|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Wilderness, Away from it all, Mountain|
Description from the manager
* The grandest views of the Bridger Mountain Range.
* Forested, extremely private mountain setting on top of the world.
* Three private bedrooms, plus an open loft sleeping area.
* This home has high speed Internet.
* Timberline Lookout is approximately 2800 square feet and will sleep up to ten guests.
Brief Description: This beautiful log home is about halfway between Bozeman and Livingston. It offers rugged mountain views from the house and deck that expand out to include the entire Bridger Mountain Range. The views are really phenomenal. With its
secluded location, it's a wonderful spot for a retreat for...Read more
Additional Location Information
Location Type Away from it all, Mountain
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$256 - $398||$256 - $398||$1,795 - $1,995||$0||3 nights|
|May. 15 2013 - Jun. 11 2013
|Jun. 12 2013 - Sep. 11 2013
|Sep. 12 2013 - Oct. 1 2013
|Jan. 1 2020 - Dec. 31 2020
highest nightly rate
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
Rates shown are for stays of 7 nights. Please inquire for nightly rates if staying less than a week.
This home has a 3-night stay minimum.
Rates subject to change.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 17, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
The Mountain Home staff was quick to answer any and all questions and concerns I had prior to and during my stay. The home was exactly as we expected it to be with no surprises. The home was private but close enough to town to enjoy the shopping in downtown Bozeman. It was also close enough to Yellowstone, that we visited two time in our week stay. The Montana rafting Co. was also a short drive away and a great experience for the entire family. Our two children (6 and 10) loved the loft. When at the home we enjoyed watching the wildlife(deer, moose, elk, bear, and a fox), hiking up the hill behind the house, playing ping pong in the rec room, relaxing on the deck and napping on the comfy leather chair looking out at the mountains! The directions were right on and easy to follow.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Wildlife, wonderful views, and well equiped
Lots of wildlife: Elk, deer, fox, moose, hawks, greenjays.
Views were spectacular (when it was not raining).
The home was very well equiped with everything that was needed for a stay.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Wish we could have stayed longer!
Everything was brilliant except the ride up to the cabin - but once there the view and location left no doubt in our minds that we had chose the right place. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Everything we expected and more
We are a family of 6 from far away Israel. We had a wonderful stay at the Timberline Lookout. The house is tastefully appointed, the location and view are terrific and the local wildlife surprising. Overall a great stay. Would love to come again.
Great for touring the Bozeman area, (by the way a very nice town) a bit far for those planning on Yellowstone.
Ken, Jeanie, Don, & Carol
near Kansas City, Missouri
It was all we expected and more!
I discovered Mountain-Home Montana Vacation Rentals on the internet, and arranging our vacation at Timberline Lookout home in Bozeman, Montana was so simple with the help of the staff in Bozeman. We were thrilled with the location, the home, and everything about our vacation. The home was very nice, accommodating two couples perfectly, and was well appointed with towels, bedding, a complete kitchen, games, books, television, and internet. The surroundings were exactly what we were hoping, with the home being at the top of the mountain. We saw a mule deer doe and two fawns in the yard almost every day we were there. It was perfectly quiet and so peaceful, making it hard to leave. The drive up the mountain to reach the house was somewhat difficult due to the condition of the road (washboard bumps and steepness) but we usually could spot deer or once a bear cub on the drive. The only negative comment I have is that the beds need better mattresses, box springs, and softer pillows.
Response from Mountain Home - Montana Vacation Rentals - 05/06/2011
Hello Baker Family -
We just wanted you to know that for your next visit to Timberline Lookout we have new mattresses and new down pillows for you! We hope that you'll be back soon to enjoy more of that peace and quiet on the mountain top.
Best regards - Suzy Hall
Owner of Mountain Home Vacation Rentals
Beautiful Mountain Retreat
The Timberline Lodge is a very well prepared and throught out holiday home. It has a location that is perfect, close enough to town for convenience, but remote enough to get a real feel for mountain living. The drive to the house is a part of the adventure, they are not joking when they advise a 4x4 to get to the property! The kids loved the games room, we loved the peace & quiet, we all loved the view and location, as well as the regular 4 legged visitors!
Sioux Falls, SD
The home was beautiful. But we had some serious issues with bugs. This was the beginning of Oct 2008 and Montana had a snow storm go through that allowed us to not get down the mountain. Which was ok, we were "cozy". At one point there were a few "flies", we all thought they were just trying to get in out of the cold snow. Then with in a hour we were bombarded by a mass of bugs. We used the Rainbow vacuum on the premises to vacuum them up. We did this for a WHOLE DAY! It was so disgusting! By the 2nd day there were still quite a few bugs, but less then the first day. Our husbands had a really hard time getting down the mountain to go get chains for the cars and had even a more difficult time trying to get back up (with the chains on!). No one came to plow us out........no one offered either, even though we called numerous people at Mountain View homes to say we were stuck. We had plans while we were in Montana to go to Yellowstone and other things.....but could not get out. So all in all the cabin was nice....but very disappointing at the same time. Minus the bugs and the snow it would have been a good time.......but not so much in the end.
Response from Mountain Home - Montana Vacation Rentals - 06/25/2009
Hello Tammie -
We remember that weekend very well. For other readers, we had a freak, early October snowstorm that left a full four feet of snow at many of our homes! On the day of your arrival we called arriving guests to make sure they were prepared for the driving conditions and, for those staying in mountain locations, to offer alternate accommodations at one of our easier to access valley homes. I recall speaking to your group and having you say that you were driving from South Dakota, that your group was in a high clearance vehicle, and that you were up for an adventure. You turned down our offer to suggest other homes for your group's long weekend. That said, none of us knew just how much snow would fall over the weekend, and you did indeed get snowed in. The county sheriff who lives just a few homes down the road from your cabin, and who had never been snowed in before, was also stuck at home that weekend. With regard to your "calls to numerous people at Mountain Home" requesting plowing that weekend, those calls all came to me personally on our after-hours line and I remember our conversations, informing you that neighbors further down the mountain were trying to plow themselves out with their plow trucks and that none of them were successful. For a couple of reasons it made no sense to attempt to get a plow up the mountain - there were already vehicles stuck on the road, and plowing of those narrow roads is always easier going down than up. In those calls we made sure that you were safe at the home. We offered to let you use the owner's snow mobiles, which are typically off-limits to guests for liability reasons. Not surprisingly, they both ended up getting stuck in the deep snow, which you infer was somehow our fault. We are sorry that all your plans for your weekend, including a trip to Yellowstone National Park, were thwarted but no one was traveling anywhere those few days. A trip to the park would have been nearly impossible anyways, even if we could have plowed the road. In retrospect I cannot think of one other thing we could have done to have made your stay during our snowstorm any more comfortable.
With regard to the flies at the home, I agree with you completely, there was a bug issue and your description is no exaggeration. We think that the earlier-than-normal cold snap did something to the insects and our routine pest control was rendered ineffective. For whatever reason, you had flies galore. You deserved to be compensated for the inconvenience, and you did not mention in your review that we happily offered you two choices, to extend your group's stay at no charge or to adjust your bill. We try to bend over backwards so that our guests feel more than taken care of if anything like this ever happens, and at the time you gave us no indication that you weren't satisfied with our offers. For future guests, know that we have undertaken a much more aggressive fly control program, and that we seem to have this issue solved.
Sincerely - Suzy Hall, owner of Mountain Home Vacation Rentals
We loved the view and the peacefulness of the location. The back porch was the main place to hang out to read a book and listen to the sounds of nature. The main problem we had with this rental property was there were quite a few moths in the house. We really couldn't figure out where they were coming from. Other than that, the place was immaculately clean and well kept. It was a great layout from the kitchen to the loft area. But again, if you are looking for a quiet get away to just relax, this is the home and location.
Response from Mountain Home - Montana Vacation Rentals - 06/23/2009
Hello Sara -
Thank you for your candid comments about your stay with us at Timberline Lookout last summer. We're happy to hear that you had such a nice stay. We also think it's an absolutely gorgeous location. We're sorry that you had to experience a hatch of moths and as mentioned in my response to Tammie above, we have undertaken a much more aggressive pest control program so that this is never an issue for guests again.
We hope that you will be our guests again sometime soon!
- Suzy Hall, owner of Mountain Home Vacation Rentals