A Honeymooner's Hideaway
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Perfect Big Bear romantic getaway - light, bright and very cozy classic cabin with knotty pine staircase and warmly decorated interior. One bedroom plus loft, one bathroom cabin with a stone fireplace, cable TV, DVD player, high-speed internet, stereo with CD player, and full kitchen with stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, and pots/pans. Large deck with hot tub, outdoor furniture, picnic table, and a charcoal barbecue. Walk to the lake and just a couple of miles to the golf course and ski slopes.
Master bedroom has a queen log bed.
Cozy loft has a full bed.
A Honeymooner's Hideaway...Read more
A Honeymooner's Hideaway
Big Bear Lake, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
Stay 2 nights, get night free See Details »
|Rate Summary||$170 - $471||$170 - $471||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 1 2013 - May. 23 2013||$170||$170||-||-||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - May. 26 2013||$196||$196||-||-||1 night|
|May. 27 2013 - Jul. 2 2013||$222||$222||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||$274||$274||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$222||$222||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 1 2013||$222||$222||-||-||-|
|Sep. 2 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$222||$222||-||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$294||$294||-||-||-|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Dec. 12 2013||$274||$274||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 13 2013 - Dec. 19 2013||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 20 2013 - Dec. 25 2013||$346||$346||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 26 2013 - Dec. 26 2013||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 27 2013 - Dec. 27 2013||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 28 2013 - Dec. 28 2013||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 29 2013 - Dec. 29 2013||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 30 2013 - Dec. 30 2013||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 31 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$471||$471||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 1 2014 - Jan. 1 2014||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 2 2014 - Jan. 16 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 17 2014 - Jan. 19 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 20 2014 - Feb. 13 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Feb. 14 2014 - Feb. 16 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Feb. 17 2014 - Feb. 28 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Mar. 1 2014 - Mar. 31 2014||$274||$274||-||-||1 night|
|Apr. 1 2014 - Apr. 30 2014||$170||$170||-||-||1 night|
|May. 1 2014 - May. 22 2014||$170||$170||-||-||1 night|
|May. 23 2014 - May. 25 2014||$196||$196||-||-||1 night|
|May. 26 2014 - Jul. 2 2014||$222||$222||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 3 2014 - Jul. 5 2014||$274||$274||-||-||1 night|
|Jul. 6 2014 - Aug. 28 2014||$222||$222||-||-||1 night|
|Aug. 29 2014 - Aug. 31 2014||$222||$222||-||-||1 night|
|Sep. 1 2014 - Nov. 25 2014||$222||$222||-||-||1 night|
|Nov. 26 2014 - Nov. 29 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Nov. 30 2014 - Dec. 18 2014||$274||$274||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 19 2014 - Dec. 21 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 22 2014 - Dec. 23 2014||$294||$294||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 24 2014 - Dec. 25 2014||$346||$346||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 26 2014 - Dec. 26 2014||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 27 2014 - Dec. 27 2014||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 28 2014 - Dec. 28 2014||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 29 2014 - Dec. 29 2014||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 30 2014 - Dec. 30 2014||$399||$399||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 31 2014 - Dec. 31 2014||$379||$379||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 1 2015 - Dec. 31 2015||$379||$379||-||-||1 night|
|View all 44 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 17, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
No Honeymoon here...
The place hasn't been cleaned of dust in ages! The standup shower had mold all over the bottom rim, and the couch was not usable unless you placed huge pillows in the middle to prevent from sinking in. All the blinds had piled dust, and it was just disgusting. If I ever rent another cabin again, I will definitely ask if the place is cleaned.
Rough but adorable
This is certainly a cabin. And by that I mean it has all the charm of a wooden hideaway in the mountains, but none of the frills of a fancy hotel. The basics are there: a cozy living room with wonderful fire place, a kitchen, a bedroom, and a bathroom. It was perfect for a little getaway for my boyfriend, my dog, and me. The jacuzzi out front was great for star gazing at night and theres a grill on the porch for cooking. The only issue we had was a leak in the bathroom sink. Other than that, we had a great stay at the Honeymooners Hideaway and would definitely look into coming back.
Best place to stay
Just very nice, easy to everything, easy to check-in and out fire place fantastic, good staff around and good good service
Los Angeles, CA
Cute cabin, bad location, terrible driveway
The cabin was very cute, well decorated and was spacious enough for two. The kitchen was stocked enough for what we needed and the checkin process was very easy. The key lockbox worked perfectly. The spa was nice, although there were no instructions, but I think we figured it out. It never got really hot, but it was still nice.
My complaints are small, but they added up by the time we left. First, the cabin is almost impossible to find in the dark. It's behind another cabin, with no lights or address sign or anything that you can see from the street. It took us at least 15 minutes of driving up and down the very dark street, eventually I was walking along using my cell phone for light to even see where it was. Second, the driveway is pitched so sharply, it is practically a sledding hill. Which would be great, except there is no where else to park your car. We had a large SUV and it barely fit. Even worse was the next morning trying to back out of the driveway, with ice and snow...it was treacherous to say the least. Maybe leave a bag of sand or salt in the cabin to help out in that case. The heater was so ancient, any reference marks had been rubbed off long ago. So I had no way of knowing which dial was for temperature, etc. I just turned them all a little bit at at time until the heater kicked on. The shower was tiny and had mildew/mold around the bottom. There were old q-tips and tissues in the bathroom and the bedroom, which made me feel like it hadn't been cleaned very well since the last renter. And the bed was very uncomfortable. Worse than a pull out couch. So by the time we left, I was feeling like it really wasn't worth what we paid for it. And we likely will not stay there again. But I hope that this review will at least help the next guest (maybe they can give better directions or inform people about the super steep driveway).
What I love about the cabin was the location close to town and easy to find and very private but it was not very clean the rugs in the cabin were so dirty and dusty we had to clean them ourselfs there no broom in the cabins so we had to by a sweeper duster and the pots and pans where also dirty so we bought more and left them for the next person
Bruce & Diane
Stay was nice and relaxing. Cabin was cozy. Fireplace was very nice.
The negative side: dishes and cups were dirty. Had to clean (all) kitchen ware prior to cooking. Stairs are very steep and slippery. I slipped twice. Thank goodness for the rails. Need skid resistant strips to prevent falling down staircase. Mini blinds are old, dirty and bend.(need to be replaced) to compliment the cabin. Common complaint was parking.
Not many channels on cable, so take your Dvd's if you want to watch movies.
Tour de big Bear rider
Marina del Rey
Patio chairs dry/ splintered.
Cabin behind a home and hard to find in dark.
Drive way to cabin is narrow, Grade from street pavement high then goes to dirt, causing scrapping to bottom of car...Thankfully no snow. Neighbor commented that cars have rolled into their patio when there is snow.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 08/19/2012
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I wanted to take the time to let you know that we have sent maintenance to the property to address the issues with the patio chairs. Unfortunately there is not much we can do in regards to the driveway but the owners are aware of these issues. Thank you for your business we hope to do business with you in the near future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Great location and cozy comforts.
The peace and serenity of the location is undeniable. I stayed there with my wife and our three kids. They absolutely love it. This was our third time using this cabin. It is exactly what we expected. It is a rustic mountain retreat. No frills, just a beautiful setting and just 5-10 minutes from anywhere you want to go in Big Bear. If you enjoy peace and quite and the feeling like there is not a care in the world, then this is the cabin for you. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away and just relax!
This cabin is great, my wife and I had a great time, cool cabins had everything we needed and the cabin was perfect. Had a great time in the spa under great weather. My wife and I could even walk to the lake and jump in. Great place thank you cool cabins. It is Big Bear and we wanted a cabin not the Ritz Carlton, you will have to start your own fire and light you own BBQ.
fun but still average
We had a good time but the cabin sat back behind two other cabins and the hot tub was in th e front yard. Descrption on the website doesn't tell you that. But with allsaid the cabin was clean and we still had a good time
Just got home from weekend stay in the Honeymooner's Hideaway. It was a perfect little simple cabin for my girlfriend and I. We were both more than happy with the cabin and our stay was absolutly beautful. I would strongly recomend this cabin to anyone looking for a little romantic getaway.
not worth it at all !
starting from the drive way it was very narrow and super muddy we couldn't even get out the car. the house didn't have any electricity we had to call them to change light bulbs.the heater took for ever to heat up, the beds were very dirty and very small. very unsafe stairs seemed like you could fall any minute. the upstairs was super small and very low ceiling there was barely any space to move upstairs. we ended up leaving at night we didn't even stay the night.the bathroom is so small the shower was dirty and the furniture was very old and dirty. over all this place is not worth what we paid for at all i wouldn't recommend it to any couple. im never booking from cool cabins again !
Matt mountain man
It was nice because of the person I was with and the environment
It was a cozy cabin, but several discrepancies. Many of the lights didn't work, the downstairs television wouldn't turn on, and all the remotes had either dead or no batteries. Most of the dishes were filthy, both grills dilapidated and inoperable. And of course, the driveway is absolutely unacceptable. It has a huge drop off at the road, and only fits the tiniest vehicles with the 90 degree turn in the middle. I will not be renting from big bear cool cabins again, and I will spread the news.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 03/27/2012
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Your feedback enables us to address any issues and ensure their prompt resolve. Upon receipt of your review we did send maintenance to the home to address the issues with the lights, television, and remotes. Maintenance was also sent to the home to make sure that all grills were operable. Thank you for taking the time to address these issues; we hope you will give our company another chance in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
we enjoyed out stay very much, close to all. easy online check in. a little pricey. hot tub could be warmer at check in.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 03/09/2012
Thank you for the favorable review of Big Bear Cool Cabins and A Honeymooners Hideaway. We welcome you to come stay with us during the spring and fall where the rates are at their most economic. We have sent maintenance to the property to make sure all is well with the hot tub. Thank you once again; we look forward to doing business with you in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Uncomfortable Bed with old dirth bed cover but nice living room
The service was about average or below average. Nothing exceptionale. We had blood and a lot of what looked like dog fur on an old bed cover. Disgusting. The bed was very uncomfortable. We went to the front desk a mile away and they didn't have extra blankets or pillow covers. Place was in the back hard to park into. Combo for key was stuck hard to open to get key for front door. Not somewhere I would recommend especially for the price. The living room was nice and the only okay thing in the house. No central heat in Big Bear. And they had room cooler but not heater?
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 02/12/2012
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with Big Bear Cool Cabins and A Honeymooners Hideaway was not up to par. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay; your feedback helps us to address any issues and follow up accordingly. We have sent housekeeping to the home to address the issues with cleanliness and the owners have been informed of the issues with the bed. Thank you once again; we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
This palce was not what we expected.
-heater took too long to barely warm up the place
- when we checked in, nobody told us to turn the heat up in the jacuzzi. We finally called and it took almost 5 hours to warm up
- beds we uncomfortable
- you sank into the couch
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 02/06/2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Per our records you did not call and report any issues during your stay. If you had called and reported any issues while here we would have exhausted all measures to ensure an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to note these details; the owner of the property has been informed of the issues with the bed and couch.
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
All in all we enjoyed our stay. I do not think it was worth the money we paid, the kitchen was not as "fully" stocked as was suggested and the towels/ toilet paper were the cheapest I have ever encountered. I could have spent less and stayed in a very nice hotel. I was also a little suprised that when I called about two hours out and asked if someone could go turn up the heat and hot tub for us so it would be warm when we got there, we were denied. After seeing how close the check-in area was to our cabin, a company that values excellent customer service would have sent someone over to attend to the task that would have taken 15 minutes at the most.
That being said the location was great and the cabin cozy once it finally warmed up. We spent a good portion of the day at a snow play place that was within walking distance. We also ventured across the main street to a deicious mexican food place.
Los Angeles, California
If you travel in the winter time, make sure to bring your own he
First complaint is the cold. we traveled in december, and evening time it was 20F ouside. it took us like 4 hours to warm up the whole place (we had to close the bedroom and bathroom so it's warmer sooner). the heater is really old you guys... it's made like in 1970-eies or something?? you can't say how much degrees you are putting, and there were another 2 pointless switchers. please change the heater to the most modern one because it's not heating at all!!! maybe like 10%. trust me, when it's 20F outside, it feels like it will never heat the whole place. even we used fireplace, it didn't really help. guests, in the winter time, bring your own portable heater...if you are staying in this cabin. because we wasted like 3-4 hours trying to get warm!!! My message to the management: if it's really cold, could you warm up the place for guests??
Second: the jacuzzy was barely warm. It was just warm, but not hot. we put the max temp, which was 100F... even thouh we got in when it was like 16F ouside, we stayed there maybe like for 5 minutes... sorry.
Third: Clogged sink in the bathroom!!! please, please pour some liquid plummer in there or something!!! ouch!!!
other than those important factors it would be really nice.
Decent but not a "honeymooner's hideaway"
If I was booking this cabin for a honeymoon, I would have been pretty disappointed. Instead I booked this cabin because I was attending the local ocktoberfest. The cabin was nice and clean, just there where small things needing fixing that bugged me the phone jack in the living room is just hanging off the wall. There is a piece of trim missing on the wall behind the stairs. Lastly the main bedroom window wall Looks to have new drywall put in for a repair but it was never painted. If you're looking to impress your girlfriend or your wife this cabin isn't for you. Overall I was happy with my stay in the cabin.
Several maintenance problems plagued us. Chirping smoke detectors that I replaced the batteries on. Minor gas smell when we entered the house initially. Spa wouldn't heat up and no one returned my phone call in 24 hours as I had requested.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 10/07/2011
On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay; your feedback allows us to address any issues and resolve them accordingly. According to our records you did not call and report any issues; we have spoken to our office staff and informed that when any issues are reported to document them accordingly. As of today all issues have been resolved and we hope that you will allow our company to welcome you to Big Bear in the future.
Cute Little Place for Two
This cabin was cute and a great place for two people. The stairs are really steep though, even our dog refused to go up and down them. Otherwise it was a great location, walking distance to the lake and Big Bear Village, the cabin was clean and the hot tub was great!
san diego, ca
A Great Weekend Getaway
This place was absolutely wonderful. The cabin was was everything we were hoping for. The jacuzzi was very relaxing, both at night looking at the full moon and stars with my wife and with a cup of coffee in the morning. Just a quick drive to down town Big Bear.
Honeymoon at the Honeymooners Hideaway
My wife and I recently stayed at the Honeymooners Hideaway in big bear, and we loved it. the cabin was amazing, so much better than getting a room at a hotel or resort. The cabin was just down the street from a brewery, and they had great deals for food and drink. We were 5 minutes from everything. we didn't want to leave, but hope to get back there soon.
A little too cozy!
Small, Uncomfortable, and dangerous.
Check in was a breeze, the cabin was clean
This house seems to be very old and has been renovated and renovated again and again. There is a part of the ceiling near the tv that looks like the floor is going to cave in from above. The outside deck is on an angle in some areas where it has nail heads sticking up about a half an inch above the wood. The slats on the deck are laid to far apart. I think they were trying to save money by using less wood and spacing it more but it is not safe especially if you have a small dog. My little dog kept falling through the slats cause they were too far apart. The beds were both very uncomfortable. I found the couch to be the most comforrtbale spot to sleep. Also the upstairs is for very tiny people. I am 6 foot 4 and hit my head on the ceiling everytime I got out of bed. Also, there is no bathroom upstairs and the stairs in this cabin are so steep they are more like a ladder. If you have to go to the bathroom during the night prepare for a treacherous journey down the steep steps/ladder. There was also a repair right where the overhead is going up or down the stairs that looked like it had been done like ten times and my girlfriends hair caught on the exposed metal and ripped some of it out. The metal is sharp and if someone was to catch their head on this it could be very bad!!! Luckily it was only her hair and not her forehead!!! The couch was comfortable to lay on but thats it sitting on this couch you sink into it and it is very uncomfortable. The shower and kitchen are built for small adults or children. My girlfreind is only 5 foot 3 and she had trouble sahving because the shower is so small. Also, there is about five cable channels so plan on bringing some dvds if you want to watch something other than channels 2-13. The sink sprays water everywhere. My pants got wet everytime I washed my hands or brushed my teeth. There is no air conditioning either so if your coming in the summer plan on being warm in the afternoons.
Cute Cabin, a bit worn, So-So Location
My wife and I hadn't been to Big Bear in years and were surprised at the over-development, especially on the south shore. Our cabin was small, definitely just for two people, clean but a bit worn and weary in places (especially the porch with nail heads sticking up). We had a small dog so that was a concern. The review says the stairs to the second floor are steep and that's not an understatement. Caution is required ascending or descending those stairs. This cabin is tucked behind another cabin, not sure of the owners own the entire lot or not, but you're certainly not in a private area, nor are you near the lake. With that said, much of this area of Big Bear has very little "privacy" it's so overdeveloped - and many cabins we saw as we walked around are worse for the wear. Current rental price for this cabin, in this area, is questionable. If you don't care about area or price, just need a place to crash, then this cabin might suffice. Don't have high expectations.
Response from Big Bear Cool Cabins - 07/30/2011
Thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay. Your feedback allows us to address any issues and rectify them immediately. On behalf of Big Bear Cool Cabins we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. All issues have been identified and are in the process of being resolved. Once again thank you for taking the time to share information regarding your stay; we look forward to doing business with you in the future!
The Big Bear Cool Cabins Team
Close to the lake, great neighbors, beautiful deck, could use better deck furniture for the summertime & lighting for outside. Great stay!
We liked the cabin very much. It was very cozy and had all the amenities we needed. The spa was excellent! It was already turned on and warmed up for us! It was clean and felt tucked away with privacy. It is small and really comfy for 2 people. The check in and out was easy and fast
Call for service.
We had a TV problem.Call for help.We got the run around.
Los Angeles, CA
I loved staying in this cabin. The best perk: the hot tub. At night we would sit and see stars forever and ever. So nice and relaxing. I forgot that stars even existed after living in la for three years. The cabin is quaint and comfortable. Perfect for us. I wish the kitchen was a bit bigger because we did a lot of cooking. I was kinda bummed with the location...not because it was horrible (it literally is close to everything you could possibly need)...but because the description made it sound like it a stones throw from the water. Overall, I had an amazing experience in Big Bear. I had no problem with Cool Cabins. I've heard a lot of people complain about the $10 "after hours" check in fee. It wasn't a big deal. The security company was quick and had our paperwork ready to go. I will use Cool Cabins again in the future.
This cabin was great to stay at! I loved the size, cleanliness, set up, jacuzzi option, etc. The only thing I'd suggest is putting a curtain in the bathroom for that one window near the vanity area. Also, instead of the blinds in the living room areas this way they don't get damaged so easily. They looked a bit dented, and bent. It'd look nicer and cozier w/curtains that can be washed easily. The outside area was super cool, I'll have to come out again for the summer and do a bbq :). Thank you and I can't wait to come visit again. A home away from home.
Cosy cabin, close to everything
My girlfriend and I recently stayed in the "Honeymooner's Hideaway" and had an awesome time. It was very close to everything in town, and we had no problem getting to the slopes, to the village for drinks and dinner, or in and out of town.
The cabin itself was small and cozy, just like the website said. It was freezing inside when we got in, and it took quite a while for the chill to get out of the place even once we had the space-heater on full blast, and the fireplace roaring. Once it was warm inside though, it was perfect for the rest of our stay.
Also, the jacuzzi outside was in a perfect location for some star-gazing, and we even saw a couple of shooting stars! It was set at only 100 degrees though (either by the previous renter, or by Cool Cabins) so the first night was basically a throw-away because it was not nearly hot enough to enjoy for long. We set it for 104 that evening though, and by the next night it was perfect!
There were two beds upstairs; one in the bedroom, and one in the loft. The bed in the room was very comfortable, and we had no problems sleeping in it, but the one in the loft was pretty awful. We tried it first and were very nervous, because it was almost unbearable. But thank goodness the other was good.
All in all we had a great time, and will definitely try Cool Cabins again in the future!
When we arrived the floor was very dirty . The blankets upstairs smelled very musty. The pans in the kitchen were for camping . They get very hot and are dangerous. Other than that things were great. We will use cool cabin rentals again.
We had a great last minute getaway at the honeymooner's hideaway. It was perfectly cozy and we completely relaxed.
We enjoyed our time in the cabin, but felt that it was extremely over priced for what we got. The beds were very uncomfortable and the kitchen did not have all the essentials for cooking that you would expect, for example there was not anything that you could use to cook in the oven - why advertise that you have an oven if guests won't be able to use it? And although there was a fabulous jacuzzi outside that we enjoyed, the cabin came with only 2 towels, so my husband and I had to share a towel for showering inside and 1 for outside after the jacuzzi. I emailed ahead of time and asked if we needed to bring any linens, etc. and was told no. If I had known I would have been happy to bring my own towels and a cookie sheet. It was a cute place, we enjoyed our stay, but felt that we payed far too much.
Honeymooners hideaway needs work!
Having a nice few days in Big Bear
We enjoyed the location of the cabin,and it has potential to be a nice rental. The fire place and jacuzzi were the high lights of the cabin. Things we found in disrepair stairway is a joke "dangerous" hand rails held together with drywall screws. Beds very middle of the road at best. Plastering on upstairs ceiling needs to be finished and painted. Molding around bathroom needs to be secured better, and shower needs new hose and shower head.
The cabin could use a through cleaning.
Quiet, comfortable, affordable, relaxing, and very enjoyable
Fantastic little cabin. Perfect for 2-4 people. Hot tub was nice, shower water was hot, the tv cable did not work but who really needs tv all the time, no internet and that was nice. Easy to find, perfect drive to all locations and very quiet. You need a get-a-way, this is right for you.
Stay 2 nights, get night free
Book 2 get 1 FREE
Stay two nights receive the third night free.Offer must be mentioned at the time of booking. Please call to make reservations. Offer not valid with any other offer or holidays. Certain restrictions apply. Offer ends June 10th. Not valid for stays from December 15th to April 1st.