A Retreat For All Seasons
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Four bedroom, three bath, lodge like interior with high open beam ceilings. Game room, 2 fireplaces, cable TVs, DVD player, Internet, washer/dryer, and large, open kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, and pots/pans, and more. This cabin also features a deck with a hot tub and barbecue. Just 1/4 mile to the lake or National Forest for hiking and biking, 1 mile to the Village and 2 miles to the ski slopes.
Master bedroom has a queen bed and futon, fireplace, TV, DVD player, and private bath with clawfoot tub.
Bedroom two has a queen bed.
Bedroom three has a full bed and a t...Read more
A Retreat For All Seasons
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Stay 2 nights, get night free See Details »
|Rate Summary||$416 - $1,260||$416 - $1,260||$1,200||$0||1 night|
|May. 1 2013 - May. 23 2013||$469||$469||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$416||$416||-||-||1 night|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$469||$469||$1,200||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$678||$678||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$469||$469||$1,200||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 1 2013||$469||$469||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$469||$469||$1,200||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$817||$817||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$817||$817||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 19 2013||$817||$817||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 20 2013 - Dec. 25 2013||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 26 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Dec. 27 2013||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 28 2013 - Dec. 28 2013||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 29 2013 - Dec. 29 2013||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 30 2013 - Dec. 30 2013||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 31 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$1,260||$1,260||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 1 2014 - Jan. 1 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 2 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$817||$817||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$817||$817||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$817||$817||-||-||1 night|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$974||$974||-||-||1 night|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 28 2014||$817||$817||-||-||1 night|
|Mar. 1 2014 - Mar. 31 2014||$521||$521||-||-||1 night|
|Apr. 1 2014 - Apr. 30 2014||$469||$469||-||-||1 night|
|May. 1 2014 - May. 22 2014||$469||$469||-||-||1 night|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 25 2014||$416||$416||-||-||1 night|
|May. 26 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$469||$469||$1,200||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 5 2014||$678||$678||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 6 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$469||$469||$1,200||-||1 night|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Aug. 31 2014||$469||$469||-||-||1 night|
|Sep. 1 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$469||$469||$1,200||-||1 night|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 29 2014||$713||$713||-||-||1 night|
|Nov. 30 2014 - Dec. 18 2014||$713||$713||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 19 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$713||$713||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 23 2014||$713||$713||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 24 2014 - Dec. 25 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 26 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Dec. 27 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 28 2014 - Dec. 28 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 29 2014 - Dec. 29 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 30 2014 - Dec. 30 2014||$1,078||$1,078||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 31 2014 - Dec. 31 2014||$1,260||$1,260||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 1 2015 - Dec. 31 2015||$1,043||$1,043||-||-||1 night|
|View all 44 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 08, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
My family was very happy, country atmosphere, relax, all in the cabin OK, somewhat off the center and is good if you like to be a little away from the noise, but has all the services and shops nearby. Returning next year...Gracias Desde Mexicali, Familia Guillen.
Comfy cabin but hot tub did not work.
The cabin was clean, nicely furnished, and comfortable during our stay. All expected amenities were present, with the notable exception of the hot tub, one of the main reasons we rented 'A Retreat For all Seasons'. The hot tub was broken before we arrived and failed to work at all during our three day, two night stay despite an appropriate number of repair calls. We did receive a small refund of $100, $50 per night for our loss. Other than this issue, the cabin was fine and if you do not care about the hot tub, I would recomend this cabin. However since one of the main reasons we chose this cabin was for the hot tub, my overall rating is 2/5.
Mission Hills, CA
Retreat is right!
Check in was easy,location was good. The home was large and many rooms. We felt completely relaxed. Had some trouble with the dvd players, I suggest bring your own and movies. No yard, only 2 small patios. But over all nice place.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 09/21/2012
Thank you for leaving this awesome review. We will definitely have the DVD player replaced. We hope that you come to Big Bear very soon and stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins!
Las Vegas, Nevada
the cabin was very nice, a lot of personal touches.we had a great time
This cabin was very nice and customer service was great as well.
When we got there check-in was fast and easy. The cabin was easy to locate and in a good location. The cabin was nice and clean and close to everything. The only complaint I had was that one of the bathroom shower doors was broken but it wasn't a big deal.
On the surface, this place was really nicely equipped. When we arrived we were surprised to see all the amenities including the Big Screen TV, Stereo, and DVD/CD players throughout the house. After about 5 minutes in the home, we were very disapointed to find out that much of that stuff didn't work. We couldn't get any of the DVD players to work, nor did the stereo system in the front room work. Everything was broken. There were even batteries missing in the remotes. Once we settled in that night, my son discovered two very large spiders in the home. These spiders were not your typical garden spider. They looked dangerous. They were both large enough that they could've hurt someone. It wasn't easy going to sleep in the dark after discovering those spiders. For future guests, I'd suggest that they bomb the place and replace all of the broken DVD/CD and stereo systems in the home.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 05/28/2012
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay; thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. Your feedback enables us to address any issues and rectify them accordingly. Upon receipt of your review we did send maintenance to the property to take a look at the electronics and the home and found them all to be in working condition. Had you have called during your stay and reported these issues we would have responded immediately and done whatever in our power to ensure an enjoyable stay. Thank you once again; we hope you will use our company in the near future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Los Angeles, CA
Great weekend away with friends
This cabin was great. Very spacious. Plenty of places to accommodate a group of 12. Lots of room to relax, rough-house, and just lounge. The cabin was very clean and the area was nice and quiet. Very close to the village and town, and close to may nearby hiking trails. Will return again!
Wonderful Time at the Retreat for all Seasons
Thank you for a wonderful cabin experience. There was plenty of room for our 2 families. The rental was awesome and we would definitely rent it again. The advertisement said there was a foosball machine in the game room, but it was some type of billiard table. Our young boys would have preferred the foosball machine.
It was very pleasant.
The cabin was warm and cozy. The hot tub was delightful in the cold weather. The kitchen was full of ready utensils and dishes. Also, it was good to have separate rooms with their own privacy. Overall, it was a comfertable cabin and I would recommend it to everyone! :)
La Jolla, CA
Huge Retreat for any Time
My family and I showed up at the cabin not expecting much after many stays in other old cabins all throughout Big Bear. Boy were we wrong. This cabin is gigantic! There's room after room after room (about 8 beds if you include the sofa beds/futons) and they all have ample space for all the people you can imagine; never have I ever been so comfortable in a cabin before.
The house was very well furnished, with a large dining table, two big couches and recliners, and even a poker/game table (that had a pretty crappy surface for playing cards on if you ask me). The jacuzzi outside was awesome, the kitchen is large with even a breakfast table and more than enough nice plates and china for cooking whatever you need. The house warmed up once we put on a fire, but we enjoyed it regardless; we'll definitely be coming back!
Cozy but room temperature cold
The rooms were not what we hopped for. They were too close together besides the two rooms upstairs. The temperature in the room kept on changing from really cold to really hot.
Amazing cabin with great ammenities
This is an amazing cabin! Very spacious, comfortable and very clean. We wanted a larger cabin for a large group of friends and we had more than enough space and then some! The heat worked great and the master bedroom had an elegant fireplace that kept half the cabin warm all night! The amenities including plenty of parking, jacuzzi, cable tv, large fully stocked kitchen and Internet made our stay so easy and convenient, we did not have to worry about anything! The location is perfect, so close to the lake and just a short drive to the mountain for skiing and snowboarding.. There's also a very affordable rental shop down the street where we got all of our snowboarding gear for cheap! It was a relief to not have to go out of our way to rent or return equipment! This cabin and it's location is more than ideal! We recommended it to all of our friends! It's perfect for families, friends and groups of all ages! We can't wait to reserve it again next season!
A palace for less
The cabin is really huge. Lots of spacious bedrooms and 3 bathrooms as well.
With a air hockey tale, charcoal grill, jacuzzi and a wonderful location a perfect spot for any large group.
The garage key wasnt working so we had to park our vehicles on the street. Also the apartment had dust and cobwebs here and there. Other than that its a reall cozy place and really spacious
We had a great time!
We spent the July 4th weekend here and had a good time. It's very close to the Lake and less than a mile away from downtown Big Bear. The guys and I were able to walk over to the lake to go fishing while the girls walked downtown. We met back up at the cabin a few hours later to bbq and hangout in the jacuzzi. We were able to see the fireworks on the lake from the front yard. It was the perfect July 4th weekend.
Comfortable but Dusty
This cabin was comfortable and cozy. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again, but stay at a different cabin, we just hope that whatever cabin we choose to stay at is cleaner than this one!! During our stay we moved a large couch in the living room around and found a lot of trash under it, including a condom. Speaking of condoms, we found a used condom behind a night stand. We were glad to see that the bathrooms and kitchen were clean although there was a lot of spider webs and dust all over the windows.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 09/07/2011
First and foremost I would like to apologize on behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins for the issues you experienced in regards to cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to address these issues so they can be resolved immediately. I wanted to let you know we have informed housekeeping and all issues have been resolved. Once again thank you for your review; we hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
We should have stayed elsewhere
Throughout our entire stay we've found dead spiders all over the place and even more huge spiders scampering around. It was scary because I did not feel comfortable leaving my small child on the floor at all. The furniture was old as expected and there were stains on the carpet. While I was taking a nap in the bonus room with my son I noticed on several of the pillow covers on the daybed were blood stains! Also there was a draft coming in from one of the windows in that room so it was extremely cold at night even with the heater on. I slept in the master bedroom and I must say it was creepy because the floor plan of the cabin is odd. The extra room is connected to the master bedroom so you will have to walk through our bedroom to get to this extra room. It also looked like it was previously a walk in closet converted to a bonus room. They had a huge cabinet somewhat blocking the doorway once you walk in which was odd because it looked like it was purposely moved there to cover something on the wall/floor? One of the rooms upstairs does not offer much privacy because the walls do not completely connect to the ceiling so people downstairs can hear your conversation (vice versa). On one of the nights in the cabin we were getting ready to bbq outside and I reached into the utensil drawer (keep in mind that this is the 2nd night we bbq'd there) and found rat droppings all over the utensils inside the drawer. When we were there the first night we did bbq and did not find any droppings. This meant that there was a live rat in the cabin running around! It was completely unsanitary and we were unable to eat in the kitchen for the remainder of the trip. Everyone was completely mortified and disgusted. This ruined our entire trip because it was too cold and windy for boats to be on the water (we wanted to rent a pontoon) but was stuck inside this dusty cabin with spiders and a huge rat running around.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 06/09/2011
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to note these issues; they allow us to address them immediately. According to our records you did not call and report any of these issues. If there were unsatisfactory issues in regards to the condition of the home at the time of your visit we would have welcomed you to inform us of any situation. We pride ourselves on maintaining exceptional standards of customer service. With that said our guests’ satisfaction is our priority! Our office works very hard in our efforts of communication. We would have expected you to share your information at a time when we could have been helpful. We hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
West Covina, CA
Family Fun Time
I was amased how easy it was to reserve the cabin online and when I had any questions I was able to call Big Bear Cool Cabins their customer service was is great.
The cabin was in a great location, was very clean and roomy.
The best thing I liked was the location.
Spacious but lacking some basic requirements
This cabin was very spacious. We are a family of 4 and stayed in this cabin with another family of 5 and a family of 3. The younger children really enjoyed the playroom and Lego toys. We all had plenty of room to be ourselves.
The downside is that it was not easy to heat the cabin. The heating system is dated and some rooms received no heat at all (the bonus room, the playroom and the extra bedroom off the master). The microwave could not pop popcorn without becoming overheated and the toaster oven didn't work. This limited our snacks and meals. It's important to be able to cook your own meals with such a large group.
The cleanliness was average. It wasn't dirty but certain areas were neglected. The rugs in the bathrooms were visibly dirty. It would be nice to have extra sets of towels in a cabin that can accomodate 14 people and that has a hot tub.
The location was fantastic, with a sloped area adjacent to the property where we were able to sled and play all day. There was a store within walking distance so that we could purchase extra snow gear and restaurants were a very short drive away. Yet we were not in the midst of a busy area.
If the heating and cleanliness improved, kitchen appliances repaired and extra towels provided this cabin would improve from average to excellent.
Stay 2 nights, get night free
Book 2 get 1 FREE
Stay two nights receive the third night free.Offer must be mentioned at the time of booking. Please call to make reservations. Offer not valid with any other offer or holidays. Certain restrictions apply. Offer ends June 10th. Not valid for stays from December 15th to April 1st.