Studio Martini in the heart of Cape Town
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
|Living space||43 square meters|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||City, Downtown, Mountain|
Description from the owner
Surrounded by gardens, you would never know that Studio Martini apartment is right in the centre of Cape Town, with its own very large swimming pool. Studio Martini is just 2-minutes walk to restaurants, bars, cafes, tourist attractions and nightlife.
It's only a couple of miles to the V&A; Waterfront, Convention Centre and Table Mountain cableway (which you can watch from the lounge). Camps Bay and Clifton beaches are ten minutes by road.
Studio Martini is a bright and airy bachelor apartment on the 4th floor, with stunning views of the Cape Town skyline. Look beyond the French doors of the small balcony to see Table Mountain &...Read more
Studio Martini in the heart of Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Additional Location Information
Studio Martini is in a street of Law Courts, 4 & 5-star hotels and the Planitarium. It cant compete for glory with these beautiful buildings, but what it does have in the middle of the city is a mature gardens surrounded by tall trees and a huge swimming pool. All the main tourist attractions are within a very short walk or 5-min drive.
Location Type City, Downtown, Mountain
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in ZAR) (change)
|Rate Summary||$61 - $82||$61 - $82||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Sep. 1 2012 - Dec. 14 2012
|Dec. 15 2012 - Jan. 8 2013
High season 2012/13
|Jan. 9 2013 - Apr. 30 2013
|May. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013
|All Other Dates||$61||$61||-||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
Additional notes from owner
The rates apply per night for the whole apartment and is based on two-person occupancy. Enquire for our reduced rate for single occupancy and weekly rates. This is a guidline rate and may be more or less. Please email for confirmation of all rates.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 02, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
A beautifully presented, comfortable apartment in a great locati
The apartment was very convenient to all amenities. The service we received from the booking agent and the staff at Studio Martini was very good and helpful. It is well appointed, we felt very comfortable there. The view of table mountain was a great bonus. We enjoy having our own space rather than being in a hotel, Studio Martini gave us that but also the convenience of shops and restaurants near by. It was a win win. Parking in the street outside was not difficult and very safe with safety officers always around.
Perfect Location, great place to start a South african adventure
My wife and I stayed at Studio Martini at the beginning of our honeymoon through South africa in May 2012. It was the perfect place to start our adventure across the country and gave us a real taste of things to come.
The apartment is in a perfect location for exploring the city, very close to the many bars and cafe's of Long Street, across the road from the museums and it's an easy 20 minute walk down to the V & A waterfront. The supermarket was also just round the corner.
The building although right in the thick of it all was quiet and secure with a 24 hour concierge, the apartment was nicely decorated and was the perfect size for a couple.
Overall a great place to stay in Cape Town and would recommend.
Clean and convienant
We stayed here for 5 nights. The apartment is perfect size for 2. The views from the balcony of table mountain are nice, it also doesn't face the main street so you don't get as much traffic noise. We didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. It was nice to be able to cook for ourselves, the kitchen is well equipped. The only down sides were that the kitchen didn't have base essentials which we are use to expecting in a holiday rental (salt and pepper, cling wrap), not a huge deal though. Also the TV could only get 3 stations, this was a pattern throughout africa so I guess that's normal. There isn't Wifi but there is a McDonald's on the street behind the apartments that has it, and I think the cafe next door might have it too. The apartment no longer provides a secure parking bay which was disappointing but there was always street parking outside the building that was available. The tourist bus has a stop at the top of this street which is handy. The agent that manages this property is mostly helpful, I would say double check any recommendation of tours though, we went with their suggested provider for a wine tour of Stellenbosch and while the driver was polite he was very intrusive on our day, followed us to tasting and we had to buy him lunch which we found out later wasn't required!
Ok...but could have been much better.
We stayed here for 2 weeks in May 2011. First of all, let me say that the apartment is in a great location and the building is well maintained. The neighborhood is very nice with a little park across the street. The parking space included with the rental was perfect and allowed us to come and go with ease. Now, the apartment itself was only "Acceptable", however. It could have been made to be much nicer with a little attention. No cable TV, no Internet, no Heater (for those that have not been in Cape Town in the winter, it can get cold at night!). In this day and age, renting an apartment without internet connectivity is like renting it without a bathroom. We had to leave the apartment in order to catch up with the world. No Cable TV on top of that was annoying. The furniture was dated and a little shopworn. Nothing too bad, but, given the apartment, an update on the furniture would have made the stay much more comfortable. The front desk people were also rude to us. We avoided this for the most part by only coming and going through the garage. However, this could have just been a bad day for us and I wouldn't take it to mean that this is normally how they are.
Response from Carrie Hampton - 06/11/2012
Thankyou for your comment and as owner of Studio Martini I take your points seriously and would like to address them: it's true there is no cable TV but there is a flatscreen TV with lots of DVD's, there is no wired internet but we offer the rental of a 3G internet card. If we provided both these as part of the package it would put the price up and you chose Studio Martini because it was the best value for best location in town! There is most definitely a heater and cooler fan stored in the wardrobe. As a result of your comment I will replace the sofa this year and anything else looking dated. My aim is to make sure every guest has the best possible time for the amazing value we offer, so I appreciate your comments.
Best wishes, Carrie Hampton, owner Studio Martini, Cape Town.
Timothy & Patricia
Cosy, comfortable, relaxing & convenient accommodation, with a w
This is probably the best self-catering accommodation you will find in the heart of cape town city centre.
The location is perfect - just 2 minutes walk from the main streets of the city centre, so you can stroll out & do all your shopping. There are grocery stores just round the corner as well as the large chain stores & designer shops, plus the market where you can shop for crafts & curios. If you like to eat out or visit the pubs, bars & clubs then Long Street is just behind the building - there are some very nice restaurants, pubs & clubs with great music.
The Company Gardens are just across the road - wonderful, peaceful gardens with flowers, trees, shade, & fountains, & you can feed the pigeons & squirrels - you could actually end up spending the whole day there!
There are several museums & art galleries just around the corner as well.
Another great thing about the location - The red tour bus stop is right across the road! You just step out of the building and hop on to the bus & it will drop you right back at the end of the tour. (Just be sure to get your tour ticket before hand)
Security: the building is very secure. There are 24hour guards at the entrance, plus entry is restricted by key card. There is also a secure basement parking area.
Laundry: Self service laundry facilities available in the building.
Swimming pool in the gardens, accessible by all residents.
What I liked best? - All the above. All round, very good accommodation.
What I like least? - The TV channels are too limited. The local content channels tend to get boring sometimes. Urgently need some cable or satellite channels - mainly sports & international news network channels.
Response from Carrie Hampton - 06/11/2012
I hear you all - I will put satellite TV in!
Carrie Hampton, owner Studio Martini, Cape Town.
Perfect balance of convenience and quiet
This was a great place to stay, and easy walk into the heart of town but seperated from the hustle and bustle
Beautifully decorated and completely equipped
What I really appreciated about the flat was that there were little details that were thought about such as there being a two coffee plungers, 2 cup or a 4 cup, milk in the fridge on our arrival, hot water bottles on the bed, various Dvds to watch this really was lovely and a personal touch.
The flats location really makes it a convenient place to stay. There are various great restaurants and pubs in walking distance as well as the bustle Long Street and the Waterfront a short drive away. Although it is close to all this activity it is still a quiet place to retreat to after a busy day.
I will definitely be back!