Big Bear Vacations has rated this property ”Big Bear Cozy”Chatty Patty's is a quaint and cozy basic Big Bear Mountain Cabin. It is a great location that is walking distance to the National Forest and between both Snow Summit and Bear Mountain Ski Resorts. The drive to either ski area is less than five minutes. This two story 1 bedroom with loft has a basic kitchen, microwave, dining table for 4 people, comfortable living room with wood burning fireplace, TV/DVD/VCR/wireless internet and front porch with table and charcoal BBQ. The bedroom area downstairs has a full sized bed and full bathroom. (There is no door on this bedroom) The loft a...rea is spacious and overlooking the living room area and has a king size bed. The back yard is fully fenced with chain link and Patty welcomes good pets. Easy level parking for 3 cars, 850 Sq ft
Left on 10/01/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Deb
This cozy cabin had everything I needed for my relaxing getaway in Big Bear. The beds were so comfortable, the living space is decorated cute and was just the right size for our small family, and the kitchen was stocked with everything that we needed. Each night we enjoyed a glass of wine sitting out on the front deck watching the blue jays and squirrels scurry through the pine trees. And what a wonderful way to start each morning with a cup of coffee on the deck too. It is really such a great setting and so peaceful. And there's even a fenced in yard for the dog. Finally we have found the perfect place to stay and we don't have to leave our dog at home. We are definitely coming back and I hope soon. Thanks Chatty Patty for letting us enjoy your special home!!! Read more
Thank you so much for your feedback about this cozy vacation home! We love to hear that your stay was pleasant and that you have found the vacation rental you would want to return to year after year! It is so wonderful that you were able to find a home that is pet friendly, we know that our furry family are to us, and it is so nice to be able to bring them on vacation too! Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Just not what we were hoping for
Left on 12/28/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | GLH family
the cabin was drafty and down right cold..could not get the temperature much higher then 60. even loft was chilly, no heat to rise. kitchen needs frying pan and pot large enough to cook pasta. carpet in living area dirty and stained badly. heater in bathroom did not work at all Read more
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback, as it allows us to address concerns that our guests might have with a vacation home. We apologize for the inconvenience you experience during your stay, however had you informed our stuff of the oven not functioning we could have had our maintenance technician take care of it while he got your fireplace working as well.
Allen & Maria
Great Get-Away Place!
Left on 12/21/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Allen & Maria
This is our second time staying at the cabin and we enjoyed it again ~ it snowed the entire weekend! Perfect location, size and space for a weekend get-away. However, since last year the towel rack hasn't been replaced, heater is still broken and there were no frying pans. It would be nice if these things would be tended to. Would I recommend to others - Yes :) Read more
Thank you for the helpful review of Chatty Patty's. We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your winter time stay in Big Bear Lake. If you are contemplating a summer time trip to Big Bear, our Vacation Planners are able to help your find the right home for your future vacation.
Good for a fast trip
Left on 12/18/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Gutierrez
The place was small but comfortable for a one night trip. It was great for my dogs because of the fenced back yard. Read more
Thank you so much for your feedback. We evaluate each review and do out best to use the information that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience. We look forward to helping you in the future.
Huntington Beach, CA
Nov. 2011 two night stay
Left on 11/17/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | Happy Camper
We enjoyed the cabin. Loved using the fireplace. Needed a frying pan in the kitchen! The loft has a king size bed. Cold bathroom but great shower. Tiny backyard but at least it's fenced. Worked well for our little dog. Very drafty! Big gaps around the front door! Will try a different place next time but this location was close to so many activities!
San Diego, California
Cute but deadly!
Left on 10/19/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Sarah McC.
The cabin was adorable. But there is absolutely no privacy. Literally. Only door was on the bathroom.The small fenced in yard was occupied by a giant shed. But the worse part was the recliner in the center of the room had a large sharp piece of metal sticking out the back. Ruined two of my pants, and sliced open the back of my husbands hand, right on the vein. And Big Bear Vacations didn't seem to care at all.
Great little rental
Left on 09/21/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Stobiz
We enjoyed our brief stay at this lovely cabin. We have a family of four, including two children (on 6 year old and one 6 month old). There was plenty of space for us all. The loft was cozy and there is actually a room in the back which has a desk and full size bed. This room was not pictured on the site when we booked, so it came as a nice surprise to us when we first got there. The furniture, electronics and appliances are all older, but that is what we were expecting. The kitchen had everything we needed. We would stay here again.
Great End of Summer Vacay
Left on 09/08/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Great Vacation!!!
This cabin was very cute and cozy.
However, there were a few things that could be fixed to be better. For example, the bathroom sink and bathtub kept clogging up and took a while for the water to flush down. The Lighting in the kitchen was very minimal and one of the lamps did not turn on at all. The vacuum provided to clean the carpet leaves a horrible dirty smell. Just a few pointers to help the renting of this cabin increase and better for everyone!
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Natalie Gallardo
I understand the home I rented is someone's home,but the state of the home was not at all worth the price I paid. As we walked in we noticed spider webs all over the front porch. Walked into a living room that did not look vaccumed, and also found spider webs. We had to run to the store and buy a broom and lysol to clean up the webs and make sure the carpet was somewhat clean after vaccuming. My fiance and I repeatedly tried calling the service line provided to us at the checkin office, but the line would only ring with no answer.
Due to the heat the house was very hot and stuffy. We tried openning windows but had a hard time. Noticed the top bedroom window did not have a screen on the window, and was the hottest room in the house. At night we had to close windows beacause a few screens were bent and cracked open enough space for bugs to get in. We noticed it took hours for the house to cool off and realized the heater pilot was letting off heat. We had absolutely little hot water. The linen did not smell fresh. Restroom towels felt stiff and dirty. The furniture was old and comfortable. Quite honestly, I don't know how anyone could live there. I would think being that a vacations agency would help with the upkeep of the homes. I will definately not vacation with this company again. I have a two year old and I honestly felt like leaving and going to nearby motel, but we were already settled and the stay was already paid for. Very unhappy.
not worth what you pay!!
Left on 07/28/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | big bear
This home is located in a very nice quiet area
in Moonridge. Its 10 mins from the lake and 5
from the zoo. The home definitely needs some
upgrading starting with the beds. The beds
were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept
in. Sleeping on an air mattress would have been
better. The sofa sinks in,the carpet is super old and rather dirty. The best thing about this place is the
kitchen, the outdoor patio with grill and if you
are not looking for a lakefront property..the
Nice with some exceptions
Left on 07/13/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Family Vacation
This is a lovely cabin with a few minor exceptions.
* The upstairs window does not have a screen, so if you are bringing children do not let them upstairs while the window is open.
* There is a lump under the carpet infront of the TV so you have to be careful not to trip.
* The toilet is very loud when it is flushed.
* The backyard is very very small. I was expecting it to be larger when I was reading it had a fenced yard.
The cabin was very nice and the front deck was nice with an umbrella table for four. My family and I had a memorable time and would definitely book with Big Bear Vacations again.
Santa Ana, CA
Relaxing and quiet little cabin
Left on 06/22/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Mrs. Morales
Our stay at Chatty Patty's was very comfortable and relaxing. I personally loved the upstairs bedroom. The king size bed and all the pillows were super comfortable. The only downfall was that the bathroom was downstairs by the other bed. We were walking distance from several fun trails in the forest. We took our two dogs who ran freely throughout the cabin and the trails. The only thing I was disappointed with was the backyard. The description says there is a fenced yard but they fail to tell you that there is a storage unit right in the middle of the yard that takes up most of the space, so there really isn't much of a yard at all. We were hoping to play ball with our dogs in the yard, but there was no space for that at all.
Over all, the cabin was very charming and very relaxing. The customer service was great and we would definitely stay here again. The prices are very reasonable and everything is pretty self explanatory. I would recommend Big Bear vacations to anybody looking for a fun, relaxing vacation at Big Bear. Read more
We are pleased to hear you we able to enjoy a lovely weekend up here in Big Bear exploring nature at its finest.
Left on 12/09/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | Get-a-Way Couple
The pictures listed of this cabin show the place as it is. Very quaint quiet and works for a family or couple. The living area was spacious had a fireplace and plenty of furniture. Kitchen was small but your on a get-a-away and shouldn't be spending all your time cooking. Sleeping quarters were fine, warm upstairs, but if you crack the window it was fine. Downstairs bedroom and bathroom were fine as well. All in all it worked just great for our weekend get-a-way.
Chatty Patty's 1016 experience
Left on 12/09/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Rachel
The neighborhood was very nice. The house was not very clean. The furnishings were old and not inviting. I felt like I was sitting on dirty furniture. The kitchen floor was sticky and it was cold in there unless sitting right next to the heater. I would prefer not to stay in this house again. I like the rental service but not the house.
Cozy and nice, great for family or a pair couple of friends.
Left on 10/17/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | M. Stulz
Would love to spend some lazy winter days so close to the slopes, or even a sunny day with the mountain bikes. Read more
You are there. In the middle of it all. Thanks for the response
North las Vegas, Mobile Alabama
Left on 09/04/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Justin
We had a great time and can not wait to come back
very peaceful and quietly located
Left on 08/25/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | mexbusa2002
overall satified, with the condition and services. the cabin is centrally located.
Good size but dark & not clean
Left on 08/20/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | MK
It is a good size for myself and my boyfriend. Clerks were always friendly and nice to provide necessary information. Pool nearby was good.
But toilet paper was only onerole, for three days, the gas stove was not checked before we arrived resulting us to starving since we could not cook. Kitchen was not clean. Closet was horrible.
Second floor was extremely hot and Fan was not helpful-second night was better. Probably air circulation before customer arrives will be resolve this problem better. No Dvds. Unlike the outside appearance, inside was filled with old stuffs.
It was not the best but for the price we paid which was discounted price, we would say it was fine overall except the above. Read more
We do provide 24 hour maintenance and housekeeping. Hope you give us another try in the future and let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with
Great last minute trip
Left on 08/06/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Jessikah Hart
In 24 hours we had to book another trip because we were supposed to head up to the Sequoias but there was a huge fire and the area was evacuated. We decided to go to BigBear so we could atleast fish. Big Bear vacations was extremely accommodating (specifically Garrett). The house was cute. Tiny and hot but great for what we needed. The only downfall to the house was that there was only one pan and I didn't realize it until I started to cook a 3 course meal. It has a great front patio that we spent most of our time on. The trip was great and we headed home to Los angeles. About 20 minutes from home I realized I left some jewelry on the mantel of the fire place. All 3 of the items were very important to me. Specifically my little brothers dog tags who passed away almost 2 years ago. I called immediately and they were able to retrieve my stuff. They even had a girl who worked there pick it up from the house when she got off work. I am extremely greatful for the honesty these people had. It is very rare to find that nowadays. Thank you guys so much for making our experience memorable.
Long Beach, Ca.
Broken arm & Broken Plans
Left on 07/14/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Freya Kelly
I booked this vacation rental in February 2010 for a romantic get-away to celebrate my beloved's birthday. However, he broke his right arm on Memorial Day. Since he is right handed, many things were limited or eliminated. Even as of today he is still in a cast.
I tried to cancel the reservation by June 15 but was past the 30 day cancellation window. I was on day 25. Big Bear Resorts would not refund my deposits unless someone picked up the reservations. How would I know if this happened? Big Bear Resorts had no satisfactory answer to that question.
So far I have received a little less than half of my deposit. My bank is investigating the transaction. It has cost me nearly $200 to cancel the reservation. I still do not know if the cabin was rented by anyone else. I would never do business with this company again.
Quite frankly I am shocked to be asked to fill out a review of my non-stay.
I love Big Bear and lived there for 6 years. I've never encountered such policies from people in Big Bear. It is sad that this company chooses to exploit and abuse customers and homeowners.
I would bet that the homeowner has no idea of this transaction and mishap. They may need to reconsider another property management agency. When I lived in Big bear I received very good service from Cindy at Woddside Properties.
If you plan to travel, I wish you good health and freedom from the unforseen. Otherwise, you might be better served to book directly with a hotel or bed & breakfast.
Good luck. Read more
Thanks for your review on your cancellation. As stated on our website you must cancel within 30 days of your reservation to get any type of refund back. If you cancel inside 30 days it will be a raincheck if rerented. You did hold the house out of inventory for 4 months so it is not unusual to hold you accountable for the reservation, this is normal polilcy with any company. Thank you and have a great day
May Blizzard in May
Right time Right Place
Left on 05/26/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | May Blizzard in May
May is a great time to be in Big Bear. May dump heavy snow. Generally no crowds. A little apprehensive about the crowd for The Climb of Amgen Tour of CA, but was no problem. Great stage. Quiet location. Keller Williams check-in packet is scary in regards to all the rules and fees if not followed. The cabin is very basic, but comfortable for two adults and two dogs. A bit pricey. Special offer is what sold me.
Chatty Patty's #1016/ Orange CA
visit to Big Bear
Left on 04/22/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | Candy
This was our first visit to Big Bear. The home could use some upgrades on the furniture or some cleaning. If you like to have clean or at least decent sheets and blankets bring your own. Everything else was good. Carpet could use some cleaning. Everyone was great at registration desk.
Left on 04/01/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | CHRIS
“It is one thing to be rustic and another to be dated”, by no means did I expect the W hotel but really sag carpet? To tell the truth I was prepared for quaint cabin with more wood panels that my grandma’s den and this place delivered but what it did lack was a feel of a cabin, it was set on street in a neighborhood not really the experience I was looking and considering the price “not worth it” with a check in time of 3 pm and a check out of 11 am…
San Diego, CA
Pleasent and cozy
Left on 03/18/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | Medina family
We found the house on the big bear internet site and the staff at big bear resorts answered every question we had. The house was small and cozy for a family of four. It wouldve been nice to walk into a house that was just a little warmer than what we walked into. Knowing that there is a family arriving turn up the heat. We had to put our two girls in a warm bath in order for them to warm up. It pretty much took the whole night for the house to get warm. I grew up in PA so I know how hard it is to keep up with the shoveling of the snow but when your running a buisness you should keep up with the shoveling. We didnt have a clear path from the car to the front door. We should have the option to have internet access in the house.
The location was perfect. Right in the middle of big bear and snow summit. My husband had to readjust his bindings so we went to Leroys board shop, the employees were so helpful. I went to a bakery (Sugar Pine) for my husbands birthday and they sold me some cupcakes to die for. They were delicious, I highly recommend going if you have a sweet tooth.
A good location/close to ski area
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | highlander
the house is much bigger than I through. (the list say only 4 occupant). overall, i think its great for a family of 4 to 6. (if they allow to). great kitchen. nice nieghborhood. but the only thing needs to improve is the HOT water... not enought for shower.. is running cold during the shower...
Decent but expensive
Left on 01/06/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | Kg0811
Everything was very old and we had to have maintenance fix the kitchen sink our first
night there. There was also ice on the stairs and the walkway to the door. The
pictures online look a lot nicer than what you get. Kind of expensive for what you get.
Not very impressed. Read more
Big Bear Vacations provides 24 hour service to fix issues as soon as they occur. This is an example of our outstanding service. Ice is common in Big Bear on walkways, strrets and praking spots. A call to our office and a maintenance person will respond by putting down cynders for better traction and safety on icy pathways.
Peace Love & Sunshine
Left on 10/26/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | Peace Love & Sunshine
Everything was great. It is a bit intimate. There are no bedroom doors, and one must walk through the bedroom to get to the facilities. We had a wonderful time.
1223 Tamarind Ave Apt 7 LA CA 90038
Left on 07/31/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Ezheni Chavushyan
I was required to do a lot of work by Big Bear Rentals instead of having the chance to relax. It was a must to throw the trashed away, wash dishes and clean the ashes in the BBQ pit. Therefore, I am not satisfied and please refund me my money. Thank you. Read more
Big Bear Vacations requires guests to remove trash and clean dishes as an effort to reduce critter issues in cabins. Big Bear does not have public trash pick up and requires all trash be taken to a "Clean Bear Site" provided for free to the public. We kindly ask all guests at time of chek in to NOT remove ashes from BBQ's and fireplaces as it can be a hazard. Ashes are removed from the property by our Housekeeping staff following a guest stay.
San Diego, CA
Left on 03/11/2009 for a stay in March 2009 | Dave
The cabin is quaint and cozy as promised, clean and well stocked with amenities. It had easy parking access and was a nice place to retreat to after a hard day skiing.
The preparation was lacking however. The toilet didn't work but only required a simple chain hook-up. Lamp shades were on the wrong lamps and caused one to catch fire (good thing we didn't go out for the evening!), and some lamps didn't work or were missing the shades.
I would definately recommend this rental for the price, location, and layout - but be aware that the prep and maintenacne may have issues.
san diego california
Left on 02/06/2009 for a stay in January 2009 | kiersten
the cabin was warm&cozy. my family and friends enjoyed the stay. They do have alot of rules...& if you break them there are fines, which I understand thasts how they keep the rentals under control. But at the same time being charged for things suck as "not taking the trash out" is alittle much..and the fact when I called in asking what the charge was for the girl told me "trash fee" she didnt even know who I was. Bottom line make sure things are extra perfect when you leave...even though I did the same they'll still try to charge you!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.