Snug as a Bug - two bedroom, two bathroom, deck with a charcoal barbecue, fireplace, TVs with HBO movie package, DVD player, WiFi, washer/dryer, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more.
Master bedroom has a queen bed and TV.
Bedroom two has a trundle bed (two twins).
Great location - easy walk to the lake, Swim Beach, tennis courts, park, shops, restaurants, and Village and less than a mile to the ski slopes, sledding, and forest. Maximum occupancy 4. Parking for 2 vehicles.
Snug as a Bug comes with fresh towels, and beds are mad...e up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the home clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
Left on 01/10/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Sam
my family (mom, dad, a teenaged girl with 2 dogs) stayed here two nights. very cute, clean little cottage but it has everything you need - fairly large size kitchen and bathrooms and decent size of living room with fireplace. bedrooms upstairs feel a little small but they were rather cozy.
Left on 03/13/2013 for a stay in February 2013 | holly
Dishes in the cabinet were crusty...The carpeting felt creepy dirty. It's very small which I didn't mind. It just that it felt dirty. The people at Cool Cabins weren't very friendly when we went to check in. Location is great. I don't think I'll rent from Cool Cabins again. Read more
Hello Holly we apologize if you had any issues with our Cool Cabin Snug As A Bug. We just wanted to take a moment and let you know that we do have 24 hour housekeeping available to our guests, should they ever have any issues with the cleanliness of the cabin. We apologize if you did not have a good experience at check in, Our staff is known for how friendly we are so hearing that is very disappointing. We hope you will consider giving us another chance, please refer to this reservation as we have added a discount and notes that you had difficulty so you will be taken care of better next time.
Left on 01/17/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Zeek
We very much enjoyed our stay at Snug as a Bug. It's a good cabin for a family with one or two kids. Nice spacious yard. Near the lake. Near the boulevard, but you don't hear the traffic. We were there for about 3 weeks and didn't feel cramped or uncomfortable.
Lake Forest, CA
Left on 12/13/2012 for a stay in December 2012 | Jordan
Snug as a Bug truly lives up to its name, although small its perfect and cozy definitely like you were snug as a bug. Would fit 3 comfortably any more then that would be a little crunched i would think. However my fiance and I were up there with our dog and we the best time relaxing hanging out by the fire. It really felt like our home away from home so much that we didn't want to leave. Definitely will be making more reservations for this cozy getaway again soon.
Definitely renting again :)
Left on 10/17/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | k10sd
We rented the "Snug as a Bug" Cabin over the weekend and had a great time. It was really cozy, clean and neat. It was a short walk to the lake and very centrally lcoated to everything. The fireplace was a nice added touch and the hot tub upstairs was nice to relax in. My boyfriend and I were both impressed with the place and felt that it was real comfortable. The cabin is in a neighborhood but we didn't feel on top of any of the neighbors at all. Overall it was a great stay. No issues or concerns...except when we were cleaning up the diswasher clogged and was leaking a little. I notifed the office and hopefully it was taken care of. Definitlely will stay their again!
Huntington Beach, CA
Not too Shabby
Left on 09/26/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Michelle Barker
The cabin is cute. The queen bed is very comfortable. The decor is ok. I was expecting a little more for the price I paid. $275 a night after taxes and fees was a bit high for such a small place, however, it was cozy. You need to bring your own firewood, coffee, charcoal and toiletries. Everything was working just fine. They have Wifi, HBO and cable (only downstairs) which is a plus. Check in isn't until 3pm and checkout is 11 and so for that kind of money it doesn't give you much time, plan ahead. The staff at the office were very nice. Read more
Thank you for this great review of Snug as a Bug. It is one of our favorites here at the office and I think that the pictures on our website are fair as far as the condition and amenities in the cabin. I did want to take a moment and clarify a few things, normally we can off an earlier check in at 1 P.M. however there were guests checking out on the day you checked in so we needed to give our housekeepers time to clean and I did speak to a co-worker in our office who mentioned that you were offered the later checkout at 12:30 which is complementary, as long as it is available. Once again thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review! We can’t wait until you come back to Big Bear, please give us a call when you are ready to find another cabin.
Palm desert ca
Left on 09/05/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Krystynn
Very nice and surprised at how comfortable and relaxing the cabin was ,can't wait for next time
Great little Cabin
Left on 08/16/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | OC Family
When enjoyed our stay very much. The cabin is centrally located to everything and a quick walk to the swim beach. We had an issue with the cable when we first got there but somone was sent over right away to fix it. They need some tools for the grill but other than that the kitchen was well stocked.
Not worth what we paid
Left on 08/06/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Sammywidd
We paid $560 for 2 nights through Cool Cabins and i expected much better for that. This property is much closer to a main road and other properties than appears from the photos. The second bedroom is only suitable for young children (luckily there were only 2 of us). The downstairs TV didnt work. The hot tub had a nasty ring of scum around it and in adddition, it kept going off all night, each time waking us up - when we asked we were told we weren't allowed to turn it off overnight as it would cost too much to heat up again... You need to sleep with the windows open in warmer weather, however the proximity to the main road means it's then very noisy (and of course the hot tub is on the balcony outside the bedroom so that noise is even louder...). We did call to complain about these things but I may as well have been speaking to a brick wall for all the helpful response i received. The carpets have seen better days, and the outside needs repainting. The one good thing is the location; its an easy walk to the Swim Beach at the lake and also a 10-15min walk to the village and less than 10 min drive to Snow Summit. However, unless you got it much cheaper than we did (and were a couple or family with two small children) i couldnt recommend this place to anyone. Read more
Upon receipt of your review we did look up your records to ensure that all issues have been noted and rectified. We are very sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. As of today the issues with television and hot tub have been resolved. We have informed the owner of the property of the issue noted in regards to the carpets for further consideration. Per our records you did report these issues via email after your stay. We did issue a refund due to the problems you encountered as well as a future discount. Once again we are very sorry, but we did want you to know that all issues have been rectified.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Los Angeles, CA
Left on 07/26/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Ruth
Everything that they promised to offer, cable tv, hot tub, Internet, was not working. I called the office a million times but they couldn't do anything because the servicemen went home, and I called around 7pm at first. We couldn't sleep almost all night because the hot tub kept going on and off by itself, which was extremely loud. Once again, the office women could not help at all but to offer to send a serviceman early in the morning, which I didn't see the point of because we were leaving that morning. (by the way they didn't even send one). I totally regretted our stay there, and even when I complained about everything in the morning, they didn't offer any kind of refund or anything. Read more
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Upon receipt of your review we did send maintenance to the property to ensure that all issues have been resolved. As of today all amenities are working fine. We did offer compensation for movie rentals for the loss of cable, and if there is anything else we can help you with further please feel free to contact me directly and I will do my best to assure great customer service.
Snug as Bug - Ok, but there are places
Left on 07/19/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Steve Burr
As vacation rental, this is place is OK. It is convenient to town and it is nice decorated. It met my requirements that it allowed pets, it was near town, and it had a hot tub (but not private). Up the street, there is a nice breakfast café as well.
The bad thing is that the internet and cable were down which I need to maintain contact to work. The management company, Cool Cabins, gave me a hotspot device that did not work. They said it worked for the last customer but I found device had a damage USB plug. They pass the issue to the owner who was there and this issue did not get resolved.
The place was OK but for the service was not worth $250 a night. There are plenty of other rentals in town especially if you do not have pets. Read more
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. According to our records you did experience issues with cable and internet, but unfortunately we were experiencing area outages. As of today all issues have been resolved and we wanted you to know that we pride ourselves on customer satisfaction. With that said I have noted your reservation for a future discount non holiday two nights or more. Please feel free to give us a call at any time and we will ensure an enjoyable stay.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 06/29/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | jay
Big Bear Lake was the perfect getaway! We enjoyed the location of the cabin, it was close to everything we wanted to do.
Quaint, Cozy, Nice...needs a few things.
Left on 06/17/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | ChaelAZ
If you are not expecting the Ritz quality and service, and want a wonderful place in town close to all the amenities, I would give this unit and Cozy Cabin Rentals a look. Certainly in the running for a vacation spot in Big Bear.
This is a very nice two bedroom, two bath, two story cabin that fit nicely for my wife, myself, and our two boys (8 and 11). It is close to the boulevard, but surprisingly quiet (we slept with all the windows open and heard no traffic noise at night. Beds are comfy, as well as the couches and furniture. Location is excellent - right up the road from the lake and a nice beach area for swimming, and a short 3 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the Village shops and eating.
Few things need(ed) to be addressed though. First, wifi was not working and I called Cool Cabin for assistance. I was told I had to call Charter Communications for help. I did, spending about an hour trying to troubleshoot the issue. They ended up needing to send a tech, who came the next day, taking another hour an a half of our time. Also, the microwave was not working, the dishwasher leaked, the coffee filters were the wrong style (flat and we need the cone type), and the front porch should have had a good cleaning before we arrived. Though it wasn't a huge inconvenience and certainly didn't ruin our stay, we would have liked Cool Cabins to handle these details. We did call and the staff was always friendly enough.
Side note on places to eat: The Grizzly Mannor Cafe just at the corner is excellent and you get huge portions. I would also highly recommend the Peppercorn in the Village. We read mixed reviews on service and food, but our experience was exemplary for both El Jacalito Grill just down the road for Mexican is also excellent! The BBQ place on the beach was ridiculously bad.
Cheers and hope this is helpful for those families looking for a vacation in Big Bear.
Over and Beyond
Left on 06/07/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | James Emley
Because my girlfriend and I arrived into Big Bear so late, there was a bit of a snafu that occurred, because the attendant who was supposed to deliver our key at the original lodge wasn't at the post. Nevertheless, the representatives upgraded us to a quaint house, entitled "Snug as a Bug." Even without adding an additional charge, we were given access to this mini-mansion of paradise in the mountains. It was comfortable, there were inspirational signs all over the place to make it feel warm, and the hot tub was spectacular. Although the cabin was relatively close to the main strip, it was still far away from the street to give you a sense of true, mountain isolation. I would highly recommend this company and its cabins to anyone who would like a comfortable get-away experience in the mountains.
Really was "snug as a bug"!!
Left on 05/09/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | Bren1803
Such a cozy cabin. We enjoyed our experience so much that we had to extend our stay there an extra night. Big bear was awesome. Cabin had great location. Short walk to lake. 5 min walk to restaurants and shops. Nothing I did not like about the cabin. Great overall experience!
Left on 02/22/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Linda
My husband and I came up to Big Bear for valentines day and we were very pleased with our stay here. We originally had booked another cabin, but after a drive by it we decided to switch and we picked snug as a bug and couldn't have been happier. Very cozy and cute cabin within walking distance to a park and the lake, which was perfect for our dog!
The cutest cabin in Big Bear
Left on 11/30/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Bruce McFadden
A great cabin for a family of four. I took my 3 kids up to Big Bear to celebrate Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly surprised to see such a beautiful place. The family room was comfortable and the kitchen was more than enough for Thanksgiving turkey preparation. There is a washer/dryer in the down stairs bathroom. Upstairs are two bedrooms. The queen bed is super comfortable. Bedroom #2 has 2 double beds. There is a two-person hot tub on the 2nd floor deck, small but cozy. The heat worked great as the upstairs bedrooms were surprisingly comfortable at night, despite no heating ducts to the bedrooms themselves. The cabin was clean when we arrived and that's how we left it. Thank you Big Bear Cool Cabins for a memorable Thanksgiving at Big Bear.
Great time had in Big Bear
Left on 10/07/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Fisherman Darrell
We had a great time. The cabin was fantastic. We loved it's looks and it's homey feel. We would do it again!
San Diego, CA
1st time to Big Bear sour of the moment get-away
Left on 09/07/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Dani
We decided that before before school started, we'd go do somewhere to do a little bit of relaxing and a little fishing. Since we are from San Diego and my brother is a commercial fisherman, we fish alot on the ocean - so we thought we'd head inland - Big Bear Lake & a log Cabin sounded great! Shaina at Cool Cabins was great helping pick out the perfect cabin by the lake with a jacuzzi & 2 bedroom/2 bathrooms! Snug-as-a-Bug & we were! We walked to Swim beach & had a great time sliding/jumping/swimming and just relaxing on the Lake, played laser tag in town. Hiking at the Discovery Center. The Zoo at Moonridge was Excellant -we "met" each animal online b4 we went so it was extra special when we saw them in person! The staff was perfect!
Anyone who visits Big Bear has to eat at least once at Thelma's in Big Bear City, Gold Pan Cafe in Fawnskin, and of course, Grizzly Manor - which is about 25 steps from the cabin -- excellant food and wonderful people at all three!
Can't wait to go back!!! 5 night & 6 days just wasn't enough time - Maybe next time we'll actually have a chance to go fishing!
B & B
Cute Log Cabin
Left on 08/25/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | B & B
Located close to swim beach and park. Walking distance to nice breakfast cafe but Big Bear Blvd. very noisy. Had plumbing problems and Mgr. Jackie offer two nights at 15% discount. Still waiting for confirmation of that.
Marina del rey, ca
Left on 07/07/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | mitchell
This was meant to be a relaxing summer vacation. But it appears that most of these cabins are not cleaned very thoroughly have rough crusty towels, and are generally not very relaxing.
We had to switch cabins because the 1st one 3's a company was extremely neglected and un-appealing. Should be $100 a night.
Snug as a bug still was over priced for off snow season. I will try luxuryrentals next time. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. According to our records you did not call and report any issues at Snug as a Bug. If you had a concern at anytime during your stay we wished you had informed us so that we could immediately attend to any issue you may have had. As we tell you at check-in, "please call if you have any questions, or issues any time." You are our valued guest, and it is our desire to make sure our guests know we care about their needs. When we are not given an opportunity to rectify an issue or concern, it puts everyone at a disadvantage. Thank you once again, we look forward to doing business with you in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 03/27/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Dano
Few light bulbs out we had to replace ourselves because we just didn't want to wait. Place seemed like no one had been in it for months. Expected a little more for price, but...was happy that the cabin was just what we expected from photos online. We were happy with rhe overall stay and would actually go back and stay in the same cabin.
Emma s hernandez
san fernando valley
Left on 03/06/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Emma s hernandez
perfect , exelent , charmi, cleam, in big bear lake donwtow
I recomende for a family too.
Erin & Joey
Cozy, convenient and fun!
Left on 01/14/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Erin & Joey
The cabin was clean and orderly when we arrived. It is perfect for a couple and/or couple with children. The second bedroom would only work for kids. The queen bed in the main bedroom sinks in the middle a bit, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The cabin was close to the lake and just a short stroll to Grizzly Manor, which we definitely recommend for breakfast. The only bummer is that there wasn't much furniture for sitting on (just a small loveseat and a chair w/ ottomen) so if there are multiple people staying, it gets tight. Also, the tv's are small and old. We couldn't get a signal in the tv in the bedroom, so it was of no use to us. The jacuzzi was small, but worked well and was a great thing to have! The floors in the home were kind of gross, old carpet and the vinyl in the front entry was coming apart, but hey, you get what you pay for. Overall, the cabin is a cute rental...think Holiday Inn rather than Hilton.
San Diego, CA
Left on 01/03/2011 for a stay in December 2009 | Valerie
The photo does not reflect the true location of the cottage. It is in an industrial area with houses, a trailer park, and businesses surrounding it. I had to clean the fireplace and take the trash to the city dump or I was going to be charged extra. It was dumpy, dirty and the location was horrible due to all the business around it. My view was the street and the auto body shop across the street. There were wires hanging from the ceiling, the lamps did not work and I paid a fortune for this place. I will never rent it again.
Left on 12/29/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Debbie
I will not stay in a cabin again. I do not like that the reservation cannot be canceled. We were going to Big Bear for the winter activities and it rained all but one day. That was not Cool Cabins fault but we knew it was going to rain and also knew we couldn't cancel or change the reservation so we feel our money was wasted as you can't ski or snowtube in the pouring rain. The cabin was well furnished, however some of the furniture was filthy! I wouldn't sit on it unless my clean throw blankets were covering them. The mattress in the master bed was sinking in the middle so my husband and I plunged into each other all night. Not a good night sleep.
It was definitely unforgetful
Left on 12/23/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Shannon W.
It was our first time visiting Big Bear and we really enjoyed it. The cabin was nice and cozy. We definitely felt right at home. Not having to check in and out of an office was the best! The local restaurants were great! Especially Grizzlys. I would definitely visit again!
Mission Viejo ca
Adorable cabin but dusty and musty
Left on 10/15/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Judy
It was a great cabin and location but needs a through deep cleaning to get rid of the dusty musty smells
Left on 10/15/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Lan
while the location and weather was great, the town nice, unfortunately, there were ants in the cabin, and when I contacted the office to let them know, the reply was that it's the forest and they cannot control them? I live in a desert and I have far worse things and I can control them?. Outside looks better than inside, some minor repairs to floors would look nice, and cooking utensils were starting to fall apart, and the refrig could be a little newer/or better condition as it re: getting cold. With the money you pay, I would think repairs could be done, and appliances updated. Overall it was okay
Great log cabin in Big Bear!
Left on 10/14/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | Brandon
We stayed at the "Snug as a bug" cabin provided by Cool Cabins. Overall our trip was great! We have had Great service from CoolCabins before and we used them again to book this trip. The cabin we rented for the week was just what we wanted to stay in, a real "log cabin". It was clean,warm, kinda old feeling, but nice. It had a 2 person Jacuzzi tub outside on the top balcony that was great in the snowy weather! The cabin is also located within walking distance from our favorite breakfast place "Grizzly manor cafe". So far, this was my third cabin rented from BigBear Cool Cabins and would recommend to anybody that wants to stay in BigBear to check out Cool Cabins first. They have alot of choices and great service!
Las Vegas, NV
Cozy, Great Location, But Needs Work
Left on 10/14/2010 for a stay in July 2009 | Ski Family
The cabin was very cozy and is in a wonderful location to everything. Our only concern was the cleanliness of the cabin and that it needed a good thorough dusting. After our stay we mentioned this to management they said they would take care of it and offered us a discount on our next visit with them. Unfortunately we have not been able to return to Big Bear since but we will definately use Big Bear Cool Cabins again!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.