Lodge House #100
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
The Lodge House was the original property managerâ€™s living quarters at Shore Acres Lodge. This is an eclectic 3 bedroom 1 3/4 bath 1907 log interior with an original large river rock fireplace and a true rustic mountain cabin feel. The living room has comfortable furnishings, pool table, wifi internet, flat screen TV,DVD and a dining area and dishwasher. The master has a king bed and its own bath. The second bedroom has a full and a twin with a wall mounted flat screen TV. The third bedroom has a bunk set (lower bed is full size) with the bathroom between the two bedrooms. All Lodge House guests are welcome to use all amenities at Shore Ac...Read more
Lodge House #100
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$320 - $570||$320 - $570||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$320||$320||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$345||$345||-||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 22 2013||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 23 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$445||$445||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Jan. 2 2014||$570||$570||-||-||-|
|Jan. 10 2014 - Jan. 11 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Jan. 12 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Jan. 23 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 24 2014 - Jan. 25 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Jan. 26 2014 - Jan. 30 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Jan. 31 2014 - Feb. 1 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Feb. 2 2014 - Feb. 6 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 7 2014 - Feb. 8 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Feb. 9 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$495||$495||-||-||-|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 20 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 21 2014 - Feb. 22 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Feb. 23 2014 - Feb. 27 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Feb. 28 2014 - Mar. 1 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Mar. 30 2014 - May. 22 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 24 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|May. 25 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$320||$320||-||-||-|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 6 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Jul. 7 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$370||$370||-||-||-|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Sep. 1 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$345||$345||-||-||-|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 30 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2014 - Dec. 11 2014||$395||$395||-||-||-|
|Dec. 12 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$420||$420||-||-||-|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$445||$445||-||-||-|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Jan. 2 2015||$570||$570||-||-||-|
|View all 37 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
aweful, unorganize staffs
Broken heater in master room, extremely cold. Not enough hot water to service showering capacity for even 4 people, let alone 8.
Management did not respond to comments of lack of heat and lack of water. Noone answered emergency call when we found out the heater did not work so some of us had to sleep in on the floor in the living room while we paid for the master bedroom. Useless. Left a letter with management, no one called back or attempted to contact us to offer an apology.
So many more aweful little details but that's not even needed to mention. We had an aweful night during the cold season. Be aware.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 04/29/2012
Thank you for your constructive criticism. We look at each review with a clinical eye to try and improve each guestâ€™s time in one of our rental homes so that issues can be addressed and will not occur for future guests who stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to assist you with your future vacation plans.
Good, with loved the lodge that has great caracter. +++===
Great people at the main office and on-site. Took great care of our entire group and the different cabins we were in. Only problem in the smaller units was the refrigerators had difficulty keeping foods cool.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 11/04/2011
Thank you for responding to our survey. If you have any problems, we have a maintenance staff on-call for any issues. We have noticed on the past that with our altitude of nearly 7,000 feet - refridgerators work best at the mid-range setting or less. We have verified that all the appliances are functioning properly, Thank you again for your feedback.
Incredible value and wonderful surroundings
Outstanding! Service was impeccible and the cabin was very comfortable, spacious and homely. Made everyone in my party gasp with delight and pleasure. Could not have planned this better without the help of Big Bear Vacations. I will be renting this cabin again very soon. We left feeling refreshed and sad that we had to leave so soon...
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 05/21/2011
Wow, this is some great feedback. Thank you for all the compliments, we do our best to provide the ultimate experience.
A Night Out
Let's keep it simple and bullet point this!
(1) Great Service!
(2) Great Price!
(1) Hard to find in the dark!
(2) Electric Outdated!
(3) Plugged a room heater in & the whole cabin blacked out twice!
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 03/01/2011
Thank you for responding to our survey. Space heaters use up more energy than a combinations of all kitchen appliances. We do not like to leave them in a unit in that they do trip breakers frequently. We will put illumnating signs on the units to help people find them better in the dark. We hope you were still able to enjoy your stay in Big Bear.
Los Alamitos, CA
Location was awesome. Walking distnace ot the lake, which the boys loved. Minutes to the village and ski areas. Very convenient. We did have a couple issues however. Because we didn't check in until after dark, the cabin was very hard to find. Directions were terrible. There was no outside lighting, so the address and the cabin number were very hard to see. It probably would have been better in the daylight. The cabin was very comfortable and spacious. Great for our weekend. The heat was a little hard to deal with and didn't heat the house very well, but we dealt with it. The layout of the cabin was a little odd, too. You added an office to the front of the cabin, so the main entrance to the cabin was through one of the bedrooms. Not very convenient for the people sleeping in that room. Many of the doors were difficult to open. Either taped shut or catching at the bottom. (I think the cabin was recently refurbished and all the bugs weren't worked out yet.) Hot water was great. Kitchen was great. It had everything we needed and more. Beds were comfortable. Main room/livingroom was spacious and comfortable, with plenty of seating for our group. It had a piano, which we loved, even if it was seriously out of tune. The kids loved the wifi access too. Overall, on a scale of 1-10 we gave it a 7.
Disappointed Bill :(
World traveler from low to high end.
We were really excited and thought this place had to be high end by the agreement we had to sign. There were fees for everything, ie. $25 if you left a bag of trash, etc. Not sure when pictures where taken, but they definitely did not show how dirty the place was, how old the interior really felt and the awful stench of old fried fish which we endured for three nights. We contacted the manager regarding the rental situation which he could careless. He was trying to sell as on the historic value of this cabin being over 100 years old. The only offer we got from him was stay one night and he would refund our money for the 2 other nights. We thought about leaving, but the kids really wanted to stay. There was no other place available at the last minute, Dec. 27-29, 2010. If I was paying budget price then I definitely wouldn't be complaining. The eating utensils provided was 1 spoon and 1 fork. Plenty of spatulas if you like to use those to eat with. The refridgerator had no shelves on the door. The refridgerator had to be cleaned before our food was put in and we also laid paper towels after the cleaning just to be safe. We had to go through a bedroom door to get into the cabin. The other bedroom door had duct tape as a wind barrier, so did the washroom door leading out. One of the bedroom closet had a hole in the wall, which my husband took care of the draft with more duct tape. Make sure you take slippers, because if you walk using white sock, they will become black on the bottom from the filth. Sometimes you have to grin and bear it for the kids. They probably thought they were staying at Jed Clampett's place.
Kitchen & Bed is worst place with the cost
Please provide Kitchen's base equipment.
Replace with beds.
S & B. R.
Our getaway at Shore acres
Weather and accommodations were all just right. there was something of interest for all ages of our group, which numbered sixteen (16).
NO NAME ENTERED
it was ok - not great
cabin was ok - not happy that one bathroom did not have a door - only a curtain - the external doors did not have screen doors so unable to allow fresh air in during th evening - unable to open windows - kitchen was good - liked cabin location fine - kids loved the pool and very well maintained
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 10/27/2010
Thank you for responding to our survey. We will putting new screens on the unit during the coming spring (we remove all screen doors over winter because of snow). The Master bedroom bathroom does not have a door. The common bathroom does have a door. The opening does not allow for a door to swing--we will see if we can get something better at the unit over the spring. We hope you were able to have some enjoyment while in Big Bear.
San Diego, CA
Family birthday weekend
Truthfully we would have had a great time no matter where we stayed! The property was a lot older and more rustic than it appeared on the website. I didn't mind that, there was plenty of room for all of us. However there was an issue with hot water and the heater if plugged in the bathroom made the lights go out. My son had to go outside and trip the breaker a few times. We couldn't all have showers but we "made do" like camping. Also, before coming up a young man at the rental office told me it was a gas fireplace. That was what I was expecting so didn't bring kindling or starter log. It is not gas and we had a hard time getting a fire going and keeping it going. I would have been prepared had I known. Since it was snowing, of course, the "amenities" were not available. I think the price was a little high. Since it was our first time to Big Bear we didn't know what to expect. Next time I will probably shop around a little more but may rent there again, not sure.
Wonderful Space for Family, Friends, and just the 2 of us
We were so comfy at this cabin. It's woodsy charm hit it out of the park for us. What was nice that even though it was summer we could still light a fire in the beautiful Rock fireplace for a romantic evening...
Special thanks to Jacki and the Staff @ Big Bear Vactaions.!!!!!!!
New Orleans, LA
Shore Acres is a Fantastic Family Getaway
We were three adults and two kids with no idea what Lodge House 100 at Shore Acres Lodge would be like. We loved it instantly on arrival. It is exactly how you would imagine a lake cabin family retreat. A log cabin, comfy bedrooms,a great center room, breezes through the windows, and the lake in sight. In the center of the group of cabins is a pool, a hot tub, a volleyball net, a ping pong table, picnic tables and more. We rented a boat one day, a jet ski the next, went on a hike to the tallest lodge pole pine and took the kids down a bobsled ride. We were going to stay two nights and stayed four. It was peaceful, fun, and the weather was gorgeous and cool at night.
The Big Bear Family
We would not stay here again unless remodeled
This cabin was apparently built in 1902 and I think that very little has been done to it since then. Rustic charm is great, but this cabin is in need of major maintenance. A few notes:
Toilet seat in master bedroom is held on by one bolt and you completely slide off the seat when you sit. Bathroom sink also backs up so you can only leave the water on for a moment. When you are in the shower, don't look up. There is unknown brown goo that you will worry will fall on you. There is a whole in the kitchen that looks directly down into the dirt. Some creature stole our dog food the first night there. The doors don't shut completely on the second bedroom. All the windows have make-shift curtain rods that kept falling on our heads. Did I meantion it is attached to the office and your entrance is through a spare bedroom ? Not the easiest to find. Especially at night. The place has some charm but definitely not worth the price. It is sad because IF it had been well-maintained, we would have rated it high. But this little place has been very much deprived of needed attention.
Response from Big Bear Vacations - 07/13/2009
Throughout the summer Shore Acres Lodge has on-site management to help with any issues that may arise with maintenance. Shore Acres lodge is basic, with rustic charm and priced accordingly.
LONG BEACH, CA
WEEKEND @ BIG BEAR
We spent a long weekend at the Shore Acres Lodge. The check in was quick and friendly, although not located at the site. The cabin was clean and nicely supplied with bedding. There could have been more towels as it sleeps 10 and I found only 8 larger than hand towels. There was no housekeeping staff on site. There was thankfully a washer & dryer in the laundry room since we were there 3 days with 8 people. It was walking distance to "The Village" and another restraunt which was also nice.
We wished with the early summer temperatures the (very small) pool and jacuzzi would have been open, but we stayed a week before the "summer season" started.
All-in-all a nice place we are likely to go back to.