|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Beautiful, cozy cabin located in Creston, 20 minutes from Black Mountain and 35 minutes from downtown Asheville. Comfortably furnished with an outdoor and indoor fireplace. HOUSE LAYOUT: Main floor: kitchen, living room, dining area, master bedroom with king bed and full bath. Upstairs: bedroom with double bed, full bath. Downstairs: TV room with twin trundle beds, full bath. SHEETS AND TOWELS INCLUDED for your convenience. PLEASE NOTE: The Creston Development does not allow motorcycles. Steep driveway, 4WD or front wheel is helpful but only required during wintery conditions.
Rental Property is located in Black Mountain, North Carolina, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
We do not have the specific location for this property. Contact the manager for more details
Black Mountain, North Carolina
located in Black Mountain, North Carolina, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$165||$199||$995||$2,995||2 nights|
|Jan. 1 2012 - Dec. 30 2013||$165||$199||$995||$2,995||2 nights|
|Dec. 31 2013 - Jan. 1 2016||$165||$199||$995||$2,995||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 23, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Week of Columbus Day
Week of Relaxation and adventure
My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at Bear Hollow. We went for a week long get away after he returned from a year long deployment. It was very comfortable and enjoyed being able to bring our dog. It was a very nice hideaway in the woods. There is no TV in the bedroom which might have been nice at times, but overall we just had a relaxing get away. We hiked some, tutored asheville and the Biltmore, and relaxed at the house cooking marshmallows in the outside fireplace.
East Coast Native
This cabin was lovely on the inside. The amenities were great. We had a loaf of fresh pumpkin bread and the paper towels and t.p. we may have needed had we not thought ahead to bring with. The kitchen was well-stocked with pots and pans, dishes, etc., so it was great for making breakfast and dinner.
That said, the driveway was, as mentioned in the rental website by another guest, steep, and, at the top when it leveled off, we were looking right over the edge of a cliff! Also, backing down the drive, we were on the edge of another cliff, as the road up to the cabin is barely two cars wide and the drop off is pretty severe. We were driving a 4WD truck so the incline was not a problem, but probably would have been less "exciting" in a smaller vehicle. We've lived in the mountains before, so it wasn't too bad, but I wouldn't want to negotiate going in or out after a few drinks out at dinner or in the dark!
The basement, where the t.v. is located, has a cement floor and only a small area rug, so it's not really "warm and inviting." Same for the (twin beds) bedroom there. We weren't wanting to watch much t.v., so it wasn't much of an issue for us.
The mattresses were very comfortable and the linens were clean, as were all the bathrooms and kitchen. There were lots of books and pamphlets on area attractions, which were helpful in deciding what to do.
All in all, we did enjoy our stay.
The house is made of very expensive materials, but the workmanship is not very high quality. That aside, the layout is terrible. The fireplace is literally sitting in the center of what should be the living space. It is so obtrusive that there is really just one couch and a chair - more than three or four people and there is no where to sit. The dinning area is also very tight due to location of fireplace. We were locked out of the subdivision the first night there because we were given the wrong code. Had to go door to door to find someone home who would let our car in. Friendly people once we found someone one. The area is beautiful. Ask for the closer route to get there - no need to go through Old Fort. It was okay. One bathroom has only a tub and no shower. One bedroom had a mattress basically on the floor instead of in a regular frame. Just not great.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/28/2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear about how you were locked out of the subdivision. We have an emergency line that you can reach us 24 hours/7 days a week...we would have been happy to help. We now suggest that renters here call our office the day before they arrive just to be sure that the gate code hasn't changed. That way they get the most up-to-date info...sorry about that. Thanks again for taking the time to review...we would love to find you a better suited house for your needs next time.
Greybeard Rentals staff
Mr. & Mrs Clayton
Beautiful and elaxing home!
My Husband and I went with another couple for a weekend getaway. We had a wonderful time. The house was exactly what my husband and I would love to build in the mountains one day when we decide to have children. We saw baby black bears running around and they were so cute. It is truly a peaceful place with nature all around you but not too far from town. I can't wait to come back! The only problem we had was with the gate code and bees.
An unloved house in Creston
My husband and I recently stayed at the Bear Hollow vacation rental. We were disappointed with the house for many reasons. It was not clean--the windows were so dirty it was hard to see the beautiful trees through them and then there were the dead bugs lodged between the screens and the windows! The house was not well equipped. . .there were no wine glasses, no ironing board and iron and not even a useable fry pan in which to cook! One call to Greybeard took care of these things, however. Greybeard sent someone over that very day with all of these things that we needed. We wondered why, though, someone had not checked on these things before we came!
It is obvious that the owner of the house is not taking very good card of it. The downstairs "TV room" is awful--cold, dank and dreary with an old fashioned TV (there were lines across the picture during the entire movie) on a high metal stand. How cozy it would have been to have a TV upstairs near the fireplace! Oh well, we will never rent Bear Hollow again, but we certainly will rent another place through Greybeard--they were wonderful!
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/02/2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that we were able to help quickly with those missing items and cleaning; however, we will pass these details on to the owner. We are always looking for ways to improve the experience for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Greybeard Rentals Staff
St Avit-Senieur, France
a wonderful house
Our daughters stayed at Bear Hollow and said it was the best Christmas they ever had. We only had one problem with the phone/landline and it was resolved immediately.
House is charming and comfortable.
D and A's Stay
Relaxation in the Mountains
My fiance and I stayed at Bear Hollow for a long weekend in October. Overall, we thought the place was excellent. The wrap around deck was amazing. We spent the nights on the deck by the outside fireplace!! The inside was wonderful as well, however, we did have issues with the light switches. It would be nice if there were instructions for how to turn the lights on, and where the light switches are located. We searched for a long time before we found one of the light switches in a cubby. Also, we were never able to get the inside fireplace, and a strand of inside and outside lights to work. We could not locate a breaker box to try and fix either.
Directions that were provided were a little off, but we were still able to locate. Good location, nice and private, although there is one cabin you can see from the deck. It is a drive to any gas station or Grocery store if you forget something, keep that in mind (a good 20 mins).
Overall, we would totally recommend to others, and would stay again.
Average Property / Advertised Features Did Not Work
Nice home with nice amenities however certain advertised features did not work, like the gas indoor fireplace. Additionally, an outdoor wood burning fireplace was advertised but no wood provided (I would suggest that the requirement to bring your own wood be made in the rental advertisement). Additionally light bulbs burned out in kitchen and porch.
Some issues, but overall good value for money
Greybeard Realty was very professional and responded to all questions quickly and completely. They were very helpful.
Although surrounded by trees, the view was still quite lovely. Very peaceful. Loved, loved, loved the wrap-around porch with woodburning fireplace. Swings, chairs, table provided. Nature all around- saw a bear cub, bobcat, and multitude of turkey on the surrounding property.
Beautiful cabin, but lacked atmosphere. While it did have some comforts of home (videos, books, candles, some decorative elements), improvements could be made like window coverings and upgrading the bedroom/den furniture (looked like hand-me-downs). Definitely had the feel of a rental in all rooms outside of the main living area. The showers were difficult to operate- one had little water pressure and the base popped and creaked badly (no support underneath). The other spit water. The third bathroom had only a tub. I understand that many people rent a cabin to get away from it all, so I don't have a problem with having one tv, but it was in the basement where the floors were cold (cement) and overall was not a room where we really wanted to spend much time.
There should also be some general maintenance done on the property. Specifically, there are candle burn marks on the wall of the 3rd bathroom and paint is needed where a mirror was moved and the wall patched.
With all of that said, I would still say it was a good value for the price.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 09/22/2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are always looking for ways to improve and will be sure to pass this information on. How fun that you saw all those animals! Glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you come stay with us again.
Nice updated home but in the middle of nowhere
Pros: The home is well-maintained with a good supply of linens, cookware, etc. and up-to-date appliances. It was clean and nicely furnished. It is a large home that could easily accomodate 2 or 3 families as bedrooms are spread out on 3 floors so everyone could have privacy. The home is pet friendly with gates between levels inside and all around the deck so your pets will be safe and/or confined to one floor or area if you chooose.
Cons: The home is built in the back of a high-end development that looks like it started to take off before the real estate crash and then just got frozen in time. There is only one house next door and most of the lots are empty except for signs with the owners names and overgrown trees. The development is on the side of a mountain about 20 minutes from the nearest town and it took at least 10 minutes to drive up to the home itself once inside the gates (which were not working incidentally). Coming back at night it is more than a little creepy and very dark. We had a very difficult time finding the home itself the first time we drove in because many roads are overgrown with weeds and it was not clear which driveway to take. We almost got stuck pulling into what ended up being a hiking path. There are bugs, bugs, bugs everywhere which is normal for being out on the mountain but more than I was prepared for. We also heard various animal sounds at night. Some people may like this remote feeling but for us it was unnerving.
To sum up, the home itself was nice and priced well but we will not stay there again due to its very remote location.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 09/01/2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. We do try to appropriately match renters with homes that fit there needs well including location. Looks like we missed it a bit on this instance and I am sorry. Everybody's expectations are different when coming to a mountain home. We would love for you to come stay in one of our homes again...and next time we will be better able to identify which home and location would fit appropriately.
Thanks again and glad you liked the home itself.
Beautiful cabin but . . .
While the cabin's exterior was beautiful with comfortable common areas, the queen bed in the upstairs bedroom was only a double and the master bedroom was far from master with the pictures on the floor and rickety furniture of MDF and canvas. Neither of the coffee makers worked correctly. The driveway, which is not what is pictured, was very difficult to maneuver and parking two cars in the area was very challenging. Would also like to mention that in your instructions for the main gate the code was * plus number and actually it was # plus number. A little more attention to detail would make this an ideal vacation site.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/18/2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate the feedback. You also can always call us during your stay if something doesn't work (like the coffee makers...we know how important that can be!!). We will definitely make the change to the code info as well. We hope you come and stay with us again.
greensboro, north carolina
like being in a treehouse
The four of us loved Bear Hollow. It was set up well for a dog to come along because of the sturdy gates. The picture on the internet is of the back. The front of the house is where we "lived" with rocking chairs, a swing, as well as a dining table. There is a hiking trail to a waterfall (Falls Trail) which we enjoyed, part of which is through a shallow creek.
Modern with a Rustic Feel
Had a very enjoyable 2-night stay. Though it is a newer home, the house has a rustic feel with the materials used in its construction and interior design. It is a shame the builder did not make the interior of the main living area a little bigger; dining area was cramped and the living room furniture was not able to be oriented properly with the beautiful fireplace. The concrete kitchen courntertops were very nice, but the height was way off standard. It was manageable for a short stay, but would be difficult in the long term for someone who is only 5" 2" like me! A shower head in the upstairs bathroom and curtains/blinds on the upstairs bedroom windows would be nice to keep out the light. Loved the huge wraparound porch and outdoor fireplace, and the weather was perfect to use it both evenings of our stay. A hot tub would be a great addition out there! Also loved that the house was pet-friendly; our dog had lots of room to roam around on the porch with the steps gated off. Having internet access was also a great plus with a teenage son along! Would definitely rent this house again, hopefully for a little longer. 2 days were not enough to give us a chance to explore the trails in the Creston community, etc. But really appreciated the Greybeard staff offering up that we could check-out at our leisure, since there was not another tenant coming in right after us.
The Stokes Family
Relaxing at Creston
Really loved the community where Bear Hollow was located. The cabin was nice, but the layout of the living room was a bit off. No way to cozy up in front of the fireplace. The outdoor fireplace was nice though! Wish they had told us to bring our own soap, dish soap and dishwasher detergent. Also was a bit surprised that the sheets were not already on the beds. Over all would stay there again, but will remember to bring our own soap!
Very scenic and cozy
The Creston development is beautiful and the proximity to Black Mountain is great. The cabin is very pretty in a beautiful setting. The neighboring cabin is very close considering the size of the development so it's not a private as we expected. It would be perfect if 2 families were renting both cabins.
The upstairs and main floor are nice. The porch is spectacular. We spent 90% of our time on the porch and would have used it 95% of the time if it had a screened-in area for eating. The lower level has no appeal at all. The master bath is a bit small and the water pressure in the shower was not great. There is a lot of noise when you step in the tub so be sure everyone in the house is awake before you shower.
Overall the cabin was great and the people at Greybeard Reality were outstanding.
Hanover Park, IL
Beautiful setting--a good 45 minutes to asheville.
We liked the house very much. Unfortunately, the hot and humid weather kept us from enjoying the hiking trails...Would love to stay another time when Belle Chere is not in progress!
Holly Springs, North Carolina
house too cold
When we arrived at 5pm, the temperature in the house was 50degrees. It took until 8pm to reach 60 which was really too cold to be comfortable. The ceiling fan did not work and had to keep warm by the fireplace. Called the emergency # but they were not at all helpful.
Next morning at 4AM discovered there was no electricity or water (not your fault). Called the fire department to find out what was happening and was told the address we gave them was not in their area.......really had a run around until 9am when we call Greybeard Realty and was told that is was a power line down and would be fixed by noon......house was really cold. Believe if fan was working, it would have helped.
The house was very satisfactory and we liked it...except for the heat.
Beautiful view and great walking trails.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 01/06/2010
The recent ice storm caused a lot of problems for folks all over the Asheville area and we really appreciate your patience while the power and water issues were addressed.
Holly Springs, NC
A stress-free, and totally enjoyable experience
This was the second year in a row we've leased through Greybeard. Excellent service, and high degree of professionalism. The home is very comfortable. We especially enjoyed the outdoor fireplace, the spectacular views, and the hiking trails. Creston's location could not be better: tucked away in a natural setting, yet, minutes to Black mountain and Ashville.
Our favorite things are the location, the house and it's incredible setting. We do feel the home was not as clean as it could have been, (lots of bugs, dust, and we had a problem with wasps getting in upstairs, (killed 7 the first hour of our stay. The home we rented last year was very clean though. The only other concern was, even though it's a gated community,the gate was always open. Only once in 9 days (last year and this year), was the gate closed when we entered, or left.
We will continue to recommend Greybeard to our friends, (our friends, the Heims are actually staying in Bear Hollow this December). Thanks again for an overall wonderful experience. See you next year!
Great Vacation Cabin - Pet Friendly
This is a beautiful cabin in the mountains - well-equipped kitchen with lots of extras like novels, movies and games. The place is very pet-friendly with gates on the porch and each floor of the house. The cabin is very secluded in a gated community under development. I can highly recommend, especially for anyone with pets. Greybeard was great to deal with, accomodating and professional.
A gorgeous house in a beautiful location
I stayed here two nights in late August, with my parents and in-laws. What a wonderful and comfortable place! The owners have gone out of their way to make visitors feel at home, right down to the complimentary loaf of pumpkin bread that awaited us on arrival. The layout of the house is perfect for a family, as each bedroom is on a different level. The wraparound porch with comfy rocking chairs was great for outdoor relaxing, and the kitchen was perfectly stocked for food preparation. I can't thank you enough for allowing us to bring our dog, too. It meant we could truly enjoy the place as a family. Just one cautionary word to future guests - the nearest grocery store is about 6 miles down a windy road. We very much enjoyed this sense of isolation, but it pays to plan ahead, and bring all necessary provisions with you.
The service that I received from Greybeard Realty was really great, they were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the home it was relaxing and very peaceful. Don't go up there by yourself it can be lonely but after 2 days a girlfriend joined me and we went on a hike and rafting and horseback riding and it made the visit that much more enjoyable.
The only thing that I didn't like about the home was it had a ton of light switches by the doors and remotes for the TV and DVD player and over half of them didn't work what they were suppose to or what we thought they went to b/c they were labeled incorrectly or just didn't work. You should label them all it would be so much easier to use and not trying to find lighting outside that may not have existed other than the fans on deck.
We enjoyed our visit and will do again in the future!
Great vacation cabin!
This a great place to stay if you want to relax. We
especially liked the wrap-around deck! The only
aspect that some might not like is that there is no
"view" -- a solid wall of trees is practically on all
Location is good -- a few minutes from Black Mountain
and about 30 minutes from Asheville.