Bear Claw Bungalow #379
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This is a lovely and delightful log style cabin with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths pus a relaxing outdoor spa. The home is centrally placed in Big Bear Lake and close to all the action for your vacation stay. The kitchen is equipped with a dishwasher, microwave, counter bar seating for 3 and a dining table for 4 people. The living room is decorated in Big Bear cabin charm with wood burning fireplace, TV/DVD/internet (bring Ethernet cord) and full sofa sleeper. The master bedroom has a king size bed and private full bath. The second bedroom has a queen size bed. There is an inviting outdoor 2 person spa and a charcoal BBQ on the deck for your use....Read more
Bear Claw Bungalow #379
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$230 - $405||$230 - $405||$0||$1,290||1 night|
|Mar. 31 2013 - May. 23 2013||$230||$230||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$248||$248||-||-||-|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$265||$265||-||$1,290||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$248||$248||-||$1,290||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$318||$318||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$405||$405||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$353||$353||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$265||$265||-||$1,290||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$248||$248||-||$1,290||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$318||$318||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$405||$405||-||-||-|
|View all 39 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 24, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great place to stay at
Everything was clean. The place was very spacious. It is down the street from everything. It has everything a vacation home should have (cable, internet, jacuzzi, houseware, etc.)
The office staff was very professional and check in was quick. The cabin was clean and cozy. The kitchen was equipped enough for us to make meals. The neighborhood was quiet and close to restaurants and shopping. The only downfall was that some of the blinds do not work very well.
Los Angeles, CA
We set out for a relaxing weekend and achieved that. We enjoyed staying in the cabin and found that it met most of our needs. It was a good location and was closer to other cabins than we thought. Our dog enjoyed his stay there too. We found the cabin was in need of some maintenance and repair, but we were able to look past that and enjoy our weekend of rest and relaxation. Some of the things that need some attention is the outside. The handrails on the stairs need to be sanded and stained. It was difficult going up and down the stairs with nothing to hold onto for fear of splinters. The whole outside needs sanding and staining. The carpet throughout most of the cabin was in good order but there are areas that are threadbare. The king bed needs some stabilization. You barely had to move and the the frame was banging against the wall. The same with the Queen bed in the other room. The microwave needs service. The turntable in it does not turn and it burnt a hole in our bag of popcorn when it had only been in there 45 seconds! We didn't use it again after that. The fan over the dining table needs to have the light sockets tightened. The bulbs rattle when the fan is on. Couches are very saggy and it made it hard to get out of them. We didn't request any wood as we didn't need any but some was delivered anyway. Hopefully we didn't get charged for it. When my husband checked us out he requested an invoice and was told the rental company does not issue them. If someone requests a copy of an invoice you are required by law to provide them with one. We are still trying to get a copy of our invoice!
The worst customer service i have ever had.
I have left a review with the front desk , i have also sent a review in a e-mail to the manager of the facility at big bear resort, I have not yet heard from big bear resort after leaving early on june 16th for safety reasons like bed room windows not opening and smoke detector hanging from the ceiling, I put my family safety first, and left this resort.
Mission Viejo, CA
Perfect cabin for a nice quiet get away.
Overall we had a wonderful time staying at Bear Claw Bungalow # 379. The cabin has plenty of room and all the utilities were in good working order. My only complaint was the hot tub was not operational. A main reason we paid the extra money was to have this extra amenity on the deck and was very disappointed when it wasn't working. More importantly I feel that this information should have been brought to our attention and a small discount would have been fair. Other than that, it was a nice relaxing weekend on the mountain. I have been to big bear many times and this is by far my favorite cabin.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 06/05/2011
Great to hear that your stay was up to par
During your stay the spa was set to econ. mode which did not allow it to fully heat up.
Please remember to inform our office of any difficulties and we will take care of this for no charge
Hope to see you again soon!!!
The cabin was reasonably clean and nice inside except:
The beds are old and broken down (The egg carton bed cover does not help)
The carpet is severely worn out resulting in both me and my dog stepping on carpet tacks. God help the owners if this happens to a kid!
Microwave keeps triggering the GFI which shuts down the circuit the refrigerator is on. Putting the refrigerator on a GFI what a brilliant idea!
Extremely limited cooking utensils. Non-stick pans and only one metal spatula, brilliant!
Bottom line this cabin is not worth the price, I would advise others to find a better deal even if it does cost more. If one was to rent this cabin you must bring everything with you including ice chest/ refrigerator, cooking utensils, coffee filters and even salt and pepper. I would also recommend bringing cleaning supplies for the patio furniture if you plan to use it.
Big Bear Bravo!
I love the whole city of Big Bear! The lovely town, streets, cabins and people!
The shower/faucet switch is a little bit tricky. It'd be perfect if they put up a sign instructing customers how to switch water from coming out of the faucet to falling down from the shower head.
We really love the Teddy Bear Restaurant.
Thank you, staff at the Big Bear Lake ^___^
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/22/2011
Nothing makes us more happier that to see that our hospitality and services made your stay great.
Your feedback is appreciated greatly
We look forward to seeing you again.
Got lot's of r
First the good, check in was a breeze and the front office could not have been more helpful. Now to the cabin...let's start with the positive, the beds are so comfy, the cabin was super quiet, the tv and dvd worked good and the living rm furniture was comfortable. Also the forced air heat kept us warm as toast. Now the bad...the carpet needs to be relaced like yesterday, stained, dirty and theadbare. The kitchen is sparse and I mean sparse, someone busted the inside of the microwave plate so there was nothing to put anything on. Also they want you to wash the dishes but no dishwash soap, no paper towels, etc. Would we rent this cabin again? If they replaced the filthy stained carpet, yes.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/18/2011
Thank you for the "Now the bad..." section. This really helps us in finding things we can do to improve our properties. We have looked at the kitchen ware and purchased new items to fill the missing slots so to say. Also we have done a very deep cleaning of the carpet by hiring a professional carpet cleaning guy.
Great family fun!
Great 2 bedroom 2 bath condo in a great location. Nice kitchen and a roomy living room and dining area.
The comfort of home while away on vacation.
The cabin was very clean and comfortable. Convenient location and near to everything. It felt like we were at home and we can't wait to come back.
Fun in the snow
The only thing I had a problem with is only one key. Having teens out at same time we when out did not work out. Everything else was great.
Christmas at Big Bear
It was a cute cabin and we had an enjoyable stay.The cabin was clean and close to downtown. It snowed 11 inches, which we loved, but no snow shovel was provided. The firewood we purchased wiith the cabin was "green" and we had difficulty burning it. When we finally did get the fire started the cabin filled up with smoke. Needless to say, the fireplace was a bust!
Cozy but a little disappointing:(
We stayed in the Bear Claw Bungalow in Dec 2010 and it was cute and cozy, we especially enjoyed the fireplace!
It was a little disappointing because it said it was for 6 people and when we arrived we found out the 3rd double bed was in the lounge room as a pull out couch. This would have been ok if it was a comfortable pull out, but you could unfortunately feel the bar while sleeping. The other disappointment was that the sheets we had for the extra bed were dirty. everything else seemed to be clean though, but we had to sleep on dirty sheets:(
Also the spa/hot-tub wasn't working, it had overheated by the time we went to go in it and it would have cooked us to death if we had gone in. We were so looking forward to being outside in the cold in a nice warm hot-tub under the stars but that wasn't able to happen. We actually rented this cabin because it had a spa and I also asked the girl when booking if it was working and she said it was.
Besides the disappointments we enjoyed ourselves. It was a little over priced for the fact that it didn't really sleep 6 and the spa wasn't in working order.
A quick Get-a-Way
We have stayed with Big Bear Vacations.com before, and each time they take very good care of us. We have no complaints at all with the service we receive.
Before selecting this or any property, it is important to go through the reviews and read about the property. These rental properties are never perfect, each one has their issues and they get attended to with a phone call.
With this particular stay in the "Bear Claw Bungalow #379? - we had no issues at all, Great place to stay at a great price.
My wife and I brought two young kids with us, and we had a blast; Fires each night, Spa in the evening, cooking good food on the grill or in the kitchen, endless stars at night on the deck.
Since we drove up to Big Bear, we did come prepared for a rental home, meaning that you need to be aware that there is not much to work with in the home, so we brought much of the items we wanted. We pack like we are going Camping in a nice house, so plan on bringing or buying everything from paper goods to the food you like. We brought the paper goods and just went shopping at the local grocery store.
There is cookware at the house, dishes, flatware, etc. - might not be the best to work with but you have it.
I would recommend "Bear Claw Bungalow #379? for a nice quiet stay - a good 3+Star rating.
So in the scheme of renting properties for a quick 4/5 day get-a-way, we plan on continuing to utilize the services of Big Bear Vacations, and we simply plan on renting everything thing they have. It makes no sense to buy a cabin when you have value and service, along with a multitude of different homes to stay in. I know we looked into buying, for now we are holding off - keep renting, and have fun.
Cedar Park, TX
Great Bungalow, Great Location
We really enjoyed our stay here, wifi was free and worked instantly. Check-in and Check-out was easy. Location was great. There were a few cons - carpet was horrendous - I still walked without shoes on but seriously needs an update. Cabin was bare - not even a paper towel (but did have toilet tissue). So if you are pricing out renting versus a B&B; - think about the fact that you have to buy hand soap, dish soap, paper towels, detergent, breakfast, shampoo, food etc etc. If you are coming from SD or la - you can bring this stuff with you but its more to pack. We flew in from austin and so those costs really added up. We had two couples and 1 single person and a toddler. We had plenty of room - not a ton of sofa space (1 or two were always left without a seat). We would probably stay there again if we had a large group but if it was just the three of us we would do a B&B; because of the extra costs and staying in to make meals.
Oh lastly - blinds were horrible at blocking out the light and most were broken. So, blinds and curtains can definitely use an update.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 11/21/2010
Thank you for your response to our survey. We will check with the owner on getting new carpet. As far as amenities, we do not supply paper towels but do put hotel size soaps, shampoos and dish soaps in our bathrooms. We are sorry this caused you some concern. We do hope you will stay in Big Bear again.
Stevenson Ranch, CA
It was everything we hoped it would be.
Cute cabin, clean, comfortable, nicely decorated. Had everything we wanted except a fenced yard. Couldn't find anything with two bathrooms and a fenced yard. Loved the cabin. Would probably stay there again.
Better then expected.
The house did indeed have air conditioning and free wireless internet, no ethernet cord required. Very happy with everything overall.
Big Bear Bungalow #379
The cabin was very spacious and overall a very good stay. Parking is a tad lacking
but adequate enough.
Boiler System & Bathroom Shower Tool
1. Boiler System Controlling is very difficult. My friends cannot shower. Direction is not enough.
2. Shower lever(?) is hided. I think a lot of visitor cannot shower up-right.
chula vista ca
a true relaxation vacation
I rented this cabin with the idea that my bf and his sister would be joining me but after a few cancellations on behalf of his sister and her date, my bf and I got the cabin to our self.
Over all we loved our trip. it was so quiet that you just forgot about the world around you. with a full kitchen and supplys for cooking, we brought our own food to cook but the kitchen stuff made it possible.
when we arrived we noticed that the oven didnt have a knob for temp setting. after a call to managment they had us set up with a temp gauge and pliers. which was great! being that they couldnt find a knob to fit, they could have said oh well but they had a guy out with in mins.
christmas day the BF locked us out in the cold. i happen to have my phone with me so we called the office with in 5 minutes (i know, i had no shoes on and my toes were just getting cold on the deck)when the guy with a spare set of key should up and left the extra set(for me:P)
the hot tub: was the only real problem we came across and the hot tub was kicking off and we didnt know right off the bat what was wrong. when the BF took a look he noticed the it had a indoor whippool tub(as in jet bath tub) panel wired in. Which meant that we just had to be extra careful getting in and out so that NO water came over that side of the tub. other than that it was a great trip and i am already planning next christmas.!
by the way the Boxer poochie loved it too!
West Hills, CA
Very cozy and cute for 2 couples or family of 6.
We arrived on Dec 1st, cabin was nice and clean, everything worked properly.
Kitchen has very minimal supply so bring your own if you will be cooking
Both bedrooms spacious and very clean, bring more towels if planning to go to
Jacuzzi heats up very quickly and got very hot on the 3rd day so we just open
the top for few minutes and added 3 scoops of snow! Worked perfectly!!!!
There is only one TV in the living room but who cares?
I would definitely go back! Cabin is close to Big Bear blvd and 5 min from Snow
Enjoy your stay!
A relaxing birthday weekend.
The cabin we stayed in was comfortable and close to everything. The entire block seemed empty, so we had the whole place to our selves. The floors in some spots creaked and groaned which might annoy some, but we didn't mind, it gave the place some atmosphere.
Cons - minor wear and tear-the toilet seats are a little beat up (clean), and the hot tub thermostat can get REALLY hot if you don't watch it. The cabin needs paint and the carpets are a little beat up. It's a rental cabin...
Overall, I stayed with my girlfriend and my brother and his girlfriend for my birthday. The Peppercorn and Jasper restaurants (in The Village)had great food and a good time. The cabin was a perfect little get away for a great price. We are looking forward to coming back and we might try a different cabin with different amenities.
The staff at Big Bear Vacations where very nice and made it easy to check in and get settled. Check out was a breeze and without hassles or unexpected charges.
We all had a good time and will come back. With lots of cabins at different budget options, everyone should be able to find what they want and enjoy themselves...
Mira Loma California
We showed up at noon to see if our cabin was ready for early check in. Was told it was no but they would call us when cabin was available. No one ever called so we showed back up to the office at 3:45 and was told well it looks like the cabin is ready but was not showing clean in the system. They sent us to the cabin anyway and sure enough the cabin was not clean at all. We drove back to the office where they gave us another cabin. The hot tub would not heat up enough to get in until the next morning when we had to check out. There was also a pack of condoms under the bed that had not been cleaned by room service. Overall not a pleasant experience at all. Feel free to call me to discuss 949.533.7180
Cozy Cabin for the Budget Conscious
The Bear Claw Bungalow is just as it appears on the website. The beds were comfortable and almost everything was in working order. The kitchen is very minimal and is great for warming takeout food. There are appliances but very little cookware. The jacuzzi was way too hot and therefore unusable. The property manager was not able to tell us how to cool it down.
For a short stay on a budget, I would recommend the Bear Claw Bungalow.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/06/2009
Thank you for your response to Bear Claw Bungalow. The heat controls for this spa are inside a panel that is part of the spa. Our in-house maintenace department is available to take care of this type of problem experienced during your stay. Please come and stay with us again.
Longbeach , CA
An Disgusting Vacation
The vacation was a disaster. I paid for the price of the place with 2 bedrooms , 2 bathrooms, with internet, cable and jacuzzi. But the jacuzzi doesn't work at all. We contacted the front office to ask for someone come fix, but they didnt do it. They changed us to another cabin, which is much worse than the 1st one; it only has 1 bathroom, the cabin much smaller, and it doesn't have internet nor cable. The office simply answer that " we change u to the new place with a working jacuzzi, but you didnt mention you still want 2 bathroom and internet". I think it is really unacceptable. The company should not downgraded the customers. I forgot to mention that they over chemicalized the jacuzzi, everyone in my group got rash everywhere on the body. This is the worst vacation i have ever had, and i dont plan to use this company service again, nor do all of the people i know !
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/07/2009
Big Bear Vacation does our best to accomodate for problems with properties. At anytime there is an issue please let our office staff know so that we can take care of the situation immediately.
best birthday ever!
the cabin was beautiful, 6 of us fit perfectly there... i read the reviews first so i brought extra towles which we did need... but everything worked great all the kitchen supply you need is there. it felt like home.. check in and out was a breeze!! i can not wait to come back again very very soon!
Palos Verdes , Ca.
Great location for sledding with the kids
Nice clean cabin located in a nice area great for sledding right out the door !
Went to Big Bear to ski and had a great time sledding on the down days from sking too.
Nice Kitchen a decore.
Big Bear Vacation experience
I have rented many homes for vacation purposes before in various places. Big Bear, Palm Springs, Vegas, Havasu etc. etc. and my issue is simply that this home was overpriced for what is was. I honestly expect something a bit nicer for $400 per night plus $75.00 late checkout fee. I realize that I rented this home during a popular weekend, but the home was still $100 to $150 overpriced. There was only 1 TV, which doesn?t work well when you are trying to entertain children and adults. The parking was an issues because there was snow blocking most of the driveway, so we could only park 1 vehicle in the driveway. The couches were very uncomfortable to sit in, there was a shortage of blankets and I was overall disappointed.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/09/2009
Big Bear Vacations bases pricing on competetive rates for the imediate area of Big Bear.
awsom place to stay
I enjoyed the cabin very much it very clean and
nice place to stay. Would recommend to friends.
It was Ok
It was a nice, cute cabin but had just a few problems. Most of the kitchen dishes were chipped and I had to extensively clean the coffee pot before I could use it. The internet access is behind the tv and not easy to get plugged in. We had to completely rearrange the furniture to be able to have a desk on that side of the room to use our laptop. The master bedroom was fine. The other bedroom's queen bed four-poster frame was broken and dangerous to sleep on. The BBQ was full of ashes which made it hard to cook. This cabin is not within walking distance of the village.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/05/2008
Thank you for your response to our survey on Bear Claw Bungalow, unit 379. We are sorry you didn't have the best vacation experience possible. The queen bed has been put on a new frame so no one else should have a problem with this bed. The owner is going to restock with some new dishes. Some cabins do have internet access but are not set up in an office environment. We are sorry this was not what you expected. Our housekeeping department is to clean the ashes from BBQ's. This should have been done prior to your arrival. You response to our survey will help us give a better product to our future guests.
Family cozy house a place to relax
I had a wonderful time it was in a quite neighborhood its cozy and very
importantly very clean. A nice place to relax its close to the lake and the little
shopping stores... Simply liked it a lot
Nice but needs some work
Nice cozy cabin but needed a good sold cleaning and needed more basic amenties such as pots, pans, cutting boards. They did some of these but really not enough. Needs new carpet.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/22/2008
Thank you for responding to our survey. We are sorry this cabin didn't give the vacation experience you deserve. This cabin has since gone through our spring cleaning process. We will notify the owner of the problem with the carpets if we are unable to make them more acceptable with a professional cleaning. We will also look more closely at the kitchen items and replace what is needed.
simply a princess
I decided to rent a cabin in big bear i dicussed it with my boyfriend
and he said ok but i don't think he thought i would do a good job
of getting everything thing together by myself when me him and
the kids got there he was so surprised he loved the cabin the first
night we were there we lit the fire place made smore's and got into
the hot tub boy was that fun. The second day we went shopping at
the village the kids had a great time then we went fishing my
boyfriend really enjoyed that. Later that night we lit the grill and got
in the hot tub again that was so much fun. On our last day we went
to sunday brunch at the hotel that was so good then we went to
snow summit boy the kids really had fun but i think my boyfriend
had the most fun he is still talking about that trip he is trying to get
all his friends to go this summer. I really enjoyed the cabin myself it
had everything my house had nice dishes the bedrooms were so
nice the two bathrooms we really needed that all in all it was nice
and i recommend this cabin to everyone.