|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyNo
Description from the manager
iThemba is a stunning four bedroom house which enjoys one of Camps Bay's best positions. It overlooks the fantastically scenic Bali Bay, and despite the fantastic views, is just a short stroll from the beach and restaurants (in Camps Bay it is often a choice of one or the other).
The property is casually decorated, and it is ideal for a family or group of friends looking for a relaxed position, where they can really enjoy a beach holiday.
Every aspect of the property lends itself to relaxed holiday living. Every room enjoys a fantastic sea view, and each of the properties three levels opens on to its own deck area, again with fant...Read more
Camps Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$310 - $906||$310 - $906||$0||$0||1 night|
|May. 2 2012 - Jul. 21 2012||$310||$310||-||-||1 night|
|Oct. 1 2012 - Dec. 20 2012||$453||$453||-||-||1 night|
|Dec. 16 2012 - Mar. 6 2013||$906||$906||-||-||1 night|
|Jan. 9 2013 - Mar. 30 2013||$711||$711||-||-||1 night|
|May. 2 2013 - Jul. 21 2013||$310||$310||-||-||1 night|
|Oct. 1 2013 - Dec. 20 2013||$453||$453||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Oh dear,,arrived at I Themba full of anticipation,,,it looked so swish on the Internet. Reality was different. A very tired looking property,,for sale, requiring some serious TLC.
First impressions of a rattan sofa and chairs literally in pieces and unable to be used led the way.
There was no toilet seat in one of the bedrooms,,,the balcony with a huge drop had been repaired with pieces of wood and string,,
stains on the sofa,,nasty looking stains on bedding,,stains on towels,,
The Nox representative who was showing us the property had no hesitation in our request for a refund and told us she would arrange for the property to be taken off the rental list.
We stayed for 3 nights in a wonderful hotel overlooking the beach.
Warning: Maid steals your things
Had several of my things stolen by the maid who claimed she mistook it for trash. Who mistakes cufflinks for trash???
Response from Nox Rentals - 03/20/2013
First and foremost - and not negating that a theft accusation is serious - your stay with us was La Plantacion. Your 'review' has oddly appeared in iThemba. Please do correct me if I am wrong.
Furthermore, I can not refer to this as a property review, but an accusation of theft.
Your report of the cuff links having gone missing was post departure (for our readers: you had checked out). As you raised this with us shortly after, our team did a thorough search for you. As reported to you, anything left behind is removed/ thrown away. Our servicing girls are always checked before they leave after a days work. We rummaged through the bins for you days later and we offered you all contact details for you to proceed with a formal inquiry and polygraph testing procedure of our team.
We take the accusation of theft very very seriously and our servicing Manager screens her staff thoroughly.
There is not much more I can add to this on a Flipkey review platform other than we will continue to assist you with any information and hope you find a resolution soonest.
All the best
Eva and Team Nox
Johannesburg, South Africa
The house is very spacious and most importantly homely.The area is close to all tourist attractions like table mountain, has lovely views of the sea and is close to the beach. Will recommend it to all my friends!!!
Response from Nox Rentals - 10/16/2012
Thank you for such a great review! Ithemba really is just a short walk down to the beach and restaurants
We hope to see you again soon
All the best from the Cape
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
We had a wonderful stay at ithemba! There were 5 of us and we all loved the accomodation. Looking out over Camps Bay for sunsets was amazing. The rooms were clean and pleasant. One person in our group absolutely loved the sauna.
Response from Nox Rentals - 10/11/2012
iThemba really does have the best views! Lovely to hear that the sauna was put to use by that one person in your group ;) We have several other properties with Saunas on our portfolio - just in case you were thinking of visiting with us again :)
We do hope to see you again soon
All the best from Cape Town
Eva and the Nox team
Bloomington, IL USA
Great place, great location, great service
Very nice house on 3 levels with a great view over Camps Bay. We loved staying there. Nox Rentals provided great service. We were very happy with everything.
Response from Nox Rentals - 08/20/2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back to Cape Town again soon!
Our stay was increadible. Who ever owns this property has style and awesome taste. I admit the property needs a little maintenence but believe it is for sale and therefore understand that the enthusiasm is not there anymore. The experience was truly awesome and fell in love with Cape Town all over again. Security , cleanliness everything was as described. This property is truly wonderful. Thank you, much appreciated.
Response from Nox Rentals - 07/26/2012
iThemba has a lovely history to it. Just after purchase the owner had an accident and was told he would not be able to walk again. The property as you know has stairs and he was determined to walk and climb those stairs! The house was aptly named iThemba which means 'Hope' - and the best part is that he was able to walk again.
Sadly the house is for sale so its a sad one to lose and we do hope that - once sold - it remains with us and we can restore it to the brilliance it once radiated!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Your pictures are incredible and it's heart warming to know you enjoyed your stay as much as you did.
Wishing you everything of the best
Camps Bay Feb 2012
The apartment was in a fantastic location overlooking the bay and easy walking distance to everything. The alarm kept going off and there were no instructions which was a bit worrying when the armed response unit turned up, . . . . twice!
Other than it is was great.
Response from Nox Rentals - 03/09/2012
Thanks for your review. We're sorry about any inconvenience caused with the Alarm System. Our concierge support is always just a phone call away for any hassles you have.
We hope to see you again soon.
Wonderful and spacious!
Beautiful Villa in one of the world's truly stunning places! Spacious and luxurious, we loved it. Very convenient for people wanting to explore the incredibly beautiful city and surrounds of Cape Town. Definitely recommended for families or a medium sized group wanting to have a wonderful holiday.
Response from Nox Rentals - 02/17/2012
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back any time.
Very pleasant stay
The Holiday Villa was very beautiful and so was the service. Osman, the representative of Nox was very helpful and would take our calls even at odd hours when we needed his help.
Response from Nox Rentals - 06/17/2011
Thanks for your feedback. We're so glad you had a great stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Amy and the Nox Team
Great family/party house in best location in Camps Bay
We were a group of two parents and 6 adult children who wanted a comfortable place to stay in the week before our daughter's wedding. We wanted to be able to invite other friends and relatives to join us for drinks and bbq's while there. iThemba proved to be the perfect apartment, and the location was sensational. It was cosy and nicely furnished without being precious, the beds were very comfortable and it was airy and spacious. Everyone who came to visit asked, "How did you find this place?" And the rental agent could not have been more helpful.
Response from Nox Rentals - 03/22/2011
Thanks for the great review.
That is one of the many benefits of staying in a Private Villa when visiting Cape Town.
Please contact us again when you're next visiting and you are welcome to pass on our details to your friends and family.
You can also follow us on Facebook.
The Nox Rentals Team
021 438 6440
Long weekend in Camps Bay
Overall lovely stay although we had some disruption with onsite contractors who were repairing the balcony while we were trying to sunbathe!
Also would be nice to have direct access to the beach via the elevator, but this is currently restricted so means a 5 min walk.
The Champ's friend...
Holiday to remember...
Superb accommodation. Check-in agent, Eva, was very friendly. Location is ideal. Excellent amenties...
The trees on the lower level,ie bedroom level, need pruning. They block the perfect view. Overall an excellent place to stay...Since it was my year to book for accommodation amongst the friends, thanks to iThemba, I'm now the designated accommodation hunter. I know where I'll be booking again next year. iThemba...
Redwood City, California
The location was terrific with wonderful views and easy access to the beacxh and shops. Overall the house was lovely and the check-in and check out process was good. The assistant tried her best to help with instructions but the house had some quirks that were disappointing. The jacuzzi didn't heat up, the washer/dryer took forever to complete the cycle, the underfloor heating in master bedroom was only partially working, there was no microwave, the alarm system was not very user friendly and the TV/Stereo is still a mystery.
I'll be back
We enjoyed out brief stay immensely. Check-in and -out were easy with staff on hand at the doorstep.
The house was perfect for our large family with plenty of room to relax.
We had all the amenities we needed and enjoyed a quick sauna at the end of the day to relax those aching muscles.
The views are spectacular and its easy to walk down to the sea and the local shops.
Beautiful and Comfortable
This place was beyond my expectations...it was located in beautiful Camps Bay with 3 floors of balconies overlooking the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other side. The place was very clean and comfortable and felt like home. It had every amenity you could think of - hot tub, sauna, heated floors, and BBQ. This was the last leg of our trip and none of us wanted to leave because the house itself!
5 People didn´t like it.
When we moved in we realized how hot it in the apartment was. It was not possible to get asleep in the master bedroom. Next to one of the bedrooms was the pool pump. It run the hole time and made a horrible noise, therefore I had a very bad night and a big headache next morning. The safe was not working and I had the whole money and jewellery in my handbag, what was definitely not a nice feeling.
Whenever we moved from one room to another one the alarm gave a lout noise also during the night when somebody got a cool drink from the kitchen. That made us nervous. The pool was dirty and the apartment looked on the pictures much brighter then it was in reality. The coffee machine was not working. When we arrived there were no towels there. The towels came 5 hours later. We booked Ithemba for 5 days, but we moved out on the next day, because everything was really not what we expected. We phoned the agent, but he made clear that this was our one problem and that he was not willing to refund us anything of the R 20.000,-- we had paid .Definitely not a nice holyday experience
Response from Nox Rentals - 01/14/2010
Dear Mrs Geuder,
Thank you for your feedback about Ithemba and I am terribly sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.
I will respond to your comments one at a time below. My primary response is that you did not give us any opportunity to attend to any of your grievances. You were given the 24 hour contact number on arrival, as well as your consultants personal telephone number, and if you had contacted either of these numbers we would have been able to attend to all of your complaints.
1. The Heat
Being our summer season the weather does occasionally get very warm and unfortunately the apartment does not have air-conditioning. Generally speaking this property does not need it, as it is right on the bay, and it is very rare for the weather to be hot and still. 99% of the time there is a sea breeze that keeps the property very comfortable. If you had notified us we would have been able to arrange portable air-conditioning units on a temporary basis.
2. The pool pump
The pool pumps all run on timers. They are generally set to run during the day (from approximately 10am until 6pm). If there is any power interruption this affects the pool timers, and they will go out of sync (and can potentially run overnight, instead of during the day). If you had contacted us we would very happily have come to the property to reset the timer.
3. The safe.
Ashley (your check-in consultant) explained the safe to you on arrival, demonstrating it to you and allowing you to use it while she was there to ensure that you understood how it worked. You mistakenly locked the safe without resetting the code to your own personal code. When you contacted Ashley she had planned to come out at 09:30 the next day to open it up using the master key. To say that the safe was broken is completely incorrect.
4. The alarm
The alarm was then reported to Ashley as being a problem so she had arranged for a technician to come and see to it the following day.
5. The coffee machine
The coffee machine was working.
6. The pool
Ashley checked to pool on arrival and it was perfectly clean. The pool is serviced on a weekly basis by a professional pool company.
7. The towels
Servicing brought the laundered towels into the property at 15h30, which was 1h30 after the check in time. I am sorry for the inconvenience. There were also spare towels in the main bedroom cupboard which we could have offered you had you contacted us.
8. The refund
I assume that you contacted the agent that you booked through when you say "he made it clear that this was our problem". Unfortunately none of the issues listed above warranted a full refund. Had you given us the opportunity to attend to any of them we would have done so happily and quickly. Unfortunately you made a unilateral decision to move out without giving us any opportunity to help you. In that situation it is completely unfair for us to sacrifice the owner of the property's income.
I am very sorry that the experience did not live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our service, and generally our customers are very satisfied. I do not believe that your rating is an accurate reflection of the property at all, and I firmly believe that you would have had a fantastic time at iThemba had you given us any opportunity to rectify the small issues that you were having.
If you are ever returning to Cape Town I will happily offer you a discounted stay. Please do not hesitate to take us up on this offer by contacting the office and referring to this post.
Pretoria, South Africa
Wow, it was fantabulous
We were welcome by Eva, very professional, friendly lady with a very good sense of humour. (She was very patient with us) even though we arrived later than the expected time. The place was beautiful, neat, spacious.... The sea view..... everything on the advert was there. The team was more than satisfied with the venue, and to top it all (since I was the Organiser) I was the hero of the week. Wow thanks very much. our holiday was the best. we've visited Cape Town twice with our friends and we have never been to a place like iThemba, we would definitely book next time. Thank you very much for making our stay very enjoyable.
nice en beautyfull
everething was oke
It was great except that the heat kept going off most
of the time we were cold. Overall, had a fantastic
time and would go again, hoping next time they won't
have issues with the heat :)
Have been in over 29 countries and over 58 cities,
this is definitely one of the best places.
I stayed at the iThemba Villa in camps bay it was the best place I have ever stayed in. The views are to die for, I basically did not want to leave! I spent 3 days there. It is a prefect place to spend with a group of friends. The location is great too just minutes walk away from the fabulous camps bay. I would highly recommend this villa it's tops!