Walking Distance to the Village. Cozy two bedroom, one bathroom cabin with a wood burning fireplace, foosball table, electronic dart board, TVs, DVD players, WiFi, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more. Deck with barbecue.
Bedroom one has a queen bed, TV, DVD player, and deck.
Bedroom two has a queen bed and double/twin bunk beds.
Mountain Spirits has a Peek-A-Boo view of the lake and the National Forest is just up the street with great hiking trails which will take you over to Snow Summit Ski Resort. Maximum occupancy 6. Parking for 2 vehic...les.
Mountain Spirits comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the cabin clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
Left on 01/17/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Saxmantf
We stayed three nights for skiing with a party of 5 adults. The cabin was a bit difficult to find in the dark but it worked out. The cabin has a nice worn-out charm that grew more comfortable after the first night. There are two bedrooms upstairs. One sleeps four while the second has one queen bed. Both rooms have ample space.
The kitchen does not have a dishwasher. The appliances are basic, the kitchen table seats four and the mix and match plates and flatware look like leftovers from other cabins. The living room is minimal and the TV is a small old style. The bathroom was ok with a tub and curtain for showers. Lighting is ok if not a bit low in most of the rooms. There is good light in the day. The location is very good and close to the Village district. Quiet neighborhood and good parking. The price was on the low end proving you get what you pay for. Check in took over an hour due to slow service during the 4pm rush. Read more
Thanks so much for the review and for staying with us. Sorry that check in took so long. We're working on a better system. We will be getting new silverware that all match nicely :)
Amazing Big Bear Trip!
Left on 12/12/2013 for a stay in December 2013 | Alfredo Gee
This past weekend I had my first Big Bear cabin experience, had never rented a cabin so didn't know what to expect. Cool Cabins was great, the cabin itself was awesome, clean, cozy, and close to the lake. The cabin had everything we needed and was perfect in every way.
What you see is what you get
Left on 11/14/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Ernesto
I had never stayed in a cabin before but I would recommend this cabin to anyone who wants to test the waters. It was a cozy place and whatever it says on the details it provides. If youre expecting an immaculate luxurious place then this isnt for you because some things are outdated like the TVs and couches but for my family it served its purpose. We grilled outside watched a few movies and enjoyed the fireplace. Its walking distance to the Village which has restaurants bars and stores to look through. The lake is like 5 min away in the car. I think for the price you pay you get a good cabin.
Diamond Bar, CA
Clean, comfortable cabin...not good for boat parking
Left on 10/03/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Kim
The cabin was nice, bed was comfortable, accommodations were clean and cozy. Location was good for the Village and lake. I specifically needed parking to accommodate a 24 foot boat and was told this property would do so. It does not have paved parking and there are many trees that prohibit backing in/out for boat.
Left on 09/12/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Shelli
The cabin was in a great location, we were able to walk to town and enjoy the area without having to take our car. The cabin was perfect! I loved the layout of the cabin, it made you feel at home.
Thanks for a great long weekend! We will definitely come back!
Left on 07/24/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | harry gross
my family had a wonderful 1st time experience in bigbear. it was sooo much nicer to have our own little cabin to stay in instead of a bleak motel room(s)..thanks cool cabins
Left on 06/19/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Michelle C
Me and my fiancé were looking for a relaxing getaway and this place was quite, cozy, and super cute! We pretty much stayed in the cabin the whole time because it felt so homey. It's walking distance to the village which was nice when we felt like going for a walk to see all the cool little shops. It's a very short driving distance from everything else too. We would definitely stay here again!
Long Beach, CA
You get what you pay for
Left on 03/21/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | ESIM
It's worth paying a bit more to get a nicer rental. It was a dated property, old TV, poor insulation & a central heater that just pumped hot air meanwhile the heat was simply gone due to the old windows. It is a very rustic location. Beds & Pillows are uncomfortable. I'm going a different route next time.
Left on 02/05/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Carmel C.
Had a great time. The cabin was lovely. Everything worked great and was clean, nice and well presented. Very close to village and to National forest so had some lovely hikes and strolls around the village in the snow. The kids had a blast and loved the Wi-fi and games. It's our first time close to village so will definitely come again and stay in this cabin.
Great Cozy Cabin
Left on 01/09/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Lauren
We had a wonderful stay at this Cabin. It had a great fireplace, and comfy rooms. The only problem we had was that we love to cook and the ventilation in the kitchen was subpar and we kept setting off the fire alarm. Otherwise it was perfect for a New Years Eve.
Left on 10/25/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | jilliandb
we had nothing bads to say about our rental, i had read some questionable reviews and found no problems! It was a 5 minute walk to town, clean, no bugs and a great place for our kids to walk around outside!!!
Disappointed,not by the lake
Left on 09/12/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | iamadj4u
We booked this cabin because it was supposed to be by the lake. Location,location,location. It wasn't and it was several blocks from the village. After finding the place (bad directions) we went in. Most of the lamps were broken none of the outside lights worked and it was infested with spiders, we were ate up. To make matters worse, we took our kids for our first family vacation in years and the foosball table is also broken and on the book shelf was several occult books demons and 666 etc. Never again! Next year we'll stay in a lodge. Read more
Hello thank you for your review. While we do appreciate your feedback some of the statements that were made are inaccurate. We consider anything 1 mile or less to be within walking distance. This cabin is less than 1 mile from the lake (just down Knickerbocker is a lovely family park) and it is literally less than half a block from “The Village” – it’s practically inside The Village. In the future give us a call with any questions or complaints most of these were easy fixes. The light bulbs have all been replaced. As far as spiders and bugs, while we do spray, and do our best to keep them away, it is the Mountains- spiders are a part of the territory. We have had no complaints of the foosball table being broken and we sent someone to have a look and while it is a bit smaller than your average foosball table we found there to be nothing wrong with it. As far as the “Occult books, demons, and 666 etc.” We did have them removed- they were NOT put there by the homeowner we think it was probably a guest trying to be funny. Once again thank you for your feedback hopefully our response will be useful for you in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Palm Springs, CA
Pleasent Stay. Minor inconviences. Only stay if deal is offered.
Left on 08/24/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Andrew
Positives- Cabin unique all wood style, 3 good size decks, one upstairs and two downstairs (one with chairs and table to sit), Peaceful area, charcoal grill, good size kitchen stocked with plates, pots/pans, utensils, soap trash bags, etc. Can sleep up to 7 even ur only aloud 5ppl. free wifi, one tv in livingroom, 5 minute walk to village.
Drawbacks- beds very uncomfortable to sleep on, only one full bath located downstairs, dumb fooseball table that is just in the way(we had to rearrange the furniture just to make the place user friendly) fireplace oven system within fire place making it difficult to maintain fire with small wood(possibly to prevent large fires in wood house), no free wood available with purchase(should at least come with 1bundle), outdated furniture cushions and bed linens, cob webs in corners of house(it is a cabin in woods), key for door doesn't lock front door(had to leave place unlocked I didn't want to bother on my vacation to call and get it fixed),
Reason I picked this location- first, the specail rate of buy 2nights get one free and its location to the village and lake. I sacrificed on comfort and Read more
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. The homeowners are working on several updates to this cabin. They are switching at least one of the beds out and getting mattress pads for the others. The foosball table is meant for children to enjoy however the homeowner will be moving it to a different location. Unfortunately as a Cabin Rental Agency that lists over 400 homes we cannot afford nor do we have the man power to give each different guest a free bundle of wood.. As far the furniture and linens the homeowners are working on replacing these items! However the pictures are more than fair as far as an accurate portrayal of the cabin. As far as the cobwebs we have deep cleaned and not had any complaints since your stay and the locks have been replaced. Once again thank you for your feedback.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Viva Las Vegas
Left on 07/11/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | FoustHouse
Mountain spirits is a little older but clean cabin. The lighting is a bit funky and the living area furniture is not the best for comfort. The property also has a foosball table that is smashed up betweem a wall and bed rendering it un-usable. Having said that, the location is great and the people at cool cabins are wonderful. Easy check in and easy check out. All in all we had a great time in big bear and we will be back. Read more
The team at Big Bear Cool Cabins would like to take the time to thank you for the great review! We have informed the owner of the home of the issues noted for further consideration. We look forward to welcoming you to Big Bear in the near future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
overall good experience for the price
Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Gigis
This was my second time booking through cool cabins. The check in and check out are very easy. The one thing that I didn't like this time was that the cabin wasn't clean when we arrived but as soon as we let them know they sent someone over and compensated 2 extra hours at chek out. Maybe it was because it was Memorial Day weekend so they were extra busy. The cabin was comfortable enough for my husband and I and our three teenage kids. I liked that it was walking distance to the village and very close to the lake. Overall we had a good experince.
Akward layout - Most of kitchen lights burnt out.
Left on 06/04/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Traci
I really did not like this cabin at all. The location is close to the restaurants & shops, if you want that, but as for the cabin - didn't like it. The furniture in the living room was barely usable. Beyond uncomfortable. I have no idea what kind of furniture that was, but it was horrible. Sort of like a futon, but waaay worse, with cushions that don't stay in place, pieces of the wood frame cutting into the back of your legs. It was like something you'd expect to see in a frat house. Then, my second issue was the inconvenience of the upstairs bedrooms and not having a bathroom upstairs. Didn't think it would be an issue, but it's really inconvenient. The kitchen is another problem. With 80% of the lights burnt out or not working, I could barely see to cook dinner! It wasn't all bad though, the bathroom was recently updated, and very clean and nice. Would I rent this cabin again? Absolutely not. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins and Mtn. Spirits. We want you to know that we have sent maintenance to the home to take a look at the issues with kitchen electrical and we have informed the owners of the home of the issues with the living room furniture for further consideration. Thank you once again; we hope you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
SAN FERNANDO VALLEY
Ghost in the cabins
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | JAMES
Lightning fixtures need to check (on and off at night ...Kitchen area...Very scary!I check the door at the kitchen around 3:00 am OHH my god things are moving.At the bedrooms,I killed 3 big spiders.This cabins need to be bless by a priest or check by the paranormal investigator.What a experience!!!I reported about the spiders at big bear office but not the ghost. Read more
Thank you for this theatrical review. We definitely all got a laugh here at the office. We did have the cabin sprayed for bugs. Unfortunately we were unable to locate a Priest or Paranormal Investigator. This Cabin is definitely not haunted but thank you for your funny review.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins
Comfy and nice
Left on 02/08/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Dog lover
Place was great. It was smaller than I had expected, but that turned out even nicer as it brought us all together as a family again. Super hot water instantly in the shower was awesome :) Nice location because it's close to everything. It was great being able to take my two poms...they had a blast and the place is perfect for a small dog.
Nice cabin, comfortable and easy walk to the village.
Left on 02/01/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Monica
We enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again. The beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed. It was close enough to the village to walk and we felt safe walking around at night. We enjoyed the fireplace. Having cable and wi-fi was convenient. Overall very clean. Checking in and out was easy.
cool getaway for skibum!
Left on 01/29/2012 for a stay in January 2012 | Magnus Widman
It was a sharming stay. Good location and me and friends were very happy with it!
I would rent mountain spirits in the future!
Left on 12/28/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Jason
This cabin has a great location. The kids loved the fooseball table and the adults liked having wifi service. There was a few light bulbs that were burned out (stairwell.) But otherwise it was a very enjoyable place to stay and we are making plans to return soon. Read more
Mtn. Spirits is definitely a favorite among our guests! We thank you for your business and hope you will come back again in the near future. We also wanted to make sure to let you know that we have sent maintenance to the home to replace the light bulbs in the stairwell!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Tam
Future Big Bear Visitor
Great Time. Very cute and conveniently located
Left on 12/10/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Future Big Bear Visitor
Had a great time in Mountain Spirits. It is a lovely little cabin with great amenities and really close to the Village which was great and the Village is really cute. I went with my wife and 3 kids and there was plenty of roon and the wirelenss internet, game tables, darts and 2 tvs and DVD made it alot easier with the kids. The kitchen was also great with new appliances and the bathroom was cute. Very clean with fresh towels and free mini toiletries (nice touch). Nice new floor so must be since person who previousy reviewed. Would recommend
Huntington Beach resident
Left on 12/02/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Huntington Beach resident
Two adults and two teens stayed in this cabin and had a very enjoyable time. It's close to the village and a short drive to Snow Summit. Beds were comfortable, great shower, comfy living room and kitchen in two stories. A little pricy but would probably stay again! Nice neighborhood too. Read more
-The owners of Mountain Spirits have requested that we inform all past and future guests that the flooring, toilet and vanity have been replaced. We look forward to doing business with you.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Redondo Beach, CA
Fall weekend in Big Bear
Left on 10/14/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Danbob
The place we stayed, Mountain Spirits, was quite pleasant. The cabin is tricky to find, but worth the stay. Comfortable rooms, nice kitchen and living area. Two large bedrooms with nice homey fixtures, etc.
My only complaint is the carpet badly needs to be changed out. If I had a baby crawling on it, I would have been bitter, but my 4 yo is up and running, so not much of a problem. The location is a short 5 to 10 minute drive from The Village, several grocery stores, the marina area, and the base of Snow Summit ski area. We took the chair lift to the top, and, although it was chilly, the view was great. I would definitely recommend this cabin, with the reservation that they should change out the carpet. Everything else is well worth the money.
Great stay for the price.
Left on 09/22/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Cindy
I enjoyed staying in this cabin. It is a cozy cabin and perfect for a small family. It is within walking distance of the town. The only downside is that the couches were uncomfortable and there was not alot of land to explore, but only a few miles away are the ski lifts were you can go hiking to your hearts content. I would stay here again!
It was good!
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | jEFF sTEWART
The stay was fine. The new kitchen appliances were great. The front door was fallin off the hidges and the carpet needs relaced. Other than that the cabin was fine we like the location and will use it again
Left on 07/14/2011 for a stay in September 2010 | Stellar Stay
We had a great bachelor weekend stay at the cabin. Hotdogs and Handrails was a cool event at the mountian. The town mainstreet was very unique and the local pubs were friendly/fun. It was very cool to walk from the cabin everywhere we needed to go.
Perfect for what we needed!!!
Left on 03/10/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | NIKOLEWHEELER@YAHOO.COM
Stayed with my husband one of my best girlfriends and her two teenage sons. Cabin had plenty of room for all 5 of us. Cabin was clean and comfortable. Really close to the village. Only complaint was that the stair are super steep.
Horrible experience, bad customer service. . .
Horrible, worse trip of my life.
Left on 03/03/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Horrible experience, bad customer service. . .
The cabin was nice, but it was not what i was expecting. Due to heavy snow, i was not able to get to my cabin until 7 am and once i did, i didnt know where to park. There was 3 foot of snow. I called a 800 number to make my complain and was informed that i had to plow the snow myself. Even though i was exhausted i was still willing to plow it. But i had no idea where the driveway was. I asked a female employee and she kept telling me "Sir, its in your contract, its on you to find the driveway and plow the snow" I told her that i was really tired and would be unable to, she said "Sir, i woke up at 6 am this morning and plowed my own snow in my driveway, you can do yours too". She finally said she was going to send someone (not to plow, but to show me where the driveway was so i can plow). Ofcourse no one showed up and i plowed the entire side of the house with the kids and wife. it was horrible. withing the first night of my stay, the toilet clogged. There was no plunger, I called the office but the line was busy. I didnt want to risk being stuck in the snow so i walked all the way to Vons to purchase a plunger. To top off all this, i was charged $10 for checking in late. I literally payed for 2 nights but only stayed one. I would appreciate someone calling me regarding my complaints. I highly doubt someone will due to your companies poor service. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to standards. All of the issues you ran into during your stay have been addressed and are in the process of being remedied. I apologize that you were not given helpful service by our staff. Our main goal at Cool Cabins is customer service, and I will do what I can to make sure we can rectify the issues you experienced. Please give me a call or email me anytime, so we can discuss the details further. Once again thank you for taking the time and addressing the issues you experienced during your stay.
Big Bear Cool Cabins
8227 Gulana Av Playa del Rey, CA 90293
Dirty and no towels
Left on 01/05/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | gilda
The home was good. The main complaint was that they gave us the at 3 pm and when we went they were still not done cleaning. They left all the trash outside the door, and it wasn't picked up until the next day (and only because we called them to complain). The carpets and wash cloths were dirty and we were not given any, even though we returned the dirty ones (again, picked up the next day).
Diamond Bar, CA
A very white New Year 2011!
Left on 01/05/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Cristina
This cabin is super quaint, I mean, we're talking true country living. From the moment you arrive you feel right at home. The bedrooms are spacious, the living area was also very big. For someone who loves to cook I loved that I only had to bring food and this cabin had everything I needed to prepare fabulous winter meals.
Mexicali, Baja California, México
Left on 10/07/2010 for a stay in August 2009 | JOG
It was very disappointing, some of the drawers in the kitchen cabinets where loose; in the bathroom, the shower curtain was falling apart and not wide enough so it couldn't be fully closed.
It wasn't as clean as expected, it was full of cobwebs on wall corners and widows, fireplace, and even under the living room sofa.
It advertised a barbecue, but it was as old as the house.
The only thing positive of the property is location, it's a walking distance to downtown.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.