|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Click here for Virtual Tour http://www.realtourvision.com/tour/IN/tour.view.new.php?utl=IN-7204-0GF5QH-01
This cabin has 3 bedrooms and 3 baths located close to the village and just minutes to the slopes or lake. This house was built in 1964 and is in its original build condition. The large kitchen is fully equipped and has a dining area. The living room has a fireplace and TV/DVD. The first bedroom has a King, the second a Queen, and the third has 2 full beds. There are three baths and a deck with a BBQ. The backyard is fenced and has an outdoor spa plus air hockey game. This property has Internet so bring your own Ethernet cord. Good...Read more
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$280 - $505||$280 - $505||$0||$1,300||1 night|
|Mar. 31 2013 - May. 23 2013||$280||$280||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$303||$303||-||-||-|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$303||$303||-||$1,300||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$393||$393||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$505||$505||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$438||$438||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$280||$280||-||$1,300||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$280||$280||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$325||$325||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$303||$303||-||$1,300||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$348||$348||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$393||$393||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$505||$505||-||-||-|
|View all 39 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
The layout was good. The downstairs includes a master which has its own full bath, king bed, and TV with cable (no remote). The second bedroom has a queen bed and its own full bathroom, but no door on the bathroom. There's also a "play room" with an air hockey table. The air hockey table doesn't work; the puck doesn't "float" on the air and the puck is all chipped. The table also rocks really bad. The hot tub is on the back porch downstairs. We fit 5 people comfortably, it was clean.
Upstairs (the level the entrance is on) is the 3rd bedroom with 2 full beds. The doors on this room slide closed, but there is a gap in the bottom. By the front door is the 3rd full bathroom.
The kitchen is full; includes most cooking things you need, although some are very used and gross looking. There is a kitchen table with 6 chairs. No air conditioning, but the heat works fine.
The living room is different than the pictures show. The TV is HD. The internet does require an ethernet cord, but just bring a wireless router and you can use all the various devices. There is only a 3 person couch and one chair in the living room (I think the couch pulls out), so we were on the floor or in the table chairs when hanging out. There's a DVD player and I think VHS, but we didn't use them, so I don't know if they were good. There is cable.
The modem was broken when we got there; we got in so late we had to wait until the morning. They were very quick to fix it. There was also a huge spider web in the lamp by the fireplace. Stuck my hand in without looking -- gross. There were some ants as well. There was also a mouse in the cabin.
15 minute walk to the village. 15 minute drive to Boulder Bay or the airport. Close drive to the golf course and Snow Summit. Friendly staff. We enjoyed ourselves!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/29/2012
Thank you very much for your review of Shooki’s. Your feedback is very useful as it can allow us to determine problems when they arise and help to prevent such issues from occurring for other guests when preventable. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed the house so much! If your considering a return visit to Big Bear Lake, please feel free to call us at (855) 856-6706 and speak to one of our helpful Vacation Planners to rebook Shooki’s. We look forward to helping you plan your next vacation.
Fantastic! Will rent this cabin again!
We were planning on staying at a hotel in town - when we checked in it was pretty shady. I called Bbvr and they offered up this cabin for the same night.
It was perfect for my young sons, parents, sister and nephew. There was a ton of space and the two story layout was great. We played cards at the kitchen table and my son checked out the "hot pool".
Thanks Bbvr for helping turn a potentially rough night into a great memory!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/23/2012
Thank you for your review of Shooki's. We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your winter time stay in Big Bear Lake. If you are contemplating a summer time trip to Big Bear, our Vacation Planners are able to help your find the right home for your future vacation.
Did not get my money's worth!
Couch was dirty, dining room chair was broken, air hockey table didn't work, jacuzzi had a strong smell of bleach that bleached my brother in laws shorts,bed matresses were old and uncomfortable. The place itself needs improvements.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/30/2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. We strive to have our homes at clean state for your arrival. We do have in-house housekeeping staff to rectify any issues that may arise during your stay. This is also true in regards to amenities you might find are not functioning in the home, we have maintenance technicians available to assist you twenty-four hours a day. We appreciate you taking the time to review Shooki's since the information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
just what we paid for;)
The cabin was nice for the price. Good things: the hot tub was perfect the shower in master was very nice with two shower heads, fireplace worked great and kept us warm. The water was good for all showers, but the sink leaked in the kitchen. The heater for the house was hot for sure if not too hot. It was simple and old, but did not feel dirty or unkept. Overall happy with stay for sure.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/07/2012
It's great to see you had such a nice time in Shooki's. And thank you so much for the informative review! We evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
Extremely great location and good value for the price!
As you walk up to the cabin it doesn't seem like much from the outside. The front door opens into the living room with a TV, couch (couch turns into a pullout bed), chair and fireplace. Just behind it is a bedroom (which you can close off with the pocket doors) which has two full size beds (perfect for kids). A sliding door leads out to a balcony that overlooks the woods, there is a BBQ grill on this balcony. On this same floor there is a full kitchen with functioning fridge/stove/microwave, etc, and a dining table for about 6 people. As you walk back toward the front door, there is a full bathroom and stairs leading to the bottom floor.
The bottom floor has three rooms. The first room is a game room which contains a functioning air hockey table. The other two rooms are both master bedrooms (each with its own full bathroom). You can choose between a king bed or a queen bed, but beware! The room with the queen bed has no door to its bathroom! I repeat, the bathroom in the queen master bedroom has no door. However, the entire room does have a door so if you have no problem with that (which I didn't) then you'll be absolutely fine. Only problem is that you can hear everyone walking around in the upstairs because the floor creaks. The bottom floor also has a sliding door to the outside deck where there's a fully functioning jacuzzi that can fit 4 regular size people. The only problem we had was that the chlorine damaged some of the guys' swim trunks, they turned funny colors.
Overall this place is a great value for the money since it was able to fit 8 adults comfortably. We didn't pull out the couch since we thought there may have been spiders living under it, but sitting on it is alright. Plenty of hot water after we all took showers. We even used the oven to bake an apple pie. The thermostat/heater works perfectly so we weren't freezing at night. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the cabin is a bit old, dark, and a little smelly.
Happly ever after
Palm Springs, CA
Hoping for the best
This property is very nice, but this is the second property that we stay in that weekend. the first property was horrable
(sportsmen #166) it look nice on the pictures then have on-line but in real time it's a barn it clam to sleep seven; yea if your a family migets. is was uncomfrontable an unstayable, we miss a whole day of our weekend vacation. there was blood on one of the walls in one of the lofts but the next day went we complained the person that placed the trip changed us to a very nice spot (for an addional $100) but it was great after that. so be very careful when making your vacation choice
Had a Nice Time!
Overall the cabin was lovely with an excellent air hockey table. It had just the right amount of room and space.
The cabin was very dirty. The fridge did not keep anything cold. We Couldnt adjust the temp so it was always very very hot in the cabin. The railing on the deck was so loose we Couldnt let kids out there because it looked like it might break in some places if you put any Presure on it. The towels that were left in the bathrooms for us to use still had dirt on them from the previous guests or just Hadnt been washed in a while. For the amount you pay for this cabin it was not worth it at all. You can stay in a very nice hotel for less. You have to pay extra for them to clean when you leave but I Dont think they actually do. At a hotel they clean your room daily and you Dont have to pay an extra $150.
had a great time
The cabin had enough sleeping for 7 people. The bedrooms downstairs had a bad smell and very dusty. The windows hadn't been cleaned in a while. When I reserved the cabin I was told it had it's own boat dock, that was not the case. We had to drive to the marina. There was a trash bag left in the backyard from the people before us,cigarettes everywhere and broken glass. If cleanliness is your thing I would not recommend this cabin.
Great Location, Lot's of space
This is a good Cabin for a great price. It's an older cabin and it shows in some places, but it's very comfortable and has lots of room. We enjoyed our stay.
BB TROUT CLASSIC PARTICIPANTS
We liked the layout of the house, however we have an extensive list to follow that we did not like, but also, could be dangerous and hig a high liability to the owner and your management company.
Living room: CD player non-operative; both pole lightsnon-op woth exposed wiring; no lights in ceiling fan at stairway; no light cover, ceiling rose wiring exposed; decorative sled on ceiling not secure; no poker or working tongs for fireplace.
Kitchen: Exposed wiring in cabinet above rangehood; 2 cabinet door handles missing; one drawer would not close, pipe in the way; oven handle loose; fridge bottom shelf broken in half and door shelves missing; thermostat does not work...either too cold or it cooks you!
Bedroom (off living room)pocket doors would not close...off track; chair very rickety.
Outside balcony: Real safety violations! Rail loose, missing slats, very unstable. Anyone leaning against the railing would fall.Deck twisted, nails exposed and bench on deck falls over, cannot sit in it.
Downstairs: no light in game room.
Master bedroom: wood wall by bathroom coming loose, bathroom shower doors not on or missing track;shower dirty, moldy.
Second downstairs bedroom: No bathroom door,toilet coming off wall, sink stopped up and dirty, ceiling light panel cracked and water stained, ceiling paint peeling.
Jacuzzi: Filthy..water cloudy we would not use it!!
It would have been nice to know you do not provide pot holders, oven mitt, kitchen towels, dishwasher soap, only 2 glasses no teaspoons. We left glasse3s cups & wine glasses for next renters.
We also just realized we left an Emiril Luggase pot. We will be calling you on that.
This is not the first time we rented thru BB Vacations. The previous year we were in cabins so we expected a little rough. We did not expect this to be rough.
We are very dissappointed and doubt we will use BB Vacations again.
Fun but lots of hard work
If you enjoy being spoiled, don't rent a cabin. There is so much extra work you have to do while you are there. Lots of crazy rules. This place was fun for the family. The restroom in the downstairs bedroom leaked water through the walls due to snow build up. The spa was nice but the deck needs to be redone. Not safe for the kids. Stairs are a little scary too. We still had a great time.
The cabin itself is great for our family; 2 adults, 3.5yo, 13yo & 17yo (dog too). We decided rather quickly that the teenage boys could take the downstairs, given they each had their own bathrm, bedrm & air hockey rm! I must say though, the air hockey rm needs to have the door put back on! It's also where the furnace runs & heats up to high degrees.The upstairs room has 2 double beds, which worked out fine for me & hubby & 3.5 yo.There are & it comes with a little floor fan to drown out noises, ie, air hockey. Also upstrs is another full bathrm. The kitchen is very well stocked.The living rm was small, The jacuzzi will fry your retinas, due to way too much chlorine!! We used it once or twice and went running into our showers to wash off the burn & moisturize. On that note, you can actually have multiple showers going and not lose pressure or heat! You can even flush the toilet, that alone is worth 5 stars to me. Overall we were very pleased and will definitely be back. Location was good, I would have to say everything felt to be in a .5 to 2.0 mile radius. Very quiet, not cramped with cabins. Mind you nothing glorious, just a good old fashioned cabin. Lastly, if anyone found my favorite paperboy hat, could you please return it! I'm also missing red dog lead which we never used because he absolutely loved the place and the snow! Ty! As far as the rental office, very nice but forgot several things, like our pre ordered firewood, our lift tickets and a general lack of sense of direction, if that makes sense. It was a bit weird but overall they were friendly. I tried to request an early check in because of dog and the same girl, just refused to be of any help. Now the other girl, sara I believe was great! Very helpful!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/01/2011
Thank you for responding to our survey. We are sorry yur firewood didn't make it to the house. We try to give people the best directions possible. We hope you were able to enjoy yourself while in Big Bear.
San Diego, CA
Great for a girls weekend getaway.
I went up with 7 of my girlfriends and we had a great time at this cabin! They could stock a few more cups in the pantry and update/fix it up a little. The only complaint was there was no door on one of the bathrooms downstairs so that made for some awkward mornings. I would definitely stay here again though!
R bar! Los Angeles 3331 w. 8th street
Awesome, so fun and unforgettable...love cabin and staff
I had read a few negative reviews before staying but all was great for us!
The hot tub worked fine, I wasn't charged for trash removal and the staff were courteous and prompt.
We actually asked for someone to come check the hot tub because it had just been turned on and we wanted it to be working its best that eve... they had someone there in a half hour!
The neighbor was a little rude one
night because someone accidentally parked too close to her house. (there was only a "no trespassing" sign on a nearby tree. No "no parking" sign and it was hard to tell where the property line was)
As far as this rental company goes... We were thrilled and we will be back!!!
It was fun.
The cabin was great. It exceeded my expectations.The cabin is in a nice and quiet area, close to snow summit. It provided a lot of space and comfort.
Garden Grove CA 92843
water save/clean up team
1) I am totally feel happy with that unit house.
2) The ownner should replace low fluss toilet to save water, the current unit cost to much water.
3) There are 2 sink drain too slow, whoever takecare that unit should look at them before they are completely plug.
4) The last thing I want to say is honest between the Rental Office, the Cleaning Crew and I. Before I left the house my Wife and I go around from inside to outside looking for trash bag. I am the one to dump trash at the trash bin #1. The $25 extra charge for trash bag, is not right
if you just listen to Cleaning Crew without me.Can the Cleaning Crew provide information about the trash bag ? How big the bag is, where is it, What color is it.
5) I and my cousin left a necklace on the top of the Zacuzi,
I know for sure 100%, but it is not return to me, Who is dishonest person ?
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 12/19/2010
Thank you for respondng to our survey. Your necklace was found. I hope by the time this is posted you have been contacted or recieved the necklace. There is no $25 charge for a trash bag-there is a charge for trash that is left at the house-if the trash needs to be gathered up and put in a bag (a bag is 25 gal or a partial bag) the guest is charged. Trash left at a house is a calling card for the local critters. Trash left outside is torn apart by crows or coyotes. We hope you were able to enjoy yourselves while in Big Bear. Thank you for visiting us in Big Bear and we hope you come again.
Jessica of Santa Monica
Comfortable but expensive
The cabin was comfortable but was on the expensive side. Couldnt check in until 4 which meant the dogs and luggage had to be squished into the cab while we were on the slopes and while we ate. Huge Downside. A noon check in would have been a lot better.The check out list pricing was ridiculious. $25 here, $50 charge there. There was a charge if the windows werent all locked..as we went around to check them (we didn't open any) we found almost all of them were unlocked. Good location,nice fenced yard, and air hockey table were great for the dogs and kids.
will not rent thru Big Bear Vacations again
The cabin was nice sized, pretty clean and in a pretty good location. Walking distance to village, lake...however,
many light bulbs were out, leak in upstairs bathtub,
My issue is with the company that I rented thru. When we got there we found out we need to take our trash to a dumpsite or there would be a $25 fee for every bag left. We had to make sure all dishes were washed and put away (I get that, but who says the last person washed with soap!) We are non smokers, but we had to pick up cigarette butts that were left out by the hot tub so I wouldn't be charged $15. If windows and doors aren't locked there is a $15 charge,So I don't mind cleaning up after myself but then why charge me a cleaning fee?? A $320 cabin became about $400 after all the booking fee (I booked it myself online), cleaning fee, insurance fee were added on.
Another thing, checkout is 11:00 so we wake up Sun morn, make breakfast and spent the whole morning cleaning and checking everything so I wouldn't be charged any extra fees..lost out last morning.
Next time I'll rent a hotel or a cabin thru Craigs list
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/29/2010
Thank you for esponding to our survey. our pricing is competitive for Big Bear. We ask that trash be taken away in that trash left in a house bring critters to the house. Trash cannot be left curbside in that our trash pick up service only picks up from homes with full time occupancy. Birds and coyotes scavenge trash left outside. Any door or window left open in the winter will cause freezing and therfore broken pipes in the winter (We understand your stay as not a winter stay). We try to alleviate this by saying there is a charge for doors left unlocked. Also all rental home are required to have signs out front saying it is a rental home. The doors and windows need to be locked when a house is left unoccupied. We are sorry this inconvenienced you. We hope you were able to enjoy yourself while in Big Bear.
when I called they said just bring trash bags and paper towels everything else would be there.
Not very many utensils for cooking, and no salt, pepper, sugar etc.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/29/2010
Thank you for responding to our survey. Our emailed check-in paper work gives suggestions as to what to bring. Paper towels is on the list. We don't leave food staples or food items at the house in that this does not give most people a secure feeling. We will checkon ghe in house utensils and add to house as needed. We hope you had some fun while in Big Bear.
The house has everything you need. The yard was perfect for the dog. The air hockey was popular, and the jacuzzi was used nightly after a long day mountain bike riding. This place is located close to everything and we were able to walk to the Village as well as being close to the mountain lift for riding.
Los Angeles, CA
convinient and relaxing
the place was nice and quiet. Lots of things to do in the area and not a whole lot of driving was necessary.
Me and some friends went for just one night, which is unfortunate because it was a nice place to stay. The customer service is great when I called. The person I spoke with was more than helpful in trying to find a good location for some friends to stay. The place was good, right between the lake and the village pretty much. I loved the jacuzzi and the cabin in general was a nice place to hang out during the day and celebrate at night. I would recommend this place.
san clemente, ca
My family was lucky to hit the best snow storm in the last decade! The city of Big Bear was a winter wonderland. The home was appropriate for our families needs. The staff at check in/out was friendly, helpful and mostly prepared. We will definatley book again with big bear vacations. Thank you.
Long Beach, CA
Great service and great stay
The service was excellent. Roads were closed and we were unable to get to our scheduled check in. BBV called us to let us check in whenever we got there and moved our reservation over a day. They were very kind and understanding of our needs. The cabin we chose was excellent. It was clean, maintained and everything was as advertised. The thing that we liked the least was that nearly all the roads were closed, which is completely out of BBV's control.
It was good for a bunch of college students. Had enough room and most everything we needed. Most of the doors throughout the house do not work properly. Master room door need to be almost ripped off the hinges to open, sliding doors in other rooom do not come out. Also the heater does not work properly. Downstairs is like 90 degrees and upstairs people are shivering. Besides those things it was a good time.
glendale , ca
it was the best
we all like the house it was nice place clean and very nice location , but the place is advertised for 8 but the there are only place to set on the table to eat 6, that's the only thing, but other then that it's a cool place and the manegement is avelible to talk anything time i called to someone to come out for the jacuzy they repair man came out in minutes, very nice work
Great cabin! Two things I would want to see improved are the addition of a door in
the second bedroon bathroom. Also the floor of the upstairs bedroom (or the
master bedrooms ceiling) is quite squeaky, and you can hear evey movement of
the people staying above you. Other than that, we enjoyed it very .
My sisters and I had a fabulous time. The cabin was beautiful and cozy; we felt at home. The rooms were spacious and the cabin in general had everything a home would have. Will definitely come back next year!
House was good, we had a blast at Octoberfest
Main Street near the village
Nice quiet stay
We liked the house. Had modest decor and we enjoyed the spa. The location was good which kept us walkable to the Village and a very quiet street.
So So Folks
Is just So So
We rented it for the forth of July weekend. It was a bit on the dirty side but I guess it is a cabin. It has several pieces on furniture that are broken and unusable. I guess that would be OK but one of the pieces was a bed and we needed it. It true that there is a spa out back but we had to clean the yard of broken beer bottles before we could use it or the backyard. I am glad we found this little surprise in the daylight with shoes on! The bottom line is I would not recommend this cabin to others. For the price there are better or at least safer ones to be had.
We were upgraded to this cabin. I had some concern after reading the other reviews, but we didn't have any problems. There was some trash left in a bathroom, but other than that, the cabin was clean and quiet. It was a great location and the staff was courteous.
San Diego, CA
The home location was good but the place is a little run down and did not have sheets on all the beds. It could use a good clean up and some TLC but it served the purpose for our trip. For the price of the home for 1 night it was not a good deal.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/24/2009
Big Bear vacations utilizes competitive pricing for all properties. Guests can pick up extra linnens at the main office. Big Bear Vacations has a in house house keeping staff.
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA
QUIET, RELAXING AND PET FRIENDLY
I needed some R&R and was able to get some....was a little large for my party we could have taken a smaller place but having the fenced in yard for our dogs was wonderful even though we also did the dog walking. There were dog droppings from previous tenants so obviously they were not from California or Nevada and this was not included in the clean up...
It had some flaws (Please replace the non- working reclining chr - very uncomfortable),you could correctly fix the frame for the King size bed so box springs fit in to make bed sleepable, clean carpeted area.
All in all it was very peaceful and enjoyable had clean bedding, great pillows, clean fluffy towels and especially enjoyed the rustic decor.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/09/2009
Thank you for your response to our survey on Shookies, Unit 250. The King bed frame has been adjusted. It was set for an Eastern King when the bed is a Cal King. The Recliner has been repaired. Again thank you for your response and please come to Big Bear Lake again.
Be sure to bring plates, 409 cleanser and a couch
First off, we found a condom box and one flip-flop (right-foot) on the front porch, not the best first impression.
Cleanliness, is next to...?
The cabin was simply dirty, the carpet felt creepily alive, the kitchen table, counters and sink were grimy. I don't know if someone with stumps for hands cleaned this place but it felt like it. I salute EOE's but this is ridiculous. We took it upon ourselves to leave it cleaner than we found it. I still pray a silent prayer that the sheets were clean. Are you there God? It's me, ThickPants.
The shower in the downstairs master bedroom was manic at best, every thirty seconds or so it would either scald me or shiver me detox-style.
The La-Z-Boy chair was hopelessly broken, I think too many asses belonging to frat boys or fat boys ruined it. Another item regarding seating, the couch, if you squeeze together, it will fit four people. Add in the broken/fugly recliner (which doesn't recline) and you get a total seating for five. This is great if the cabin sleeps five people, not so much when it sleeps eight. I hope you like sitting in a kitchen chair to relax on the weekends.
Sleeps 8, serves 4.75:
The theme for shorting a good portion of your eight person party continues with dinner. Seating for six, plates for three and a mix match set of various cups and glasses for five. The crazy thing, cutlery for 100's! Watch out for the silverware drawer, it will fall on you and crush your feet.
The dishwasher left suds, foam & bubbles on the floor when we ran it the first night. Don't use it, unless you want to have a Bubble Rave.
In the end, if "Shooki's #250" sounds like an experimental smear in a petri dish, then this will be the lone area that the cabin will not disappoint.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/19/2009
Big Bear Vacations apologizes for the condition of Shookies #250 during this guests stay. We hold a high standard of cleanliness and inspection for our homes. sometimes outside of our control items from homes go missing such as plates cooking utensils etc. We request that guest let us know if something like this is missing so we can have it immediately replaced.
We were very upset the minute we arrived to the cabin. When we
entered, nothing was ready. All the beds were unmade, all the towels
were used and on the floors, the back door was unlocked, there was
still trash in the trash cans. I don't know why they make us wait to
check in until 3 if they're not going to have anything ready for us.
Secondly, the air hockey table was on the floor, so we had to play on
our knees because the legs on the wood had broke from previous
users. One of the beds in the first bedroom was broken, and the
kitchen drawers handles were also broken. We were not happy.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/24/2009
Thank you for yur response to our survey on Unit 250, Shooki's. We are more than embarrassed you checked into a dirty unit. This is something that should never happen. I hope you will let us try to give a much better future experience. The air-hockey table will be repaired by the end of February. Again, thank you for your survey response.
Janette & Will
Thousand Oaks, CA
Cute & Cozy Cabin Experience
Overall it was a great experience. It was very "cabin" like. Cute, cozy and decorated like your grandma's house. It was very convenient having 3 bathrooms. And the hot tub was very nice. A few things I would recommend is to provide dishwasher detergent, fix the sliding shower door in the downstairs bathroom(it kept falling off) and put a shower head on the other shower downstairs. Other than that, no complaints. Thanks for a great time!
Nice Cabin, Great for Group Vacations
Great Home, enjoyed our stay. didn't feel cramped or small at all. Very spacious.
Great big cabin
Great large cabin. Everything in good shape for a rental. Lots of space for everyone and great spa. Huge backyard is fenced off. Dog friendly rental our dachshunds had a great time running around in the snow.
Needs attention and there were s afety issues.
We had fun, however they need to work on the cleanliness of the home. When we drove up the entire front yard and patio was covered with trash, empty bottles, etc. The carpet inside is very old and extremely dirty and stained, and should have been replaced years ago. We were told we would have one set of towels per guest but we were shorted by two entire sets. The dishes in the cupboards had crusted food and stains on them. They should have been checked prior to use checking in. Also, there was a big safety issue. I found an old peice of wood laying on the ground with about 40 rusty nails sticking out of it. Thank god I found it before one of our children fell into it or anyone stepped onto it. This is a lawsuit waiting to happen, and yes I did notify the management comapny of this. Further, the air hockey was fun, but the legs were missing and were just thrown up on the shelves next to it. That's not right and should have been fixed prior to use checking in. We still had a good time but I would not recommend this company as they did not take care of basic safety and cleanliness issues.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/02/2009
Thank you for your response to Unit 250, Shookies. We are making a new base for the Air Hockey table. We have an in-house housekeeping staff and are reviewing your statement with them. We will clean up the yard and look for debris. We want all of our guests to have a safe and enjoyable stay. Please come and stay with us again. We will give you a better experience.
I would recommend this cabin to anyone, it was nice and cozy perfect for a nice getaway.
Nice but not for that much money!
We only sayed at this cabin for one night which costed us $200+. At first it appeared to be a very nice place, but small issues with the jacuzzi tub,electricity, A/C, and over all cleanliness of the place made it a less pleasant stay. I recommend that every renter check the property in the presence of an agent before they commit to rent.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 09/29/2008
Thank you for your response to Shookies, Unit 250. The spa has been replaced. We will verify the electrical is working ok. Big Bear homes usually don't have air-conditioning (only 5% do) Night time temperatures get down to 40-50 even in the summer. We cool down the house by opening windows and turning on a fan to create a cross breeze. We are sorry this caused you an inconvenience. we have an in-house housekeeping service which cleans our homes. We are happy to respond to any housekeeping problem you encounter. Again, thank you for your response to our survey. This will help us give better client service in the future.
I have rented from Big bear vacations before and this home was not what I expected. You pay extra just for the jacuzzi and the water in the jacuzzi was so dirty that at first we tried to ignore it but when the water would hit your face it would taste horrible and would make your eyes water. I will not rent from Big Bear vacations again
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 08/05/2008
Thank you for responding to our survey on Shooki's. Needless to say, we are extremely sorry you experienced a dirty spa while you were on vacation. We have a 24 hour maintenance service who could have cleaned the spa while you were. This spa has had most of it working parts replaced in the last 2 weeks. We are so sorry you don't wish to use again. Please reconsider. We want to provide our guests with a quality product and your response is helping us do that.
Plenty of elbow room but needs some fixing
Our reservation for this cabin went very smoothly and all employees were very nice at check-in and check-out. There were 5 of us so the 3 BR 3 BA worked real well for us. The completely fenced-in yard was a must since we brought our doggie (he loved "his" vacation).
This place had some problems. We attempted to use the land-line phone in the cabin to call local Big Bear restaurants. There were no written instructions...we tried "9"+number and other possibilities w/o success. So, we called the rental office (from a cell phone)and asked what to do---the gal didn't know and said she would check and get right back to us....she never called back. So we had to use our cell phones to make local calls---not good customer service.
Next was the shower in one of the smaller bedrooms (Queen bed)-----the shower head would only spray straight ahead (not down) in a forceful shot (like needles)...so this shower could not be used by the person in the adjoining bedroom. Also the same bedroom/bathroom did not have any door separating the bedroom from the bathroom!! no privacy!!
The next problem was in another bathroom (main floor)---the wall heater did not work so showering in here was a bit chilly.
The next problem was in the "master" bathroom (connected to the bedroom with the King bed). The sliding shower doors need to be totally replaced. Once you step into the shower, you must carefully close the shower door. Do not make the mistake of thinking you can move the other slider half because if you do it will come off it's rail and you'll be stuck there trying to hold this big piece of glass all naked and dripping wet.
We would not stay here again unless management could promise that all these issues had been fixed. Too bad because we really liked the roomy-ness and the layout.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/22/2008
Thank you fors you input on Shookie's. We are so sorry this cabin had too many problems. They all need to be rectified. The showerhead has been replaced. We have repaired the shower doors. We are checking with he owner to see what we can do about the lack of a door for the queen bedroom. Our Guest Services Relations clerk should have been able to help regarding the telephone and we are sorry this wasn't the case. All the phones and the phone lines in the cabins aare supplied by the the cabins' owners. They are standard home use telehones. You should have been told that. Please allow us the opportunity to give a quality stay with us. Please call us about this stay.
When we arrived there was so much dog crap we had to call for a clean up, The Dish washer didnt work the doors to the main leval bed room had fallen off their track the pool table is a joke and the HOT tub was way TOOOOOOOOOOO HOT and the controls were not to be found this place needs some tlc but quick! Strange to get a review form 7 months after we were there???????????
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/19/2008
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Shooki's. We service all of our hot tubs before every arrival to ensure they are clean and the right temperature. If for some reason this is not the case, our maintenece department is always a phone call away to make the necessary repairs. The on-line pictures represent the amenities accurately in all of our houses. We apologize if this house did not meet your expectations and look forward to making your next trip to Big Bear Lake more enjoyable.
Mark - Venice Beach, CA
Great Spa and Close 2 the Slopes!
We had a great time at this home. Perfect for a large family or group of friends. We cooked a ton and the kitchen served its purpose well! Property was close to the slopes and the spa downstairs was perfect after a long day of snowboarding!!! Looking forward to going again soon!!!