Big Bear cabin located in the Fox Farm area, three bedroom, two bathroom, wood burning fireplace, TV, DVD player, WiFi, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more. Deck with charcoal barbecue and fenced yard.
Master suite has a king bed and private bath.
Bedroom two has a queen bed.
Bedroom three has a twin bed.
Loft has a queen size sofa sleeper.
Maximum occupancy 7. Parking for 3 vehicles.
Getaway Chalet comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning... crew has the chalet clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
Left on 01/16/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Pocahotness
We were expecting this to be a 3 bedroom cabin as stated, but it really wasn't. On one hand it was good thing the other couple who was supposed to come canceled because they would've had no privacy while sleeping. On the downside, it became more expensive for the 2 couples that did go because they dropped out. The cabin itself was very quaint and cozy. There is no cable but fortunately there was a dvd player, however figuring out how to operate this dvd player was a nightmare. It would be great and wise to include instructions on how to operate and troubleshoot. Make sure you come with your own paper towels if you are staying for 2 nights (which I believe is the minimum) because they only supply you with 1 roll which I thought was very cheap to do, I mean 4 people in a cabin for 2 nights and 3 days are bound to go through more than 1 roll. The pillows were a bit janky and could've been better - bring your own if you are anal. Also, there is no cutting board which I thought was odd considering all the cooking that takes place when you rent a cabin. The location was great, easy to find and close to Snow Summit.
Van Nuys, California
Better than the average cabin in Big Bear
Left on 01/09/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Captain Cook
Decent, confortable cabin, good for two families. Everything was according to description. In fact, if you read the negative reviews, you can expect better.
Left on 07/19/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Laurie
Great cabin. Everything we needed. Would definitely stay there again.
Great skiing weekend!
Left on 03/13/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | The Swanman
The home worked out great...comfortable, fairly well furnished (although the microwave oven didn't work and what's it cost to buy a replacement these days, about $69??), very convenient location to the ski hills, etc. All in all, not too shabby! Read more
Thank you so much for informing us about the microwave, it has been replaced. We hope to see you soon!
Left on 12/21/2012 for a stay in December 2012 | A Fabian
This house was perfect for the few guest that attended with us. It had everything we needed very close to local stores. Wish our stay here was longer it felt as if we were at our own home. Defintly lookin to book here again soon.
Left on 10/04/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Kat
I should have done more research. This place may be nice for a winter getaway for the slopes but not for what we wanted. It was far drive from lake and far drive from good hiking trails. The carpet was disgusting and the house smelled musty. The rest of the house was clean but I didn't want my kid on that carpet. They need to replace with tiles or hardwood. We all had a stuffy nose from the first night until we left 3 days later. Read more
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. Upon receipt of your review housekeeping was sent to the home to do a better clean and to ensure the proper level of cleanliness. We have also informed the owner of the issues with the carpet, for further consideration. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay; we hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 09/07/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Whittier Families
Great place, nice area, kitchen well stocked, very clean, close to the Village, Lake & Big Bear Blvd. will definetly come back. It was perfect for us- two couples and 3 kids. Each couple got a bedroom, kids slept in the livingroom...3rd bedroom was supper small, then upstairs and downstairs sofabeds were very uncomfortable so not recommended for older people.
A good experience.
Left on 05/02/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Frank
We were looking for a cabin to rent in BB, a place we have always loved, and settled on the Getaway Chalet. Although it was larger than we needed, it is in the neighborhood we are familiar with; had all the amenities we needed and was very comfortable. I would suggest that the carports be cleaned since there was an odor of mice -- although we saw none -- our dog's fur smelled mousy after lying on the floor. We will definitely rent Getaway Chalet again,
Bret and Renee
Apple Valley, CA
Left on 03/20/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Bret and Renee
I just recently stayed in this cabin and found it to be very comfortable. We did experience a few minor hiccups while staying there. Such as the dishes were dirty, no shower head on the down stairs bathroom, front door-door knob was very hard to turn, and noticed a couple of leaks in the roof as the snow melted. I would have to give much praise to the management company for jumping very quickly when we called with an issue. The maids came and cleaned all the dishes in the cabin plus left more towels and ect, and the shower heaad was installed along with the replacement of the batteries so the heater would work again. The cabin could use new carpets, and to be aired out from time and time again. Also not sure who it was but the drive way was bull dozed for us which made things more perfect due to having a car. Had fun and we enhoyed our time there. Thank You.
Great Cabin, Good Locations, Water was cold
Left on 01/19/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | jt
Everything about this cabin was amazing. The only thing i could take away from this is that the hot water didn't stay warm for very long and with 6 people it got cold fast. The fire place was awesome there for all to see and use! parking was fantastic, nice big driveway
A tad dissappointed
I've stayed at better places for less money
Left on 10/05/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | A tad dissappointed
There were 2 dead mice in the downstairs bathtub and the shower in the upstairs bathroom was very dirty and the trash can had not been emptied. Also, it was obvious that the counter tops, etc., had not been wiped down for dust. If housekeeping had been sent out proir to our arrival they would have seen this and I would hope have taken care of it. Housekeeping was sent out. They wouldn't even pick up the mice, even though they had gloves on. My husband had to do that for them. Read more
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced upon check in at the property. We wanted to take this time to tell you that even though we did clean the property thoroughly upon receipt of your call; we did address the correct personnel and all issues have been resolved in hopes that this situation will not arise again. Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allows us to follow up and ensure future issues do not arise. Thank you once again; we hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
The B Family
We had a very relaxing time!
Left on 09/11/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | The B Family
We felt the place was very comfortable, had plenty of room and the neighborhood was quiet. You are close to everything without being too far away. It was very clean inside and the yard was pet friendly. There was a comment we read before about the third bedroom being small. It is small with no closet just a dresser but my 12 year old daughter thought it was perfect. There were a lot of nice tall trees around so it kept the area cool since we were there in the summer. There is a nice large fireplace for winter use. My favorite place to sit was the balcony off the loft! We would definately stay here again.
yucca valley, ca
dirty, poor upkeep
Left on 08/17/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | d.l.
we were repeat customers for this house from last year, as it met our needs for space, pets, and boat dock was a big plus! The carpet was pretty dirty last year, and this year it was actually filthy with dirt & stains everywhere. Thick dust on furniture, main bathroom was tidy but apparently not cleaned, dry used washcloth still on shower knob. Much deferred maintainance, oven didn't work properly. Laundry room floor had pile of dirt. Not enough sheets for extra beds, some of pillow cases on pillows had been used!Only allowed 1 towel per person, was told to bring in to office for exchange which I did only once in 9 days.Took 20 minutes while they were counted etc. I wanted to complain then, but too many other customers present. When I checked out I was angry & spilled all to office staff. Manager not present, but didn't contact me. I was told I should have called to have cleaners come out??Who wants to spend their vacation like that? For $1400.00 this was not a good value. I had to fill out the disclaimer prior to check in, which clearly states no refunds for a long list of reasons, including lack of cleanliness!! Hence, my frustration & reluctance to call office. What exactly can be expected for $1400? I would probably not use
Cool Cabins again, as I felt they had every opportunity to contact me to resolve. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. Your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. All issues have been identified and are in the process of being resolved. According to our records you did not call and report any issues during your stay. When we are not able to try and rectify any issues; everyone is at a disadvantage. Once again thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; we look forward to doing business with you in the future!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Relaxing getaway with family.
Left on 07/14/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Allie S.
We stayed with our teenage boy and toddler for three days. This is our first trip to Big Bear in the summer. It's definitely much more relaxing than the wintertime. We did not spend much time in the cabin as we were outdoors most of the time. The cabin was easy to find and ready when we arrived. I read reviews about the third bedroom being so small, but we have an independent young teenager that did not mind it all. It is not ideal for a toddler who is learning to walk and run. I did not consider the stairs (indoors and outdoors)or the step down fro m the kitchen to the living room, so we had to be extra careful. Overall, the place was clean and in a good quiet neighborhood. I would choose this place again when my toddler masters walking up and down the stairs.
Redondo Beach, CA
Adequate for the cost and ;location.
Left on 03/24/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Weekend Visitor
This cabin lives up to it's description except that Bedroom 3 is not really a bedroom. It is a room that is approx. 8' X 6' with a twin bed. Realistically, only a small child would want to sleep there. The kitchen could have been a bit cleaner for my taste, but the bathrooms were very clean and the queen beds were exceptionally comfortable. The front door is a bit difficult to open and close, and the lock seems a bit loose. Aside from these minor issues, the cabin is quite pleasant. The heater works well, there is plenty of hot water. We even discovered two sleds and a snow pan for the kids to use in the yard.
The service at check-in was very good and we received turn by turn directions to the cabin, as well as locations of stores, etc. that we might need to find. There is no check-out, which was really helpful in making a quick getaway.. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. Adressing these issues allows us to strive for customer satisfaction, and we thank you once again for taking the time to share these details. I would like to inform you that we have sent maintenance to the cabin to identify the front door and lock issue, as well as housekeeping to clean the kitchen a lot better. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and hope that this does not sway your decision in using Big Bear Cool Cabins in the future. If there is anything we can be of assistance of please feel free to give us a call anytime.
Big Bear Cool Cabins
New year disappointment
Not what i expected!
Left on 01/06/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | New year disappointment
Let me start off by saying that I truly believe the property is not at all what its made out to be in their description. We arrived in Big Bear at around 2:00 and were told that we could have the home at 3:00. When we arrived there the cleaning crew had not yet taken care of the place. They arrived after 3:00pm which meant that we had to wait almost 40 minutes before we could occupy the home. I must say the two ladies were very nice and apologetic, but non the less we were out 40 minutes! The house claims to be a 3 bedroom home...if you call a room the size of a closet a bedroom then i guess it is a 3 bedroom home! As far as cleanliness...the couches were dirty and stained, the carpet was just as bad. The best thing about the place was the fireplace!
The Marquardt Family
Wonderful cabin and great service!
Left on 12/29/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | The Marquardt Family
The staff at the office was fantastic. We arrived in pouring rain (very unusual I understand) to find our first cabin was not exactly where we thought it was supposed to be...The staff was fantastic in helping to find a wonderful cabin (Getaway Chalet) and made it very easy to make the transition. They also helped us with faxing some documents for a real estate closing from the office, that would have otherwise been a big problem for us. Thank you guys, espically Jackie who was a big help !! We will be back!
The Marquardt family
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.