Ski Rating 4 (Suitable for all levels of skiers) however beginners will want to follow beginner directions below.
Ski Out: Step out the garage, go right to connect to the Bear Back Poma. At the top of the Poma you will ski a groomed access run to Ramcharger and Swift Current in the base area.
Ski In: Intermediate and Expert can ski Silverknife to Bear Back Poma. Follow the poma down, but don't go all the way to the bottom. You will see ski tracks to the left where people have cut to the left and back towards the units. This will make it easier to get closer to the garage of the unit. Beginners should ski o the Summit Hotel and the...n ski the road back to the unit.
Note: During periods of melting you may need to walk from the unit approx. 75 yards to the Poma Lift.
LOOK AT OUR FUN AMENITIES!
Pool table, Hot Tub, Xbox Kinnects, HDTV with Netflix, surround sound and Blue Ray player to mention a few! Perfect for a guys trip or two families and kids....Pamper yourself in luxury in this stunning ski retreat. No detail has been overlooked for your stay. Our recently constructed ski-in/ski-out home is in the Black Eagle Lodge complex, some of the most luxurious lodging that Big Sky Resort has to offer.
Mountain Village, Big Sky Resort. Walking distance to the base area of the mountain. Ski-in/out to Big Sky.
Rate plus 13% tax, Cleaning fee of $325 will be added if less than 5 nights.
Click here for a ski map.
Additional amenities include: pool table, full laundry: laundry soap, dryer sheets and stain remover provided, satellite TV (2) dish network 120 package with netflix, living room and upper level loft area, air bed available for $25 rental fee, box of board games available for $10 rental fee, vehicle requirement: optional, no smoking permitted, no pets permitted, hotel amenities, laundry supplies and paper products, twin bedroom: one set of twin over twin bunks in bunk room and two twin beds (4 total beds) with adjacent shared 3/4 bath (upper level), master bedroom: king bed with private bath with shower (main level) twin pullout bed in space, snow removal, bonus space: queen sofa sleeper with adjacent shared bath with shower (upper level), http://youtu.be/5dept1wwscg, pack n play, highchair, booster seat available upon request no charge, linens provided: 2 extra pillows, extra blanket in each closet, shared pool: passes available for purchase at themoonlight lodge., granite and stainless appliances, propane grill: on deck near kitchen, wood fireplace: firewood and fire starters provided, ice maker, boot dryers and ski racks, heated 1 car garage with boot dryers and ski storage, one additional spot in front of garage., queen bedroom: queen bed with adjoining shared bath with shower (upper level) twin pullout bed in space, stereo surround system with ipod plug in, private hot tub: new 6-8 person on deck off living room, 2.5 bathrooms: two baths with showers and one powder bath, ski in/out video link: (shows beginner route of ski in to base area, there are other options for better skiers), telephone: local calls only,calling card or cell phone needed for long-distance, gas cooktop and wall oven, xbox kinnects gaming system with game selection.
Left on 01/02/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | Dukester
First of all, this unit is beautiful! It is well located, nicely decorated, and well appointed, but when you are paying over $1,100 per night (including taxes & cleaning fee) for the Christmas holiday you expect more than what was provided. Here are some of the shortfalls:
* Linens: How about sheets with a higher thread count than what you'd find at a cheap motel?
* Towels: Same as linens.
* Blankets/pillows: same as towels.
* "Fully stocked" kitchen: Little more than basics were provided, but that was all.
* Ski-in/Ski-out?: Not really, unless you wanted to ruin your skis on the road. Call it what it is: a +/-100 yard walk to the poma lift. Not a big deal, but it was not skiable and the rates charged were reflective of better access.
* Lights: How about replacing the burned-out bulbs or fixing the broken lamp in the master?
* Hot Water: The hot water ran out during the 3rd or 4th shower every day after skiing.
* Window coverings: How about some drapes/blinds in the Family Room? It was a bit disconcerting to have the neighbors staring into the unit throughout our stay.
* Fireplace tools/screen: The fireplace tools were cheap and broken, and when hot the glass fireplace screen was very difficult to open and close.
* Owner access: for 3 of the 6 mornings we were there, the owners (or their friends) would go in and out of the separate garage door below the unit. Once again, no big deal, but annoying.
I know it's easier to complain than provide positives, but this unit would have easily received 5+ stars without the above issues. The views are great, access is good, and the unit is very nice. The "mud room" for changing and storage is awesome, as is the ski rack/boot dryer (6 pairs at once!) in the garage. We must have also played 100 games of pool - it was a great amenity!
Also, the management company did a fantastic job of communication, preparation, and meeting our needs. Read more
Response from Big Sky Vacation Rentals, Inc - 01/03/2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will pass some of your helpful comments to the property owner regarding the stocking/amenities of the unit. Each of our properties is a privately owned home and their choices and taste are reflected in some of the items commented on in your review. All of Black Eagle is considered to be ski-in out by Big Sky Resort. However we try very hard to accurately describe the ski-in/out and the skate to the Poma is one of the reasons we give the access 4 out of 5 stars. Later in the season you can ski to the back door on the ski in, but the driveways between the units are and will always be the ski out. We even have a video that shows this posted to our website listing on our site to help our guests get an accurate picture of what this will be like for them.
Unlike a hotel all private homes like personal homes have a limited supply of hot water. We will try to do a better job of informing guests at check in that this is normal and to plan to stagger showers when you have a large group.
The owner has always enjoyed the bright sunny views and is putting window coverings on the south side of the unit (per your comments), but leaving the large main windows unobstructed to enjoy.
I have ordered some new fireplace tools and we will have our maintenance person look at the doors as the tracks can become stuck. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced as we strive for perfection and certainly could have solved a few of the minor issues during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed some of the fun amenties this unit has like the pool tabel and that you were satisfied with our communication and service. Hope to see you back in Big Sky.
Best, Kirsten King, Owner, Big Sky Vacation Rentals.
Satisifed in big sky
Great trip, great place
Left on 01/17/2013 for a stay in December 2012 | Satisifed in big sky
Black Eagle Lodge # 30 was awesome! Modern and yet still mountain-y, with plenty of room for everyone. This was like home away from home, only better. Plus, everyone from Big Sky Vacation Rentals is super friendly and helpful. Great place. We would definitely pick that same rental again!! We had a slight glitch at check-in with the grocery delivery, which is why I knocked one star off of "ease of check in." After a long day of travel with kids in tow, it was a bit of a rough arrival when there was no food, as had been planned. Still, these things happen, especially during busy travel days. Even with that glitch, this was a great place to stay!!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.