Finch Chalet #1010
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Click here for Virtual Tour http://rtvpix.com/IN-0368-2TXXOT-01
The Finch Chalet has a lake view and is located in the Eagle Point area where you can walk to the lake and is just a short drive to Snow Summit Ski Resort, the village shops and fine restaurants. The house sits on a huge lot and is a very spacious two story home in quiet and peaceful setting. The home includes a full kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, and dining room with table that seats six people plus a dining bar with stools for five more people and laundry. The living room has high vaulted ceilings and a wood burning fireplace plus a 42" TV/DVD and a wireless interne...Read more
Finch Chalet #1010
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$450 - $825||$450 - $825||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$450||$450||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$488||$488||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$600||$600||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$600||$600||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$638||$638||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$825||$825||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$600||$600||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$600||$600||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$713||$713||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$450||$450||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$450||$450||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$450||$450||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$525||$525||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$488||$488||-||-||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$600||$600||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$563||$563||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$600||$600||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$638||$638||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$825||$825||-||-||-|
|View all 37 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
CSULA - Sigma Lambda Gamma Retreat
Los Angeles, California
The home was very nice and in a very quite community. We all enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/23/2012
Thank you for your review of Finch Chalet. We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your winter time stay in Big Bear Lake. If you are contemplating a summer time trip to Big Bear, our Vacation Planners are able to help your find the right home for your future vacation.
I was not happy with this cabin at all. I will not recommend any one at all!!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/22/2012
Thank you for your constructive criticism. We appreciate all feedback that our guests have to offer.
Santa Ana Ca
Great family time
Our family enjoyed it. It was confortable, and the location was excelent.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/15/2012
It’s excellent to see you had such a wonderful time at Finch Chalet! We’re very pleased to see the home met your expectations and hope you will consider us for future stays here in Big Bear!
Fun just wish the ac and refrigerator worked.
It's spacious and lovely! The only two problems encountered were the air conditionder not working and later the refrigerator not keeping our food and drinks cold, so they spoiled :(
family get away
clean,close to everything definatly will go back again the kids enyoy the cabin
MORENO VALLEY CA
It was Beatiful, relaxing and great Experiense
I like Evrything in the cabin!!! It was Confortable the inside was clean! We all had a great time we loved the Jaccuzzi the room with the games the kitchen and the bed rooms we are thinking to rent again with more family and we are Recomending to all our friends!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 05/22/2011
Thank you for completing our survey
Our Finch Chalet has so much to offer with a reasonable price.
Cant beat the location either
February 2011 Trip
Check in was speedy and the property was located only minutes form the leasing office. The property was also really close to Bear/Summit ski resorts and other amenities like grocery and convenience stores. The actually cabin was very comfy and accommodated everyone in our group. There was cable and internet which came in handy. The kitchen was awesome, with plenty of room and already stocked up. No need to bring plates, pots or pans.The Jacuzzi tub was great after a long day of snowboarding. I would definitely stay again. :)
the staying was really nice, but by the time we get there the chalet was a little dirty, besides the cabin needs more illumination, theres only 3 lights that work in the living room, its really easy to get to, and pretty big, the heater in the bedroom with four beds doesnt work well...
Didn't reach our expectation.
slow inspection. when we arrive, the check in person said the place still haven't been inspected by the manager from the previous group; however, when we were leaving the cabin, he/she show up in less than 5-10minutes. Also, the inspection manager were rude, he horned us while we outside of the cabin parking lot which on the road ready to leave and we weren't blocking the entrance, there were enough space for him/her to go into the parking lot of the cabin. the cabin was leaking from the ceiling from multiple places. internet doesn't work most of the time. i called, the person answered the phone said she will call back and i never received any call back at all, until my friends tell me to call them again 2 hour after my last call. multiple stuff were broken such as: lamp, a heater up the second floor, dishes washer doesn't work, and a broken glass from the picture frame. the place is dims. the brightest light is from the kitchen. late check in & early check out. the website said we able to check in at 3pm, but the counter tell us that our check in its at 4pm because of their slow inspection service. and we could check out latest before 11; however when i call i found out that we have to check out at 10, which we will have no idea with that if i didn't call because of some issue with some of the machine, we might ended up be charged for the late check out fees. service isn't that good either, because when i return the keys to one of the counter persons, she didn't said anything but just take a keys away. dumpster its too far away from the cabin, its at least a mile away from the cabin.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/01/2011
Thank you for responding to our survey. We are sorry the roof leaked during your stay. We will verigy the internet works properly. Big Bear had many wireless internet issues over the holdiays. This house has central heating but the game room has its own external heater. This is working ok. There is also a space heater at the house. Big Bear's Private Home Rental Ordinances requires, amoung other things, trash be removed from the unit. This is to prevent trash accumulation in the house. Trash is not to be left outside because it draws birds and coyotes. This is an older home and priced well for the amount of people it holds.
Unresponsive customer service
The rental home was nice and clean upon our arrival but as soon as we settled in, we noticed there were numerous leaks around the house. We called customer service to see if they could patch it up and they told us that they would send someone over within the hour, but no one showed up. We made three more calls (two of which did not even go through) regarding the leaks and still no one showed up.
Also, there was no Wi-fi as mentioned in the description. On top of that, the dishwasher was not working. We did not even bother to call customer service because we knew no one would come to fix it anyway. Overall, the house was very cozy and the location was great, but the service was terrible.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 12/23/2010
We apologize that you did not find our service up to your standards, at the time of your stay Big Bear was undergoing the most extreme rainfall this city has seen in 25 years. We had homes with no power, floods, and no accessibility. We did respond to your leak but with 11 inches rain a day there was not much we could have done. We did however got power restored and attended to everyone in need.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Large Cabin close to lake
The cabin was large and great location close to lake.
Cabin needed some TLC in a few areas had a problem with bed springs where sticking out and caused my father to Get cut up he is 85 years old so this was very upsetting...called and a replacment was brought in same day .Felt at the price we paid for stay better maintance needs to be done .
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/26/2010
Thank you for resonding to our survey. This is an older house and well priced for the zamount of people it holds. We did replace the mattress. We will work on more upgrading.
Fountain Valley, CA
The place was pretty cool. Rustic is a good word for it. We all had a great time, beds weren't the most comfy but we didn't care too much.
I'm from L.A but I had visitors from MEXICO,and ARGENTINA
Was not what we expected!!!!
The price is to high and the beds were not comfortable at all,the pool table not good, plus you have to clean everything before you go take the all trash out etc, or you get extra charge, customer service not good as well, we forgot something at tje house and we call to see if they could sent it back to us even I was going to email them the UPS label they still want to charge. better to rent a room an a Hotel..
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/26/2010
This pool table ins acobo pool table and air-hockey table. We will try to make that clearer in the description. Our pricing is competitive with other agencies in Big Bear. We are sorry this did not meet your needs.
Decent cabin could use some work
Access to the cabin was easy with pick-up and drop off of keys. Pool table was a mess and we were unable to use it. Overall, we were satisfied with the cabin and it was as described on the web. A bit expensive though, which we deter us from renting again.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/26/2010
The pool table was tightened up by the owner. It is a combo pool table and air hockey table. Thesse type of table do not meet the criteria of a true pool player. We will make the description clearer on the web.
I highly recommand the place
I highly recommand the place. However, they should fix the pool table on the 2nd floor. Other than that, the experience was great. On a side note, the master bed room didnt have a mirrow on the ceiling.
Porter Ranch, CA
Excellent Rental Service and Rental Property
The staff at BBV was exceptional. Very nice, efficient and accommodating. We were "snowed" in and unable to locate chains for my odd sized tires and the staff was very helpful. We may have had to stay an additional night and they were very flexible. WE eneded up finding chains and getting out on time. The house was GREAT. HIGHLY recommend and would likely try and rent the same property again if with a large group again. The Pool/Air Hockey table was wobbly so we did not use it, and we received an unexpected 18" of snow over 36 hours so we could not even use the spa, but the location and home itself were GREAT. Highly recommend the property and will DEFINITELY use Big Bear Vacation Rentals again in the future!
Orange County, CA
We had a great time & enjoyed our stay. The home was clean and well taken care of. We had to call to have the tub in the downstairs bathroom unplugged, the repair man was prompt and took care of the problem quickly. We had 3 families staying together & had plenty of room. This is the 3rd home we have rented thru Big Bear Vacations and would recommend it to other families.
Great Cabin- Great Customer Service
My original cabin I had booked 3 months in advance had a permit issue days before I was to arrive. Big Bear Vacations offered me this cabin as an upgrade. The unit was spotless and well maintained. It was centrally located with a slight view of the lake. The jacuzzi was very clean as well. Bring your own propane tank for the grill off the deck. Otherwise, bring your own charcoal and fluid for the one in the front. There is also a washer and dryer.
My only complaints are minor. The back yard was full of cigarette butts and knee high weeds. Upon checking out, I informed them of the cigarette butts so I would not be charged and was told no problem. The other minor issue was that the dishwasher was broken. We did not find out till the last morning and I called at 9am for a service tech. I was told one would be there in 15 minutes but no one showed up. However, I was given an extra hour to check out at no charge so we could hand wash our dishes.
I have always used Big Bear Vacations for my cabins and have never been treated unfairly. I would recomend them and this cabin to anyone.
We came up for a weekend birthday celebration with a group and had a great time. As with previous reviews, getting the front door open was a little tricky, but everything else about the property was great (though the yard is not big and not really fit for any activity, like bocce ball, etc.). The beds were comfortable and even though we had a minor plumbing problem, maintenance came out right away to fix it.
I'd say our only complaint (and it's not a big one, certainly) that for a house that sleeps 13, the living room space doesn't have nearly enough seating if everyone wants to hang out in the same place at the same time (we had 9 people and still had this problem). Otherwise, it was a comfortable place and made for a great weekend getaway!
Awsome! Great house for multiple familiess
I loved this house. I stay up in Big Bear every couple of years and I have never had a better time. I honestly think it was the house. It felt so comfortable. I liked the space. I will defenitly stay here again. It's alittle more expensive than what I'm used to paying but to me it is well worth it! I would totally recommend this house!
this is a cool cabin there were 13 in my party and no one had any complaintd=s about the cabin the jacuzzi is great the kitchen is great and the living room is very spacious however we did have a problem opening the front door when we arrived the key would not unlock the door and were left in the cold snow but thankfully when we called big bear vacations they responded immediately and were at the cabin within 10 to 15 minutes and were able to open the door they gave an apology and that was all that was needed because the cabin was worth the wait they just need to fix the door handle
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 02/24/2009
Thank you for your response to our survey on Unit 1010, Finch Chalet. We are glad yo had a nice time. We aare sorry you had a problem with the front door. It is a little tricky. The key needs to hold the lock open while pressing the thumb mechanism. Again, thank you for repling to our survey
Great Home - For Family and Friends Gathering
This chalet gives a lot of benefits than what it says on the internet. The ambience is cozy for family and friends gathering. If we come back to big bear with a similar group size, we will surely remember the Finch Chalet.
The cabin was ok. What was really a problem is Big Bear vacations. Their service was unhelpful, rude, and down right volatile. When asked about a cabin issue they turned defensive, and would not even discuss the issue. Then they told us to leave their office immediately or they would call the police! A group of us were on what should have been a relaxing vacation and we should not have to deal with this. Needless to say my friends and I will NEVER vacation with this company again. My word of advice is NO ONE should give this company their business.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/30/2009
At check in the guest was offered an opportunity to change properties because one of the couches in the living room needed to be repaired. The guest was informed that a repairman would be by the following day. They chose not to move at that time. When the repairman and our property manager arrived to repair the couch, the repairman needed to take the couch away. Again, the guest was offered an oportunity to move to another property. Again, the guest chose not to move. At check out the guest demanded a refund for the inconvenience and became abusive to employees at the front desk, and made threatening and diminutive remarks to guests in our lobby, at which time the guest was asked to leave our office. The guest left but another member of the party returned to the office. This member refused to leave our office at which time the sheriff was called. The guest was removed from our office by the sheriff.
The place inside just had an old look with spiders everywhere. the back door would not lock and again the spiders where everywhere our whole family seemed to have been the feast. the jacuzzi was not working and when i went to check out and talk to a manger there was no manger on duty. I was very disappointed in the price we paid to have the dishes oily and dirty and very few towls for 13 occupants. This is very over priced for what you get.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 01/16/2009
Spiders are abundant in the mountains. Big Bear Vacaitons does its best to service spas. If at anytime amenities are not in order, Big Bear Vacations boasts a 24 hour maintenance and housekeeping staff.
We have a blast in this vacations it was amazing and the chalet have all you need for a good stay is 100 % recomendation,
Long Beach, CA
Great group getaway!
There were 8 of us that stayed, including 2 couples. 2 bathrooms were adequate for 2 nights. Everything was beyond our expectations. The whole property was well maintained, including the spa. Plenty of kitchen utensils and appliances were available to our use, and the pool/air hockey table was great for a little extra diversion. We would definitely rent again, especially because it was in a great location to all the things we did that weekend (mountain biking, tobagan slide, mini golf, walks around the lake, hiking at Snow Summit, Oktoberfest, restaurants, bowling, fishing, etc.).
House full of Big spiders
The house we stayed at was very dirty full of spiders inside the bed and bedsheets. We have booked our vacation for 3 nights, but because of the nasty big spiders we had to leave one night early. So if anybody does stay there make sure u look at the beds before you go to sleep. The is no coffee filter there was no paper towel, no napkins, not enough cup or mugs for a huge house. This one the very first time we have stayed with big bear vacations.com and i believe the last time too. The whole house need pest control. Very dirty and too many big bodied spiders.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 09/29/2008
Thank you for your review on Finch Chalet Unit 1010. You were the first guest to stay in this house since it has been with us. The owner has but in some new leather livingroom furninture, bed linen for the master bedroom and recurtained some of the windows. We are sorry your experience was less than your expectations. Spiders and ants are very common up here. We do try to make sure they are removed before any guest arrival. The house has since had a more thorough cleaning. We do hope you will try us again and will better meet you neeeds.
We enjoyed staying in the house. The kitchen was well stocked and appliances worked great. The jacuzzi was terrific. VCR did not work however the TV was working fine.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 09/01/2008
Thank you for your response to Finch Chalet Unit 1010. The unit has a DVD player that does work. Please come and stay with us again.