The Renegade Chalet is a skier's dream come true! Tucked on the slopes of Lone Peak, this stunning home offers all the comforts you could need after a long and enjoyable day on the slopes. Simply ski right into the ski room from Bootlegger, slip off your boots, and relax and rejuvenate in the private outdoor hot tub complete with its own full bathroom. While some guests enjoy the hot tub, others will have fun in the game room playing shuffle board or taking a long hot bath in one of the large garden tubs next to a roaring fire. Regardless of which part of this lovely ski-in/out is your favorite, the views from every window are stunning!
• Direct ski-in/out access to Big Sky Resort
• Luxurious and impeccably appointed
• Bedroom #1: Main Level: King bed, private bathroom, gas fireplace, deck
• Bedroom #2: Main Level: King bed, private bathroom, gas fireplace, deck
• Bedroom #3: Downstairs: King bed, private bathroom
Left on 07/11/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | A TripAdvisor Member
Renegade Chalet is a beautiful home, in a stunning location with amazing views of the mountains. We visited in the summer, but based on the location this would be a great place for winter skiing. While the home is well appointed, and contained many upscale amenities, as a luxury rental it did not fully meet our expectations.
We rented the house based on reviews we had seen here and on other online review sites. We expected nothing but the best for the price and description. When we arrived, we entered through the garage. The first thing that we noticed that it was in somewhat a state of disarray. There were paint buckets sitting on the floor, and two dirty dog beds and bowls were on the side. Various other flotsam and jetsam were on the floor.
Entering the house, you encounter a large Costco fridge located in the laundry room (that made a loud noise) filled with beer and pizza. There was a second refrigerator in the kitchen. The property manager said that items left by previous occupants in the way of food and drink was ours to use. We would have preferred an empty refrigerator, and had already purchased groceries. We would not have minded an unopened item or two, but the refrigerator contained a variety of half-used bottles of dressing, pickles, sauces, etc. The freezer contained five tubs of vanilla ice cream, and a bag of something that looked disgusting, which we later concluded might have been leftover stuffing from a holiday meal.
The kitchen was large, but oddly laid out, so it was difficult to work in due to a cramped layout between the stairs, counter and center island. It could have been much cleaner and we had to wash every glass, dish, utensil, etc. before using them due to a greasy film. The dishtowels also smelled of old grease. After washing them four times in hot water, we just went out and purchased our own to use. The large Viking stove needed a complete cleaning, and the griddle was positively gross with caked on grime and dirty oil that oozed out when it was turned on. So much for our plan to make pancakes the first morning. The management company sent the housekeepers over to take care of it, and despite extensive work, they were not able to get it clean. There were two garbage disposals, and the one located in the center island smelled terrible. We cleaned it several times and along with effort from the property manager, finally achieved success in removing the odor. The missing cheese grater mentioned by a previous reviewer was still missing so we purchased one that we left for future guests. It is a relatively inexpensive item, and certainly something one would expect in a luxury rental home at this price point. Another item we could not find despite a thorough search of the kitchen and wine/bar area was a cocktail shaker, which we also would have purchased except that nowhere in town sold them. Finally, the pots and pans were all in terrible shape (see picture). They were originally good products, but had been abused to the point that the outer coating was worn off, and the non-stick surfaces on some of them gouged and scraped off with metal utensils
The house layout is nice and easily accommodates a large family or group. There are two master bedrooms on the first level of the home, and one master on the lower floor. There are also two bedrooms each with queen beds and a set of bunks. However, the downstairs master bedroom did not have window shades or curtains. On several occasions, strangers walked by the windows when people were resting. Since we visited in the summer, it was not dark until nearly 10 PM, and sunrise was shortly after 5AM, so it was difficult to sleep in this room.
There is no air conditioning in the house (which is not mentioned online). With the windows open, and when weather permits it is an effective way to cool the house, and opening the doors allowed for a nice cross breeze, however, since there were no screens on the doors flying bugs were coming into the home. This could be a very warm house later in the summer.
One other thing we found slightly odd was the number of personal items belonging to the owner left behind in closets and drawers. We have rented homes numerous times in the past, and usually owners have a locked closet or room where they store their personal items. In this case, the Master Bedroom closet was about half filled with an odd assortment of clothing and coats, linens and what appeared to be an inflatable bed. Boots and shoes and slippers were left out as well. Several of the drawers (which were the only dresser-type drawers in the room) had a variety of personal clothes in them, leaving limited storage for renters. There were only ten coat hangars, the flimsy plastic type, which was surprising as well. One would think that when an owner is renting a home, their first priority is their guest’s comfort, ease of use and convenience. We even discovered used toothbrushes in the bathroom cabinet when putting away our Dopp kits. One expects the owner’s touch on a rental in terms of decorating, but when you rent this type of house, you expect to have full use of the closets and dresser drawers.
The bed linens were mismatched, darker and lighter (faded?) shades of gold. They went from dryer to bed, so while clean, their wrinkled and cheap feel and appearance was not very welcoming, especially in a luxury rental. The bed pillows served their purpose, but again, were definitely the bargain priced version. The bathroom towels were plentiful, not luxurious, but certainly good. We also had to wash these prior to use because they were stiff, assuming a product such as Downey was not used during the wash cycle or a fabric softening sheet in the dryer. We made this purchase as well and problem solved.
The washing machine however was not been cleaned prior to our arrival (detergent gooped up in and around the dispenser).
The outdoor areas were not cleaned (upon arrival, or during the two or three-cleaning visits throughout our ten-day stay). The back deck had numerous deposits of what we were told was Marmot poop. The outdoor dining table and chairs, BBQ etc., places guests would like and expect to use during the summer months were also dirty. Leaves were deposited at each of the entrances that remained untouched during our stay as well. The hot tub was extremely clean and was emptied and refilled after each rental party vacates.
Although most of the comments we are making are not deal killers, it is simply to make note that although the home may be advertised and considered a luxury rental, many of the amenities and lack of attention (care) to detail surprised us. The location was excellent, not far from the Moonlight Basin Lodge, and a short drive down the hill to the Big Sky Resort. The management company was excellent, responding rapidly to our requests or questions. The housekeeping staff was friendly and diligent. We can assume the outdoor areas that were not cleaned were due to the discretion of the owners or Management Company. We would stay there again if the owner de-personalized some of the areas, and made some relatively inexpensive improvements. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to bring these items to my attention. I sincerely apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and the items you mention are indeed not within our traditionally excellent level of standards. I have personally seen that each item you mention has been addressed and fully remedied. Again, I apologize that you did not fully enjoy your time with us and hope that should you ever have the opportunity to return to Big Sky you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest so that we may show you the signature level of standards for which we are known.
With Warm Regards,
Markus Kirchmayr | Owner/Manager
Big Sky Luxury Rentals | a division of Vacation Big Sky
'Catering to Every Aspect of Your Big Sky Vacation'
Everything was awesome.
Left on 07/31/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | GATX Managem
We utilized the Renegade Chalet as a location for a management meeting. It was terrific. We are already making plans to return next summer. Read more
Response from Big Sky Luxury Rentals | Vacation Big Sky - 08/19/2013
Thank you so much for choosing us host your management team this summer! It was sincerely a pleasure to have you here in Big Sky and I'm very pleased to hear that your time at the beautiful Renegade Chalet proved to be productive and rejuvenating. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Big Sky next summer!
With Warm Regards,
Big Sky Luxury Rentals | Vacation Big Sky
Left on 03/29/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | BMB
This house was perfect for our two families! Great layout, plenty of space/bedrooms for all nine of us and super comfortable and clean.
It is a ski on/ski off, but getting home can be a bit challenging if you have small kids who are not strong enough to traverse flats.
Thank you so much again for your recent stay with us! It was a pleasure to host you and I greatly appreciate the kind words of your review. I will personally see that your accolades are passed along to the team who contributed stay. I very much hope that we will indeed have the opportunity to welcome you back to Big Sky in the very near future!
With Warm Regards,
Big Sky Luxury Rentals
Left on 02/13/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Mike D
Where to start? Big sky luxury rentals supplys you with a complimentary guide to ski this enormous mountain. Our guide ( Marcus, the man) showed us the ins and outs of this spectacular Mtn. Marcus is austrian and says Big Sky blows the alps away. Zero crowds and beautiful landscape is a huge draw to this resort.
Our cabin was spacious for 5 grown men on a get away. All the amenities you wud want in a cabin and more. Hot tub was great after skiing to relax our bones. To give you an idea how much you can ski in a day there, we skied 31 miles according to app " ski tracks ".
If ur coming for night life then u shud go to vail ( although we had great meals ar buck t-4 and lotus ). If u want to ski then this is ur place. Hidden gem. Families with kids wud love it. Get a guide!! Read more
Response from Big Sky Luxury Rentals | Vacation Big Sky - 02/25/2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of your stay with us! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in beautiful Big Sky. I will personally pass your kind words on to our whole team. We do hope you will join us again in the very near future. With fly fishing, rafting, concerts and more, summertime is also a wonderful time to visit Big Sky!
With Warm Regards,
Big Sky Luxury Rentals
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.