Lakefront with dock and gorgeous views. The sweetest most romantic vintage cabin on the water. You are on the lake and upon arrival will be filled with the old fashioned feelings of the old days. No matter what your age, the child in you will blossom and being here will bring out the restful peace you have needed for a long, long time. Built in the early '40s with the hands of a craftsman, this vintage cabin holds everything from location to spirit to feed the soul. Fish off the dock, smell the pine, sleep with the dutch door open and you'll hear the lake ducks quacking in the morning. Sit on the swinging porch swing and realize that th...e happiest moments in our lives are in the flow of appreciation for all things good. And your evenings rest? You'll sleep like a baby - our beds are wonderful. Cozy and comfortable . . . And it doesn't get any better than this.
Be sure to check out more Flipkey reviews by punching in “Lakeside Vintage” at www.flipkey.com!
Each bedroom has a queen bed.
Welcome to Big Bear Lake. Welcome to our cabin. Charcoal BBQ, wood stove, TV, DVD player, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, and pots/pans. Fenced yard.Maximum occupancy 4. Parking for 2 vehicles.
Lakeside Vintage comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the cabin clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
No indoor smoking is permitted.
Additional amenities include: dock/boat-slip, queen: 2, dogs permitted, barbecue: char, cleaning/towels/linens provided, single story.Read more
Left on 02/05/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Simplysimple
This cabin was everything the reviews mentioned. Beds were comfortable, but bedrooms very small. The location was beautiful. But the cabin was very cold as there was only a wall heater on the living room wall and the fireplace doesn't work. Fireplace smoked bad into the cabin, so we couldn't use it. There was evidence of this being a problem as the fireplace had black smoke stains and curtains were also stained with smoke. And yes the flu was open. Lack of extra blankets was disappointing. The only thing that saved us was two electric throw blankets that we used even when out of bed. The first morning I cleared a dead mouse out from under the sink because of the stink. If you use the ramp going down to the lake, beware of the step down which is steep and unsafe. We believe this would be a great place for relaxation in the summer but we don't recommend for cold winter months. Check-in and out was easy & fast. Read more
Dear Simply simple,
Lakeside Vintage is a very well maintained 1940’s cabin and the bedrooms are on the smaller side. Cabins were made very simple in those real old days and Lakeside Vintage is one of Cool Cabins best vintage Cabins right on the lake. The wall heater can warm up that little cabin quite nicely and the fireplace does work with the packaged wood logs (like Duraflame) instead of regular wood. Cool Cabins can also provide these for you. The mistake many make is to try to burn their own wood which is often wet and causes smoking. The fire stain above the face of the fireplace (on the brick) is from many years of use and albeit many scrubbing tries, will not remove no matter how much elbow grease you put into it. We like to think it brings a lot of character to the place anyway. And the curtains are not smoke stained as mentioned: they are heavy cotton canvas and well made, which helps to insulate the inside environment when it is chilly outside. There were clean extra blankets in the closet by the stairs: we are sorry that you did not know that. The owners of Lakeside Vintage have also shared with us that the dock ramp has been pushed down more towards the lake because of the reclining winter water table of the lake hence the step down. By the time warmer weather comes the lake water will be up and everything will be placed even and straight again. This sweet little Vintage Cabin location on Big Bear lake is perfectly suited for the summer months and the tremendous past bookings on it show it to be so. You had the last holiday rental before the owners closed it up for winters hibernation. Come spring and the warmer months ahead we look very forward to welcoming you to another visit to Lakeside Vintage with Big Bear Cool Cabins!
Me and Mine, Every time.
Pictures Don't Do It Justice, What a great Place to stay!
Left on 09/09/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Me and Mine, Every time.
This cabin created my wife and I the feelings like we were young again.
It's environment made us think of our (long gone) parents and how much they would have enjoyed being here with us. It made us realize how fast time goes. It made us think about the old days. It gave us the opportunity (and time time time) to appreciate and love each other more. It gave us the time and space to talk about our life together unfolding and our goals as we sat on the porch swing, and we lost total track of time and didn't care. It was an amazing experience vacationing at this cabin and I/we really hope we can create the same feelings when we come back again. What a great place. What a special great place and right on the lake too! We loved this cabin. Our mid sized doggy (Brucie) enjoyed it immensely also! We will indeed return!
Long Beach, CA
Lakeside Vintage Dream
Left on 08/29/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | The Borrowdales
The cabin is everything you'd expect in a place that will transport you back to a simpler time. From the sublime porch and gazebo, to the beautiful grounds and "right on the lake" experience, to the tiny bedrooms with just enough room to sleep - it was perfect. We could enjoy a nap on under a tree, float blissfully on the lake, or take walks and admire the beautiful scenery. I recommend it for anyone wanting a true escape. If you're looking for exorbitant luxury, this isn't the place for you. However, if you want to escape the constant demands on your time and the glut of noise and technology, come here. You wont' regret it. We banned all TV, cell phones, and computers. The only negative I can put here is that small dogs need to be watched as the coyotes are known to patrol the shore at night and in the early morning - the neighbors lost their dog to an attack 4 weeks before we came. Read more
The owners of Lakeside Vintage Cabin researched the story about the neighbors loss of their dog by a coyote. The elder (and forgetful) retired man had let his small dog out at 5:00 am in the morning and forgot about him being outside. He then went back to bed. The dog got out of the yard and by not being watched, began wandering the woodsey neighborhood while still being very dark outside. Then this unfortunate incident happened. We do not feel that any guests would leave their small pet outside at night while staying at Lakeside Vintage.
Great place on the lake!
Left on 08/29/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | KWEST
This is such a cute little cabin on the lake! My family really enjoyed it! The views are beautiful and it's so relaxing! The only problem was that we didn't know there were so many stairs to get down to the property and we brought kayaks. I guess it was just an added workout- LOL Other then that it couldn't have been better.
The Stickel Family
Orange County California
Beautiful, comfortable and a Family delight!!!
Left on 05/23/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | The Stickel Family
We have stayed up in Big Bear many times but this cabin was by far to most romantic, vintage but comfortable. Everything thing you needed was provided. Being Pet Friendly was the best part of the whole thing cuz our dogs are our kids too. We will be going to The Lakeside Vintage very soon.
Easy to be there @@ , Very Hard to leave ;; .
West Hills, California
Ma'velous Getaway, Worth the Drive Up!
Left on 01/18/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Easy to be there @@ , Very Hard to leave ;; .
How happy we were that the owners agreed to allow us to stay in their cabin even after it was "hibernating" for the winter. We are repeat guests and Cool Cabins called the owners: if they might open it for a stay for us and we are so grateful that they did! Thank You! The driveway was thoughtfully plowed out from snow, the cabin was woodsy-pre-warmed and toasty, the fireplace was set up and all ready to light. What service! Right away our bundled up children were outside exploring and squealing to the delight of our playful golden. On our second day my wife and I sat on the dock chairs: fish jumping and ducks quacking all around us. We had our morning hot tea while the kids played in the yard and by the way, we really appreciated the secure chain around the gate to the boat dock ramp. Very safe and thoughtful dear owners, very reassuring with children around. We loved this cabin two summers ago and the lake water was warm enough then to swim in! We wanted to try the snow, good to be back! Fishing poles and bait were in the closet and we all tried to fish, I hadn't done that since I was a kid. Only got "nibbles" it was fun. It wasn't to too cold outside the days we stayed and so very comfortable at the end of the evening to crawl into pre-warmed beds, ahhh we all loved that! Besides being so beautiful in every way, & right on the lake, my wife and I experienced an internal, tranquil & restful joy being there. We had our young niece with us (7, and our kids are 6 and 9) and feared homesickness at night from her (you see the quiet pensiveness in her face first) of missing her mom, but not one word of that situation was murmured the whole time. They were asleep before their heads hit the pillows! The cabin was clean and pristine. The stars outside were clear and bright. It got crispy cold. The snow crunched as you walked. It was awesome.This is truly a Vintage Cabin right on the lake, well maintained. Very romantic too. We will be back again for sure! Highly recommend.
Rebecca is in Love.
West Hills California
Can we unplug the Time Machine? Please???
Left on 01/11/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Rebecca is in Love.
Third time to this cabin and each visit just gets bettern', better! It was a cold drive up, but once we saw snow on the ground (didn't need chains though!) our vacation began. It was like coming back to an old familiar friend this cabin and how sweet of cool cabins to create for us a pre-warmed arrival! The cabin was cozy warm, there was firewood in the clean fireplace with a fire starter underneath "just to light" for an instant cracklin' fire, and the cabin was even better than we remembered it. What a joy to come back! We so often just stayed by the window and gazed out at the lake. It was sooo beautiful. There were ducks by the dock and all we wanted to do was cozy up in the cabin. We only went into town once! They had board games in the closet and a really nice vintage checkerboard that we had fun playing. I hadn't played checkers since I was a kid. It was great! The cabin was clean and comfortable, cozy and warm. It really took us away in time, it was a real true vacation. There were lots of movie choices there, wonderful Cd'd available no matter what your mood, and we appreciated all the amenities that were available for our comfort. The mountain air and comfortable beds were awesome too.The location was Spot on, the view: Nature at her Best and the Cleanliness and Comfortability: A+. It was so easy to be there and so hard to leave. We have stayed at other cabins with Cool cabins in the past and they were great too but this one is right on the lake so we just (exceptionally) love this specific cabin!!!
happy and cozy!
Left on 01/10/2013 for a stay in December 2013 | Wolosin Family
my family stayed here for the christmas holiday and truly enjoyed it, you will too.
Left on 12/23/2012 for a stay in December 2012 | TV
The property was beautiful however there was a little too much clutter in the Cabin and we found it was infested with mice. We wont be returning to this rental. The associates in the office did not have very personable customer service skills and this too was upsetting for us. Read more
Upon thorough investigation (detailed and very thorough inside check, a complete perimeter probe on the outside including under the cabin) by a paid pest control professional, the claim stated above by “TV from Anaheim” has been rendered totally unsubstantiated for the Lakeside Vintage Cabin. After complete investigation into these comments, we at Cool Cabins along with the Owners of Lakeside Vintage feel a small conflict with these guests perpetuated this fabricated review. We at Cool Cabins try our very best to provide our utmost care and service to all of our many guests. This wonderful mountain cabin will welcome you free of any unwanted pests or guests as these specific owners have great pride of care and maintenance for their cabin. Lakeside Vintage is a pristine, well kept, and quite a popular cabin. It is perfect for your Family Vacation right on Beautiful Big Bear Lake and we at Cool Cabins look very forward to proving this to you!
This was my family's cabin built with lots of love by my father
Left on 11/01/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Sharon
We knew we were going to love this cabin! My first time here was at the age of 2 in 1939. My father, mother, sister & I spent most summers here fishing, swimming, boating in both a rowboat & speedboat, iceskating, sledding, hiking,& much more. Our favorite place was the front porch with its beautiful waterfront view and the many many stars you see at night. I feel so blessed that Cindy & Cortney are now the owners, as they have made it better than ever with wonderful upgrading. Eat your meals outside when you can and get the feel of lakefront living. Stay when it snows and see the beautiful scenery. Build a big fire, and enjoy the cozy kitchen dining area where I used to win at card games when small,looking at the reflection of other's cards. What wonderful memories of a place so beautiful and special in my life. I know you will love it too.
Left on 10/18/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | relaxed
We knew it was vintage and weren't disappointed. The fenced yard was great for our two labradoodles. They enjoyed chasing the coots in the lake. Cabin was just what we wanted. All the amenities that we needed as well as great location to the Village and shops. Views of lake were fantastic. Rented a pontoon and toured the Lake. Weather was a little chilly at night but perfect during the day. Owners have kept the cabin in mint condition.
Love this place.
Left on 09/29/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Christian
This place is the perfect getaway spot. Its small, quiet, location is amazing. It is fully stocked with all the amenities and comforts one would need. The landscape is very attractive and the neighbors were very sweet and nice. The front of the cabin has a medium sized porch with chairs a table and a porch swing. There is a gazebo and you have a great view of the lake,its newly painted and artificial turf has been installed which I think is brilliant. Just cleaner feel. The place is well kept and the owners take pride in this property. So if you want to catch up on much needed rest, BBQ it up, watch movies or head to the town, this is the perfect place. Can fish off the dock. When there we never want to leave. I just really love this place. Don't forget to feed the ducks! Have fun!
2nd visit -- loved it
Left on 09/28/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | El
My husband and I had stayed previously and loved seeing all the improvements. New paint in and out makes the cabin look so cute!
New couch is more comfy. Kitchen is well stocked so you can cook whatever you choose. Bbq just outside.
We ate most our meals in the gazebo, enjoying the beautiful views.
Fishing was a little slow, but it was enjoyable just being there with the great weather we had.
The new landscaping with the artificial makes the place look gorgeous. The grass makes a nice surface to play on, dogs loved running around all over the yard. The yard has been securely fenced all around, so it is great for dog owners. A special touch is the dispenser on the front porch for doggie bags, to help keep the beautiful lawn clean.
We love the location, and everything about our stay there.
Cannot wait to come back !!!
Orange County, CA
Cabin is as described but I was lied to at check-in.
Left on 08/17/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | scubaboy12
I'll start with the positives: Cabin is a nice, quaint, basic old-fashioned cottage by the lake as advertised. Kids loved the candy mints left in the bowls. Wonderful location in Boulder Bay. Kids fished off dock (didn't catch much) and kayaked down to the boulders. However...be aware, the cabin has no a/C. Even with windows open and ceiling fan in living room at full, rooms were very warm/stuffy until very early in the morning. Maybe it was just unusually hot when we were there. Other minor issues include: renters before us must have had dogs and cabin should have been vacuumed a little better. My socks and clothes constantly had white dog hair on them. As one reviewer mentioned, the yard is basically dirt but I think this is temporary as it seems they are in the middle of a landscape remodel. While they are at it, the cabin is in such a lovely setting, the mess of weeds and the garbage it collects right off the shore and dock really detract from the wonderful ambiance.
Finally, when we checked-in at Cool Cabins, the people were very nice and things went pretty smoothly except...while checking in, the girl told me that "they require us to get an imprint of your credit card". I asked "who does"? She said "American Express does." I have traveled around the world with my amex and have never been asked to get an imprint for something that I have already paid for in-full! But, I had a family in a loaded car and didn't want to argue. Long story short, I signed the blank imprint but called amex later. They said they knew absolutely nothing about it and the issue of them requiring an imprint was not true. They even offered to cancel my card just in case. Cool Cabins...if you need an imprint of my card as a potential security deposit for damages or whatever, just explain that to me. Don't tell me amex requires it. Thanks. Read more
The landscape contracting has just been completed at Lakeside Vintage and is now absolutely beautiful. Past Cool Cabins guest, thank you for your patience, you will be very pleased at your return, as Lakeside Vintage is a very popular cabin. There is a new rough finish on the walkway of the dock that secures your step, even when wet. A solid handrail has been installed as you walk down to the cabin. The water line in the front of the cabin is a constant endeavor to keep pristine but the owners have now dedicated their time to thoroughly clean and de-weed the shoreline for your visual pleasure. We have had an amount of heat (and summer storms) here in Big Bear but generally Lakeside Vintage has the perfect mountain temperature, being right on the lake. A/C was not installed in Vintage Cabins in the old days, but all windows do have solid screens when opened and you can’t beat our mountain fragrance. The owners are very cognizant of the needs of our guests requests and we are pleased to inform everyone of the impeccable maintained and new true Beauty of Lakeside Vintage Cabin. You too, will be impressed. Be prepared to be taken back in time… in a wonderful way.
Totally Loved Lakeside Vintage!
Left on 07/29/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | LeeAnn
We loved the cozy homey feel of this wonderful cabin. We will be back soon. Our Great Danes were safe within the completely fenced yard. Although our dogs are calm and not jumpers. The fence is a bit low if your dog is a leaper.
Having the private dock was perfect for early morning fishing, and we did catch a couple nice trout around 7am.
The walkway down from the parking driveway is a bit long if your not used to high altitudes.
Our only complaint is the ramp just the other side of the gate. It should have grip tape/sand tape, opening the gate and stepping on the ramp is very slippery if sand or water is on the plywood.
Gorgeous view and cute cabin!
Left on 07/05/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Miss Maggie
Cabin is absolutely adorable! Great location as well. Very clean and stocked with everything u could possibly need. Cabin had just been repainted. Met the neighbors next door and they were very nice. Really dog friendly. Fence didn't have any holes or anything.
Would definatley rent this cabin again!! The minute we got there we wanted to stay longer.
Two things for future renters to keep in mind though...the cabin is below where you park so it involves climbing up and down some steps. For us it was no problem, I actually liked the exercise :) But anyone who as problems going up and down steps may want to keep that in mind. Also, the owner took the lawn out to re-grow/replace it, so the area around the cabin is all dry dirt. If you have kids be prepared for them to get a little dirty. We only had the dogs, but were pretty careful to make sure they were dry from swimming before letting them run around the yard or go into the cabin. I think the lawn thing is only temporary situation and didn't take away from the awesomeness of the cabin at all. Read more
You are very correct on the new landscaping coming in! The owners have just refreshed the cabin beautifully and now they are concentrating on creating a pretty landscape outlay. The thoughtful owners are quietly working around the rental days to respect your total privacy and enjoyment of your stay. This is a wonderful lakeside vintage cabin!
Love this Cabin !
Left on 06/13/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Shellie
We have stayed here twice, absolutely love it ! the views are incredible, I love that it is an old original cabin. perfect location.
So much Character.. Will Return !
Visitor from Vegas
Cool Cabins always Excellent
Left on 05/16/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Visitor from Vegas
Amazing times with family and friends and another great stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins!!
1950's in 2012! The Perfect "go back" to move forward!
Porter Ranch, California
Perfect for 2012 beginning, Loved the Cabin!
Left on 01/14/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | 1950's in 2012! The Perfect "go back" to move forward!
What a truly lovely place on the lake. Our stay was exactly if not better than we hoped for from the pictures. The minute you walked in the lake was right there and we were in awe. The bedrooms are small but the beds are great and we thought it very considerate to leave warming blankets on top to warm the bed before climbing in to a great nights sleep in the evening. The cabin was not too cold at all upon arrival and the heater thermostat is right by the bedroom door but it took awhile to get us really really warm. So we lit the fireplace too and it was perfect. Our shower usage was great, Those knobs can be confusing but once we got the hang of it the water could be scalding. Was fine for us and I guess it helps to have a tech-y husband. So no problem there! Each room had a bear sleeping picture on the ceiling which was novel and not offensive at all. There was a real picture of a bear hanging above the fireplace and it was signed by the artist; it was quite nice to look at. Nothing was tacky as implied by a reviewer in any way in our opinion, and we are very picky people. If the walls could talk in that cabin we probably would have been very entertained as the vintage feel was incredible. We wrapped ourselves in blankets and went outside to swing in the porch swing and just stared at the lake and the fish jumping. We also thought we saw two beavers around the dock in the evening which was pretty darn cool. The very nice neighbor told us that the cabin was even more wonderful in the summer so we will be back to enjoy this beautiful quiet place again then. It was very clean, you could sense the pride of ownership here and we were very pleased with our choice to bring in the New Year, (our romantic ten year marriage anniversary) at lakeside vintage! 100% happy!
Don't come for Christmas.
Left on 01/12/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Jd
The location is perfect, the view of the lake is beautiful.
Apart from that it wasn't so great.
We arrived to a freezing cold house and a really dirty oven that had this big burnt mess at the bottom of it.
There wasn't any instructions to explain how to turn the heat on so we spent that night freezing cold. Also the tankless water doesn't get the water really hot, it gets warm only so I chose not to have a shower on the 2nd day.
There are bear objects/pictures/ornaments everywhere, I counted 50, and that included the one on the bedroom ceiling staring at you when you wake up.
It's not worth 400 bucks a night at Christmas time.
Spectacular location - cabin needs some work
Left on 09/29/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Jake
The cabin is really sweet and the 1940's thing wears out when you wrangle with the door handle to get out and the shower takes 3 phone calls to the office to figure out how to get hot water. Otherwise it is quite nice. If you are ok roughing it out then you will love it. They also need to do something about the landscaping.
Quiant little get away
Left on 09/08/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | AlexisChe
We stayed at the Lakeside Vintage cabin for Labor day weekend. We really enjoyed the cabin and the location. beautiful views of the lake! The flair in the cabin is a little over the top with bear souvenirs and decorations all over the place.
All in all the cabin was comfortable and enjoyable. Don't expect the latest technology inside but the 1950's refrigerator is a classic (collectable in great working condition).
Watch out for the attic that is off limits, it's a little creepy but adds to the ambiance.
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Todd
It was a nice cabin.
problems: the furniture is really old, couch has no spring left, beds are really soft, tv is old.
good: right on lake. you can rent a boat from marina Holloway or Pleasure point and boat back to house in 10min. has dock at house. Neighbors are awesome. We also used Mobile Massage and he was great.
Watch out for: we spent $1150 in aug 2011 for Fri and Sat only. So its expensive. Read more
Thank you for your review of Big Bear Cool Cabins and Lakeside Vintage. We thank you for bringing up the issues that needed to be addressed. We wanted to inform you that the owners of the property recently added a NEW couch to the home! We apologize if you feel the rate was too high; however during the prime season for lakefront homes this is the going rate. Once again thank you for taking the time to share this information; we look forward to welcoming you to Big Bear in the future!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
needed more info
Left on 08/17/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Ron B
The location is exceptional...Warning for Seniors !! 7,000 ft. elevation and steep walkway from parking to cottage. Paid for a first day food delivery and wood. Did not arrive. Chris, in office advised I would see a credit on my mastercard. It has not arrived. You do need aC in July (in 90's all week)..Told "it was not necessary up here !!" View and fishing were great. Better for middle aged
Newport Beach, CA
Such a pleasure to be there!
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in October 2010 | Erin
The little house is absolutely beautiful with a yard next to the lake and a porch swing. My 2 year old and 4 year old sons were in heaven. We fished off the dock (caught nothing!) and drove to an easy hike. The view was perfect.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Got exactly what I wanted
Left on 06/15/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | minus1
I was looking for a rustic looking cabin with old fashioned charm and tranquility. And I got it. The cabin and the location were very, very nice.
My only complaint was that the bedrooms and bathroom were very small. I guess I should have known that based on the "vintage" name. The kids didn't mind, though, and they had a great time.
Heaven on Earth. Vintage. Comfortable. Wonderful Experience..
Sherman Oaks, california
Heaven on Earth. Comfortable, Vintage, Wonderful.
Left on 06/12/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Heaven on Earth. Vintage. Comfortable. Wonderful Experience..
Whoa...What a place. We are a rapidly spinning family in the chaos of la and driving in that driveway looking over at the cabin right on the Big Bear Lake, started our vacation beautifully! We just felt we really scored when we walked in. It is a well maintained cabin, all of our windows opened just fine: the screens all were secure and tight, no holes in them at all and yellow jackets are not around yet anyway...it's too early in the season for them (sooo what's w/ that other review? none of what it said was true for us!) There were no problems at that cabin for my family and I in any way whatsoever! The mountain pine smell was bliss, we fished off the dock (son caught a smalley which we lovingly returned to the water) and bar-b-que food we cooked never tasted so good. We slept great, swam (ahhh, a little cold!), fed the ducks, walked the quiet area, took deep pine air breaths, swung on the porch swing staring at all the fish we didn't catch, jump like they are teasing us...and with our dedicated time together re-connected wonderfully with one another. The only disappointment is that we could not extend our time there. We enjoyed the cabin very much and it fit all of our needs, sad to leave. We plan to come back in the summertime! We really enjoyed that cabin.
Small and cozy with a few issues
Left on 06/06/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Hello MKC
My arrival was frustrating as I was not able to actually get to the cabin with the given directions as there was road construction blocking the road. When I called to inform the office of the problem, I was given another set of instructions that were wrong. Finally, on my third try, someone looked at a map and gave me a correct path for getting there.
The cabin itself was cute...small and quaint with all of the supplies needed. The only two real issues I had were due to the age of the property. One...there were not many windows that I could open to get a breeze which was needed when the afternoon sun hit the cabin's main window. It heated-up the place like a greenhouse so it was quite unpleasant to be inside. It was similar to a greenhouse, trapping the heat so that even into the evening, it remained warmer than necessary. Made it difficult to enjoy the nights. Two, none of the doors or windows had screens that were properly maintained. They were hanging from the frames or had wide gaps in them. So, when I did try to open a window or door, it meant an afternoon with a cabin full of yellow jackets flying about. I knew there would be bees and flying creatures in Big Bear, I just assumed that for the price I paid, the place I rented would at least have decently maintained screens to keep them out for the most part.
Weekend at Big Bear lake
Overpriced for what what you receive
Left on 05/19/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Weekend at Big Bear lake
The Location on the lake was great. The price for the Season was to high. The Dock was under Water. I guess the description of the properties should change with the season. I understand the water level of the lake was high but I didnt know when I booked it and the add said you can fish of the Dock what was not possible...The fence was broken too and it seemed the general maintenance could be better when you pay over $ 1000.- for 2 nights. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins and the property owners we apologize for the issues you ran into. According to our records you did call our office and report the issue in regards to the dock. Our records also indicate the that property owner had the dock (gangway) repaired one day later. We also sent maintenance to the property to identify the issue with the fence, and noted that the fence is not broken. The yard is not completely fenced in, and is not advertised as such. If there is anything we can be of assistance with please feel free to give us a call or email us anytime.Once again, thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; we look forward to extending our hospitality to you in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 01/05/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Sandy B
I think Lakeside Vintage is absolutely an adorable cabin. It is very quaint and cozy. My husband is 6'4" so the size of the cabin was a bit small and beds not too comfortable but, still super cute. I would have liked better quality towels but, they did provide us with everything you can possibly think of. It is a fenced in yard for the most part but, there is a section where the dogs can get into the other yard if they explore enough to find it...if you happen to take your pets. We enjoyed our stay and would go back in the summer!
my trip for new years
Left on 01/05/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Greg Banks
Broke down on way up.Missed the first day and night of the rental.Made it up the second day.Had no water for one day and no hot water for two,the pipes froze up.
So this made things a little stressful.
Enjoyed the next day and night and loved the view.
Left a day early because of the incoming storm.So we missed out on two full days of our trip.Which cost a few bucks.But all and all it was a good trip and a Happy New Year.
O'Donnell's Thanksgiving get away!
Left on 12/27/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | O'Donnell's Thanksgiving get away!
Charming cabin, great view! Minor snag we didn't have hot water for a day but the crew came out quickly and fixed it the following day. great location, near stores, skiing. We really enjoyed our stay there! I would recommend it to anyone.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.