|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Nearly Eden, just as the name suggests, is the perfect place to enjoy a carefree vacation. This log cabin is fully furnished . Close to Black Mountain, Asheville, yet remote enough to enjoy peace and tranquility. Come relax on the covered porch with mountain views or hang out on the back deck where you can barbecue, soak in the hot tub. It has a Flat screen HDTV, DVD, CD player & wireless internet are provided for your enjoyment. Fully equipped kitchen with half-sized refrigerator makes it easy to prepare your own meals. Nearly Eden is a wonderful place for a couples romantic vacation, honeymoon getaway, or business trip. Enjoy sightseeing...Read more
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Dec. 31 2012 - Dec. 30 2013||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Dec. 31 2013 - Jan. 1 2016||$150||$179||$895||$2,685||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Loved and enjoyed our stay here. Very clean. Would definitely stay again!
We came to the asheville area for my niece's wedding. The rest of the family stayed near downtown. Our place was by far the best. The house is small but very comfortable ...and we loved the hot tub. It was easy to get to (our garmin tool us right to it.). On the website it appears to be isolated in the woods, but in reality it is in a little neighborhood. I liked the idea of being way out in the woods but was glad to know other people were nearby. The trees pretty much blocked the other houses from view. I hated we had to travel in so far to be with the rest of our family but I would definitely rent this place again. The only problems were that it only has one bathroom. We were 3 women and managed ok. Also we did not cook but with a dorm sized refrigerator it would have been hard to stock up on groceries. It is not ground level and that can be a problem for those with bad arthritis issues or other disabilities. We had asked about that beforehand and knew it may be a challenge for one of the people in our group. She was able to negotiate the stairs but not easily.
Myrtle Beach, SC
This is a peaceful area
My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple of days. We chose Nearly Eden for our stay. This is a cozy home for 2. I would not suggest this home for more than 2 people even though it is a 2 bedroom. The living quarters are small. The refrigerator is an apartment refrigerator so only purchase what you need for the night. Although it rained the whole time we were there we enjoyed our stay. We got some much needed rest. This home was very clean. I would definitely stay there again.
Family vacation stay
The cabin was tucked away just enough to feel like you were "truly away", even though there were other homes right up the driveway. The small town of BlackMountain had plenty of shops and restaurants if you wanted to stay close or the town was close enough to asheville to enjoy more of the busy areas. My 5 and 6 year old enjoyed the hot tub and looked forward to coming back to it at the end of our daily travels. The refirgerator was a mini size so we used our cooler for drinks. There are two windows that are in the ceiling area of the bedrooms that do not have any coverings. So if you enjoy sleeping in you can forget that because the morning light comes in very bright through those windows. They are too high up for you to cover them with anything. Other than that, we were very happy with everything. the beds were comfortable and the place was very clean we arrived. We ate on the front porch for every meal and enjoyed the rocking chairs on the front porch.
Great place to stay.
We loved staying there and would do it again. Not only was the cabin real nice but it included everything you could possibly think of. They had plates, glasses, pots and pans, utensils, and many extras. Everthing we were thinking "Oh they won't have it" , they did. The view was very nice. The city had alot you can do and loaction was central to outside attractions. The hot tub worked great. The pictures don't show it, but there is a great two burner grill in the back. The only negative was is there could be more instructions on using things there (Fireplace, hot tub, and etc.). I figured them out but it would have been easier. Thank you for letting us stay there.
Great Weekend in Black Mountain!
My wife and I had a great time hiking in the Black Mountain/Montreat/Asheville area. The weather was gorgeous, the area is beautiful, and the hiking was exceptional. The only drawback was the small refrigerator in the cabin (which I understand will be upgraded). Other than that, perfection! I can't thank Renda DeWitt and the staff of Greybeard Rentals enough for there caring and thoroughly professional service. I enjoyed it so much, I already having Renda looking for a cabin for our return trip in the fall!
Agree with all other reviewers -- private, comfortable, romantic, easily accessible. took a very last minute romantic getaway/hiking trip. the greybeard staff had no problem accomodating us. everything was clean and in place when we arrived. the fire (gas) was burning and they even left us some yummy pumpkin bread.
the kitchen is small but completely managable for 2 people over a weekend. if you'll be there for longer or with more people, you should plan to make two trips.
it is close to a children's correctional facility but you would never know it. the only noise we heard were the squirrels climbing on the roof. conveniently located to the local supermarket which had a pretty good selection. (there is also an artisan shop on rte 9 if you have gourmet tastes. super friendly and they had my favorite pinot noir!)
we would love to go back!!
J & M
The cabin was perfect, all the comforts of home(Wi-Fi, cable TV) when desired but also peace and seclusion all the other times. Greybeard informed us ahead about the dorm size fridge but for two people it wasn't an issue. Although we felt very secluded in the cabin, we were still only 5-10 minutes away from shopping, restaurants etc.
Very nice experience!
My wife and I love Black Mountain and wanted to try something different than your usual B&B.; This was a perfect alternative. I don't think I'll ever stay at another B&B.; The privacy is just priceless! Everything about the stay was excellent. Perfect location,very nicely kept,clean. We will stay again!
Family Easter Weekend
cozy Easter Weekend
Had a wonderful quiet weekend at Nearly Eden. cabin was clean and well furnished. Kitchen was a little small but worked fine for us. The asheville area has a lot to offer and the local people are extremely nice.
Cabin very clean and neat. The perfect size for couple or small family. Hot tub was great, nice views and very quiet.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/21/2010
This is how the cabin usualy is. Very clean and neat. Thanks for the feedback.
Overpriced for such a small cabin
We stayed at Nearly Eden for three nights and four days. The Black Mountain area is beautiful and offers a variety of entertainment options. We enjoyed the stay overall because we spent most of the time outside of our cabin.
Overall, we were surprisingly disappointed with our stay at Nearly Eden. When we arrived at the cabin, we were shocked to find that it had not been cleaned. There were dirty sheets piled up at the edge of the beds and a pile of dirty linens in the bathroom. The cabin was stuffy and unclean. The staff at Nearly Eden apologized for the mistake and sent a cleaning crew over promptly. They also gave as a complimentary meal at a local restaurant. However, we were unhappy to spend the first three hours of our stay at the cabin out on the porch in 90+ degree weather waiting for our cabin to be ready. We were told that new sheets and towels would be brought back to us the next day, but the staff never returned with any clean towels/sheets over the remaining three days.
We were also disappointed to find three molded tacos in the master bedroom draw and a pear core near the hot tub. While the hot tub temp. was good, the hot tub was filthy with hair and sand.
Also, if you plan to stay at Nearly Eden, plan not to be eating in a whole lot. The fridge at the cabin is about 3x2 (h x w) in size. We brought three coolers worth of food and ended up having to keep our cold foods in two of the coolers over the course of the four days. We had mistakenly expected a full size fridge with an ice machine.
All in all we were very disappointed with our stay. When we checked out and dropped the key off with GreyBeard Realty, the agent did not inquiry about our stay at all. She merely said "thank you" and took the key. We felt like very unvalued guests.
Response from Greybeard Rentals - 08/18/2010
Thank you for your feedback. We messed up on this one and didn’t have it ready for the guest. This reservation was made the day before and wasn’t seen by our cleaning supervisor. Greybeard Realty does have cleaners and 24 hours on call emergency line and can send someone to clean immediately which is what we did. It was cleaned within 2 hours of the phone call. We offered to buy them dinner while they waited for house to be cleaned. We are implementing new automated systems this fall which will help keep this from happening although it happens very, very rarely. We do care greatly that things like this happen and we try our best to strive towards 100% perfection. Thank again for the feedback.
Great place to get away. Location is convenient to Black Mountain & Asheville. Backyeard is very small, right next to a patch of woods, so the hot tub on the back porch is visually secluded. The house is actually in a valley (not mountain side).
Very nice location
Loved the nice view and quiet, very private location. Huge terrace, but the flip
side of the wooded hillside location is BUGS! Didn't use the big hot tub outside
because of the insects (would probably be more enjoyable in cooler months).
Kitchen/dining/living area rather small but comfortable. Good WiFi connection.
A bit pricey compared to some other rentals I have seen, considering limited
kitchen equipment (small "dorm style" fridge, no dishwasher). Otherwise, fairly
well appointed. Attractive pine wood interior, but over the top decoration (too
many artifacts cluttering any available space). Still, the overall experience was
good. Recommended for outdoors lovers.
Excellent Experience. The cabin is great for a couple's getaway.
We really needed a break after the holidays, and the cabin was perfect. Though
we were irritated by the location at first (it is right by a youth detention center,
a woman;s prison, and a presbyterian home for children), the side road the
cabin is located on is actually quite nice, with a few nice houses scattered
about, but distant enough to give you a lot of privacy (the cabin is at the end
of the road). You can walk to historic Black Mountain College. The cabin was
very clean and in great condition, just as pictured, and we spent many hours in
the secluded hot tub surrounded by snow. It took about 20 minutes to drive to
downtown Asheville from the cabin, so we alternated between eating out (I
recommend Limones) and staying in, cooking, reading, relaxing. I would have
liked more hiking opportunities in the immediate vicinity - one very close-by
option are the Greybeard hiking trails in Montreat, just one mile north of Black
Mountain - and would have been happier with a more secluded location, but
the cabin itself was great, very cozy, well-equipped and well-maintained.
time of our lives
I took my girlfriend to the mountains of asheville.She had never been to the mountains and I had just come home from being on the road working for my job for the last 3 weeks. We as a couple enjoyed the cabin and the atmosphere. I dont think two people could have bonded so much as the two of us were able to on our little mini vacation. The mountain air the enviroment of romance that the cabin itself created and just being in love made our stay absolutely created. I would recommend stayin at this cabin or any of the other cabins that greybeard offers as the place to stay if you want to let someone know that you love them. As an afterthought if you stay at the nearly eden cabin be sure to read the book that is on the mantle and reference Richard and Becky and it should sure up any doubts you mite have about your weekend of romance. Good luck and beleive me I will be staying at one of greybeards cabins in the future.
Very Nice Cabin.
We did enjoy the cabin. It did have plumbing issues. We also found the small refrigerator to be an issue. With a stay for several days, there was not enough room for the food we brought.
Relaxing and rejuvenating cabin experience.
My husband and I wanted a totally relaxing, stress free vacation and Nearly Eden provided the perfect place for that. Although there are properties nearby, they cannot be seen, so it feels completely secluded, but also 'safe'. The property was clean and provided all the ameneties we needed, although a larger kitchen preparation area would have been welcomed, especially if catering for more than 2 people. The hot tub was a favourite and we spent many hours out there, watching the squirrels and enjoying the ourdoors. Asheville, is about a 15 minute drive away and is a great town to visit. Be sure to visit Mela if you enjoy curries and Green Sage for delicious organic coffee and food. Chimney Rock is a great place to visit for spectacular views and hikes and is accessible to everyone, as there is an elevator to get you up the mountain!!! The rooftop tour at Biltmore Estated was also a highlight, as again it is good for surveying the surrounding scenery and enjoying the beautiful fall colours.
Great View/Porch, Cabin Lacking
We have stayed in cabins in Pigeon Forge TN area and now in Western NC. We feel we got a much better value in Pigeon Forge area - it was twice as big (a real house that you could live in indefinitely) for less money at the same time of year, also with a great view but more remote. This cabin had two serious shorcomings. I am 6'3' and have broad shoulders - I could not lay down and soak in the tub after a long day of hikin - my shoulders simply would not fit between the sides . Even my more normally sized girlfriend complained about how small the tub was . Also the kitchen was an efficiency and the refrig was under-the-counter size so we were forced to make more trips to the grocery store than we planned. Lighting for the front porch steps was not working - a hazard. However, the front porch runs the full length of the cabin, was very comfortable, and had a great view. And we had a brief visit from a bear one morning, which was great though fleeting.
Love the mtns.
If you are looking for a special place to stay on your trip to A
We have stayed at Nearly Eden on several of our trips to Asheville. The staff at Greybeard Realty is tops on our list. They will handle your reservation in a professional manner and will go out of their way to make your vacation a special one.
The little cabin is a special place. It has the quiet, wooded seclusion that everyone should experience when visiting Asheville, yet it is minutes from Black Mountain or Asheville. We even saw a bear on the road to the cabin on our last visit. I especially enjoy having breakfast on the front porch watching the sunrise and listening to the bird sing.
This cabin was very neat and clean along with being
stocked quite well. It was a great escape and
conveniently located to Black Mountain as well as
Would definitely stay again!
Great little cabin in Black Mountain
Best: clean, secluded, close to Asheville, outdoor hot tub
We loved our cabin! Greybeard realty was very flexible with check-in / check-out. The house was clean and homey, perfect size for us. Washer/dryer was a plus.
Nice but a couple of small issues
The house was very cozy and cute. It says it sleeps 4, and it does have two queen beds and two bedrooms but it would be pretty close quarters for two couples as the living room is tiny. We loved the back deck and the front porch! The refrigerator (as it clearly states in the description but that we didn't notice) is a half refrigerator (the kind you used in college) so it was a bit tight for us as we did some cooking there. The location was also not as isolated as I would have liked since there were houses fairly close by. Overall, it was a nice cabin but we probably won't stay there again.
Perfect Name for this cabin - Nearly Eden
The service we received from Greybeard was very friendly, accommodating and professional. We had specific requirements as far as needing 2 queen size beds, a cabin with a hot tub and plenty of parking. Greybeard worked with me to find the cabin that was right for us. The cabin was so beautiful, comfortable, clean and perfect for our vacation. The location was perfect also. It was sucluded but only 10 minutes from Black Mountain. It was great to have all the comforts of home with a washer & dryer and kitchen. I liked the layout of the cabin with an open kitchen & livingroom and the bedrooms were on each side of the cabin. The sun rise from the front porch was breathtaking. Everything was perfect!!!! One small issue was the 1/2 size refrig. It was hard to get all of our food in and anything that was on the top shelf near the very small freezer was frozen. Note to self - don't put lettus on the top shelf next time. Thanks for making our vacation so comfortable and enjoyable.
Steve and Susan Adams - Bolivar, NY
Kerry and Cathy Nice - Lakeland, FL