Very charming and quaint. This cabin has two bedrooms plus loft, one bathroom, and beautiful ski slope views. Open vaulted ceiling in the family room and kitchen plus the dining room has floor to ceiling windows. The cabin comes complete with a foosball table, new flat screen HDTV, DVD & blueray player with surround sound, WiFi, Playstation video game system, washer/dryer, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, pots/pans, and more. Large wrap around deck with a hot tub, propane barbecue, and patio furniture for enjoying outside dining or drinks and the views.
Bedroom one... has a queen bed.
Bedroom two has a queen bed.
The loft has two sets of bunk beds and flat screen TV with Play Station and DVD.
Close to Bear Mountain, the golf course, or Moonridge Zoo. Short drive to the lake, Village, Discovery Center, and more. Maximum occupancy 6. Parking for 2 vehicles.
Ski Slope Retreat comes with fresh towels, and beds are made up with fresh linens and plenty of cozy blankets. Our dedicated cleaning crew has the cabin clean and ready before your visit and does the cleaning after your stay.
Sorry, but no pets are allowed at Ski Slope Retreat.
Left on 03/20/2014 for a stay in February 2014 | frankm78
Great cozy cabin, full package setup including surround sound & a hill in the back under the patio that was perfect for the kids ti slide & play in the snow. And only blocks away from near mountain.
Clean the cabin
Left on 01/09/2014 for a stay in January 2014 | Tim
Location is great, good size for family of four since it has only one bath.
Whoever clean this cabin need to do a better job, kitchen floor is sticky, spider web on the dinner chandelier, food crumb still under the sofa pillow ad behind the sofa Read more
Thank you for your review. We will send housekeeping out there to make sure that it is cleaned and spotless. During your stay if you would of contacted our office, we would of been more than happy to send housekeeping out there to get the cabin cleaned to your liking.
Left on 10/18/2013 for a stay in October 2011 | Mike
Came up on a wend price was a lil high for the size of cabin and the weekday but anyways first day lost power called the office left messages no answer had no firewood when it was snowing and had no power the only flash light had no batteries and not a single candle jacuzzi was frozen cold the next day and them we tried to take a shower and my wife had a frozen cold shower them a burning hot shower for a brief second called maintenance he couldn't fix the problem he came back still didnt fix problem we had to take showers at my friends hotel very sad my wife had a bad b day expireance in her first trip to big bear and to too it off I never got a phone call back after the multiple voicemails I left when the power went out ... Didnt even call to check on us but they sure make sure they got there money quick will not use again would have demanded a refund but jut wanted to get home
Left on 10/02/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Yanko
It could be better. In the back balcony is not power outlet, it could be helpful due BBQ is there and is a lot of space to have lunch with family and put some music.
There is speakers in the back that was not working, I called them and no one knows why, and they don't know how to fix and they won't send someone to fix it. So I figure it out, it was disconnected from the stereo, and I know why, if you listen to music on the interior, also the outdoor speakers play, and at night could be a problem for the neighbors. Tv won't play on the sound-round system, only your iPhone 4 or old generation iPads or iPods. Can't use netflix Because DVD is not connected to the Internet.
Everything else, Wonderful.
Shower is nice! Jacuzzi for 8 perfect fit. Fireplace warn up nicely. Heater on the cabin works very good. Refrigerator is really spacious. Beds are comfy but I recommend your own pillows. Play room on the second floor really fun for kids, with a mini gol. The beds there (4 personal) are really comfy, more than the rooms down stairs. Living room comfy and relaxing. Kitchen spacious, and nice rustic table to dining. Driveway for the cars, watch out, if your car is very low it won't make it to claim to the property. Two can will fit.
The address is a little confusing, but iPhone will take you there.
Family of 3
Left on 09/01/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Family of 3
We had a great time! The cabin was just as described and plenty of room! We will definitely be back!
Palm Desert CA
Left on 07/25/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | The Dude
Stayed here with a couple of friends and my family. Had a great time at Ski Slope Retreat. Nice accommodations. Nice location. Great sound system. Close to the zoo. Hot tub was in good working order. Can't wait to stay here in the winter!
Laguna Niguel, CA
Not Perfect But Comfortable
Left on 12/06/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | Weekend Traveler
We stayed here with friends and our kids - 4 adults, 2 babies, and 2 toddlers. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Cool Cabins maintains the cabins like a hotel in the fact that there are fresh linens, it's cleaned, and soap/shampoo/conditioner are provided. Dishes and pots and pans were provided as well as working appliances (fridge, stove, washer/dryer) which was nice and convenient.
The cabin itself is a little old but the bathroom and fireplace have been remodeled, which is a plus. The loft upstairs was comfortable but next time I wouldn't get a loft with little kids because we couldn't stay up and chat since they're kept awake. They loved the foosball table upstairs and a game console was available but we didn't use it since our kids are so young. I would imagine teenagers and older kids would appreciate it, though.
The one constructive feedback I would give is, there wasn't enough lighting in this place. The hot tub however was, by far, the biggest bonus to this cabin. Worked great, it's out on the deck - we loved it.
All in all, a decent cabin for the price. Comfortable, well maintained, and fairly close to the Moodridge Zoo, Alpine Slides, and Bear Village.
Left on 07/27/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | LLT
Great cabin with good layout nestled in a perfect location in Moonridge close to bear mountain and zoo. Loved hearing the wolves howl. Jacuzzi was clean and a fun addition to our stay. Everything is well maintained. The kids loved the loft area with bunkbeds, video games, & foosball. Hope to try this cabin again in the winter for a whole new experience :)
Left on 06/30/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Rags
my wife does not like spiders , so we were not able to open the curtains in any of the windows. the hot tub was not user friendly, could not get it hotter than 95 degrees. Read more
Upon receipt of your review housekeeping was sent to the home to address the issues with spiders and cobwebs. Maintenance was also sent to the home to address the issues with the hot tub. If you had called us at any time to report these issues we would have exhausted all measures to ensure an enjoyable stay. We hope you are willing to give us another chance in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 04/23/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | spring breaker
Loved it...like home. Was clean...my three kids loved it...
manhattan beach california
A fun get away with pretty scenery.
Left on 02/29/2012 for a stay in February 2012 | Carol
The cabin was very cute,cozy and nice to come into after the snow. It was a good size for the 3 of us. The beds and furniture were very comfortable. Had a great view of the slopes, but not too close for any traffic. The phoseball table and kids area in the loft was fun. We enjoyed walking around the quiet nieghborhood. It was great to have a jacuzzi and there was a beautiful view of the stars from the deck at night. It was nice having sleds to use and also the washer and dryer. The only thing I would have liked would be a dishwasher.
Lake Forest, Ca.
Needs Improvement to match the cost
Left on 12/29/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | mountain mama
The house location was great.
The house lacked any directions; mainly for use of the TV and its four remotes, the hot tub (temperature did not get beyond 98 degrees), hot water heater (little hot water in shower).
The dishes in the cabinets were dirty with bacon grease. Toilet flush needs adjustment otherwise toilet would run all the time. Kitchen sink faucet drips.Side bed table lamps would be great for reading in bed, instead of overhead light. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins and Ski Slope Retreat. According to our records you did call and report the issue with the television and we sent maintenance with an universal remote. The maintenance tech did determine that the universal remote did resolve the issue reported. None of the other issues you mentioned were reported during your stay; had you have called and reported these issues at any time Big Bear Cool Cabins would have attempted to resolve these issues within their power. Upon receipt of your review we did send maintenance to the property to address any issues with the hot tub, toilet, and kitchen sink. Housekeeping has been informed of the issues with the dishes at the property, and the owner of the property has been informed of the recommendation for lamps in the bedroom. Once again I would like to thank you for staying with Big Bear Cool Cabins and for sharing the details of your trip. We hope to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Way too fun!!!
Left on 12/21/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Sam
The cabin is amazing. It was very clean and comfortable. My friends and family were extremely pleased with our space in the cabin. It is just maybe 2 minutes from bear mountain on a very quite hill. The hot tube was great fun in the snow! Our cabin was also full of thing you might forget like pots and pans. The cabin also has a washer and dryer that really helps out when your stuff is wet from shredding the mountain all day. I would happily suggest this winter destination to anyone that wants a cabin with great views and great amenities. I can't wait till next year!
Great cabin! bad service !
Left on 12/21/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Willie
The cabin layout is great very functional and and warm great for family vcation
But the bad part is that u got to take out ur own trash where the dump site
Is pretty far away epecialy with snow condition and
We try check late check many times and was giving a hard time
and run around. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with trash disposal as well as the customer service you received upon request for a late check out. City ordinance mandates that trash be disposed of at a designated disposal site. Upon check in we do provide all of our guests with exact locations of each trash site in the Big Bear Valley. Thank you once again; we hope you are willing to give us another try in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Left on 12/14/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | The Silva's
This cabin was awesome! Nice beds, clean linens. The mud room was awesome to hang and store wet snow gear. We walked to the zoo with our kids and they loved it. Really cool little zoo! The upstairs loft was a hit with the kids. The spa was clean and perfect. We would rent again.
Chris and Lonnie
Great little cabin
Left on 12/01/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Chris and Lonnie
This cabin was very nice, the stereo/tv issue i read in a previous review was simple to figure out once you relize the stereo controls are in the cabinet between the recliners.
stayed 3 nights a little pricey but we had fun, the pictures make it look alot bigger than it really is. it is a somewhat small little cabin but again its only 2 bed 1 bath. I would stay there again. But try a different time of the year when maybe the price wasnt up.
Thanks for all the help we will be back!
Left on 10/28/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Jim
Cute, comfortable place. Very happy with it. The only slight negative was that there where a number of remotes and we never did figure out the system. Perhaps there should be a chart or something to help ease the confusion. Was the ceiling fan operated by remote? we never could get that to work.
Those are small complaints, though. The cabin was wonderful! Read more
Thanks for the GREAT review! We are in the process of placing directions for the TV/DVD system as well as the ceiling fan! We hope to welcome you to Big Bear in the future!
Absolutely fabulous experience!
Left on 10/13/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Happy Couple
We stayed the weekend and had a great time. The cabin was better than the pictures. Everything was clean and just how it should be. Going back 100% for sure! Staff at Cool Cabins was awesome.
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | john
Nice cabin would have been more helpful to have instructions on tv and spa
Had to call management twice for help
Great a-frame cabin
Left on 06/16/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Julie
Great house for family with young children. Our 3 year old and 2 year old slept upstairs on the floor bunks. We used the huge bean bag chairs to block the stairs at night. Very cozy - we fell in love with the house immediately. Also love the huge wood dining table and views from the large window. Kids loved hunting for pine cones outside. Couldn't figure out how to play Dvds though. Would love to come back during winter time.
We felt like we were staying in a hotel with the excellent svc
Left on 03/02/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | Snow Happy
We come to Big Bear every year for President's weekend and this is the first time we have used Cool Cabins, however we will be using them from now on.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.