|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Luxury, Romantic, City|
Description from the owner
"People living in the upper parts of very high buildings have more intense sensations than other people. The hours, the seasons, nature are closer to them. The sun, the wind, the rain, the clouds have a much closer impact on them. They are both from the earth and from the sky." This sentence, originating in the constructive optimism of the thirties describes in part the specific charm of this conceptual apartment.
Designed by a young but renown Belgian architect in the latter nineties on an existing unit from 1968 with a very clear idea in mind which he called maxFUS. Modular blocks on wheels are the walls inside the apartment.
A Spectacular Skyscraper Apartment
Brussel / Bruxelles, Flanders & Brussels, Belgium
Additional Location Information
Location Type City
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in EUR) (change)
|Rate Summary||$193||$193||$1,014 - $1,143||$2,697 - $3,429||1 night|
|All Other Dates||$193||$193||$1,014||$2,697||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Cleaning fee - $64 / stay - Other
- Additional guests - $128 / person - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 2 guest(s)
- Damage deposit - $385 / stay - Security Deposit
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 02, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Un nid de lumiere au 7eme ciel! Ou quand Magritte nous invite...
En deux temps trois mouvements nous sommes Ă destination.
MĂ©tro Madou, et la tour qui abrite cet endroit si inattendu aux vues de l'aspect de l'immeuble un peu vintage. C'est l'ascension, et nous comprenons tout de suite par la qualitĂ© de l'acceuil de Monsieur andrĂ© que nous allons jouir d'une prestation hors norme au delĂ de nos espĂ©rances.
En effet, un halo de lumiĂšre nous saisit dĂšs le seuil de la porte franchi. La dĂ©couverte de l'espace dĂ©voile avec splendeur le travail d'une architecture astucieuse. Ici tout est conĂ§u pour ĂȘtre facile Ă vivre et circuler face Ă un panorama unique. Tout le confort est au rendez-vous, il suffit, tel un jeu d'enfant, d'ouvrir les placards pour accĂ©der Ă des prestations haut de gamme. Tout y est!
AprĂšs une journĂ©e de visites intenses Ă Bruxelles, la belle, et que le soir nous regagnons ce nid haut perchĂ©, Ă la fois douillĂ© et aĂ©rĂ©, un sentiment de bien ĂȘtre, au milieu des nuages, nous envahit.
Dans nos souvenirs, Bruxelles restera Ă jamais associĂ©e Ă ce long week-end la tĂȘte dans les nuages.
This apartment is not at all what I expected.
Before I give my scathing review of this property, I would like it to be known that I have been travelling Europe for more than 12 months and stayed in a lot of self-catering apartments. I have provided many reviews, but none of them have been anything like this one.
So, letâs start at the beginning. All my contacts with Chris (whom I thought was the owner, but apparently is the nephew of the owner) were promising. There were a lot of emails back and forth to answer questions and finalise the booking. I was not happy however about having to pay such a large deposit up front, with a 3% surcharge added.
In spite of asking Chris for GPS coordinates, we only received a link to the google map â this is fine when you are sitting at your computer, but not so great when you are driving around trying to find the place, even though you have put in the address on your GPS!
Once we got to the address put into the GPS, we had great difficulty finding the apartment. One of the problems was that we were looking for something that was not there! The apartment, as presented on the website is not at all like what we found. It may be a good apartment if you are planning to stay in council flats, but not if you are paying for a luxury apartment.
We were lucky that we were unable to stay the full 9 days that we had booked this apartment for (although we did pay for the full 9 days). We were only there for 3 nights. Below are the major problems we encountered:-
1. As mentioned above, the apartment was very difficult to find.
2. The building this apartment is in is very old and smells disgusting, from rubbish bins just inside the entry.
3. The toilet is located in a cupboard inside the apartment, so there is no ventilation (not even a fan). The floor and walls are covered in synthetic lawn â yes, you have read that correctly!! Can this be kept clean? â no! The room stinks because it can never be cleaned of any urine smells.
4. There is no water pressure in the shower, and it takes 4-5 minutes to run the water before any hot water appears. The shower is also located in another cupboard, which is part of the laundry and bathroom.
5. There are no bedside lamps in the bedroom, or indeed any suitable main light for reading at night.
After we checked out, we left 50 Euros for cleaning and were informed that our 300 Euro bond would be refunded in 2 weeks. More than 2 weeks after checking out, there was no contact from Chris so I asked about the refund. He was away on holidays and unable to pay us back the deposit. After several weeks and emails back and forth our deposit was refunded (although not all of it â we had to pay bank charges and I was never given a remittance for how much was paid â it was difficult to calculate because of bank charges and exchange rates, but I am certain we never received the full 300 Euro refund. As we had to pay 3% for his PayPal charges, why did he not meet our charges?!
I posted a review on the Vrbo Website, and the owner responded to me. He agreed with all the points I mentioned, and states that he has rectified these. I will leave this up to him to verify or not. The Vrbo did not post the full review concerning the refund, so I did not receive an answer regarding this.
Response from Peter Bracke - 07/05/2012
Marion wrote us after her stay "We have enjoyed our stay, albeit brief! We will have to return some other time so we can experience more of Brussels" So we were surprised to get her negative review more than 5 months later on another web-site. Just two months before this feedback was published on VRBO the apartment did get a serious refurbishment and the few issues where she had a point where all solved.
Phenomenal views and spectacular service!
What a way to view the beautiful city of Brussels and live like a local! Peter has a great apartment set up with everything you need. The service and responsiveness from Peter exceeded our expectations. We were very fortunate to be able to enjoy this spectacular apartment during our week in Belgium.
Great apartment in Brussels
My colleague and I (2 mid 40s women) enjoyed 5 nights in La Tete dans les Nuages following a medical conference. The apartment was impeccably clean and wonderfully appointed with views that went on forever. Christoffel and team of andre and Monique were extremely helfpul and kind, and responded promptly to our little issues (e.g., I accidentally blew out the electricity with my converter and they had it fixed within the hour.) The location was great in terms of ease of use-metro just up the street (3 stops to central station); grocery etc down the street. The area was a little worn but we never felt unsafe. A neighbor played pounding music at any hour, but my earplugs worked fine to drown him out. Be aware that the bathroom situation is a little nontraditional with no sink in the WC and no handles to completely shut either the WC door or the shower room door. The WC was completely outfitted in astroturf which I found pretty cool actually but which my colleague didn't like. The shower room had absolutely gorgeous tiles and was fairly large compared to other European showers I've used. The rest of the apartment was very clean-lined and modern - tres chic. Overall we had a truly wonderful time and would select this apartment again. Thanks Christoffel for a lovely home base in Brussels.
Excellent Experience- Wonderful location
My wife and I stayed here for 6 weeks in the spring of 2011. It is a wonderful location, centrally located with plenty of food shops, various restaurants and such within walking distance. Of course, if you plan to stay for any length of time at all, do familiarize yourself with the metro system as getting around from this location was a breeze! (Longer term patrons like us, take the time to go buy a Mobib monthly pass- take two color photos with you or buy them at a kiosk in the metro) With Mobib, we could get anywhere within minutes.
Overall, a very satisfactory visit and transaction was handled professionally from start to finish.
The view from the room is absolutely spectacular and we enjoyed hosting on several occasions while there.
We found the other people who lived in the building and in the surrounding area to be friendly and helpful- though we tried to speak French and Nederlands, seemed that most everyone responded in English which made it hard to learn, but was quite often much more expedient than trying to help us understand their responses.
There were a few "glitches" with the technology- most probably caused by us, but overall we were very happy with our decision and would gladly recommend it to our friends.
Matthew & Jennifer
Response from Peter Bracke - 07/19/2011
Thanks for the review - we have been looking into the TV system and some settings had been altered by a previous guest - this has been fixed again.
Peter Bracke - owner
very nice place
We had a great time in a beautyful place with a spectacular vieuw
San Antonio, TX
Loved this modern loft
We loved our time in this fabulous loft. So unique, amazing space. Very well equipped. It is literally less than a two minute walk to the Metro (it takes longer to descend the elevator than to walk to the Metro). While the neighborhood might not be Brussels' most exclusive, you are just a few stops away from anywhere in the city. Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars.
Top location, really on top of the world
Of all the rentals we ever had, this is absolutely the one with the highest woaw-factor. We arrived by car and found a car park only 100 m from the apartment. Very convenient. The person who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful. We arrived at night and our first sight of the apartment was the spectacular view from 3 of the 4 sides of the apartment. You really feel on top of the world. In fact, it is hard to describe. You have to see it to believe it. The apartment itself is very cleverly designed. Some examples: there are few doors so everything is spacious. There is a lot of storage space. The kitchen is built in the closet but you can open it so it becomes a normal kitchen with all supplies. The bathroom is also beautiful and the hot water from the shower was super. From the sofa, you have a 180? view over the city of Brussels, and this is really awesome. It broadens your mind, you literally get perspective. A dream for a photographer. There are all sorts of things present that makes the apartment very comfortable and cosy. There is a collection of books, music and movie Dvd's in all kinds of genres and can receive a lot of TV channels (including English speaking). There is free Wifi. We found the location very handy. It is only 1 block away from the metro station, you can rent a bike just at the corner of the street, or you can cross the circular lane and visit Brussels on foot. We went to Bozar Museum, the Royal Palace, the Museum for Musical Instruments,... and it took only a 15 minute walk. We went to a restaurant in the Louiza lane area. As I am writing this from the sofa in the living room, with the spectacular view in front of me, we are very happy to be here and hope to come back again. Thank you very much Peter, for this wonderful experience we will never forget.
Spectacular indeed, with pros and cons
Located near Place Madou, which is a fairly central place but not the most beautiful of neighbourhoods, the apartment was designed beautifully. Once you're through the initial surprise of being in an ugly (low rent?) high-rise, you enter the apartment that has a wonderful view and lots of light; the downside of having that many large windows is that it tends to be cold inside if there isn't much sunlight. With the radiators working at maximum capacity the temperature in the apartment on the third consecutive gloomy and cold February day dipped under 20 degrees Celsius (67 Fahrenheit), slightly less than pleasant.
On the plus side, the design of the apartment is both unique and nicely executed. The owners have added a few excellent touches (groceries in the fridge, more than enough bathroom and cleaning supplies, towels, duvets, blankets, etc.), the beds are very comfortable, the DVD/TV combo is good for cold days when children need to take a break.
We'd stay there again, but perhaps not when it's too cold outside.
New York, NY
Comfort and a great view
My husband and I spent a week in this convenient and comfortable Brussels apartment. We were within easy walking distance of most everything, including museums and wonderful places to eat. The view of Brussels is spectacular and the huge flat screen TV and sound system are excellent. The bed is large and comfortable and being able to launder clothes right in the apartment is very useful. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Response from Peter Bracke - 06/26/2009
Hi Beth, nice to hear you had a wonderful time and thank you for this feedback! Kind regards,
Head In the Clouds - Brussels HighRise Apartment
Myself and a friend stayed for two nights, in the lovely apartment. First impressions were speculative, with the exterior of the building, whilst tidy and respectable, not in keeping with the standard of the apartment we had seen by photo. But by the moment you open the flat door, boom!
The decor is cutting edge, with modular, moveable units that conceal everything leaving only a minimalist, clean room to relax in.
The master bed is huge and comfortable, and the sofa/2nd bed is perfect - not to mention the sofa which when reclined could fit another tired soul easily.
The most impressive aspect of the apartment however was the views! You overlook the whole of Brussels, a truly mindblowing landscape to relax and look upon from the balcony. I simply couldnt tear myself away from sitting on the balcony. the only thing i would mention is that the railings are hip-high, and if slightly edgy around heights,
it feels slightly dangerous - probably not a problem unless you have kids.
In terms of amenities, the flat is close to a bustling area of shops and supermarkets, and has many staple goods and all cooking equipment already supplied.
I recommend the apartment highly and wouldn't hesitiate to return. It was genuinely one of the highlights of our Brussels trip.
It's not the first time for me to stay in a Flat in a skyscraper
but this one has something more than a marvellous view, a very chic forniture and a great power of destressing..
it's probably the most loved apartment I have ever occupied
Go there, and tell me about it...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
The PLACE to stay in Brussels!
The moment we stepped in to the property, we were in awe and pinching ourselves to ensure that we were awake. The place was just amazing! No words to describe how perfect the place was. Located on the 24th floor of a tall building, we were guaranteed the best view of Brussels one can ever get. You can get a glimpse of the Grand Place on the left and the shiny Atomium on the right ... and all within one spot!
The facilities were comparable to none and the condition of the apartment would actually shame the most luxurious and posh hotel in Brussels. The apartment was complete with all you need to a complete rental vacation - washing machine, separate tumble dryer, dishwasher, fridge, freezer to mention a few. Peter (the owner) also installed a fantastic Coffee machine like the ones you get at a real coffee place. Peter also stocked up the larder just in case you arrive with nothing. However, each item must be replaced with one of a similar value. Not a problem as the supermarket is literally 2 minutes away. Spoilt for choice? There's GB across the apartment and GB Express just down the road!
The entrance to the door of the apartment is coded so that makes you feel very secure. The living room was equipped with an Edra couch and my family just loved it, not only because it's very functional but cozy and relaxing as well. The place was also equipped with wireless internet access so you don't have to worry about connectivity in the apartment and Peter also installed a land line in case someone needs to reach you and you don't feel like paying roaming charges for the mobile.
The Metro station is just a step away from the building and that meant access to the whole of Brussels and the Metro network.
All in all, we loved the apartment and was sad to say goodbye to it. However, if we get to Brussels again, we will definitely rent it. Trust me, you will not regret this place. Thanks for sharing the place Peter!