- 3 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 12
Description from the manager
Here’s a big bear vacation cabin that is sure to please many travelers looking for a rental cabin in big bear offering a sportsman’s ambiance. From the moment you pull up to the cabins entrance, Elk Lodge’s ambiance is the essence of mountain life style with adventure.
Description in Brief: Known as Elk Lodge – A.K.A. Rudolph’s Reindeer Retreat
2 Story Floor Plan – 3 Bedrooms + Den/ 2 Bathrooms – Sleeps 12 w/WIRELESS INTERNET
Lake View , Pool Table & Foosball, Professional Arcade Game (Ms. Pacman) & Hot Tub
Seasonal Snow Play Slope and large backyard
BEDROOM #1...: 1 KING BED, lower level
BEDROOM #2: 1 QUEEN BED, lower level
BEDROOM #3: 4 TWINS = 2 TWIN/TWIN BUNKS, lower level
DEN: (non-private sleeping) 2 TWIN & 1 DOUBLE FUTON, beautiful upgraded futon with comfy spring foundation! (futon doubles as couch), lower level
Multiple TVs, VCRs, DVDs
Fully Equipped, Newly Remodeled Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops
Washer & Dryer
Cabin is not equipped with air conditioning
Upon entering this mountain cabin, the vaulted knotty pine ceiling adds to the openly spacious feeling. Wood paneled walls abound and add to the ambiance and charm that is reminiscent within vintage cabins in bigbear. With nature’s trophies throughout the home, this big bear cabin is the epitome of the lifestyle of a sportsman’s adventures.
As your big bear vacation begins, guests can enjoy the lake view from this wonderful cabin in big bear due to its close proximity to the beautiful waters of Big Bear Lake . The living room offers an exceptionally large sectional sofa as well as a new flat screen TV complete with VCR and DVD. The opposite side of the cabins great room offers a pool table as well as a beautiful brick wood burning fireplace.
Although you are in the San Bernardino mountains , guests wanting to stay connected to friends or business can do so with the wireless internet provided within the cabin. A newly remodeled kitchen is fully equipped and ready to serve a hearty mountain meal whether it’s cooked on the stove, in the oven, or on the outdoor barbecue.
Complementing the cabins level above, the “lure” of the lower level lends itself to guests getting “hooked” on fishing in big bear. A fisherman’s paradise abounds throughout the den and main bedroom. No tall tails, just pure comfort and cabin style for all who dwell within. The den is cozy and intimately inviting and offers an additional TV with VCR and DVD, it’s the perfect place for young children or young adults to enjoy their own social area.
There are three distinctively diverse bedrooms in this big bear rental, each offers comfort for those who reside within. A laundry room is also offered making it convenient for longer stays during any of the seasons throughout the year, especially drying wet clothes from outdoor snow play fun.
Just out the back door a staircase leads you to an awesome hot tub that has special lighting effect to further mesmerize guests who wish to indulge. The hot tub at this cabin rental pampers its guests with a lounger as well as traditional seating. With 24 multi custom jets to enjoy, each guest can adjust the intensity to their own preference. Customized lighting is an upgrade to enjoy. Choose from a rainbow of colors, just one at a time or an entire spectrum of colors for your visual pleasure! This cabins hot tub is nestled just steps off the den staircase to the back yard, is semi private with views of majestic pine trees as well as other beautiful landscape, you won’t be disappointed. The experience in the hot tub here is a relaxing experience you won’t want to miss.
The backyard is large and perfect for snow play in the winter. The side of the cabin offers a sloped area for its own snow play hill as long as mother nature has been cooperative.
This is one Big Bear vacation that promises to be exceptionally special. This vacation cabin in Big Bear is located in a quiet neighborhood in Boulder Bay , convenient access to Big Bear Blvd. which leads you to many of Big Bear’s most famous tourist attractions and activities.
Only steps to Pleasure Point Marina with a boat dock rental option (seasonal), also steps to Boulder Bay Park, the newest park on the lake where visitors can fish from shore, only 2 miles to the shopping village & Pine Knot Marina, 3 miles to Meadow Park – home to the only swim beach in Big Bear, 4 miles to the slopes of Snow Summit Ski Resort, and 5 miles from Bear Mountain Ski Resort & the Moonridge Zoo. Only a mere 6.1 mile drive to the activities offered at the Convention Center – Don’t miss the famous Big Bear Oktoberfest, Southern California’s biggest German festival!
Additional amenities include: pool table, pets friendly, washer/dryer, 4 star.Read more
About the manager
Gold Rush Resort Rentals (909) 366-5408 Full profile
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.2 / 5.0 based on 167 reviews and 48 properties
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Last updated on September 02, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 1,437 other Big Bear Lake rentalsCheck Availability for Big Bear Lake
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- DVD Player
- Pet friendly - yes
- Smoking allowed - ask
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
25 guest reviews
88% of guests would stay again
We had a group of 9 and this place could not be anymore perfect for large groups (sleeps up to 12).
The kitchen was a good size and furnished well. Only thing we needed to purchase were some spices and cooking oil. Just about every other thing were provided. The knives were pretty blunt, but it's expected.
A lot of dead animals on the wall and could be a little creepy if you're not used to that.
Hot tub was great, fits about 6-7 people. Any more would be crammed.
The best part was the Ms. Pac Man personal arcade game in the living room! 2 people can play and we had a blast. Also the retro sound echoing through the living room was the best!
Would definitely stay here again.
If you have never stayed here and looking for a place to accommodate a large group, I recommend this place. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 12/31/2012
We are always pleased to hear from our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with your stay at the Elk Lodge cabin.
The Ms. Pac man arcade game has been a favorite of guests since its been installed.
We will share your review with the owners.
We hope to see you again on a future visit.
The Team at Gold Rush :)
I paid about $550 for 2 nights at the elk lodge. I thought it was a decent deal since in the description of the house described that I would be in walking distance of the lake. When I got there I could see the lake from the balcony which was a good thing. Since I thought it was in "walking distance". my friends and I started walking towards the lake, but to our surprise the only way to get to the lake is to trespass through other property. I asked the rental agents where the closest place I can go swimming and I was directed 6 miles away from the house. I wouldn't have chosen this lodge knowing that this would be the case. I also received the wrong keys from gold rush resort rental agency and wasn't compensated for the extra hour I had to wait to get the correct keys.
We have never stayed in Big Bear before so we weren't sure of the location of this cabin but it was amazing! The layout was perfect, all bedrooms downstairs and an awesome upstairs with a huge balcony. Very cabin-like! Would absolutely stay here again!!! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/09/2012
Elk Lodge is definitely a favorite of many return guests! We are always pleased as punch to tell the owner of the grand reviews!
Thank you for taking the time to share so that potential guests can read unbiased reviews when considering to rent.
We hope you will return soon. Spring is an awesome time to return.
Give us a call and see what promotions we can offer you on a return visit.
The Gold Rush Team
Great Cabin, nice location, easy check-in, check-out
One thing - had problem with wi-fi. Hot tub - perfect, pool table-expected full size, roomy, comfy beds. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/09/2012
Thank you for submitting your review. Elk Lodge has been welcoming guests to its comforts for many years. We feel lucky we are able to have it within our inventory.
We hope you will return soon. Look up our VIP discounts as well as our special promotions for some extra special savings on your next trip.
The Gold Rush Team
Good location, plenty of rooms and beds. Power went out in the kitchen for two nights. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 01/09/2012
Although we are happy to see a favorable review, we would have really appreciated hearing from you when you were at the property regarding the power.
In the mountains it is very common to experience power outages, sometimes they can be only brief periods and other times they can be prolonged. In any case, if there was something that we could've done to help we would've done so.
We have had no comments since and have found nothing to be a problem reported from our cleaning staff or quality control.
Just to make sure we will check into this as we always strive to make sure we keep on top of any maintenance issue that has come to our attention.
We thank you for your time reviewing and hope to see you in a future stay.
The Gold Rush Team
Big bear trip
nice place, cob webs, squeaky beds, loud floors, nice kitchen Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 09/08/2011
Yes, we agree, Elk Lodge is a nice place! The newly remodeled kitchen makes it nice to prepare special meals and more.
Being a two story floor plan, it is not unusual to hear those above you when walking around. Assuming this is what you are talking about with loud floors????
Don't know about the squeaky beds?? We have had guests comment about how comfortable they are.
Even though you have expressed concerns we are also happy to have had the pleasure of hosting your Big Bear stay and am also happy to know you also enjoyed the home and your stay.
We hope you return soon!
Thank you for sharing your comments.
Team Gold Rush
it was very cozy and very much "cabin-like" expected and so much more.
it was bigger than i thought it would be- the place is huge! definitely recommend this place. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 04/22/2011
We never tire of hearing happy reviews of the cabins in our inventory. Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your opinion on the Elks Lodge.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
The Gold Rush Team
Buena Park, CA
Great value for a great weekend
Everybody was very happy with home we rented. The first thing we noticed when we arrived was that there is plenty of room for 4 cars. Once inside, we found the place to be large enough to fit us all comfortably. The family room has an enormous couch which worked out very well. The hot tub was pretty heavily chlorinated, but nothing that a quick shower afterwards couldn't fix.
We were very lucky to be at the home when it snowed. The backyard has a small slope to it which is where we first started sledding. Then we became more adventurous and started sledding down the hill across the street.
For the price, the size of the home could not be beat. As I mentioned the family room was large and open. The balcony was also large enough to have many people outside.
Some things to note:
The pool table is a bit small and uneven. Also, the sticks were bent.
Downstairs you can hear people walking upstairs.
The TVs were pretty old and only had analog inputs (no Hdmi.)
Note: After a heavy snow Saturday night, the rental company came by to clear the drive way for us on Sunday. This was very appreciated as we did not have to spend time shoveling the snow.
Overall, we would definitely come back and stay at this home. If you are looking for a fancy place with the most modern electronics, this is not for you. However, if you are on a budget and want to rent a home that is large enough for 12 people, I would recommend considering this rental property as an option. It is not perfect, but for the price the value is fantastic. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/25/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and stay at the Elk Lodge cabin.
Yes, the value this property is offered at is second to none. The owners recognize the recession we are involved in and have lowered their pricing drastically. With pricing this low you can enjoy another weekend in the same season.The pricing has literally been lowered to half the price it went for when there was no recession. It's like getting 2 weekends for the price of one.
We hope you will choose to return soon and enjoy another great stay.
The Gold Rush Team
Spacious and comfortable
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lots of bedrooms for extended family The great room was a wonderful gathering place for us. The children made good us of the sled hill and we all enjoyed the jacuzzi. Walking distance to the lake was also a plus. The house does need a few minor repairs. The pool table legs would come off their supports, a concern with young children and we braced one of the back steps because it was splitting and sagging. However, if these problems are fixed, we will definately come back for another stay! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/06/2011
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Elks Lodge. Its always a pleasure to read from happy guests about their experience. Yes, the location of Elk has many advantages. Close to the lake,just a brief walk as well as only minutes from the village, shopping, ski resorts etc.
We hope to welcome you on a return visit. Why not come in the Spring, the weather is delightful and the pricing is even lower!!!
Thank you for making Gold Rush your choice for vacationing in Big Bear.
The Gold Rush Team
Staying here was very comfortable and relaxing
Overall I think this lodge was very nice. It had many rooms and it was quite cozy. It came with all the amenities (soap, towels, sheets) which helped us greatly. The animal heads and skins on the wall gave us a bit of a scare when we walked in but we got used to it in a day or so. Everything went great for our trip. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 01/22/2011
Making our guests comfortable for their stay is our priority. As you know each home is owned by different owners which allows for a vast majority of decorating styles. Elk Lodge definately gives a hunting lodge, mountain ambience.
The photographs we post on our website were chosen to show the taxidermy to help guests when making a choice to stay. That said, we have countless guests who have come to enjoy all the amenities and ambience this cabin offers, and I can see by your kind words that you are added to the list as well.
Try a visit in the summer, the close location to Pleasure Point Marina makes for wonderful convenience when renting water craft or fishing gear.
The Gold Rush Team
Los Angeles, CA
The cabin was beautiful and check-in was fast an easy. We loved that upon our arrival to the cabin the lights and heater were on, making it very welcoming. We found the cabin to be very clean. We enjoyed the pool table and living room area the most. The bedrooms were very comfortable. We found some of the pots and pans too small to feed 12+ people. (glad we brought a large soup pot) The cabin is close to the lake but most areas are private entry, found it hard to find public access on foot (should have taken map) Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 11/29/2010
We are happy to hear that you and your guests were comfortable with your stay. Elk Lodge has lots of comforts and options to offer its guests. We will make a suggestion to the owner about the larger size pots/pans.
Thank you for your time reviewing your stay as well as the cabin. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you in the future.
The Gold Rush Team
The cabin was awesome! I was there with my church group. We rented four cabins and had our meeting times together in one. Big Bear is a gorgeous place, and these cabins provided the intimacy that was desired. We have been doing this for eight years now, and plan to continue! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 10/15/2010
Thank you for your time reviewing Elk Lodge and your time in Big Bear. We are always pleased and happy to hear from satisfied guests.
We have hosted many Church groups and family reunions within our inventory. The three homes on Chipmunk Lane (Elk Lodge as one of them) have been a favorite of many.
We hope to welcome your group on the next visit to Big Bear.
The Gold Rush Team
Lake Forest, Ca.
Clean and comfortable
Clean and comfortable. Easy access and parking. 5 minutes from village shopping. Spa was hot , clean and ready to use. Gas BBQ was clean and functional. Pool table offered hours of entertainment. Wireless internet connected easily. Cable TV in several rooms. Large fenced private yard. We went Zip Lining (Action Zipline). It was worth the price. Also horseback riding, it was enjoyable but pricey. Lake access from this neighborhood is limited since private homes/property line the shoreline. Be aware this home has hunting trophies mounted on the walls, Elk, Bear, Deer, Fish, etc. It sort of freaked out my teenage daughter, but she got use to it. This home could use a new set of pots and pans. They're very worn. You might consider bringing your own. Otherwise an enjoyable stay and we would return. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 09/19/2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Elk Lodge cabin. We never tire of hearing from happy guests.
We will pass on your review to the owners as well as your suggestions.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
The Gold Rush Team
We had a great time. Great place for teenagers. Love being so close to the lake and marina. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 09/03/2010
We are thrilled to hear you had a great time at Elk Lodge. We couldn't agree with you more, Elk Lodge has the perfect amount of space, game tables, and location to make a perfect stay for both adults and teens.
We hope you are able to return soon. Don't forget to consider coming in the off season, prices are even lower!
Thank you for sharing and reviewing the Elk Lodge cabin.
The Gold Rush Team
Apple Valley, CA
The cabin was perfect for our cross country team. Very nice, quite location with easy access to what we needed. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 08/30/2010
Thank you for sharing your experience and review of the Elk Lodge cabin.
We hope to welcome the team back on the next trek.
The Gold Rush Team
Great place to get away from the city.
The cabin was clean and neat. The hot tab was also great. My only comment was about the location. It is very close to the lake but it is a long walk if you have children in the stroller, other then that everything else was excellent. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 08/25/2010
Thank you for your review of Elk Lodge. We never tire of hearing from guests who have had a great time.
We will pass on your appreciation to the cleaning and maintenance staff. Our team sincerely want all of our guests to be welcomed by a clean accommodation.
We hope to see you again on a return visit soon.
The Gold Rush Team
the front queen bed is very uncomfortable to the point that no one could sleep it in without waking in pain. The light in the stairway cover is in the way and we kept hitting out heads. The couch is very uncomfortable and the pool table is cheesy and the furniture is rickety. The potato peeler and can openers barely work and need to be replaced. The top step in the back of the house needs to be fixed as my foot slipped and I ended up falling and spraining my foot.
The location is great though, the area is nice, the neighbors were noisy on the first night but were fine the rest of the stay. The staff at check in and check out are great! Quick to respond to a need (toilet lid broke) when we called. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 08/17/2010
We highly appreciate your time reviewing your stay at Elk Lodge.
Customer satisfaction is our top priority! As a point of interest to you and anyone who is looking to make a choice as to which management company to choose to stay with in Big Bear. Our staff regularly inspects and reviews each property independantly with regards to many aspects that could effect customer satisfaction and safety. We pride ourselves in the diligence we take in making sure all our properties on the program are maintained continously and properly for guests satisfaction and quality assurance, if we find anything to be unacceptable, the home would be blocked from rental until the item or issue was corrected.
After reading your post we made a specific visit to the home to check into each concern you had. Below is our findings.......
We inspected both queen beds as well as all the others in the home and found that all was in good condition and acceptable for welcoming guests. Although we realize there are varied preferences, we are sorry that you had trouble.
The light in the stairway has never been a problem. Upon inspection we could not find any problems that would have changed anything to create a problem.
The large sectional couch is of simple construction, does not have springs in the cushions, only padding. We checked to make sure all the padding is appropriate and well padded for comfort, all cushions checked out in good condition. The only thing we noticed was a few of the cushions that were attached to the back of the couch had partially become unattached and needed to be re-sewn to the back. We took care of the re-sewing at the time of inspection, however, this would not compromise the comfortability of the couch.
The pool table and all other furniture checked out as before, no problems, we are at a loss as to what furniture was considered rickety??? Most of the furniture within the home is very heavy and substantial. We inspected end tables, coffee table, dining tables, bar stools, etc., nothing was loose or in need of adjustment.
The potato peeler and can openers worked fine and are in no need of replacement.
We did a thorough inspection of "ALL" the steps on the property. The top step, as well as all other steps on the property inside and out are in good repair with no work needed. There is nothing that would suggest a problem that would indirectly or directly cause anyone to slip.
As you know, at check-in we tell guests if they have concerns at the property to please call us, we are here for you 24/7. It would've been nice to have been contacted by you to have an opportunity to be helpful where we could, although, when inspecting your concerns as we did after the fact and found things to be as stated above we would not have been able to change anything. It would have been nice to come out and show you our support while you were on the property to have a better understanding of things.
We are sorry you had issues and thank you for complementing our staff in doing their best in making you comfortable when you needed help. We really do care about our guests having a great time!
We hope to welcome you on a return visit.
The Gold Rush Team
Epic Stay In Bear
Walking into this cabin was such a surprise! In a good way. This place was alot better than the pictures! very spacious and cozy. The game tables are so much fun and the snow play hill was great! we made a huge sleding course that was hard to leave. This cabin was everythign and more than i expected! my favriot spot in the house was the BEARCuzzie at 104 the whole trip. If i wanted to get in at 2am i would be in with no issues! EPIC stay i would highly recommend this place Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 03/26/2010
Yes, Elk Lodge is very comfortable and offers much in the way of creature comforts etc.
The natural snow play hill and large spacious yard has been a selling point for many guests.
The hot tub is definitely a quality tub and promises comfort to those who wish to indulge, especially those who like to take a dip during the snow season! We lovingly call that "snow tubing".
We're glad you had an awesome time and suggest you try another visit during the spring or summer to take advantage of the different experience each season brings.
Thank you for your kind review, we will pass on your favor to the owners and the Gold Rush staff.
The Gold Rush Team
Garden Grove, California
Best Staff !
I gotta say when I spoke to the staff at Gold Rush rentals and explained about my daughters handicap (she is confined to a wheel chair) they found us a one level entry that worked perfectly to my daughters needs.I am very impressed! The home is beautiful, spacious, and well laid out! We loved the experience and will definatly do it again!! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 01/29/2010
We are very appreciative of your kind review! Our staff works hard in helping our guests with their needs. It's our pleasure to be of service when you're away from the comforts of home and within the comforts of the homes we manage.
We hope your stay was memorable and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
The Gold Rush Team
Santa Maria, CA
Not like the picture
Overall this unit was not what the Internet described it as. The unit was not clean, despite the fact that we had to pay 1,000 cleaning deposit. We left the place cleaner than when we got it. The major attraction for us was the hot tub. Even though the rental company knew we were coming in on Friday they didn't turn it on so it wasn't even ready to use until Saturday night. With the lake crowded and so choppy that we couldn't do any boating and the hot tub not working it made for a very long evening.
The check in time at 4 pm and check out at 11 am is a bit ridiculous especially since we traveled a bit to get there. Even cheesy hotels allow for an early check in or/and late check out if the unit wasn't being used but here they charge $25 an hour to do so. This is really unreasonable.
For the price we wouldn't stay in the unit again. It was very high priced for what it ended up providing. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 08/02/2009
We are so sorry you were not satisfied with Elk Lodge. I would like to address each point in your review.
Elks Lodge description:
As in "ALL" the descriptions we post on the cabins within our program, we make every effort to give complete and accurate descriptions as well as photographs of each cabin. We feel our computer posted pictures and description are put in place to help guests visualize what they are otherwise unable to view when making a decision, whether they are browsing without calling our office or whether we are using it as a tool when our guests call.
The size and layout of the cabin as well as the beds and where they are place within the home, the kitchen amenities, and the location of the cabin are exactly as described.
To further comment on the "overall" description as being not accurate according to you, I am at a loss as to what you are referring to???
The cleaning of "all" our cabins is another issue we pride ourselves in. Our standards are of the highest with attention to detail in all levels.
This cabin had a guest departure that day and was cleaned for your arrival, it went through our thorough cleaning as well as quality control checkup and our maintenance team preparing and servicing the spa.
All conditions was appropriate for your check-in. If you had any questions or concerns pertaining to anything as you know, guests are encouraged to call our office so that we may address any concerns.
In your particular case, we never heard from you at anytime during your two day stay about a concern over the cleanliness, there was also no discussion about it at check-out.
The charges you are responsible for are clearly itemized on your contract, just above your credit card info requiring your approval signature. Although we verbally discuss the itemized costs with all our guests, we make the assumption that you audit and agree with all charges before you sign the approval to charge your card.
$1,000 cleaning deposit:
We have cleaning fees, not cleaning deposits. We thoroughly clean and prepare each home for our valued guests to ensure their environment is impeccably cleaned with all beds fully dressed as well as a full set of towels for each guests.
Elks Lodge cost for the clean before and after with full linens is $150.00, not $1,000.00, please refer to your charges statement to confirm such.
We also "AUTHORIZE ONLY" a security/damage deposit for each home. Elks Lodge deposit for this is $1,000.00 . As a convenience to our guests we do NOT charge this deposit,we only "AUTHORIZE" so that our guests do not pay needlessly and at the same time our homeowners are not at risk.
We feel this process is responsible to all parties without an undue hardship on the guest who respects the home.
Again, as stated above, you can confirm the Authorization amount clearly indicated in your statement right above your approval to charge signature, please take the time to review this area of your contract.
Hot Tubs: EVERY hot tub, no matter which property it is at is inspected for cleanliness, chemical balance, and water clarity/condition BEFORE & AFTER "EVERY" rental.
Professional servicing is done every week and extra visits are done when there is a back/back.
We have 4 sources who check the hot tub and record by written report on their findings, they are, the cleaning staff, the quality controller, the head of maintenance (certified in hot tub care) as well as our professional service vendor.
Your spa was serviced and properly prepared for your arrival by all with written documentation.
The preparing technician noted all conditions were good and set the temp. to rise to 101.
Your Claim of Our Company not turning "on" the Spa for your arrival on Friday:
Our team NEVER shuts the spas off, temps. are turned down at appropriate times when homes are at rest to protect against needlessly high utility bills for the owners.
Turning the power off completely would be a considerable problem to maintaining proper chemical balances, filtration, etc.
Hot Tub malfunction:
You had alerted the office about the spa registering 32 degrees and that the spa was not warming up on Friday, shortly after your arrival.
Knowing the condition of the spa at servicing earlier that day as well as knowing that 32 degrees is not possible as real water freezes at 32. We immediately knew there was something wrong and contacted the spa company that does all professional repairs. There was nothing earlier indicating any problems.
We maintained communication with both you and the spa technician to ensure all issues were being attended to in a timely manner. The spa technician arrived as quickly as possible, that same day, his reported his findings was that the digital temp. had been compromised, it was sending a code letter coding not indicating 32 degrees (this could happen by someone pushing multiple buttons etc.or shutting down the system by turning the power off), also the sub panel had been opened and the breaker under the staircase had been turned off.
Since this was not how our staff left the spa prepared for check-in the only reasonable conclusion would be that you or your guests may have tried pushing buttons too quickly causing the computer system to not respond correctly, then someone going to the subpanel to try and do something there and turned it completely off. Once that happened you had decided to call the office for help. Unless you know the spa system and code readings you would not be able to get the sytem back on track without the technician to return the unit to proper settings. You should NEVER turn the breaker off.
The spa technician was on site shortly after the reported problem and all was taken care of.
Although the spa problem was easily identified and determined as a compromise generated by you and/or your guests causing the issues, we did not charge you for the service call. We were happy that all was taken care of in a timely manner. This issue was taken care of Friday and should not have made you or your guests unable to use it until Saturday.
Again, this is an accurate accounting of the situation surrounding the hot tub issue, you should take the responsibility for the compromised situation that you or your guests caused. It is unreasonable to state that we have compromised your abilities to enjoy something that you created and we corrected promptly and without service charge! We are happy to have provided service in a timely manner. No further phone calls from you on this matter.
Check-in by 4 Out by 11:
If you took a survey of hotel, motels, and private home rentals, we are certain you will find little variation on times comparing them to ours.
In our experience we like to have enough cleaning time to be thorough. Yes, if we know ahead of time you have a necessity to come in early we allow such by reserving the time and charging accordingly.
$25.00 charge for additional time:
What you do not realize is, depending upon how early your needs are may require that we not take a reservation prior to your arrival so that the home can be prepared properly for you.
We take all the responsible steps not to undermine our owners by refusing another rental because of an early arrival. On the reverse side, our diligence in guests satisfaction to ensure that we have the proper time to prepare the home without compromising our higher standards of the cleaning we insist on.
When a guest is not flexible and must insist on arriving early in advance of knowing what scheduling will be we are happy to accommodate by charging for taking the home out of inventory for that time.
This is not unreasonable when you are able to look at the whole impact of the situation.
However, we do like to accommodate our guests when we are able, if they are flexible we ask them to wait until the day before, give us a call to see what the scheduling of the home is and how we can accommodate where we can.
In your specific case you were able to check-in by 2:00 p.m. without ANY extra charge and we were happy to allow that convenience for you!
I don't understand why your review sites that even cheesy hotels allow for early check in/ etc.?? You are making it seem as if our company does not have flexibility as well as that you were not accommodated and that you feel we are unreasonable.
The true facts pertaining to your check-in are.....we had a guest leave the same day and was still able to allow you to go into the home 2 hours earlier than regular check-in and our staff happily extend the early check-in FREE OF CHARGE without any prompting from you.
We felt pleased and happy that we were able to put you in early without compromise and made you comfortable.
Elk Lodge is an exceptional home that we are proud to offer for a weekend rate of $325.00. It has a lovely view of the lake, just one street up from the water, walking distance to Pleasure Point Marina, has a Pool Table, Bumper Pool Table, Nice size Hot Tub, newly remodeled kitchen, sleeps 12 and more! The mid-week rate is $125.00 pr night, these rates are exceptional when comparing all items, locations respectively.
We take our responsibilties seriously and go the extra mile to help our guests make every moment of their vacation a pleasure. While we are not a hotel with cookie cutter rooms, our cabins take a lot more care and concern in preparing than a one room accommodation. We do take pride in our care to all the mechanical issues, cleanliness, and preparing the cabins we manage.
Sometimes things can occur without warning, when this occurs we take even greater pride showing our guests that their comforts are a priority to us.
We promote this in our communication before, during and after your stay. We have helpful information within books in the home, postings in the home and the documents we provide to you throught your reservation process including in your confirmation details. We make every effort to make sure you are aware of how to reach us at any time day or night, 24/7, we are here for you for any reason.
Part of this process is to encourage you to tell us verbally, write a review and leave it in our office, as well as extend a review on line as you have done here.
Because we do care about customer service we are constantly striving for perfection and always will. Our team works diligently on all levels to attempt to make our guests happy in every way possible.
We have been providing exceptional services to our guests since 2004. We are happy to report that repeat and referrel guests are growing on a regular basis.
We are proud to be a part of the Big Bear Community and intend to be an asset the community can be proud of.
Although we try to be everything to everybody, we also believe there are some guests who just aren't able to be reasonable. For this we are truly sorry.
Your fictious views on the issues in your review may cause others to believe that we allow unsatisfactory conditions, deceptively advertise descriptions of the cabins on the internet, unfairly charge for extra time, not respond in a timely manner to problems causing dissatisfaction, charging higher prices for what was provided, and promote unreasonable practices.
It is our sincere hope that other guests reading your review as well as our response will see clarity to the specifics and the true facts as laid before.
In the spirit of guest relations and a realization that time is a valuable commodity, we appreciate your time in sharing your concerns and hope you will continue to visit Big Bear in the future.
We are proud of our community and would not want your unfavorable stay to get in the way of giving Big Bear another chance. There are other companies in the Big Bear area who extend hospitality services, give them a try.
The Gold Rush Team :)
The Garcia and Delgado Family
San Bernardino Ca
The best vacation
We arrived early and we were able to get into our place early that was good it gave us more time to enjoy the day. The home was more then we expected it was really nice. We took our sons and grandchildren they all enjoyed their selves can't wait to go back the view was beautiful the weather was great The kitchen was fully equiped so we really did not have to bring anything but our food. All and All everyting was nice. It was more then we expected. We will be back again. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 07/19/2009
We were pleased to welcome you early into Elks Lodge. Although our regular arrival time is 4:00 p.m., if conditions are right we are happy to allow early entrance for our guests comfort.
It's always a pleasure when our guests review their happy experience in the homes we manage. We take pride in the homes on our program and continue to pursue excellence and satisfaction in our guests comforts and the quality of their stay.
We value the time you spent in reviewing Elks Lodge and will pass on your remarks to the owners.
Thank you for reviewing and we look forward to a quick return! Don't forget to use your discount coupon!
Team Gold Rush
This place was the full package for a family. We had three families in one home and this place was so large that it did not feel crowded. The pool table and the very large backyard with hill were a plus for us having kids ranging from 16 - 6yrs. The yard was huge and allowed us all to play for hours with the sleds and allowed many of us to learn how to use the snowboard prior to heading to Snow Summit. The living room has a HUGE wrap around sofa that seats about 7 or sleeps 3 kids (not fold out). My mother-in-law was impressed with its cleanliness and the deck provided a nice peak to the lake. The large house is beautiful outside and charming with it's elk decor inside. I was VERY impressed. They should really emphasize more on the size of the back yard because it's great! Regretably did not get to try the hot tub. I certainly would return to this property. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 03/07/2009
We're very pleased you and your family had a wonderful time at Elk Lodge.
We work tirelessly to make sure the cabins on our program are all in proper working order and exceptionally clean for our guests, thank you for acknowledging your appreciation for that.
We will pass on your delightful comments to the owner as well.
We will also take your advise and mention the large backyard so that others will be aware.
As you can see, Elk Lodge is just a brief walk to the lake and Pleasure Point Marina (they extend discounts to our guests). We look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring or Summer???
We appreciate your time spent in reviewing the Elk Lodge Cabin, it's helpful to guests who have never stayed there before to see unbiased reviews of past guests.
sherman oaks, CA
Cozy family fun
Fun house. Smaller than the pictures make it look, but it was still plenty of room for 12 of us. The kids loved it, and the adults had a space of their own to chat. Just wish the hot tub had been a little closer to the stairs (we were there with lots of snow on the ground). Great backyard for snowball fights and snowmen! Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/26/2009
Thank you for your time submitting a review on the Elk Lodge cabin.
Many guests have found this cabin to be quite comfortable. As you can see, the placement of the hot tub is such to make it as convenient as possible, however, in snow conditions it would be a challenge in many of the area cabins, not just at Elks Lodge, to get in a hot tub without experiencing some uniqueness due to the large amount of snow we currently have in Big Bear.
We do our best to shovel a clear pathway in the snow so that those wishing to partake can, we are happy you were able to still enjoy!
For our guests who use the hot tubs in the snow we lovingly call the experience, "Snow Tubbing", seems to have become a very popular thing to experience.
The recent record snowfalls have definitely made the snow around all the properties more enjoyable for all!
We look forward to your return visit.
Affordable Accomodations has bad customer relations
I tried to rent this property at Christmas time. I read all about it. I never got to stay there.
Affordable Housing sent me to a different place with out a working hot tub. Without a dishwasher for my big family. Without enough beds. Without enough a pool table.
I was treated very poorly by Affordable Housing. I was told at the day of my arrival that they were sorry about all the promblems. I would be given a refund for some of my promblems. I have had the run around for all two months. They now say. Nothing is going to be done.
I would tell all not to believe what Affordale Accommodations has to say. Read more
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 02/20/2009
We take Pride in our customer care and satisfaction and ALWAYS go the extra mile to ensure our guests know that we appreciate their business as well as their comforts while they are away.
We are at a loss on understanding your review because of all the circumstances that surrounded your stay.
First of all, your reservation you made on Nov. 19 reflects all the specifics on charges and dates of arrival and departure. Your dates were January 26 - 28, 2009. All the documents you signed had confirmed those dates as well as the "confirmation" package your received. You had the documents in your possession for over a month. At no time did you call our office to state a concern over an error in dates.
However, on Dec. 24th we received a call from you stating that dates were incorrect and that you needed the home for December 26, just two days away and in a holiday crunch time period. After explaining that the documents were in your possession for at least a month as well as it being your responsibility to correct any errors before signing we wanted to try and help ease your distress. You had told us you were expecting out of state guests and didn't want to disappoint.
Contractually we were not obligated to accommodate or offer you a change in dates, however,in the spirit of good customer relations we saw that there was an alternative we could offer you and we did try our best to try and accommodate. Unfortunately, Elks Lodge was already rented but we could offer you Mountain Top Getaway as an alternative. You stated that you very pleased that we made an exception in your case. Our staff was very clear on the differences in amenities and you had agreed that the differences was acceptable to you.
With all due respect, it is unreasonable for you to be informed about the differences on the home you would be staying in and you choose to accept them then turn around and write a review as if you had no idea about the difference or that the differences were unacceptable.
The non working hot tub was not apparent on the day of check-in, it was working fine for the guests before your arrival and checked fine on the day of your arrival. Your call to our office the evening before your check out was the first time there was any indication of a spa problem. I must also state that Big Bear at that time was in the midst of getting record snow falls which made it difficult at best for many contractors and such to get around town. Anyway, in our efforts to help we called the spa company that services the unit, they had assured us that they would go out as soon as they could but the weather conditions were challenging. Our head of maintenance did keep in communication with all as we always due until the issue is resolved.
Sometimes circumstances arise that are beyond anyones control, in those cases we do our best to help where we can. Realizing that you were disappointed that you did not have any access to the hot tub on your last evening we did offer a small financial compensation.
Our last communication with you was with your husband who praised our staff for going above and beyond in help when it was clearly a mistake on your part. He was extremely nice and went on to recognize our company with appreciation that we accommodated you and your family during a holiday AND that everyone had a great time! The financial compensation was not necessary but thank you for the gesture.
It is our hope that in restating your situation you can realize your circumstances and accept your own responsibilities in such.
In closing, it is unfortunate that you felt disappointed on the choices you made, however, you did make an informed choice. We do take our responsibilities to our guests seriously and feel very comfortable and pleased on how we handled your stay.
Pastor Paul Son
Orange County, CA
Great Meeting Room
Agents at Gold Rush were very friendly. The house we stayed was
clean, cozy, spacious, modern, private, and affordable. Large living
room was exactly what we needed. Two car garage space was also
Response from Gold Rush Resort Rentals - 01/20/2009
We appreciate your response on Elk Lodge. This cabin is the perfect balance between offering mountain charm and modern conveniences. We are pleased that the owners allow us to offer this cabin at such an affordable price. Thank you again for your review. Our friendly staff look forward to helping you again on your next stay.