Big Bear Vacations has rated this property ”Big Bear Comfort”This cozy and warm two bedroom one bath home is located in Moonridge. Once you do the trek to this home you will find the most fantastic slope & mountain views. The home includes a kitchen and living room with 46" HD LCD TV/DVD/CD/wireless internet, sofa sleeper and a wood burning fireplace. In the master bedroom on the first level you will find a queen bed. On the second floor you will find the second bedroom with two twin sized beds and a full bed with a 22" HD LCD TV. All the beds upstairs have new memory foam mattresses on them. There is an outdoor spa and a picnic... area on the wrap around decking with gorgeous views. There are at least three flights of stairs to get to see the incredible views from A Trek to the Stars Charcoal BBQ No pets allowed/ This home is approximately 1000 square feet/
Additional amenities include: groupon fall, views, skiing.Read more
My wife and I stayed at this cabin first part of august. We didnt see the reviews until after our stay, and there have been several improvements. Apparently the cabin is under new ownership. There are new mattresses on the beds, the wireless system is working well, there are 2 new flat screen tvs, the front door has been repaired and no longer sticks, the lights on the stairs are now functioning, the jacuzzi tub is working well and there is a new couch in the living room. There are a lot of steps, but my wife and I are in our 60's and we managed without any difficulty. Its the trade off for an excellent view of the ski slopes, sunsets and the stars. It is located in a perfect place thats away from the downtown traffic, yet close and convenient to restaurants, shopping and ski slopes. Nice and peaceful. Read more
Thank you for leaving this very informative review! It sounds like this cabin was perfect for you and your wife, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you come visit us again soon!!
Newbury Park, CA
Bad, real bad
Left on 12/28/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Perry Macdonald
The keys didn't work. I called and was placed on hold. Even though the message said that I should mention Sierra Pine for waiting so long, nothing happened when I did. I had to go back for new keys. I got the housekeeping keys. The hot tub key wasn't on the first set which should of been obvious, according to the person I picked the new keys from. The parking required climbing a 5 foot, 60 degree incline and there is no way 2 cars could fit when it is icy and the neighbor to the right wants to use his driveway as well.
The three flights of stairs from the street level were icy and not shoveled were treacherous in the dark since there is no lighting. The porch wasn't shoveled and had turned to ice as well, requiring us to walk use the front door to get to the hot tub, since that was the only door that would open. Read more
We apologize for the inconvenience you had while stay with us. However we very much appreciate the input about your stay in A Trek to the Stars. The information each of our guests offer us after a stay is very important as it helps us evaluate each review and do out best to use the feedback that our guests give us to improve each guest’s personal experience.
Besides one issue overall great experience
Left on 12/28/2011 for a stay in December 2011 | Anraygoza
The place itself was awesome and although the staff was friendly, they had forgotten to give me the key to the jacuzzi and they said because they were so busy i had to drive myself back down to their office and pick up a copy. When i finally drove down there another customer there had the same situation. So that was a small problem we had to deal with. Also as other reviewers mentioned the jets were not functioning (as of dec 2011) Besides that the place was great, clean, cozy and in a great location (near the ski and not too far from shopping area). Staff very friendly but was not willing to go that extra mile and drop our key off. Read more
Thank you very much for your review of A Trek to the Stars. Your feedback is very useful as it can allow us to determine problems when they arise and help to prevent such issues from occurring for other guests when preventable. We hope to have to the opportunity to help you plan a future vacation in Big Bear Lake.
Left on 10/29/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Lynds
1. You must have a good heart to haul luggage, food etc. up the many, many,many stairs to the cabin, but the view was great. Would worry about climbing in snow/ice.
2. Loved the hot tub, very big, very clean.
3. Directions sent to us had not been updated approx two years, so we got lost on way to Big Bear. However, at checkin they gave us a $25 gas card for the inconvenience.
4. Cabin was very clean, but very hot in day and fans in closet and we could not get closet door open on.
5. Very clean.
6. Check-in staff were great.
7. Directions to TV and DVD player were wrong, the remotes were different than those in directions.
8. No batteries in flash lights.
9. Great shower.
Left on 10/28/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Danojeno
Great location with a great view, but too many stairs and lackluster furnishings. Spa with view of slopes was great, but the jets weren't working. Place was clean, beds were beat. Place definitely needs some updating and TLC.
I would not rent this.
Left on 10/26/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | LS777M80
The view from the cabin was nice. But the fact the heater didn't work wasn't a good sign. And the lights going up to stairs didn't work. I had to use a flash light to see where I was going. And half the lights inside the cabin didn't work. The website said there was wifi in the cabin. And there wasn't at all. Couldn't really use the hot tub due to the location of it. It was hard to remove the cover and hard to get in. And I due believe I over paid to stay in this cabin. The only nice part about my stay was waking up in the morning and seeing the view from the balcony. Read more
We are very sorry to hear about the issues you found with this cabin. We informed you at check in that we do have a 24 hour maintenance team that will come to the cabin to fix any problems that should happen during your stay. Your satisfaction during your stay is very important to us and we always want to help you enjoy your time with us any way that we can.
Excellen Cabin - Could Use Comfier Beds
Left on 10/05/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | RAM
The cabin and location were excellent. The personnel at check-in were very helpful and friendly. The only gripe would be that the beds are slightly uncomfortable and seemed a bit shaky, but that isn't something that you can control I don't believe.
Trek to the stars is not just a clever name
Left on 09/27/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Doug Spellman
When they named this trek to the stars they were not joking! The walk up the first time was romantic (we were honeymooning) but every trip up and down became very tiring. We were excited about the hot tub so we took the cover off and it was already hot and ready! We jumped in to find that most of the jets didnt work, I believe only 3 or 4 did work. We turn in for the night and wake up with very stiff backs because of the rock hard bed. Since the cabin had multiple rooms we tried upstairs only to find that the bed frame was broken. The front office was kind and moved us into a much better cabin. Read more
We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with that cabin. We do our best to make your time with us enjoyable and are very glad we were able to move you to a cabin you were able to enjoy for your honeymoon. We aplogize for the inconvenience and hope to see you again.
Garden Grove, CA
could've been better
Left on 08/24/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Maria
This is my fourth rental with Big Bear Vacations and all have been a good if not decent experiences. However, this particular cabin was bad. I knew there was going to be a walk up the stairs hence the name of the cabin, but it was far up and also dark and dangerous if not careful. The parking was horrible especially if you have a low car. Your mufflers will probably break off. Location of the cabin was also hard to find. My group arrived late at night, so it was partly our fault that we couldn't find the cabin. However, the area is extremely dark! it was barely lit and it took us at least 30 minutes to find the cabin.
Moving inside, the upstairs loft is scary. The lights were broken when we arrived so I never even went up there. Also it was too late to call for service because we were so tired. The jacuzzi was awesome, but once again, the back patio is extremely dark and poorly lit. The kitchen and living room is fairly small for a group of six because its attached together. There is no wall to separate it and so it was a problem for my group. We needed more space. I forgot if the cabin came with cable tv, but if it didn't, then that's fine because some channels worked and some didn't. If it did come with cable tv, I suggest big bear fix it. Last of all, the telephone did not work so please check that as well.
New experience coming to Big Bear during the summer. Bad experience with a small, dark, possibly dangerous cabin. =]
Pros / Cons
Left on 07/28/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Clint
Overall we loved the cabin so don't let the cons weigh too heavily, we didn't have much trouble working around them.
1. Wonderful view
2. Plenty of hot water/pressure
3. Hot tub
5. Cozy and quiet
1. Beds are uncomfortable
2. Long "Trek" up lots of stairs
3. Garage can be difficult to get into / driveway is steep and very short
Nice stay with beautiful view
Left on 07/14/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Ron T.
I really enjoyed my stay in Big Bear. The cabin was nice and well equipped. We did have an issues with the keys not working but the office was close to the cabin so it was not a problem. The view from the cabin is amazing and the spa felt great. All of the beds were very un-comfortable though.
Left on 07/12/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | GT
We were wanting to getaway to a place nice and relaxing. The floors did not appear to have been cleaned for a long time and the hot tub had both of us feeling itchy everywhere. Maybe there was too much chlorine...
The beds weren't very comfortable and overall I would probably not stay there again.
Hannah La Bore
I loved the scenary and the proximity to the slopes.
Left on 02/02/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Hannah La Bore
This was the first time renting a cabin @ Big Bear. I loved the experience of staying in a cabin and the proximity to the slopes. We were slightly disappointed in the size of the cabin. We made it work. Looking @ pictures on the internet made the cabin bigger than it actually was. The only real disappointment was the hassle of trying to get the jacuzzi in working order. That was an anmenity that was important to us. I was given a slight refund for my trouble which helped. I will definietly rent a cabin during next years ski season but will not stay @ the cabin. Overall I loved the idea of staying up on the mountain for a couple days/nights. The cutomer service was great and they were always friendly.
San Diego, Ca
Great view... nice spa
Left on 01/12/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Laurie
The stairs up to the cabin were definitely a trek- I did not realize I was so out of shape! We liked the cabin- although a rug on the floor would have been nice. If I could say anything it would be to replace the couch. It was horrible. Other than that- it was fine and we had a nice stay. The best thing was the spa. Sitting surrounded by snow under a starry sky was awesome!
i would not pick this cabin again for the age group that i had
Left on 12/29/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | warren
i was very hard for my 60 year old mother to climb the stairs she even slipped. i called for a service to clean the snow off the stairs through your organization, i was told that it was not pervided, although the house right next to us fortable thathas a service come and clean the drive way from there rental agency free of charge. also the up stairs bed twin had no support the springs you could feel them when you sleeped keeping you up half the night.
Review of Trek to the Stars
North Las Vegas
Comforts of Home
Left on 12/02/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Review of Trek to the Stars
We enjoyed the cabin and all the furnishings. The master bed was a little hard for my liking ,but overall we enjoyed our stay. Read more
Thank you for your reveiw on A Trek to the Stars.We are glad you enjoyed your stay,hope to see you again soon.
Las Vegas, Nv
A Perfect Stay!!!
Left on 08/13/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | DF
Myself, my wife and 2 1/2 year old son stayed in this wonderful cabin for 2 nights. It is in an amazing location, with incredible views all around. The cabin has 2 bedrooms with a total of 4 beds. The kitchen is fully stocked, the fireplace is wonderful and all the amenities you will need are provided. There is a great BBQ and Jacuzzi, we had an absolute wonderful time. I highly recommend this cabin! The stars at night are so clear, the weather was amazing, and you can be in the town in just a few minutes. Don't miss this!!
Los Angeles/Eagle Rock
Big Bear Vacations
Left on 08/04/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Sergio Vazquez
Are vacation was good but it needed some other things like
a blender and some chairs at the back porch.Because we had to take some chairs from inside to outside so we could have a BBQ and so we could just relax and enjoy the view.
Surprisingly pleased with this quaint and cozy cabin.
Left on 07/31/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Jay
Wasn't sure because of poor reviews but this cabin must have been fixed up. Everything was in great working order, the interior decor was very pleasing, kitchen was fully stocked, enjoyed the views from the big patio and jacuzzi. Will definitely stay here again.
Left on 01/14/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | iviorjvgf
This cabin service is just OK. They gave us the wrong keys to the cabin, there was some trash left outside and egg juice on the table cloth. We only had one roll of toilet paper that they provided and a limited number of coffee filters. The firewood that we bought from the rental place was expensive.....we found cheaper prices at the Walgreens. The cabin is nice but, Big Bear Vacations need some remodeling.
Our stay was just OK
Spooky and at time dangerous
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in January 2010 | critics
The house is nice although the interior a bit uncharitable (no glases, only plastic cups, no pictures, the house technically could accommodate 6 people but there is only room for 3! on the couch and 4 chairs). It has a nice fireplace and a great functional hot tub on the deck, BUT not much else is working properly in this house. The lights are partly flickering (we had trouble reading our magazines)or don't work at all, especially the outside stairs to the street, which is dangerous because you can easily trip, there is no light on the deck for the hot tub...I almost fell into the tub! Internet, phone, both TVs and DVD players and the microwave where not working. We were 4 people and got a discount and paid 211$/night even that was somewhat overpriced for what it was. We still enjoyed the stay but this place has to be fixed up!
Okay, not great
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | Ally
Clearly, the owners managers of the unit are trying to help guests have an enjoyable vacation.
However, the house is old, and not 100% functioning. Heating did not work in all rooms, and the main heater was unpleasantly dry. One of the queen beds was on wheels--bed was moving around when we turned at night. Internet (not wireless...) worked only the first day.
If you are fine having the basics, then you are in good shape. If you are looking to have a more indulging experience, you should go someplace else.
Left on 08/06/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Jean-Pierre
A setting supposedly for six that had only 4 chairs (one broken-someone
came to take it to fix it, but since we stayed two days , we had to deal with only
3 chairs) and just one table...no outdoor furniture, no bedtables (and bedside
lights) in the bedrooms...A pity because the location and sunset were
perfect...It could have taken not much really...It was less than the bare
minimum...Too bad...Big Bear is a great place to be, but not in this
rental...sorry... Read more
Occupancy ratings are not based on dining room seating, rather, city ordinance per square footage in the property. Big Bear Vacations recommends to owners to provide sleeping arrangements appropriate for occupancy.
MISSION HILLS, CA
Left on 07/27/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | ROBSTER
I had a hard time trying to locate the property as the name of the cabin posted outside is not "A TREK TO THE STARS". I arrived with my three daughters and the frond door was wide open as if someone had been in the cabin. The lights out front did not work as the bulbs were all burned out. I had to call and have someone come out to fix the door as it would not stay shut or locked and to change all of the outside bulbs. Read more
Big Bear Vacations keeps a 24 on call maintenance staff to fix issues such as lights and doors immediately. Location and directions to cabins is given to each guest at check in. If any issues arrise with finding properties guest can call our 24 on call staff to help with finding the property.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.