17 Geneva - Upper
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyNo
Description from the manager
The largest of the three apartments, the top level of 17 Genevaâ€™s stylish dĂ©cor and understated elegance is relaxing and easy on the eyes.
An antique-style desk in one corner allows die-hard workaholics an opportunity to do some work in relative privacy, even while on holiday. A moderate-sized lounge, furnished with a flat screen TV and DSTV, opens onto a partially covered balcony with a private sauna around the corner and a gorgeous view of the ocean and surrounding mountains. The apartment is close enough to the sea to scent brine upon the breeze, yet a screen of foliage affords a modicum of privacy and adds to the intimate ambienc...Read more
17 Geneva - Upper
Camps Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$172 - $436||$172 - $436||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 2 2012 - Jul. 21 2012||$172||$172||-||-||1 night|
|Oct. 1 2012 - Dec. 20 2012||$258||$258||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 16 2012 - Mar. 6 2013||$436||$436||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 9 2013 - Mar. 30 2013||$367||$367||-||-||1 night|
|May. 2 2013 - Jul. 21 2013||$172||$172||-||-||1 night|
|Oct. 1 2013 - Dec. 20 2013||$258||$258||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Tasteful furnished apartment with a lot of comfort
How often do you feel direct at home when you rent a house or apartment? When the friendly hostess let us in, we saw a very warm and nice apartment with a personal touch. In every detail you find the taste and attention of somebody would like to create something special for the guests who are on holiday.
The couch/bed on the balcony, the plungepool, the tambour doors on the balcony if there is some wind. The nespresso machine, the vintage coca cola bottle dispenser, the paintings and the used colors etc. And... the best shower we ever had, spacey and even for a tall guy like me, i could stand under a shower plunging a lot of water.
Monica cleans the house and kitchen quickly and perfect. A couple of minutes walk and you are on the beach and near the restaurants. You can park you car safely in front of the entrance of the house, on the road. Meanwhile the house has electric wires on the walls so you sleep like a baby lion during the night.
We will come back and we hope this place will be than still available!!
Response from Nox Rentals - 03/19/2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of 17 Geneva Upper! We are glad you liked the personal touches and we agree with you that the owner really has good taste. Even better - we are very pleased the shower worked out well! :)
Monika is a delight and we are glad you felt safe a secure in this little retreat.
Hoping to see you again soon
all the best
My wife and I stayed at 17 Upper Geneva for a week in January. The location is superb, the views from the spacious balcony can't be beat and the apartment itself is beautiful. The cleaning service, which comes daily, is also great. It also has a very nice plunge pool, which, unfortunately is not heated and even in the summer, was too cold to use.
Cons: Everything was perfect until the second to last night when I saw a mouse in the kitchen. I never saw it again, but, that was not what I expected from a 5 star apartment. There was also some confusion picking up the keys originally, but, I could chalk that up to a miscommunication.
Overall, the place was beautiful and the Nox Rental team was very helpful. The mouse kind of soured things a bit, but, I would rent from Nox again.
Response from Nox Rentals - 03/05/2013
Thank you for your honest review! 17 Geneva is one of the few 1 bed apartments boasting both a pool and a sauna and overall is very spacious (which is a plus when in a 1-bed). Monika also does a really good job of keeping the property clean, neat and tidy and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time (despite the cons raised). As to that little field mouse: We had an appearance last year as well and went to great lengths to fumigate and eradicate the mouse (traps, which proved successful etc). We have yet again raised this with the owner and we are pleased to hear that it never showed up again during your stay.
Wishing you all the best for the year and we look forward to welcoming you to another Nox property again soonest
This place is dangerous
Die aussicht von der Terrasse und des Schlafzimmers ist ausgezeichnet. Die Wohnung ist gross und gerĂ¤umig und die GerĂ¤te in der KĂĽche funktionieren. Damit ist aber auch schon alles gesagt.
Das Haus verfĂĽgt ĂĽber 3 Wohnungen und liegt hinter einer ca. 2m hohen Mauer. Nach Ă–ffnen der EingangstĂĽr kommt man in einen kleinen Innenhof und wird dann von 3 grossen RenovationsbehĂ¤ltern begrĂĽsst, in dem auch der Unrat der anderen Wohnungen abgelagert wird.Bei der eigentlichen EingangstĂĽr zur Wohnung ist das Licht kaputt, welches ein schnelles Ă–ffnen (im Notfall!!) nicht mĂ¶glich macht. Die Stube ist vollgestopft mit mehr oder weniger zweifelhaften SammlerstĂĽcken, ein grausames Bild, wenn man Minimalismus bevorzugt und keinen Schrott. Es gibt wirklich kaum einen Centimeter in der Wohnstube, welcher nicht mit irgendwelchen Krimskrams schon besetzt ist. Die Wohnstube/KĂĽche macht einen stark abgewohnten Eindruck, der Teppichboden, der auch in der Schlafstube ausgelegt wurde ist unhygenisch und abgewetzt. In der KĂĽche gibt es 3 kleine LĂ¶ffel, keine Bier und ChampagnerglĂ¤ser,nur 2 vollkommen untaugliche WeinglĂ¤ser. Wir haben neue gekauft. Dazu kommt:In der Nacht am 22.Dezember wurde eingebrochen. Das Haus verfĂĽgt als einziges GebĂ¤ude in der Strasse ĂĽber keine alarmanlage oder Bewachung - und dies trotz der Tasache,dass - wie uns von der Polizei bestĂ¤tigt wurde - bereits 4x vorher eingebrochen wurde!!! Der Safe wurde herausgerissen, was einfach ist, da nur mit einer Speerholzplatte verbunden und aufgebrochen. Aus keinen einzigen Hinweis geht hervor, dass es sich hier um eine unbewachte anlage handelt. Uns wurde alles an WertgegenstĂ¤nden und Bargeld gestohlen, welches nicht von der Versicherung gedeckt ist. Der Safe wurde nicht reetabliert - grosszĂĽgiger Weise hat NOX sich bereit erklĂ¤rt 1 Tag als Kompensation zu erstatten!! Angeblich anerkennt der Hausbesitzer keine Verantwortung und NOX versteckt sich hinter den GeschĂ¤ftsbedingungen. Nie wieder!
Amazing Views, loved it!
This is a gorgeous apartment with amazing views of Camps Bay. It has a large terrace with a small splash pool, the assistant from Nox that checked us in, was so friendly and great, he was very welcoming and called to check that everything was ok with us!
One slight thing that would make a difference is having a microwave in the kitchen (which would make it easier to warm food) and definitely a door leading to the bathroom to provide that extra bit of privacy. We also felt that the carpets were a bit outdated and wooden floors would far better suit it and are much more hygenic.
All in all we would definitely stay here again, we loved it, it is very central and the views are the best! The bathroom is great and the bedroom has sliding doors that open onto the terrace as well as towards the ocean! Loved the comfortable couches and large TV!
Wonderfull appartment with marvelous Ocean and Mountan view. Near by Restaurants and Beach. Nice Terrace with Pool.
The Carpet schould be replaced by Stonefloor or parquet. Free Internet (Wifi) should be included.
Response from Nox Rentals - 01/12/2012
Thanks for your review, we do have free internet in many of our properties and 17 Geneva will have too, very soon.
May we ask why you recommend no carpeted floor?
The Nox Rentals Team.
Beware mice infestation!!!
This could have been a perfect stay. The apartment is gorgeous,but,over crowded with things on every surface..the bathroom is well apointed,but, no light over the sink which made shaving a bit of an issue.Wifi only set up 3 days into our stay,slighty annoying ,since we needed skype to contact friends and local family in Sa. Very minor things.
But ,at the start of our 9 nights dec 27 to jan 5. First night saw mouse running around until finally disappeared into a hole. We found rat poison under the kitchen counter so the owner knew there was a problem. Next day the cleaners scattered rat poison all over the kitchen counters. Completely disgusting and potentially lethal if we came in contact. Camps bay was completely full since it was peak season so Nox rentals could not find another place for us to move. They did offer a full refund,but, we booked in Feb so we could find the perfect apartment. We were handcuffed.
3 days later ,after a great day in the wine country, a mouse was found partial breathing on kitchen floor so we had to put it out of its misery. Nox was apologetic gave us 1000 rand for dinner. They were trying to get in contact with the owner since we notified them of this problem and our disgust at renting an apartment with a mouse infestation. In the end the Nox was authorized by the owner to give us only 25 percent of our stay which was unacceptable as the owner knew about this before our arrival. We spent a lot of time dealing with something that was completely a health concern and this apartment needs to be shut down and inspected. Our travel agent is taking steps to report this to the Capetown health inspector and the other appropriate agents.
That said Nox was attentive ,pleasant,always there to help with reservations and questions and extremely apologetic ,but,when using a booking agent we expected to be protected against problems by them if problems arise. When things go wrong is when you can truly tell the quality of customer service.
Response from Nox Rentals - 01/16/2012
Dear Robin and Nick,
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Once again, on behalf of the owner, we'd like to apologize for the problems you had at 17 Geneva Upper. It was unfortunate that it was such a busy time in Cape Town, and that we couldn't find you suitable alternative accommodation. We were aware of the problem and thought it was resolved, as we had professional pest control attend to this situation.
Thank you for acknowledging our efforts in trying to rectify the 'mouse problem'. We can assure you this has never happened in the past, and we have put in measures to avoid this happening again.
As mentioned, besides the 25% we have refunded, we hope that you will take up our offer of a 20% discount on your next stay.
Again we do apologize, as this unique incident is not up to the standards we are used to achieving.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in South Africa, and all the best for 2012.
The Nox Rentals Team.
Great little hideaway in the middle of Camps Bay
The one bedroomed apartment offered so much more then one could ever get at a hotel or B&B; (although you will have to cook your own breakfast).
The apartment was certainly spacious, comprising of a large open plan kitchen, huge livingroom (which opened out onto a beautiful desk, plunge pool and sauna), a bedroom (obviously) and a generous bathroom with shower and a bath (goodness I sound like an estate agent, sorry about that).
The decor was made up of a mismatch of old and new, collectibles, artwork, and had a very homely and comfortable feel to it.
The view looked out onto the ocean in the front and signal hill to the right. We really thought that this could be our home away from home when traveling to the Cape.
On the downside, as is normal for the Cape, parking is on the street, which isn't a problem in winter but could be in summer. The pool isn't heated so definitely on the chilly side. Also going in winter meant cold rainy days and unfortunately there is only 1 medium sized bar heater, perhaps a gas heater would help. Finally I had forgotten to bring a 2 pin plug adapter and the apartment only had one. Difficult to charge 2 cellphones, a laptop and the Bose SoundDock (which comes with the apartment).
However we really had an awesome time, Nox Rentals were friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Should you need help planning what to do or where to go when you're in town, they're the people to ask.
So a great (albeit brief) stay, I can't wait to try it out again in the summer.
Response from Nox Rentals - 06/10/2011
Thanks for the detailed review. We really appreciate the feedback. We're glad you had a great stay. It's unfortunate the weather was bad as this weekend looks to be a beautiful weekend in Cape Town (in the middle of June).
We have some other fabulous properties with off street parking as well as some with heated pools. So next time if you'd like we could put you up in one of those.
We're so happy you had a good time. 17 Geneva has a fabulous charm.
Next time you come and stay we can arrange pre packed breakfasts for you if you'd like, or even arrange a chef. There are also so many fabulous restaurants to try in Cape Town - I guess if you had more time I'm sure you would've tried them.
We will definitely make sure there is a extra 2 prong available for our guests. And if there's anything else you need you can always give us a call on our all hours number.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Amy and the Nox Rentals team.
Vancouver, BC, canada
Will definitely be staying here on our next visit to camps bay. Close location to the beach and restaurants with amazing views of the ocean and mountain. Service was amazing and the suite felt like home. Can't wait to go back!!
Response from Nox Rentals - 04/01/2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Amy and the Nox Rentals Team
Great location, fantastic views
Stayed here for a week after X-Mas 2010. Great place - huge for two people with a very large outdoor terrace and great views over Camps Bay and the mountains. Flat furnished to very high standard. Would stay here again.
I thought the whole thing was excellent. All the people I dealt with were charming and very professional. The only comment I would make is to highlight better in advance the services offered. Had I known about the shopping and cleaning in advance, I would probably have been happier to pay up for what is a premium product.