Cozy two bedroom, two bath cabin with spectacular views of the ski slopes. Amenities include a foosball table, dart board, wood fireplace, TV, DVD player, washer/dryer, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more.
Bedroom one has a king bed.
Bedroom two has two double beds.
Living room has two sofa sleepers.
Short drive to the ski slopes, lake, golf, zoo, hiking, biking, sledding, shops, and restaurants. Deck with barbecue.
Parking for 2 vehicles. No pets are allowed at Carder Chalet.
Carder Chalet comes with fresh towels, and beds... are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the cabin clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
No pets allowed at Carder Chalet. No indoor smoking is permitted.
Left on 01/23/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | TK
It was easy to find and big enough for eight people.
One error was downstairs heater was noise but other than that it was comfortable.They also had enough warm water for everyone to use. We can use the upstairs for sleep in and downstairs for playing area.
Great Space and Location
Left on 01/10/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | CabinsAreCool
It was easy to book. Great service. If you're under 21 they make you put down a deposit so watch out for that. We really enjoyed the cabin. It was big and spacious 2 bedrooms and two restrooms. Two floors. Has basic cable and DVD player. Full kitchen with some pots, pans, plates, cups microwave toaster. The only unfortunate thing was that the first night the downstairs toilet overflowed and the next day when I called to get it fixed it took a while. But other than that issue the cabin was really nice has a balcony and you can see the stars at night. It is also very close to snow summit to snowboard and ski. As well as the other stores down Big Bear Blvd and the Village. Overall we had a lot of fun and the place was nice.
This cabin was excellent
Left on 01/10/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Jasper J.
Very spacious, clean. The Kitchen was well stocked with appliances and equipment. I used the grill (it's charcoal) up on the upstairs patio. This was one of the lower priced cabins, but it definitely did not feel like it.
Ivan from Northridge, CA
Fast and easy transaction!
Left on 08/22/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Ivan from Northridge, CA
The personnel there took real good care of us step-by-step through the application process. The booking was fairly smooth. The maintenance of the cabin was on point and our weekend experience there was incomparable. It topped last years vacation.
Nice view from balcony
Left on 07/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Murali
Kids enjoyed foosball. Nice view from balcony.
Kids enjoyed foosball. Nice view from balcony.
Left on 01/10/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Keith
To keep it short and to the point, this cabin was pretty nice. Very spacious. Had all the necessities for a weekend of fun with some friends. Only negative thing was that the beds were not made when we arrived but just threw all the linen to wash and that was that. Not that big of a deal, or so I thought. Would definitely stay here again!
Not so Good
Left on 01/09/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | jjbohlander
I stayed in this cabin with my Husband, My mother in law and My daughter. The place was not clean and had a very dusty smell to it. The sofas were old and dusty. Over half of the lights did not work including the porch light in which made for a very difficult entry at night with a step that was unable to see and icy walk way. The kitchen had very little utencils including a broken knife and a broken can opener in which we left on counter top. We lit a fire upstairs and the whole down stairs filled with smoke which caused all items coming home with us to smell like smoke and made it very difficult to sleep and breath. Had to open the dirty slider to air out with a temp of about 30 degrees. Was not by any meens what we expected.
Great cabin for the price.
Left on 03/21/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Joe
Stayed here while skiing with 3 other friends. Roomy. Cheap. Good accommodations. No complaint about the cabin.
Left on 03/14/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Emilie
We got this chalet after exchanging from the one we previously had booked, the grizzly cabin, which didn't have the bed as described and was disgusting.
the carder chalet little plus is its good sun exposition, it is very pleasant to eat on the sunny outside patio and the living area is well separate from the sleeping area, very convenient with kids at night time. it also got a little view on the mountain and no direct facing with neighbors. kitchen and bathroom were clean and well working. the down side of it is that, even with the owners left some family games accessible, they took all the pieces needed away, so kids (and adults) get frustrated seeing the games they cannot play, carpet had a huge hole from use and nails were coming out right in the passage way, we did hammer them down to avoid the kids hurting themselves, same thing for a lots off nails coming out of the wooden patio, I found this to be very careless, also, even if they're comfy, the sofa are way beyond their expiration dates and are coming apart, so technically the place was livable, but way too expensive for its condition. it's near nothing, so you need your car to go around, and the way the parking area is made must be a lot of fun to get out in icy road! Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins and Carder Chalet. Your feedback helps us to address any issues and ensure their timely resolve. Upon receipt of your review we did inform the owners of the property of the issues with the games and sofas. Maintenance was also sent to the home to ensure that the wooden patio is safe for guests and to make sure the carpet is no longer exposing nails. Thank you once again; we look forward to doing business with you in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 02/02/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Danielle
The service was very nice and helpful. Every time I called them they would answer all my questions politely and helpfully. Check in was easy. The house was absolutely perfect. We had a group of 8 and there was more than enough space for everyone. The layout was nice. The house was clean and well taken care of. We loved having a fireplace and a balcony with a BBQ. The neighborhood was quiet, but it looked like there was no one really in the houses around us. Conveniently located to all the stores and slopes. Will definitely consider staying here again!
good but not great
Left on 01/10/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | BLOQ Generation
We had a great time with our friends enjoying the beautiful Big Bear for the weekend. For the money, this cabin was good. There was way more space then we thought and that part was awesome. The bad news is that it looked all great until you started using stuff. The fridge didn't stay closed and we had to hold it closed with a chair, the bathroom door didn't slide so we just took it off for our stay, There was a nasty odor in the kitchen because of the mold growing behind the fridge, the downstairs bathroom would flood without anyone touching it, and last but not least, there were flees or something in the carpet and everyone ended up with bites all over their bodies. We called Cool Cabins and all they said was they would send someone out; No service, apology, or money back. And no one ever came! We didn't expect anything but at least an apology or a hundred bucks back for the inconvenience. We still made the best of it and had a fun weekend outside of the cabin.
Sofas - very uncomfortable
Left on 01/04/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Jamie Martinez
We got there and there were no towels and the porch lightbulb was burned out. The drapes in the living room were broken we could not completely close or open the drapes. The sofas were very uncomforable to sit and sleep on. The bedroom next to the masterbedroom was very cold compared to the rest of the cabin. Not enough warm blankets.
The kitchen was fine, had enough cookware and plates/utensils. The location was great, close to Bear Mountain, but there was black ice on the hill where you enter and exit it was pretty slippery.
Our kids like to snow board but we like to hangout and watch movies - the TV is very small and no cable or internet access. We will not be using this cabin again. Read more
We are very sorry to hear that Carder Chalet did not meet your expectations. We do want you to know that as soon as reviews are received each issue is noted, looked into and followed up on. According to our records you did call and report that issues with the porch light as well as the drapes. Luckily maintenance was able to resolve the porch light issue to ensure safety entering the home. We have informed the owners of the property of the issues with the drapes, sofas, and lack of blankets. We have also looked into the issue with the cable and internet. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your trip; we hope you are willing to give us another chance in the future. If you are willing to take us up on this offer please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally ensure that the property you book is in outstanding condition prior to your arrival.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Carder Chalet Review
Left on 12/21/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | kini
The cabin itself was great. But I would like to list the pros and cons of Carder Chalet and the service of Big Bear Cool Cabins.
-kitchen supplied with kitchen essentials
-bathrooms were clean
-Time of checkin and check-out is inefficient
-No running shuttle as described on Big Bear Cool Cabin page.
- Service changed each time we called and was inconsistent
-The key was missing and had to wait until someone delivered the key.
Left on 12/01/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Jacob
It's a nice and clean cabin. We like here! The cabin has two floor, with full equipment kitchen, including cooker dishes etc. The hot water cannot support two bathroom shower at the same time. All other things are pretty good Read more
Thank you for the great review! We have sent maintenance to the home to address the issues with the hot water; we hope you will come back and visit soon!
-The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Nice and pleasant Vacation!!!
Left on 11/16/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Nune
It is a very nice cabin.Even though we spent only one night there but we were really pleased with everything.It was a nice and calm area,very cozy cabin and customer service was excellent.
Left on 08/23/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Barbara
We had such a wonderful time, there was plenty of room for the 7 of us . This was the first time we had ever stayed in a cabin and I have to say I was really impressed at how clean the place was and everything we needed to get started was supplied by the agency , My 8 year old twins loved everything about the cabin. Thank you for such a affordable wonderful place go for a little get away ...
Left on 07/21/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Crystal
We had a great time. The cabin was much bigger than was expected. It is out of date, but was clean and roomy. One problem was there is no microwave.
Comfortable and affordable
Left on 07/20/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Ryan
The Carder Chalet exactly what we needed.Plenty of room and enough beds for everybody.The bedroom that faces the street can be somewhat noisy as there is a surprising amount of traffic at all hours.The kitchen is well equipped but lacks a microwave oven.The house is retro '70 decor which is fine,after all,it is a cabin in the mountains.
Mission Hills, Ca
Awesome place to stay!
Left on 07/09/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Gloria
This home offers lots of room for a large group.
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in July 2010 | Great Experience!
you have to drive to get to lake, but this house is a huge cabin and very comfortable, everything we needed was there; plates,towels,shampoo/conditionar, etc. very clean
Left on 03/25/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Snowplayer
I planed the trip in a short period of time. I did not have too much time to search for our stay. Luckly, I've found this cabin. We have 6 adults and 4 children. Heater is warm, hot water is sufficient, all equips we need are in kitchen. Basically, it is very comfortable cabin. Since it was our first time to stay in cabin, we felt great about it.
The thing I did not like is, the cabin is quite far from the check in desk. And, the customer service is not so nice...
Great Value, very confortable and loved the layout.
Left on 03/24/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | jromero
Would definitely stay here again. Location was great, close to Bear Mountain and Snow Summit. Did not like that there was only space to part two cars -- considering there was more enough space in the front for three cars. But, overall great experience.
Mission Vejo ,Ca
Awesome it snowed the whole time
Left on 03/14/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Robert AAA
The cabin was very close to town and on a hill so the kids could just go outside and play we are planeing on staying there next year
worth it all!
Left on 01/17/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Michele
I had never rented a cabin previous to renting this one and was a little nervous about it. I didn't know what to expect in terms of how difficult it was going to be to rent the cabin. Renting was so much easier than I expected! The directions were simple and the people at check in were very helpful. The cabin was so clean when we got there and I instantly felt like the money I spent on renting it was well worth it! It was a perfect size for the few of us staying there. There was plenty of upstairs and downtairs room. The only thing I didn't like was that they only allowed 2 vehicles to be parked in the driveway and there was no room on the street nearby for my other friends to park legally or any overnight parking for miles around. Besides that the stay was amazing and it was a simple check in and out. I recommend this to people just wanting a simple, cozy place to stay for a night or two.
Left on 12/26/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Jocy
The house was beautiful. Accessible to local stores and Skiing rinks. The view from the second floor Gorgeous!
Everyone enjoyed the living room next to the fireplace.
Definitely looking forward to second visit!!!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.