Syrco Shalet is a real log cabin inside and out. This cabin is rustic enough to make you feel like you are far away in the Rockies, but has enough amenities to keep it exciting and comfortable. There is a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and a Charcoal BBQ on the deck. The living room has a flatTV/DVD and a CD stereo. There is a full bath downstairs. Upstairs are both sleeping quarters-at the top of stairs is an open loft area with 2 twins and a full plus flat TV. A bedroom with a king bed and 1/2 bath is also located upstairs. Don’t forget your fishing pole, it is walking distance to the lake! With so many options in this aw...esome cabin, the first thing you must do is book this cabin before someone else does!Good pets are welcome.
Left on 11/20/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | JanieMay
Wonderful cabin. Great, clean hot tub. Comfortable beds, nice huge kitchen. Central location. Fireplace, good central heat. All in all, a perfect vacation!
Great for a quick get away
Left on 10/11/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | **
The place was clean and comfortable but this is not the place to stay of you want intimacy. The neighbors were loud and stayed up very late. If you are staying with a family be warned that the master bedroom does not have a real lock, just a hook latch. It wasn't a bad place for me and my partner and we enjoyed the weekend.
Left on 06/23/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Joe
It was OK a few things needed upgrades or a little bit of work but I would stay again.
Simi Valley, CA
Quiet restfull area
Left on 05/25/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | M J
Having my reservation messed up upon arrival by another rental property (Bear Creek Resort) , we went to Big Bear Vacations and they came to the rescue at the last minute with an awsome place that was just what we were looking for. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable with everything we needed for a restfull stay. Read more
We're here everyday of the year and starting at 8am!!
San Diego, CA
Ski week rental
Left on 03/02/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | POLJAX
Cute cabin, but I'm not a big fan of driving my own trash to the dump while on vacation. Nor am I impressed when we discovered that maid service does not come automatically every day. With a family of six, we ran out of towels and TP almost immediately and had to go to the store for more. The only path up the stairs was an icy and unstable foot trail left by the previous tenants...huge safety issue! At a 40% discount, it was still nearly $200 a night, so not a good value when you spend most of the day on the slopes anyway. Big washer and dryer, so bring soap. New fridge and coffee maker, but bring coffee with you. The dishwasher is "hands" driven. If you want a fire, buy a starter log because the gas starter is capped, otherwise you'll get frustrated trying to find newspaper. The spa was buried under the snow! Basically across the street is the alpine slide for the kiddos and just a three minute drive to the two mountain slopes. Read more
Thank you for responding to our survey on unit 657. City Ordinance mandates trash be removed with the guest. This is to prevent crows, coyotes and racoons from setting up camp at a house. We do plow driveways and cut a snow path to our spas. We are sorry this particular snow event put us a little behind. Please visit Big Bear again and we hope you enjoy your stay.
Cool cabin, but...
Left on 02/03/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Disappointed
We appreciated this cozy home-made log cabin, but the heater did not work well. It heated the cabin slowly and kept shutting down. The coffee maker did not work. The ceiling light in the master bath did not work. The DVR did not work.
Rules requird that all dished must be washed, dried and put away before leaving or a $25 fine would be charged, yet not a single dish towel was provided. Read more
I am happy that you enjoyed this log style cabin. I would like to apologize for the troubles that you had with the heater. We do have a 24 hour maintenance staff that would have happily come out to address these issues. With proper notification, our maintenance staff can resolve almost any issue you may come across including bringing you items, such as dish towels.
Have a great day!
Zaira Bowman Customer
Relations Assistant Manager
This was a great stay. perfectly located...
Left on 01/27/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | JRCC007
a couple of the light switches did'nt work, but no big deal.
We had a great time.
It was simply the most unconditional uncomfortable stay !!!
Left on 01/20/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Alejandra scapino
It was simply the most unconditional uncomfortable stay that we've had over all are trips to Big Bear . Read more
We would have to agree, this cabin has a lot to offer and is situated by the lake. What else do ya need...?
A Wonderful Thanksgiving Holiday
Left on 12/03/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Dianne Greener
We enjoyed our four days at this home very much. We would stay there again. Having said that, if I were the owners or the leasing agent, I would suggest that you state very clearly that there is a "Half Bath" upstairs and all showers have to be taken downstairs. Also, I would like to know when a property has a dishwasher. I think a cleaning crew should check to see if all the lights are working. The staff has been delightful to work with and we will be using you again for our rental needs. Thank You. Dianne Greener Read more
Thank you for responding to our survey. We have made sure the description states the upstairs is a 1/2 bath only. Our web site has an advanced search option and dishwasher is one of the selections.
Santa Clarita, CA
Exactly what we were hoping for!!
Left on 08/15/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Laura
A great cabin. Super cute, very clean, comfy, and a good location. It was exactly what we wanted. Bring your own paper towels or napkins--that was the only thing missing. We loved it and would happily stay there again. :)
5424 Harcross Dr. LA, CA 90043
Left on 08/04/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Roxcy
I needed a mini get-a-away. And I was looking for: quiet - inexpensive – relaxing - scenic - and fun. I found it at Big Bear. Syrco Shalet was everything I could have expected. Despite the fact that the beds were miserably uncomfortable, and the Jacuzzi could have been washed down - I nevertheless had an experience worth the cost. The cabin welcomed in the outdoors! It was beautiful. And – yes, I plan to come again during Christmas beak (I have the fortune of working at a Middle School) Read more
We service our spas between each guest. This spa is partially under a pine tree which drips sap. We hope you still enjoyed the spa.
Would definitely stay here again!!
Left on 07/31/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Gary
We stayed for a week in mid July and were very impressed with how immaculate the cabin was. We do not have a single complaint about our stay and would pick this cabin again for or next family visit.
The cabin was beautiful and the people who lived around us were very nice and friendly.
We'd especially like to thank the owners of the property for sharing this part of their life with us.
Left on 07/14/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | The Stahley's
Nice location. Wide open foor plan. We liked the hardwood floors. The spa was very clean but some of the jets were not working. The floor inside the house was very dirty. I don't think anyone had been there in a while. Loved the laundry room and plenty of towels for all. The back deck was very small and messy.There are no fences around this property to let the dogs play outside. We kept them on the front deck with us when outside and blocked off the stairs with some chairs. If you go in the summer bring an umbrella for shade on the front deck. You do not get any shade from the trees. Overall a 4 on a 1-5 scale. Read more
When looking for a fenced yard you will find that amenity as a choice under our advanced search. Pet friendly does not mean the yard is fenced. We are sorry for the misunderstaning.
We had a blast
Left on 05/26/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Great Time
We are very satisfied with our short stay at Syrco Shalet.
Nice location & good potential for groups
Left on 04/27/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | LIZ163
My husband and I stayed for just one night along with our 2 dogs and had a very comfortable time. The downstairs kitchen/tv room area is very large & accommodating. Would be a nice spot for 3-4 couples as well - although sleeping arrangements outside of the main bedroom could be a bit tight.
Everything we used was in great working order - including the spa!
The only odd thing we found was the amount of noise that could be heard downstairs when anyone was walking around upstairs. Overall a very lovely place to stay and we look forward to visiting again.
Los Angeles, CA
Pros and Cons
Left on 04/08/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | practical_consumer
PROS: The appearance and overall layout of the cabin were its ultimate pro! It was a very beautiful cabin. (1) interior of the cabin was very clean. (2) interior was very spacious (3) Spa was very clean. (4) Kitchen was well supplied. (5) Bedroom and bathrooms were well kept and supplied with enough towels and toiletries CONS: (1) no hot water!! - There were 4 of us staying at the cabin and by the 2nd shower, there was no more hot water for the next two people. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. For $484.15 a night, I expected at least hot water. (2) the front pourch and back patio were dirty - the appearance of both were very poor. (3) the location of the public dumpster was very inconvenient. I was not fond of the idea of having to place bags of garbage in my car and drive a mile in order to avoid a $25/bag charge.
THE PLACE WAS BEAUTIFUL AND WE DID ENJOY OUR STAY...IF ONLY THERE WAS HOT WATER.
Our favorite place
Left on 01/27/2010 for a stay in January 2010 | bmidland
We were one of the lucky few to make it up to Big Bear right after the 4 storms hit. The snow was incredible! We've rented many places in Big Bear but came back to Syrco Chalet again because it has everything we need and just feels right. We won't go to another place anymore because my family is very comfortable here. The location is perfect for us, and it has that log cabin feel that we come up here for.
My only wish is that checkout time would be at 1pm without any extra charge. We weren't able to check in until 10pm because of the road conditions and a few extra hours on the backend would have been nice without having to pay for it.
Left on 01/17/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | aerrebo
We have stayed in many properties in Big Bear, this one was our favorite.
Location was great for us and the house was clean and fun. Some of the
beds were put together a little funky, but overall, the kids loved it.
Unrelated to the house, my only complaint is with Big Bear Vacations.
Obviously people are there to ski, but the checkout procedures are in
ridiculous opposition to that goal. It is not enjoyable or even possible for a
family of 6 to pack up all of your stuff, pack it in the car along with your
skis and boards, get to the office, dump your trash and hit the lifts at a
reasonable hour. Option 2 is for someone to leave the slopes at 10:30, lose
your parking space, schlep all of the luggage into the car, check out, take
trash, find a new parking space and rejoin your family 2 hours later. If no
one is checking in, which is FREQUENTLY the case, can't you just let us know
and extend the time? It wouldn't cost you a thing and it would make our
vacation a world more enjoyable! For this reason, and a couple others, I will
not use Big Bear vacations again. There has to be a more accommodating
The Hill Family
Walloon, Queensland, Australia
Left on 01/15/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | The Hill Family
Staying at Syrco Chalet was the most relaxing part of or 4 week trip to the USA. We traveled from Brisbane, Australia and picked Big Bear 9 months before our trip as our place to bring our 3 children for a white Christmas. Syrco Chalet was fantastic and more than we expected for the timber/ log cabin experience. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay in an excellent home. It was well priced and had everything we needed and we loved the open plan living/ dining area downstairs. From sitting in the Spa/Jacuzzi to our daughters sledding in the back yard we thought the experience was excellent. The heating system provided wonderful relief from the below freezing temperatures that we experienced @ night. We would come back and stay at Syrco Chalet tomorrow and Thanks to the staff @ Big Bear Vacations for the information provided prior to the collecting the keys to the house as this made the process so much easier. The only issue we had was having to run the self clean on the oven prior to use as during preheating it filled the house with smoke, minor issue. We will be back at some time in the future and would definitely stay at Syrco again. Cheers
Agoura Hills, CA
The Best Cabin We Ever Stayed In!!
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in November 2009 | barriepenta
I booked this cabin from just looking at the pictures online. We were pleasantly surprised. It was way better than we imagined. It was beautifully decorated, beds were very comfortable, cabin was extremely clean. Kitchen was huge, lots of appliances that you would be used to at home.
The heater worked very well. Fireplace was nice too. Master bedroom was very comfortable, but there is only one shower and it is downstairs. That did not bother us though. We want to book this cabin every year. Loved it!!
Left on 12/10/2009 for a stay in November 2009 | frtr
This home was true to both its description as well as the pictures. Great home for a family with pets. The bedroom and Kitchen were great! The jacuzzi was clean and great for cold nights. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone who wants the true cabin experience!
Los Angeles, CA
Would try a DIFFERENT vacation rental company, next time...
Left on 10/08/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | Xenamere
While the property was clean and the jacquzzi hot, I did not like the fact that
there was 1. No coffee table (how hard can THAT be) 2. No dish washing
soap (some "pseudo" cleaner, I think Mr.Bubble ... gross) 3. No dish towels 4.
No napkins of ANY sort, paper or otherwise 5. No wine glasses (and I called
ahead to confirm and was told there were ... 6. Strict rules on clean up and
check out 7. Uncomfortable beds 8. Too few towels (shower / jacquzzi)
When we mentioned these things to the agent upon returning the keys,
absolutely NOTHING was said in the way of apology or even acknowledgement.
Yes... perhaps we should have called earlier with these complaints...but WHY
should we have to. The property was $600 for three nights for two people.
Wish we'd gone with another company. Big Bear is nice, though. Read more
Thank you for your response to our survey. Big Bear Vacations does not suply properties with paper towels, napkins or wine glasses. Some owners do stock their own properties with wine glasses as a courtesy, however, it is not required to do so. Furniture in each property varies based on the owners taste in decor and comfort.
Left on 09/24/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | MKM912
My wife took me here for my 30th birthday. The cabin is perfect - rustic,
woodsy style but with all the modern amenities so you're not just "ruffin it."
The fireplace and spa were the perfect ambience for chillin out and having a
few drinks. You're a mile's drive (or walk if it's Summer) from many of the
shops and the plaza where many stores and restaurants are. Couldn't have
asked for a better place! :-D
West Hills Ca
Is not Kid friendly
Left on 09/09/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | makroza
If you have young Children under the age of 3 this cabin is not for you, the stairs alone are a concern the front porch has broken furniture and more stairs the rails are broken and children can be seriously hurt.The back porch-deck and spa are dirty and there really isn't any room to b-b-q.......... Read more
Thank you for your response to Syrco Shalet, Unit 657. We will remove the broken furniture. The outside rails on this house will be put back in place. Thank you for your response to our survey. Big Bear Vacations does our best to ensure safety and quality for all of our guests. If at any time during your stay you are not satisfied with accomodations please contact our office so we can take care of the situation immediately.
Good place to stay, almost Great
Left on 09/03/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | A. Banda
This place was a really relaxing, peaceful, and quite location.
The log cabin feel is both in and out of the house I really enjoyed the time and effort spent in doing the upgrade to the home.
The Spa and back yard could have been better. Could have used better planning and set up.
Bedrooms were open and comfortable. The master has a ceiling fan which makes it realy nice and cool. Keeping the windows open upstairs and some down stairs keep the home with flowing air and a comfortable temp.
Close to the lake, nice walking area for pets, great front porch.
We did use the front porch for grillin.
Overall if you want a place to just relax and rest, this is the place.
Orange County, CA
Left on 08/27/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Snowflake Sister
The staff at Keller Williams Big Bear Vacations were very accomodating. When we arrived at the home we were very pleased with the exterior and location. The interior is beautiful and you can tell the homeowners cared very much about their renovation. The big disappointment was when it was time to go to sleep (after a very long day) and found that all the beds were like sleeping on box springs - HARD AS ROCKS - .We were only able to find one twin mattress pad. One son slept in a bed while the rest of us were forced to take blankets & pillows down and slept on the sofa and my husband slept in the recliner - ALL weekend. There was also a big problem with ants in the downstairs bathroom and kitchen. We were continually cleaning ants from the counters and even the toilet. The downstairs toilet did not flush properly and we had to take the tank lid off every time to stop the water. Another problem - the jacuzzi. The water was smelly and dirty. Luckily we have a jacuzzi at home and had brought some water treatment with us - we sure used it! The charcoal grill was inoperable - no propane. The small grill had holes in it and we did not feel it was safe. The rental agreement showed that towels were to be furnished. However there were none in the kitchen at all and we used face towels and paper towels to do dishes. Another odd thing was there was no coffee table or end tables in the living room. We pulled bar stools from the kitchen area to put drinks on while watching TV. Even though we encountered "challenges" we had a great weekend laughing at our little problems and making fun memories. We would not, however, choose this particular cabin home again. Read more
Syrco Chalet is listed as having a charcoal bbq which is provided for the guest to use. There is a propane BBQ at the property that is not able to be used by Big Bear Vacations Guests. Beds differ greatly in softness and comfort level which is a personal preference outside of Big Bear Vacations control. Ants are very common in Big Bear. The best that can be done it to keep kitchens clean and free of water. Big Bear Vacations does its best to rid properties of ants before guest arrivals. We recommend guest inform us of issues as soon as possible so that we may rectify the situation. Spas are cleaned by our in house maintenance staff weekly or before arrivals whichever is first. Again issues can be reported to our main office to be taken care of immediately.
Lif is good!
Left on 08/26/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | good times
We arrived late and the 'late night check-in' was easy to find and helpful.
We enjoyed the home, so what you read in the decription is what you get.
The location is so convienent - close to everything! I usually never go in the hot tubs in any rental, however, this one I did, it was very clean.
We had a terrible time with ants - maybe time of year, upstairs bathroom needs a lock - door will not stay closed.
we will be back next year,sad to say we will not use this rental service again.No communication skills - and they said we left trash behind and were going to charge us an additional fee, not true.
The perfect place......
Left on 07/30/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Gosha
All i am going to write is, that it was really nice, great Jacuzzi. We all had a good time!
Newport Beach, CA
Awesome Cabin! Had the best time!
Left on 05/27/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Tarah
I took my boyfriend to this cabin for the weekend to celebrate his
birthday. It was absolutely amazing. The best part about it, for me,
was the open floor plan from the kitchen to the living/family room. I
feel like those are the two rooms that get used most in a home. This
truly was a wonderful home. The jacuzzi was hot and clean, the
fireplace was working, they had wood cut for us upon arrival. We were
able to bring our two dogs who simply loved getting away. Their
favorite part is that you could walk to the lake in less than 5 minutes.
We will most certainly be back....hopefully it is sooner than later.
Los Angeles, CA
Check It Out!
Left on 01/26/2009 for a stay in January 2009 | henry
We loved everything about this house! It's definitely a log cabin with a modern twist. Six of us celebrated my brother's birthday weekend here, which is located about 5 minutes from snow summit and the village. LOVED IT!
Los Angeles, CA
Best house that Big Bear Vacations has!
Left on 01/08/2009 for a stay in December 2008 | RealityPeople
Myself, my boyfriend and another couple were looking for a serene and relaxing New Years getaway and we found it at the Syrco Chalet! I searched long and hard online and this is the best house on the block! It has plenty of privacy and the amenities were fantastic!
The only bummer about our trip was that the upstairs toilet was EXTREMELY sensitive and clogged on the first use and stayed that way until we left 2 days later. (We called to have a plumber come, but he never showed up.) Also, the linens on the upstairs master bed were inadaquate. The sheets don't even cover the california king mattress! When it's only 40 degrees in the house, you want the mattress linens and bedspreads to cover the bed fully!
Otherwise, the fireplace was fantastic, jacuzzi was heavenly, and the whole house is beautifully appointed. We will for sure come back! When it says "fully stocked kitchen" it means with basic appliances, don't expect to find spices, extra trash bags or paper towels anywhere.
Note: Both bedrooms are upstairs and the master bathroom (shower/tub) is DOWNSTAIRS. It wasn't a problem for us, but for people who need more privacy they may need to consider that.
My only other issue is that Big Bear Vacations has a ridiculous check in/out policy. You pay huge money and you don't even get a full 24 hours in the house for the money! Check in at 4pm check out at 10am!?! No late check out? Seems a little harsh for all the money spent. Read more
Thank you for your response to Unit 657, Syrco Chalet. We have tried to make the property description as precise as possible. We allow late check-outs if there is not a guest coming in on the same day. During the Christmas/New Years time frame we were sold out the entire time and therefore could not allow any late check outs. We will checkon the drain in this unit. Please come and stay with us again and you will have a great time.
huntington beach, california
nice and cozy
Left on 10/30/2008 for a stay in October 2008 | kat
This was a great little house to stay at. Walking distance to some beautiful hiking trails. Our stay was great! Beautiful built home, with a nice warm fireplace and great spa. If you're looking for some relaxation and a place to get away... this is it!
Kevin and Adrienne
Point Mugu, CA
It was fun!
Left on 10/20/2008 for a stay in October 2008 | Kevin and Adrienne
The cabin was great. The only issue we had was that the Dish Network for the house was not working. But, other then that, everything was great. Me, my wife, and the kids all had a great time here. I would definetely stay at this cabin again. Read more
Thank you for your response to Syrco Shalet Unit 657. The Satellite company sent the new cards to the owner but they didn't make to Big Bear in time to avoid a disruption of service. The new cards are now in place and the TV is working fine. Again we are sorry you had this inconvenience. Please come and stay with us again.
Los Angeles, California
Left on 10/14/2008 for a stay in October 2008 | M123
First of all, this property has an alarm of which we were not informed. The alarm went off when we tried to enter and it took forever to get the code. This is a very pretty little cabin--I will say that much, with a full and new kitchen. However, we came with my 79 year old grandfather and nobody told us that the cabin was 2 story with a steep staircase. Needless to say, grandpa was stuck sleeping downstairs on the couch. The bathroom downstairs does not lock--no privacy. The upstairs attic/bedrooms get hot/stuffy due to lack of circulation (at least it did when we went). And the noise carries quite well into the upstairs making it difficult to sleep if there is someone downstairs. The porch is really nice; the kitchen is spacious, and like I said it's a nice little cabin if you don't mind the lack of privacy. I do wish that I knew about the alarm, the stairs, and the fact that one of the "bedrooms" upstairs is basically an open space leading to the master bedroom. Lots of parking space for the cars and it does have a jacuzzi. Read more
Thank your for response to our survey on Syrco Shalet Unit 657. We have verified the desription states the bedroom are upstairs. We are sorry this caused you great discomfort. We are also sorry the alarm was set at your arrival.
We will look at the lock on the downstairs bathroom and make sure there is something there. Please give us another try and we will find you a single story house that will suit you better.
Juli & Clint C.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Beautiful home and great weather
Left on 09/17/2008 for a stay in August 2008 | Juli & Clint C.
This home was newly renovated and very beautiful. We hope to stay again next year.
We loved that we could bring our dog with
us to Big Bear.
Los Angeles Mom x 2
Great Cabin for Picky City Dwellers in Need of Respite
Left on 07/28/2008 for a stay in July 2008 | Los Angeles Mom x 2
This real-wood cabin provided us with a great location in Big Bear (close to the lake/restaurants/main roads) for us to spend our fun-filled family weekend. We have two kids under the age of 5 and this cabin is perfectly located – close to everything (Pirate Ship Adventure/boat rentals just down the street, close to lake/fishing and restaurants etc…). We love to cook so this cabin was great for us because of the wonderful equipment-stocked kitchen and open floor plan. The yard was great for our kids to play in and the hot-tub provided a great end-of-day recovery session under-the-stars for us each evening before we went to bed. The beds were extremely comfortable with sleeping space upstairs…the TV in all the bedrooms is a nice touch. We loved our time in this cabin so much we didn’t want to go home. We will definitely be back…hopefully very soon.
Great for relaxing with plenty of room!
Left on 07/09/2008 for a stay in April 2008 | Tim E.
My wife, my 2-year old son and myself spent 5 nights a Syrco Chalet. The property was fantastic! There is a photo album that show highlights of how the owners built the property. Very talented family they have to have built such a wonderful cabin!
We spent most of the time relaxing, reading books and watching some of our favorite DVD's. We fixed popcorn, BBQ'd, made big breakfasts and sat on the porch and ate some wine and cheese. A perfect getaway to relax and "disappear" for 5-6 days.
We had a great time and look forward to renting this same property again in the future.
Wonderful family retreat
Left on 07/08/2008 for a stay in January 2008 | mountain times
It was a wonderful cabin. Very well cared for which makes you want to treat it well too. We had such a good time and the children loved the loft area. I would recommend this property. What you see in the pictures is what you get. Some properties we have picked in the past were a let down...the pictures were of "better times" and the places were since run down. This property lived up to its pictures and much more. The area was great too!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.