116 Maiden Lane
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
This is a sunny Catalina beach house with lots of windows, a great deck and is only a short block from the water. You will find a 40-inch flat panel TV in the living room along with a DVD player and a VCR. The master and 2nd bedrooms have memory foam queen mattresses. The third bedroom has twin beds, also with memory foam mattresses, and the extra bedding is a double sofa sleeper. This home is the upper level of a duplex and is a total of 968 square feet.
This property rents on a nightly basis during the non-summer seasons (2 night minimum, holidays and selected dates excepted) and on a weekly basis (Sunday to Sunday) in summer (mid-Jun...Read more
116 Maiden Lane
Catalina Island, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$245 - $305||$245 - $305||$1,470 - $1,820||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 2 2013 - May. 23 2013||$245||$245||$1,470||-||2 nights|
|May. 24 2013 - Sep. 1 2013||$305||$305||$1,820||-||2 nights|
|Sep. 2 2013 - Oct. 21 2013||$245||$245||$1,590||-||2 nights|
|Oct. 22 2013 - Dec. 29 2013||$245||$245||$1,470||-||2 nights|
|Dec. 30 2013 - Jan. 1 2014||$305||$305||-||-||2 nights|
|Jan. 2 2014 - May. 22 2014||$245||$245||$1,470||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
** Weekend rates in Sep & Oct will be calculated as 'summer' rates. Rates subject to change at any time. Monthly rates available upon request. Please email or call our office for more information.**
*This property rents on a nightly basis during the non-summer seasons (2 night minimum, holidays and selected dates excepted) and on a three night basis in the summer (mid-June through Labor Day). Rates vary by week and are subject to change. Rates do not include one-time cleaning and linen fee, 12% City of Avalon occupancy tax, and processing fees.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Great 3BR Condo
Upper Level Unit - We stayed here to attend a wedding. We had my 88 year old father staying with us who managed the few steps to the front door and then everything inside was on one level. This was the reason we rented this place and it worked perfectly. We also like this end of the beach and feel it is a lot quieter. (Not many cars or foot traffic.) The patio and view is wonderful. The beds were a very thick dense foam and very comfortable. We wish we were staying longer. We would definitely try to rent this place again.
116 maiden lane
We love the maiden lane house. Cirv staff was welcoming and very helpful. It is quiet and away from the constant buzzing of the golf carts you hear down in the village. The deck is awesome. Sun all day! This old house has charm with updated kitchen. We will come to stay in 116 maiden lane any time we can. Oh yeah, the beds are very comfortable too.
Corona del Mar, CA
Great location, dated facilities
As a group of friends, we have been renting cabins and houses around the country on the same weekend every year. This year we chose Catalina Island. The location of the house is very nice, up on the hill, although if you are lugging a bunch of gear, it could be considered a work-out. The view is limited but is still nice. Our only concern was the equipment and utilities of the house. There is no stereo. The DVD player did not work and it took us two visits to the rental office to finally get a working replacement and the hot water heater was not working when we checked in, not to mention an older model stove. One of the bedrooms had a stained bedspread and was distasteful.
House was ok to noises and to many smokers
House was ok had everything we needed and the master bed was very comfortable. Great location close to everything. Down side very noise area all the nieghbors smoked and a lot of trash on sidewalk. Did get to see a deer eating it one morning. We like friendly people and the office staff was not friendly at all. I would try another home not sure if I would go through them again. We come to Catalina yearly first time we used this rental agency.
Orange County, CA
Your house is perfect for us, my kids love it and so do my grandkids. Last year when we were there the manager put a mesh fence up around the railing so my little grandkids wouldn't slip thru and it was still there for us this year. The kids can go out on the deck and we don't worry and with all the windows we can see them even if we are inside. The open floor plan lets us all be together and the location is perfect. We're all looking forward to next year. Thanks.
Great view, comfy bed, we had a great time!
The place had an awesome view. Our bed was very comfortable. The kitchen/ living area was good sized. The only downfall was that there was only one shower. It still worked out great for our group.
San Diego, California
Find somewhere else to stay!
My family & I stayed here for 2 nights & we have never been more ready to leave & return home. We had nothing but problems while staying here. The first thing we noticed was that the refrigerator wasn't working, so we had to keep all the food we purchased in a cooler with ice. While taking a shower you get a lovely view of a huge collection of black mold growing across the wall over the door. So much for privacy, a few of the doors like my bedroom door won't even close shut, we had to prop a pillow against the door to keep it closed. Two of the bedrooms share a bathroom, the bathroom didn't lock, so we kept walking in on each other. This same bathroom had a sink that would clog & overflow if you just washed your hands. The water also seeped out from under the sink basin getting my moms phone wet that was charging on the sink counter. We had to kill 3 cockaroaches. The place was dirty, the wall paper was peeling off, the furniture & bedding were worn out. I believe if your going to have a rental property then it should be clean, have working appliances & be routinely maintained. Also no free wifi, shouldn't that be automatic in 2012?
We did call the office Sat morning & a maintance worker came right out, he put a lock on 1 of the doors & supplied a large cooler filled with ice for our food.
Response from Catalina Island Vacation Rentals - 01/28/2013
Thanks for your review. We have addressed the housekeeping issues with our staff. Also the refrigerator has been replaced.
Wireless interet is offered by many of our owners at their expense. So in the future give a call and we can line up the right property for your needs.
We had a wonderful time. No one was ready to leave. We can't wait until next year!
We have stayed at this particular rental the last three years for 2 weeks each year. We love the view and the deck. It is peaceful and quiet. It is a bit of a hike up the hill but definately worth it. the kitchen is fine for preparing simple meals if you do not want to go out all the time.
Relaxing great place!
The condo was exactly as presented. Location was very good within walking distant of trolly and stores.
Cozy house with great location.
6 of us stayed in this lovely house the first week in June and we had a blast! It has all the necessities you could want in a house with the perfect location just minutes walk from most anything in avalon.
Loved the memory foam matresses!
Nice view of avalon. A bit of a hike from the ferry terminal. Unit was well provisioned. No heat, though... got a bit cold. Left my hat in the unit and the rental staff promptly mailed it back to me. Thanks!
Great Location/Old Property
We rented 116 and 114 Maiden Lane for my mother's 70th birthday party. Overall, the property is in a great location and we loved the balcony and the view. But, the property is really old and could use updates including carpet. The carpeting in the house is disgusting. In addition, it should be mentioned that 114 is downstairs because we had to switch units at the last minute because my dad couldn't handle the stairs. Other than that, it is old but fine.
Response from Catalina Island Vacation Rentals - 02/27/2012
Thanks for submitting a review on your stay. I will pass on your feedback to the owner and see if we can replace the carpet.
Catalina Island Vacation Rentals
Best Birthday Ever!
A few of my friends and I went to Catalina for Ziplining for my Birthday. The house is very cozy and has beautiful views. One set back I thought was that only one bathroom had a shower...the other was a bathtub which is fine but would have like a shower in there as well. Otherwise an awesome stay!
Long Beach, CA
Excellent accomodations with a Great View
Very Clean, recently-renovated property. Plenty of room for six in the three bedrooms, and room for two on the fold-out couch in the living room. Patio had a gas barbecue which we had to clean prior to use. The kitchen fan over the stove didn't work so the smoke alarm went off when we were frying, but opening the front and patio doors solved the problem. Except for those two issues, our week there was a very positive experience.
Great View - Like new accomodation
Wonderful views - great beds.
Replace 'dvd Player
add a dish washer
Happy up the office people. Pay them more or buy them lunch, but it is a dreary greeting at your office.
8 was Great
A great weekend!
We came to the island, 8 women, to celebrate a couple of birthdays. We
picked 116 Maiden Lane solely from the website.
What a wonderful surprise when we arrived.
This place was fabulous. More spacious than expected.
The view from the deck is incredible.
You know how 8 women can be, but we were very comfortable here. It
didn't feel like there were 8 of us. We weren't walking over each other.
This place was recently updated and wonderfully so. Great kitchen and the
new windows, wow!!!
We had to walk up a little hill to reach the place, but would have had it no
other way. The view was worth the walk up.
Everyone who stayed, vowed that if they come back, this where they'll stay.
An added note regarding the service Catalina Island Vacation Rentals
The service was warm, friendly and helpful. I will highly recommend you and
plan to use you again myself.
Thank you from all of us!
Santa Monica, CA
When I booked this house, I had no idea what to
expect, but I figured it wouldn't really matter
with all of the outdoor activities planned. Once we
arrived, we found the house to be very clean and
larger than we'd anticipated. The location, at the
end of Maiden Lane is great, especially if you want
to avoid the foot traffic that moves past many
other properties. Also, since the living area (and
awesome patio!) is situated at the back end of the
house, this property would be ideal for families
with children. If you rent this house, make sure to
head down to the coffee bar at the bottom of the
hill for a latte that will make you wonder,
Laguna Beach, CA
We had a lovely 4 days, 3 nights in this Catalina home over spring break. My husband and I enjoyed the master bedroom, our teen daughters were comfortable in the twin room and my sister was happy in the queen room. The patio was the best part of the house! Large enough for all of us to sit and watch the day go by. The kitchen and livingroom had plenty of room as well. The house is located up a short hill with great mountain and ocean views! This is the house we'll rent year after year.
Fun time in Avalon
Our family Had a fun time over Easter. House was close to the water and our boat. Rooms a little dated but great value. Catalina Island Vacation rentals were fantastic in every way. Fast and friendly.
We loved this corner of Avalon. It is peaceful, a little above the fray! The house is in easy reach of some really nice restaurants and shopping. You can do everything you want to do in Avalon from here with a 5-10 minute walk. We especially enjoyed visiting the Decanso Beach bar and snorkeling there.
The house made it easy to vacation with young kids although actually we stayed off the deck which felt a little precarious for toddlers. We were glad we brought the all terrain stroller with us, as it is quite a steep hill to climb (and we could load the beach stuff onto it.) You need to bring stuff for the kids though - a booster seat for the table, cups etc. The layout of the rooms worked great - two connected rooms - one with two twins for the kids - and a separate double with a very nice shower.
I had two issues. Firstly the beds were uncomfortable - old old mattresses - not like hotel beds. One blanket had a burn hole in it.
Secondly the carpet felt and looked old and dirty. It would be a much nice house to stay in with hardwood flooring and some area rugs or a new fluffy carpet. But perhaps that would make it expensive!
But the view from the main room was so fabulous, so extensive, so active - I could just sit there all day and not do anything else. I actually went to buy a sketch book and pencils to try to draw it - the first time in 20 years I have been inspired to draw!
This is an older, remodeled home within easy walking distance (down a hill) of the main shopping area on the waterfront. The gas BBQ wasn't working, but an additional briquette BBQ was there and worked well. The view and ventilation of the living room was great, and we ate on the deck in good weather for an ever better view. The front bedrooms are right up against the street, and even though it's a dead end street, night-time noise had us using our earplugs (which we always carry). There were leftover food supplies in the cupboards, and we contributed our share when we left, as well. There is one shower and one bathtub, so mornings may require some coordination among those that prefer showers. The kids really enjoyed the twin-bed room. We didn't watch much TV, but I had to re-connect some of the cables to get it to work.
nice place nice view
We stayed in the upper level. I agree it was easy to check in and out of. We had a nice view, the hill did not bother us. But getting from the boat to the house was a bit of a challenge. The house is an older house, the wallpaper is peeling off the walls and the ceiling obviously had alot of water leakage at one time. The carpeting was not clean our feet got dirty from the carpet and there was black mold in the shower and sink areas of the bathrooms. There were pretzels in the baseboards and we did not bring any with us! The overall experience was good, but it couldv'e been alot cleaner.
Cozy, nice view
We spent a week at 116 Maiden Lane. The location was nice even though it was a walk up-hill, it was great to have the exercise!
The house was bright with lots of windows and had a great deck with a nice view of the water. Having only one shower (the other bathroom had only a tub) was a challenge for 7 of us that don't take baths, but we managed fine.
We rented the upper and lower level of this home for a family gathering. The home is clean and came well equipped. To get to the lower level there is some steep steps. We had our older family members stay in the upper level for this reason. Otherwise the scene from the upper balcony is beautiful and everything was very accessible. Would definitely recommend and stay again.
Roomy, Comfy, Amazing View
This rental was better than we anticipated and check-in/check-out was easier than any hotel. We knew from the pictures that it had enough room for all of us but when we got there, it was roomier than we expected. Beds were so comfy, tons of windows, the deck and view were amazing and it had every kitchen gadget imaginable. We can't wait to come back. It was located up on a hill and there was a little bit of a walk but great exercise and away from the main street and traffic. Can't say enough good things about it. It was the top unit of a duplex but we never heard a peep from downstairs.