|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyYes
|Theme||Luxury, Romantic, Spa, Beach, Ocean, Village|
Description from the owner
Gorgeous sea side villa on the slopes of Chapmans Peak Mountain.
Beautiful view point of Hout Bay beach , ocean and surrounding mountains.,
Rim Flow Pool , outside dining on both levels , jacuzzi on top terrace with
Outside lounge area. House offers excellent value , free use of 7 passengers vechicle
and a house keeper that lives on the property which is available to drive guests to all the most popular attractions of Cape Town i.e. wine farms , restaurants , Cape Point , Penguins and V/A waterfront just to mention a few . Airport transfers naturally included.
The Ultimate Holiday package and excellent v...Read more
Villa La Lumia
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Situated on the slopes of Chapmans Peak mountain in the Hill Crest area
of Hout Bay . Most Exclusive part with views of the beach and and little fishing quaint fishing harbor .Facing north with plenty of sun all day.
10 minute drive to Constantia wine farms and famous restaurants and in the other direction 10 minutes to Camps bay along the beautiful Victoria Drive with the 12 Apostle mountain range on the one side
and Atlantic ocean on the other.
Further 5 minutes and you are in the city of cape Town.
Hout Bay has a wide selection of excellent restaurants , beach , markets ,
Beach font restaurants and great harbor for fresh fish or dining.
The perfect holiday location in Cape Town !
Location Type Beach, Ocean, Village
Rates shown in $ USD (Rental listed originally in ZAR) (change)
|Rate Summary||$297 - $690||$404||$1,859||$6,373||1 night|
|Sep. 15 2011 - Apr. 30 2012||$404||-||-||-||2 nights|
|Dec. 15 2012 - Jan. 15 2013||$690||-||-||-||14 nights|
|May. 1 2013 - Sep. 15 2013
|All Other Dates||$404||$404||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Damage deposit - $531 / stay - Security Deposit
Additional notes from owner
Rates include the free use of 7 seater vehicle and house keeper that is available to driver guests around Cape Town to the most popular attractions.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: April 30, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Great location for discovering the cape town area
Great villa with great stunning view, fantastic housekeeper with transportation service - you don't need a rental car - no driving left ;-)
Nearby Camps Bay and table mountain!
Our stay at Villa Lumia was absolutely out of this world. Patrick who carted us around was very helpful in sights to see up to the very last minute we had an amazing time. We are avid travelers and will most certainly visit this spacious and luxurious Home again.
Kevin and Lisa Brogden
As we walked in we felt an overwhelming feeling of presence and
From when we arrived we felt incredible feeling of compatibility . The views are incredible day and night the silhouette of the mountains forever changing depending on the light. Patrick was there for all are needs . We spent 3 incredible nights a time we will not for get thank you.
I recently stayed at Villa La Lumia. Wow! was all I could say as I walked in, the position, energy, views and the villa are amazing.
I really enjoyed the early evenings in the hot tub with drink in hand watching the african sun set slowly behind the magnificent mountains, the sky changing to different shades of pink and red reflecting off the ocean below. This gave one the feeling of complete tranquility and peace.
The villa has a lovely Mediterranean feel with a truly african twist.
Langley BC Canada
I could not agree more with the comments that were made from the guests from China. Thankfully the weather was not warm enough to use the swimming pool,it was dirty and covered with algae.The house is not clean, the laundry area is disgusting. No top sheets on the beds, you are sleeping under a duvet that heaven only knows who was sleeping under it before us ! This place would definitely not be a 4 star in Canada. Patrick was amazing and have no complaints about his service. The vehicle could do with a good clean. The house was not ready for us at check in.Patrick had to drop us at a restaurant so that he could finish vacuuming!
Response from La Paradis Lofts - 04/28/2013
I am quite shocked at your attack on the Villa
and your 1 star rating why did you not call me ?
In South Africa it is customary not to have under sheets and a Duvet . The duvet is washed and cleaned so why have a under sheet ?? before you the WASHING MACHINE was sleeping with the DUVET.there is no need for sheets. I am sure if you asked Patrick which you speak so highly of (thank you ) would have gladly offered an extra sheet this is absolutely no problem at all.
We had guests vacating that morning at 11 am so it was difficult to accommodate your early arrival
We have a check in policy which is 3- 4 pm as we need to clean the Villa .
If you booked an extra day then this problem would have been avoided.
I think the dirty car was also due to your early arrival, Patrick was juggling between dropping off guests and having to collect you at the same time. I am sure the car was cleaned the same day.
I have an independent pool Company that looks after the pool and i must add i have never seen a dirty pool, if you had a problems you could have called me i would have gladly accommodated you in any way possible .
For Future guests please just call me if you have any problems and these small issues can be easily solved !
Awesome accommodation with spectacular views
While on holiday in Cape Town in February we spent 3 nights at the awesome Villa La Lumia in Hout Bay. From the moment you walk through the front door you can’t not be impressed with the place, the large open-plan rooms and spectacular views down over Hout Bay beach and the local fishing Harbour.
The house has been designed in such a way that from any ground level room you can access the patio and infinity pool, and with all the doors open the house is extremely light and airy. Upstairs can accommodate up to 8 people and all bedrooms have their own access to the extremely large balcony with well appointed outdoor furniture, Jacuzzi and even more incredible views.
The furniture and linen in all the rooms are of a high standard, especially the master bedroom which is particularly impressive with its wrap-around, open-plan bathroom and large walk-in cupboard. The only noticeable imperfection that we could find was that we wanted to enjoy every meal taking in the view from the upstairs balcony, but a lack of outdoor lighting made it a little more difficult in the evenings.
We had our own rental car and did not require the 7 seater car that is also provided with this accommodation. Patrick who keeps the place tidy and could also chauffeur you around if required, was brilliant and extremely helpful… allowing us more time to enjoy our holiday
During our stay we had 15 close friends and family join us for a birthday dinner and all were suitably impressed with Villa La Lumia… We would have absolutely no reservations of recommending this place to anyone.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Outstanding- great value for money
My family and I spent 4 glorious nights at Villa La Lumia in January 2013. Having read the reviews and spoken to the owner before booking about exactly what we could expect, I was more than pleased with the eventual service and accomodation that Villa La Lumia offers. The house and its maintenance whilst we were there was like being home away from home. My family was completely relaxed and took advantage of all the wonderful extras that La Lumia offers- besides the spectacular views, the jacuzzi was quite a treat.It was also wonderful to have a car and driver at our disposal. Patrick, the friendly housekeeper was exceptional and very accomodating. I have already recommended La Lumia to several of my friends, here in Holland and hope to return when I next visit Cape Town.Thank you Bobby and Patrick.
Its like being in heaven!!!
Firstly i would like to thank bobby for the great hospitality he has given us and over the past years i have only been booking houses from him..And will continue booking with him every time i visit cape town!
The house i stayed at was a fantastic place to stay with breathtaking views.
The facilities ensure ensure on experience of a lifetime.
5 star rating and owners/agents of the house are awesome to deal with..
Muhammed S Jooma
Relaxing and refreshing scenery
The Property is very Huge for 4 people, it needs about 6 people to enjoy the property's capacity, it is very specious and main Bedroom is fantastic to have, Oh! the Jacuzzi was fantastic even though we took sometime to understand its operation.
Service in the place was fantastic not forgetting the convenience.
This property is situated in hout Bay, its a small very calm town, best place to take your mind off things.
just a dream
We spent two weeks in La Lumia, already for the Second time- and we will definitely come back!!
Such a light, sunny, warm, friendly atmosphere that we felt like 'home' as soon as we opened the door... The great view over Hout Bay Harbour and the Beach is more than spectaculous, especially from the upper terrace! But also from every single bedroom, the hall and the living room there are great views, all the House is full of light and sunshine, very calm and furnished perfectly in a very stylish beach-style!
Every bedroom, bathroom, the kitchen and living room- all fully equiped and very clean!
The area is very quiet and peaceful, safe and not crowded at all - such a nice neighbourhood!
We enjoyed BBQ in the garden, also we checked out some of the nice restaurants and Bars in Hout Bay, all reachable within a few minutes, perfect!!
Thanks to the owner of the property, he was always there when we had a question, he organized a late Check-Out without extra charges and a special airPort-Transfer!!! The staff is well trained and very friendly!
We spent a great vacation in La Lumia and in our opinion it is one of the best places to spend holidys with friends or families, being very close to exciting capetown and still in a quiet, private and relaxing atmosphere!
Response from La Paradis Lofts - 01/17/2013
THANK YOU ! it so nice to have classy guests staying in my house !!! you being my second time guest paying the peak season rates which
is almost double the normal high season rates its really a compliment to
the Villa and staff we look forward to having you all stay again .
Hong Kong, China
Could do better
Having arrived at Villa La Lumia you are immediately taken aback by the breath taking views over Hout Bay. A great location and setting, and just what we had imagined. The initial disappoint is that this is not a 4 bedroom and 4 bathroom Villa. It is 3 bedrooms, with the 4th 'bedroom' being a divide at the top of the stairs. It is a 'space' with 2 single beds. Suitable for young children, not adults. With regards to the 4 bathrooms. This is slightly false. The house has 2 ensuite rooms, a bathroom (with a WC and shower) all upstairs. Downstairs, behind the kitchen is a 1/2 bathroom (WC and sink only). So again, not a true reflection in my opinion. So glad we did not require the 4 bedroom to be used, as was very nearly likely.
It's also worth noting, that bedrooms 2 & 3 are significantly smaller than the master bed. I know 1 week was enough for me in the 2nd bedroom. Also, whilst the 2nd bedroom does have an en suite, it's not practical. It's a bath with a a shower over it, however the shower head is positioned far too low for you to use as a shower and there is no shower curtain. This would be much better with a shower cubicle fitted. As a result, the room is only useful for the toilet.
There are a few points that I would say need to be addressed, given the cost of rental for 1 week I would have expected better quality.
a) The outdoor furniture is looking very tired and could do with some of it being replaced.
b) Lounge area, in my opinion a) the furniture isn't sufficient for 8 people (which in essence is what this house can take) B) The TV is very small and as a really annoying black spot in the centre of screen.
c) The towels provided are all really old and do not absorb water. They also have a strange odour, quite possibly because of how old they are. They are also very small towels.
d) The dishwasher needs repairing but arguably replacing. Once of the wheels has come off the bottom drawer so difficult to use and also the 'tray' that you use to put the washing powder in, does not open during the cycle. So I ended up using an ash tray, filling that with powder and placing that on the shelf - at least then the powder was actually being used.
e) Put more mirrors up in the bedroom. In bedrooms 2 and 3 no mirrors in the rooms. Which makes getting ready for an evening very difficult. Drying your hair/applying make-up. Just impractical. I went to use the 'desk' in the semi 4th room - but no mirror above it? Something quite small but significant none the less.
What does make staying at Villa La Lumia easy and worth while, is Patrick. Patrick is, as far as we could make out the driver but will also provide support with loading/emptying dishwasher, a some general cleaning around the house. This service makes staying out in Hout Bay practical and workable. Patrick's English was excellent, he was accommodating and friendly. We were able to get out and about, doing the usual tourist routes and also heading into Cape Town during the evening (approx a 30min drive) for dinner.
Response from La Paradis Lofts - 12/08/2012
WoW thanks for the hyper critical eye , I wish i could scrutinize your business in the same manner ! You make such a big deal out of the 4th bedroom which you did not even use and you mentioned that the second bedroom was "worth nothing " well it is a big enough room to have a king size bed , dressing cupboard , TV and en suite bathroom (that must be worth something ???)
( i believe you come from Hong Kong i am sure you could not have been too disappointed..It might jus be that the master bedrooms is so massive
that you expect all the bedrooms to be of that same size ?
There is a lot of House offered with over 500 square meters of House on a 10000 Square meter plot . There are two outside dining tables that seat 8 people, 4 sun lounges , Outside Lounge suite and a Jacuzzi . The Villa on the inside is immaculate ! We have just recently repaired the 2 outdoor chairs which needed some TLC .
I recently stayed in the Villa doing the annual maintenance and also because i love staying there:) The energy of the Villa and the sound of the ocean is a true treat!. The Bath towels certainly do not smell and are in good condition. I think once again you need to be enlighten due to the fact that we replace towels daily we don't use the extra heavy duty towels
as the Electricity costs are enormous in South Africa with over 300% increase in rates over the last 5 years. Simply it is not cost affective to Tumble dry heavy water laden bath sheets when electrical bills are around R10 000 per month .
If you are staying in a B&B where one room cost the same as the entire Villa with pool / Jacuzzi , sleeps 8 people and a 7 seater car with a house keeper / Driver then yes i will give you towels that come from Harrods in London !
We offer three bathrooms with mirrors i don't see why you need a mirror in the bedroom to do your make up , it sound like its quite a big job for you ?
Please next time put your money were your mouth is and book into a bed and breakfast and pay R1500 per person as opposing to under R500 per person with a car and driver included . and you even question the value for money ????? You are the first guest in 7 years that has ever complained about what is a Magnificent Villa ! of which I am very proud of and furthermore which has been used for over 20 Wedding venues.
Villa cleanness poor and houseman supplied unprofessional
Houseman/Driver highly unprofessional, used vehicle for personal use, after we filled up the vehicle with petrol, and walked into the house during day, without knocking. The house needed a good spring clean, kitchen area was extremely poor, towels were not refreshed regularly, the Luxury vehicle is not luxury anymore, it is old, and need a service.
Response from La Paradis Lofts - 12/18/2012
I apologize for the lack of professionalism from the house keeper ,
and the the car that needed a service. I have recently sold the car
and the House keeper has been replaced.
The Villa La Lumia is situated in Hout Bay and has an awesome view of the beach and surrounding mountains from the top balcony. The place is kept clean and tidy by the housekeeper (Patric) who is very professional and provides great service at all times. Very helpful. The jacuzzi, home theatre setup, laundry equipment, full adsl makes the stay even more enjoyable. Having a car and driver is a benefit making the Villa great value for money. Thanks Bobby and Patric for a great time in Cape Town. Will definitely recommend this place to others.
Awesome place for friends on holiday or even large families
Great place, well kept and comes with a car which is cool..best part is there is a hot tub on a deck which overlooks Hout Bay :-)
An absolut beauty!
Just to descibe our stay in a couple of words:
it was outstanding!
Amazing, spotless and superb house with all the specials and luxury you possibly can expect.
Very friendly and hard working staff!
Top service and experienced driver!
For people with a distinguished taste and flair for luxury: this house is one of the rare gemmes the Western Cape is famous for!
In short: you have to experience this place for yourself!!!