Kelley's Kabin #290
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Kelly's Kabin is a rustic, roomy and charming, this Maltby-style home has 3 bedrooms and 1.5 baths and an outdoor spa. There is a large full kitchen equipped with microwave and dining table. The living room has a shared gas only fireplace with the master bedroom, TV/DVD, premium cable, DSL internet connection if you (bring your own Ethernet cord. The master bedroom is downstairs and spacious with 1 king-sized log bed and the shared fireplace and a 1/2 bath plus a TV. The full remodeled common bath is downstairs. The second bedroom upstairs has 1 queen bed and has no door and the third bedroom upstairs has 3 twins. This home also features a...Read more
Kelley's Kabin #290
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$230 - $405||$230 - $405||$0||$1,290||1 night|
|Mar. 31 2013 - May. 23 2013||$230||$230||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$248||$248||-||-||-|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$265||$265||-||$1,290||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$248||$248||-||$1,290||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$318||$318||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$405||$405||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$353||$353||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$265||$265||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$230||$230||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$265||$265||-||$1,290||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$248||$248||-||$1,290||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$283||$283||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$300||$300||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$318||$318||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$405||$405||-||-||-|
|View all 39 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
After reading previous reviews, I was very worried upon arrival of this cabin. To our surprise, however, the cabin was very clean! And much larger/nicer than it appears in the pictures. The outdoor jacuzzi worked perfectly and all 7 of us were able to fit it in. The bathroom came with a bunch of clean towels and the shower had great water pressure. We actually never ran out of hot water (took very quick showers though). The fireplace was great and there were even clean sheets to lay over the couches. My friends and I were all extremely pleased with our stay here and actually want to book this same cabin again this winter.
I recommend: bringing your own pillows and being prepared for the queen bed room to not have a door :)
Thank you Big Bear Vacations! Please make another living social deal! Or groupon, or something :)
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/17/2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the cabin was everything you were looking for! We usually run a living social deal every 3 months or so, so keep your eyes out for our next one! If you have a chance we would love for you to also take the time to review us on www.yelp.com. Thanks again for choosing Big Bear Vacations, we look forward to assisting you during your next stay with us!
Had a fun time!
I rented this cabin in March of 2012.
The people at the check-in desk were very friendly and helpful! I got a little re-usable bag with brochures, coffee, creamer/sugar, pen, and deck of cards! I thought that was a nice touch!
My 8 friends and I loved this cabin! We each had a place to sleep comfortably. The boys who stayed in the room with 3 twin size beds said the beds were slightly unfortable, as the beds have little dip in the middle. 5 people stayed upstairs and said it was pretty cold at night, despite the heater being on. As for me in the master bedroom which shares a fireplace with the living room, it was nice and warm! Maybe even too warm, but it was comfortable. The master bedroom also has a door that leads to the backyard, which is the only door that leads to the backyard.
No complaints of anything being dirty. We brought our own plates, cups, utensils just to be safe. We did use pots and pans without any problems.
Something I did notice was how it was kind of dark in the living room. We all hung out there and played games on the dining room table and felt it was dark. There was a light hanging that would have lit things up if it worked!!
Jacuzzi worked just fine for us. The parking space for 2 cars is perfect. I wouldn't say anything is walking distance.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/02/2013
Thank you Erika for your honest review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the vacation cabin you rented through us! It is very important to us that you have a nice time while vacationing in Big Bear. Thanks for letting us know about the beds and lighting also. We will be sure to let our property inspectors know about this so we can look in to repairing those issues. Overall it seems that you enjoyed your stay, so we hope you will return soon and vacation with us again! Be sure to mention you are a returning customer so we can offer you a loyal customer discount.
P.S. If you have a chance, we would love for you to review us on yelp.com also. Thanks again Erika!
Great experience in the great outdoors!!!
Sure the look and feel of this place is old-fashioned, but it is exactly what is expected at Big Bear. We loved the rustic settings (both inside & out) and especially loved the jacuzzi. My family & I will cherish this memory forever! Thank you
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 06/20/2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave a review of Kelley’s Kabin. It's always great to know when our guests enjoy staying in one of our homes as much as you did. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with your family! If you would like to come back to enjoy the outdoors, please feel free to give us a call at (855) 856-6706 for one of our friendly Vacation Planners to help you plan your return visit to Big Bear!
Broke and dirty
Cheap but not worth the money!
The house is filthy! There is crusted food and dried liquids on the walls...and may i suggest keeping a broom and cheap vacuum so guests can clean up after themselves. We did see a cockroach or 2. There were mouse droppings all over everything and piles of it on the floor. We had to rewash all the dishes, which thankfully this house lacks. I know there are mice and other critters in the mountains but the cleaning lady should be cleaning these things up...i mean we did have to wait 45 mins, after check in time, for her to finish so i'm wondering exactly what was she doing in there? Oh, thats right she was talking on her cell phone when she should've been cleaning. I'd also suggest getting a new cleaning lady. The kitchen has plates, silverware, glasses, a few spatulas, and about 4 small-med pots...if you plan on cooking an actual meal you should bring your own stuff. I understand "basic" but this is far below basic. Everyone comments on the fireplace in this house and let me assure you it is horrible! Even done correctly, the fireplace still spews out a large amount of smoke into the bedroom...it borders on unbearable. The furniture is fragile and falling apart. This is our 3rd year renting houses in Big Bear so we know what amenities to expect when we stay at a rental, this house is far below standard even at it's cheaper price. The house itself is spacious and has nice decor... The layout is also great. I would not recommend staying in this house at all! Spend an extra $1-200 and upgrade, it will be worth it!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/29/2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. However we very much appreciate the input about your stay in Kelly's Kabin. The information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
Big Bear was a Great Getaway. Wish Kelley"s Kabin was as Good
Upon entering the cabin we smelled smoke, obviously the guests before us used the fireplace and had problems as in previous reviews. We turned the heat up and used the small heater upstairs and found the house to be adequate temperature wise. We choose not to use the fireplace.
Second 1/2 bathroom was never cleaned and had trash inside, dirty towels and used soap products.
Blankets in master bedroom smelled and were dirty. We used our own blankets and washed them when we got home.
Kitchen was poorly outfitted with ancient appliances.
The full bathroom had good water pressure and hot water in the shower.
Although, the room got so cold and the floor was like a solid block of ice even with the heater for several hours. We had to use the small heater from upstairs to make it bearable.
The were so many cobwebs in the windows and on the ceiling i stopped looking and tried to just forget about it.
Overall, I would not recommend this Cabin to any knowledgeable traveler as they will probably be unhappy.
Sorry to leave such a realistic review but this property need works.
Happy Holidays to everyone
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/29/2012
Thank you for your constructive criticism. We evaluate each review and do out best to use the information that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
Sherman Oaks, California
The cabin itself was nice and cozy although some furniture definitely needed repairs soon (ie tables, chairs, dressers). After reading earlier reviews, we decided to simply stay away from the fireplace completely. The hot tub was nice as well. The bathroom door in the master bedroom had a tendency to lock itself if anyone slammed the door shut - we had to unscrew it twice just to get it to unlock, so be careful of that.
Our major problems came during check-out morning. We were scheduled to check-out at 11am and began shoveling snow and putting on snow chains around 10:30am. Their cleaning crew came by right around then and, very rudely, yelled at us to get out of the cabin now. Apparently, our check-out time was 10am. When we went to drop off our key and complain to the front desk, the woman who rang us up ignored us completely and tended to her telephone instead. When she finally got off the phone, she spoke with us for a total of 10 seconds before her phone rang and she immediately picked it up.
The cabin itself was nice, however, customer service left a lot to be desired.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/24/2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. While an earlier check-out time is an inconvenience it is necessary during the holidays to ensure that house keeping has time to get to each home and prepare the house for each incoming guest. Additionally, notices are emailed each year prior to the holidays to let every guest know about the holiday check out time of 10 AM. We hope to have the opportunity to help you again in the future.
Worst cabin I stayed in.
When we went into the cabin, the place was filled with smoke. The master bedroom's door have a big hole on it. I called the front desk and service. They said they will send someone but never did. They did not even care. The fireplace look nice, but the it cannot out properly. If you start a fire, it will be fine for about 5-10 minutes then the smoke will start filling up inside the cabin. The blankets and pillows are not clean. The front door had a big crack on the glass and they did not care either. Just say they will send someone. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. Especially at this price.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/24/2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. However we very much appreciate the input about your stay in Kelly's Kabin. The information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience.
Los Angeles, CA
Took a family trip to Big Bear for the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. Had a great time and loved the cabin. We made the turkey at the cabin and the kitchen was definitely able to handle a big meal being made there. Ran into a bit of an issue since there were no mixing bowls or cookie sheets but they did stock the basics (pots, pans, silverware, plates & glasses). The location of the cabin was great, a market right near by, the Village and the lake close enough to walk though the lake is a bit of hike. Only negatives of the cabin - the master bedroom is beautiful and huge but not at all private due to the double sided fireplace. But more of an issue was the fireplace itself. We followed the posted directions to the letter and it would work okay at first but it eventually would smoke out the whole cabin. Almost seemed as if the chimney was clogged and it would build up and then smoke out the cabin. We eventually just didn't even build a fire the last day. I would definitely stay again but would hope the fireplace was truly fixed by then.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/21/2012
It’s good the see that you enjoyed your stay in the home so much during your Thanksgiving holiday. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback you’ve given us and will take the issue you had into account for future guests.
cute but definitly not worth the money
we arrived around 8pm, immediately put on heat & fireplace but the upstairs was still freezing by the time we went to bed. All of our kids had to sleep downstairs on the floor. the 2nd nite something was wrong with fireplace? The jacuzzi irritated everyones skin. Cute & clean tho
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 11/03/2011
As the winter approaches it does take some time for the two story cabins to warm up. The issue with the fireplace is because it is important to keep the fire smaller until the fireplace has a chance to heat up. We included those instructions in the manual for the cabin. That cabin is very clean and neat and I hope that overall you enjoyed your vacation in Big Bear. We hope to see you again!
Our stay was very relaxing, the weather was so beautiful! The cabin was great, but we did have one issue. No Carafe for the coffee pot and I need my coffee in the morning. It would be a bonus if someone would check to see that all the essentials are there before we come up. Thanks.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Warm and cozy
The cabin as a whole is nice and cozy. We love the spacious master bedroom. We also love the jacuzzi. We really enjoyed our stay there. It would be better if the couches would be replaced with new ones. Also some of the kitchen utensils are also broken.
Jen Chandler and Family
Summer Fun in the Mtns
Overall the cabin was cool. We loved the location and that a spa was on site however,the cleanliness of the spa could've been better. The cabin was beautiful and spacious and very comfortable. The staircase at night should have a small light though to make it safe at night and the fireplace instructions should be updated a bit;at least 20 to 30 min to light the gas or until the stones on the hearth are warm so you don't get smoked out :)We enjoyed our stay all in all and can't wait to come back!
The cabin was really nice my family and I really enjoyed the stay. I only have one complain, the bedspreads and sofas were a little old. Other than that we had agreat time.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 05/05/2011
Thank you for filling out our survey.
Feedback is much appreciated;
We are replacing the bedspreads for summer.
First night was rough since we had trouble with the thermostat. Somehow the temp did not stay and it got cold. we also did not find the extra heater until the second day. Other than that it was fun and centrally located to everything. We are planning a vacation there this summer if we can get away from our jobs.
When it's cold outside...
Don't sleep upstairs. It's freezing!
But other than that, this place was great. The people who cleaned up before us left the dishes wet, but other than that it was good.
The check-in/check-out times are terrible, we stayed a night and didn't get a full day at the cabin. You have to check in after 3 pm and check out before 11 am the next day. So that was probably the worst part.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/27/2011
Thank you for responding to our survey. This unit does have space heaters to help with the cold. Typical Big Bear design is a cabin that does not have central heating usually just has a downstairs wall heater (in that heat rises). We do have an advanced search filter on our web site allowing people to select central heating. the cold is not an issue in the summer time. Our check in time is 3PM and our check out time is 11AM (unless a holiday period). We try to make this very clear so if people want to stay another day they can. The check in/out times are typical for the lodging industry. We do hope you were able to have fun while in Big Bear.
Large cabin but smoky fireplace
The cabin is large and for the most part a nice place to stay. However - we followed the directions fully and the fireplace still smoked us out. Waht the directions don't say is if you should leave the gas on when burning logs. The fireplace should be replaced with gas logs only.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/27/2011
Thank you for responding to our survey. We will call a fireplace expert to get this resolved. We hope you were able to enjoy yourself while in Big Bear.
Los Angeles, CA
The cabin was overall average. There's no dishwasher and it was obvious the people that stayed there before didn't wash the dishes before leaving and just put them back. Also, the upstairs had no heating and was a little cold for sleeping.
The main living room was comfortable and the hot tub was great. Overall the place had everything we needed to make the trip comfortable and fun. Any complaints are minimal.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/01/2011
Thank you for respnding to our survey. This unit is very econimically priced for a 3 bedroom unit with a spa. We are sorry the dishes were not clean when you got there. We do have an in-house hosekeeping department if things are not up to par when you are here. Our advanced search mechanism allows you to check for a dishwaher and/or Central Heating. We are sorry for any inconvenence this caused you. We hope you visit Big Bear again.
the cabin was fine the fire place backed up and somked us out for a little while the alarms work good. I let some clothes in the dresser other than that we would stay there again . thank you . dave curran and family
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/26/2010
We founda problem with the fire place and have corrected it. This unit has a through and through 2 room fireplace. The chimney shaft must be heated with just the gas started for at least 15 minutes before wood is added. We have placed these instructions to the unit.
Loved the cabin, checking in and out was very easy. Looking forward to our next stay.
The description given on the internet is not as accurate as we would have
liked. It says walking distance to the village and the lake, but it's more like
a hike to both. There really was no access to the lake and the village was a
good bit away. The home grew on us but found many strange things about
it. First, the fireplace made the whole place uncomfortably smokey after a
few hours. It is also strange how it shares both the living room and the
bedroom, allowing view into the bedroom which in turn took away any
privacy in the bedroom. The same thing with the bedroom upstairs. One of
the bedrooms inexplicably had no door. The house is also very cold. The
sun hardly shone through the trees and the surrounding homes. The deal
breaker for me though is the amount they were going to charge me to
search for what I had left/forgotten in the house. I left my macbook power
lead and when I phoned about it, the lady mentioned that I had to pay $50
for it before they can look into it and send the item to me. I really hate
people trying to make money this way. Would I go back? Only if there is no
other cabin available. Would I use Big Bear Vacations? Only if I'm desperate.
Again, charging $50 to send or look into something I left in the cabin lost it
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/26/2010
We have found a problem with the fireplace. We have also place fireplace instructions inside the unit to help peopel with how to use a through and through fireplace. We do charge $50 to return items. We are sorry this caused you so much dissatisfaction.
Mothers day weekend
This cabin was a lot better then I thought it would, me and my family went for mother day weekend. A few things I did not like about it first of all the master bed room is like way bigger then all the rest and every one wanted the master bedroom. Both rest rooms were down stairs and there was no light in stairway so if you had to go to rest room at night and you have a bed room upstairs good look going down with no light. And the pull out sofa if a total wreck falls down to the middle if too people sleep on it. And the Jacuzzi was in the front porch that sucked. But over all it was a nice place but not the way the rooms are set up.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/26/2010
There are many spas on the front deck in Big Bear rentals. This is usually due to the lack of a back yard. There are few rentals in Big Bear with fenced yards.We are sorry this didn't totally meet your needs in Big Bear. It is one of most affordable units with a spa.
I did enjoy my stay at Kellys cabin. It was nice
and relaxing. the heaters worked great. there were
a few things that i was a little disappointed in
like a broken bed, the trash outside, and the drive
way practically ruined my car because of the mud
that had very well hidden rocks in it. however over
all i was satisfied with my stay. although i would
not say that this cabin is not within walking
distance to any part of useful area of the lake. i
would recommend someone to stay here granted they
fix the issues listed above. it was nice to have
all the essentials of a home. i also let the big
bear vacations people know about the issues of the rental and they did not seem to care one way or
another that the yard was filled with trash. Big
Bear Lake is an amazing place! my husband, my 2
year old son, my brother and sister in law and
there 3 year old son enjoyed it. it was a nice
This place is one of the nicect houses for the money. I stay in time shares most of the the time when I travel. So if you have ever statyed in a time share you know the level of quality I am use too. The Big Bear Time shares were all booked up so I called Big Bear Vacations. They found me the Kelly Cabin which suited our family of four perfectly. Great location. Jaccuzi worked great. Super spacious. No complaints. Would rent this property again.
Consistantly happy for the last ten years
We have rented Kelly's cabin almost every year for the last ten years. While any property has its own idiosyncrasies Big Bear Vacations has always been on top of any problems. They are quick to respond and always courteous. The cabin was clean and we were happy about the recent bathroom renovation. Using the newish hot tub while it was snowing was very cool!
Orange County, Ca
Great Cabin and Great Price!
The Cabin was great, it was spacious, and very clean. Wish we would have known that one of the bedrooms was 3 twin beds, because we had 3 couples and so one couple slept on a blow up mattress they brought in the living room, but that was fine because the fireplace and the heater were there and there was no heat upstairs. Also, we just used the gas for the fireplace, so it was not necessary to bring the firewood. The master bedroom was awesome and had it's own heater and fireplace! We had a great time and the cabin is in a great location, just down the way from the main street.
Los Angeles CA
There really isn't anything negative to say about this cabin. My family and I came over here for a weekend and were very pleased with this home. We went in the winter and it was very cold outside, luckily the homes heater helped keep the home warm. The only exception is the two rooms upstairs only have a small heater to keep warm so its recommended that you bring extra blankets and there are no tv's upstairs. Nevertheless, the amenities worked perfectly (cable,internet,heater microwave etc.) The location is great as well, there's a liquor store two streets down for snacks or drinks. Again a very cozy home!
Nice, cozy place, missing some details
My family and I went here for Christmas. It's a lovely home, very cozy, nice and high ceilings. The layout is nice and the style is pretty. The hot tub is well maintained. Despite being reassured this would be working, the fireplace does not work properly, so we only used it for a few hours before it smoked up the house so badly we couldn't use it. That was a big disappointment. Luckily, the heating systems were good enough to keep us warm, but it certainly isn't as romantic as having a fire. Also, the fireplace is a dual, for the living room and bedroom, which is cool, until you realize that you have privacy in the master bedroom unless nobody is in the living room.
The kitchen is severely lacking in dishes, pots, pans, and utensils. If you're at all interested in cooking, be prepared to bring your own supplies and if you don't want to clean dishes after each meal or snack, you'll need to bring more dishes, as they only have just enough for about 8 people. There are lots of little things around the house that are broken or falling apart. The backyard is so tiny that it's basically nothing to speak of, but the front yard is roomy and nice, especially when covered in snow. We had a lot of fun with that! It's definitely a close enough drive to the village and the lake and it wasn't hard to find. Overall, I enjoyed it but would probably pick another place if these things weren't fixed.
Red Hat Lady
North Hills CA
Fun at Big Bear
We enjoyed our stay, however with all the ice on the walk, two of our party slipped and fell. There was no can opener, so we had to make another trip down to the grocery store before we could get our chili started. With 4 ladies, we all put our make up cases under the sink. Not a good idea, there was a leak, and items got wet. Finally, the bed upstairs sags very badly into the middle, so the couple were laying on top of each other the whole time and were up most of the night.
The jacuzzi was wonderful, especially after a long day of skiing, tubing and shopping downtown. We had a lovely German dinner, met the high school principal and a man named Bear, and our pictures will be posted in the hat store, wearing skunk, moose, raccoon and who knows what else. We love the town, exceptionally friendly everywhere we went, good food at the teddy bear cafe. It was an overall fun visit, and we sure will be up again.
GO BIG BEAR!
Los Angeles, Ca
Stay the wknd. at the cabin was amazing. My friends and I were satisfied with the space and how comfortable and cozy the cabin felt. The only thing we did not like was that the fridge was not fully working. The jacuzzi was the best part of the cabin. The neighbors were awesome. My friends and I would definitely go back.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/17/2011
Thank you for your response to our survey on Kelley's Cain, unit 290. We have had the refrigerator checked and it appears to be working. One of the altitude issues in Big Bear is refrigerators cannot be turned up in that the higher motor output overheats and quits cooling until the motor cools off. The refrigerators must be kept at mid-range or lower. Again, thank you for response and come stay with us in the future.
Santa Fe Springs CA
the home was poorly maintained the chairs in the dinning room were mostlty broken, beds in all rooms were old and uncomfortable, half of my family ended up on the living room floor not only because of the beds but there was no heat on the second floor where two of the rooms are located. Our family has stayed with big bear vacations previously and had an enjoiable experiance. I encouarge all to read reviews prior to renting they are very helpful. Additionally I would not recomend this cabin nor would I STAY IN IT AGAIN.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/28/2009
Some homes in Big Bear are not equipped with central heating, if this is the case such as Kelleys Kabin, the home is usually equipped with a wall heater on the bottom level. Big Bear Vacations does encourage guests to bring extra balnkets during winter months.
Love Big Bear
Long Beach, California
Wonderful Trip and Stay
Hi I went to Big Bear on January 8 and 9th and my group had 4 people altogether. We stayed at Kelley's Kabin #290 and we all loved it. The house was very roomy and everyone was comfortable. During the night the cabin had a heater so the house wasn't cold at all. The beds were comfy and we all enjoyed it very much. I recommend everyone to go there. We had a good time.
the main room didnt have a heater,and you should say 1.5 bath,not 2
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/24/2009
Thank you for you response to Unit 290, Kelley's Kabin. Many homes in Big Bear are not centrally heated. We do have "central heating" as an attribute search option on the internet. This home has a wall heater in the downstairs main area and a wall heater in the master bedroom. We hope this wasn't too much of a dissappointment and you still enjoyed yourself. Again, thank you for your response to our survey and please come stay with us again.
Los Angeles, CA
Worst Experience Ever
This Cabin has 2 bedrooms upstaris and 1 downstairs and both bathrooms are right next to each other on the 1st floor. The staricase to the bedrooms has no light fixters and it is peach black and nights if you wana go to the bathroom. The mattresses on the upstair beds are very old and have the springs sticking out, will defenately give you terrible back pains. My aunt fell down the stairs middle of the night because its sooo dark. FIND ANOTHER SAFER cabin to spend your money on.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/27/2009
The multiple issues stated in this review have been discussed with the owner of the property.
The Pollack Family
Good but could be better
The cabin was nice, but rather sparse and shabby, with some broken fixtures. For less than the cost of the four day rental everything could have been corrected.
Cute, Compact, Nice Master
Nice home, near the village. Best part was the Master bedroom and large mountain style king bed. Kitchen fine. Would have liked a shower in the master bath. Big problem was fireplace. We were told to keep the fire small and the draft would work. Nothing we could do to get the draft to work, smoke filled the lower and upper level so bad (with just 1 small piece of firewood) that we opened updstairs and master bedroom windows. It was 29 degrees f outside. Wasted $14 for wood. Could not have a fire. Problem is large fireplace opening, small pipe up the chimney. Needs a broader collection cover to catch and direct the smoke up the chimney. Rental service outstanding, packets and keys pre packaged and when we left we simply turned in the keys. All beds clean, cottage clean.
Great Cabin for long or short vacation!
We had a fantastic time, just wish we were there longer. My sister n law and my wife and I wanted to surprise my Brother for his 40th birthday up at Big Bear. I found your website and saw the pictures and discription of Kelley's Kabin #290 and I thought it would be perfect. When we pulled up in front the Kabin, my brother was shocked! He could not believe how nice it looked. And when we got inside, even better. We are already looking forward to the next time we stay at Big Bear and we will want to stay in Kelley's Kabin again. Lance
The cabin was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The rustic feel is great and the set up was ideal for everyone to hang out in the main living area. The location was really close to both the downtown area and the lake.
The two issues were (1) the fireplace did not draw well and we had to keep airing out the house and eventually not use it due to smoke inhalation. (2) the beds were not very comfortable.
On a side note, don't rent through the Big Bear Association. They gave us wrong descriptions of the properties and had a fairly large mark-up. We had to switch cabins when we got into town at 11PM. The direct rental company was great to work with and very helpful in resolving the mix-up. Overall we would use them again.
Labor Day Week End
The property could use more stocking supplies in the kitchen and closets. Also the fire place needs a better ventilation system, some of the smoke came into to the cabin. The hot tub worked on one setting only and needs to be fixed for the other jets to work.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 09/29/2008
Thank you for your response to Kelly's Kabin Unit 290. We had our spa technician look at the spa jets. The spa should be working fine byt 9-30 unless a part needs to be ordered. The owner recently purchased more kitchen supplies and these should be okay now. The fireplace in the unit is a double-sided fireplace. The venting is working fine but if the temperature of the chimney shaft isn't hot enough before large wood is placed in the fireplace smoke will come into the house. We hope you will try us again. We have many homes to offer.
dissatisfied little bear
Better off sleeping in the woods
*King bed was broken upon arrival
maintenance came out immediately to repair, broke again the next day
*Three front window screens were missing. We tried to open and mosquitos and other insects flew inside. Had to keep windows closed (it was pretty hot in July)
*Refridgerator did not stay cold, bottom of fridge was broke
*caulking was cracked around tub
*ceiling fans were dusty as well as cob webs throughout the house
*dead animal swept up in bundle of brush in front yard
*Jacuzzi jets did not work
*house was listed with washer/dryer but there was not one onsite
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/24/2008
Thank your for responding to our survey on Kelly's Cabin. We are so sorry you had so many problems while you were here. We have fixed the bed and ordered new screens for the windows. The refrigerator is now working fine as well as the spa. I checked the description and verified a washer/dryer is not listed as an ammenity. Any housekeeping problems you incur while staying with us can be taken care while you are here but unfortunately this one was not. The high ceiling fan is now cleaned off. Our maintenance department is in the process of recauking the tub. We are sorry you experienced a dead critter in the front yard. Hopefully, you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on a future stay. Again, thank you for the review-it will allow us to give a better product to our guests.
Not a good place to stay
I think this was a worst rental house that I ever stayed. Only one kid was able to have hot water to take shower (less than 15 minute shower time). The other kid had to wait for at least 45 minutes but still not enough hot water to shower for 5 minutes. The bed sheets were consider to be not clean. The places that I stayed before usually have at least one roll of paper napin but this place had nothing. The restroom had ants too. My comments is never going to stay at this place.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/10/2008
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on Kelley’s Cabin. The hot water heater has since been repaired. Ants are part of being in the mountains certain times of the year and we do our best to keep them under control. Please contact us immediately in the future if you have any housekeeping issues as we will rectify on the spot.