when I checked out and they said they would put in a work order. Overall the cabin was amazing and I would definitely recomment it.
Nice and Clean Cabin
Left on 01/13/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | PJ party
Overall a very nice cabin. We had a problem with our wifi connection but someone from Cool Cabins went over to fix the problem quite rapidly.
I'd say the only thing keeping my rating from being "excellent" was that the hot tub water was a bit dirty.
Anyone thinking about going to big bear with a group of 4-6 (two per room and two additional very comfortable futons), here are the advantages:
1. Great location (walking distance to Big Bear Blvd. and even to Snow Summit)
2. Very clean and nice bathrooms and showers
3. Pet friendly
4. Nice kitchen, dishwasher
We would stay again for sure
Left on 12/14/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Smax
The cabin was clean with plenty of room. Could have used a few more things in the kitchen like measuring cups and mixing bowls but we figured it out. The hot tub needed water added...over all it was okay...Oh and the husband hated the driveway! Read more
Thank you for your review of Big Bear Cool Cabins and Angel's Retreat. We have informed the owner of the property of the need for more measuring cups and mixing bowls. We look forward to doing business with you in the future.
-The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Los Angeles, CA
Great to smell the mountain air while soaking in the hot tub!
Left on 11/18/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Steve
We enjoyed our stay. We soaking in the hot tub a half dozen times in the two days we were there. The fireplace was awesome and there was plenty of room. We hope to go again soon.
Los Angeles, CA
Don't stay here if you don't wanna get bug bites!!!
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Chel017
We recently stayed here over Labor Day Weekend. Outside looks nice. Upon entering inside, we liked the dining area, kitchen and how spacious it was and nice to have two bathrooms since it was 2 bedrooms. What we really didn't like was how the carpet in the living room and bedroom have dirty old stains all over the place. It was very nasty like pet stains or who knows. They have got to change and replace the carpeting. It is very unhealthy for people who are renting this cabin especially if they bring children who plays on the carpet floor. I wouldn't even recommend it for owners with pets like me coz the carpet may harvest fleas/ insects over the years and your pet may acquire disease from it. And secondly, their master bedroom also has the same problem. The carpet is very old and also has stains. The worst part is the bed. We slept on it the first night we already felt uncomfortable, we started itching and scratching. Granted the sheets may have been washed and replaced with new ones but who knows how old the bed was! I stayed on motels before trust me its better to stay in motels than here in angel's retreat. Sleeping for 3 nights in that bed was horrible beyond belief. The next day we woke up, we have bug bites all over us.It was really a very terrible experience to stay here. The good part was only the Jacuzzi outside which we liked and the location which was kinda close to everything. We also think the rental price for this place is to high considering how bad the carpet and bed was...not to mention the towels were unclean. We saw hairs in some of the towels.
We love big bear. But we will never again stay in this very dirty cabin. We recommend you pick the ones with reasonable price and newer cabins. Read more
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share the details pertinent to your stay with our company. According to our records you did not call during your stay to report ANY of these issues. If there were unsatisfactory issues in regards to the condition of the home at the time of your visit we would have welcomed you to inform us of any situation. We pride ourselves on maintaining exceptional standards of customer service. With that said our guests’ satisfaction is our priority! Our office works very hard in our efforts of communication. We would have expected you to share your information at a time when we could have been helpful. With that said we also wanted to inform you that we have actually just recently had the entire home steam cleaned! We hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Mina and Joe Lara
They thought of everything!!!
Left on 09/07/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Mina and Joe Lara
Big Bear Cool Cabins Personnel and Management were very accomadating and pleasant to deal with, I had called numerous times and shared with them the other reviews posted on the internet. They assured me everything would be perfect. And they delivered!!! Everyone there was so nice and so pleasant. They even welcomed our baby beagle Bailey.
Now for the Cabin Review:
1. Awesome location
2.Very good open floor plan
3. Lots of space to spread out
4. Modern kitchen and great washer and dryer room.
5. Nice hot tub, but because it was raining off and on we never used it.
6. The masterbedroom bed was not comfortable
7. The futons were more comfortable. Better support
8. The carpets need cleaning real bad.
9. A little bit of dust issues throughout the house.
10. Drive way was weird, but once we got the hang of it, it was fine.
Overall, a wonderful experience, although next time, I dont think I will invite my parents as they seem too critical of things. Simply put, everything was more than we expected and whomever owns this cabin, really cares about the guests that stay there. Just the simple things that we didnt think about bringing, they thought of. Oh, and another big a+++, they use Bath and Body Works ammenities. We love U guys! We will definetley be back again. And please tell the owner, thanks for making their cabin feel like a home!!! Read more
Thank you for the great review! We wanted to let you know that we have informed housekeeping of the issues with dust and it has been resolved. We also wanted to let you know that we informed the owners of the property of all other issues; and we have scheduled the property for a carpet cleaning! Thank you once again; we look forward to doing business with you in the future!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
orange county, ca
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Ed
The cabin was nice, the driveway was kinda hard to get into, but all in all we had a great time and it is a nice place to enjoy with your family.
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Daniel Horner
This is a very nice cabin with a great deck for reading and relaxing. It is close to town and yet secluded. It also has a very nice spa. The only thing that needs some work is the driveway which needs some more asphalt to prevent guests' vehicles going over a curb. We enjoyed our stay.
Plenty of room for all
Left on 07/14/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Franny
This is quite a roomy, modern cabin with the bedrooms at opposite ends of the living room for maximum privacy. There was even a laundry room. The kitchen was up to date and roomy as well. Nice foyor with a bench for shoes, coats and hats. Nice rustic backyard looking out to woods. Plenty of hot water, didn't need heat in July. Futons in living room were not as comfy as couches might have been. Beds were comfortable. Only negative was steep access to driveway, but taking it slow, we quickly figured out how to get in and out without much difficulty. House also has wrap around deck and picnic tables front and back.
Best Friends from San Diego
Sunny Southern California
Best Friends' Retreat!
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Best Friends from San Diego
Angel's Retreat is just that - an angelic retreat! Every year or so, my best friend and I try to take a trip to get away from our hectic jobs and families. We knew we wanted to find a cabin in Big Bear that would welcome her beloved dog. The location of the cabin is centrally located, just a block off of Big Bear Blvd., yet secluded and private amongst the majestic pines and is completely dog friendly. This beautiful 2-bedroom cabin is tastefully decorated, without being "overdone" with clutter & kick-knacks. The cabin is immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. It has no "pet odor" within the residence. Of all of the Cool-Cabins I've rented over the years, this has to be my favorite!!! The jacuzzi on the deck was the perfect way to watch the sun go down. We had made plans to go hiking, do the alpine Slide, rent a pontoon boat, but instead we ended up spending most of our weekend at the cabin, cooking, sitting in the jacuzzi, sharing a bottle of wine, and giggling like we did when we were little girls - - it was just that great! Sadly, it will probably be the very last vacation for my best friend's dog, as she is very old. At least she got to vacation in a wonderfully relaxing place and seemed to love every minute of it! What a terrific memory.
Cool-Cabins made our reservations and stay easy! Their cleaning staff does a top notch job of preparing the place for our arrival, of letting us know what the rules and responsibilities are for their rentals, and even let us check in a few hours early!
Overall, we thoroughly loved our "retreat" and look forward to returning again and again.
P.S. We'd highly recommend Evergreen's for a nice/fancy dinner. It's pricey, but it was well worth it. Jerry and Emillee, the owners, will go out of their way to make sure your meal is perfect, and their service is par none!
San Marcos, CA
Left on 05/25/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | mommycampos
We really enjoyed our visit! Great location, short drive to the lake and to the shops. The carpet smelled like pet urine and our beagle went crazy sniffing everything, but other than that everything was in top shape. We will probably return! Read more
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Angels Retreat with Big Bear Cool Cabins. Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. Your feedback allows us to address any issues and identify them immediately. We wanted to let you know that we have forwarded this information to the home owner and are trying to get the carpets cleaned in a timely manner. We look forward to doing business with you in the future! If there is anything we can be of assistance with please feel free to give us a call or email us anytime.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 01/19/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | JCL
It is a pretty nice place and it comes with most of the stuff you need. Although the water wasnt that hot, it might be just city problem. Trash removal is a hassle
Left on 12/29/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Linda
I have rented from Cool Cabins before and generally have been pleased with the cabins. This one however was a disappointment. The shower in the master bath was not clean and the water nozzle was pointed straight at the door making it impossible to open the door without getting water on the floor. The toilet was clogged and we were unable to use it. The bath towels were as thin as sandpaper and just as rough.
could be better
rancho santa margarita, ca
very fun and comfortable
Left on 12/15/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | could be better
everything was perfect until we asked for the video system to be fixed. I have small children so after dark they wanted to watch movies. the description of the cabin said "surround sound and dvd" so we came prepared. all the system was down. We asked your office to send someone. they said "it's going to take a while" a frame of time was not specified nor they recomended to leave the key if we were to be gone during the day. I assumed you guys must have a master key to enter in the property or at least to give us some sort of notice when the technician was comming. When I called later to find out why the dvd was not fixed, hoping someone still would come; the office blamed it on us for not been in the cabin ... 'hey I'm in a vacation! you expect me to sit arround and wait for someone to come without a waiting frame!!!. the TV system should not been down in first place! that's part of your description for that beautiful cabin
Relaxing Getaway Weekend
Left on 09/29/2010 for a stay in September 2009 | Will
My experience was very pleasant and relaxing, the cabin was spacious and easily could have accommodated 6 people. As it was my party included myself and my girlfriend. The property was fully stocked, immaculately presented and the staff was quite attentive.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.