218 Claressa Ave
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Absolutely charming! This clean, comfortable, two bedroom, one bath classic Catalina cottage is located about one block from the beach and downtown. This little cottage has an open beam ceiling, Pergo flooring, a fully equipped kitchen and stacked washer/dryer in the laundry closet located in the hall between the bedrooms. The first bedroom is off the living room and holds a queen bed. The second bedroom is at the back of the property and holds continental bunk beds plus a single bed. FYI: the fireplace is sealed and nonfunctional. No smoking, please.
This property rents on a nightly basis during the non-summer seasons (2 night minimum,...Read more
218 Claressa Ave
Catalina Island, California
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$220 - $270||$220 - $270||$1,320 - $1,625||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 2 2013 - May. 23 2013||$220||$220||$1,320||-||2 nights|
|May. 24 2013 - Sep. 1 2013||$270||$270||$1,625||-||2 nights|
|Sep. 2 2013 - Oct. 21 2013||$220||$220||$1,420||-||2 nights|
|Oct. 22 2013 - Dec. 29 2013||$220||$220||$1,320||-||2 nights|
|Dec. 30 2013 - Jan. 1 2014||$270||$270||-||-||2 nights|
|Jan. 2 2014 - May. 22 2014||$220||$220||$1,320||-||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
** Weekend rates in Sep & Oct will be calculated as 'summer' rates. Rates subject to change at any time. Monthly rates available upon request. Please email or call our office for more information.**
*This property rents on a nightly basis during the non-summer seasons (2 night minimum, holidays and selected dates excepted) and on a three night basis in the summer (mid-June through Labor Day). Rates vary by week and are subject to change. Rates do not include one-time cleaning and linen fee, 12% City of Avalon occupancy tax, and processing fees.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 18, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Costa Mesa, CA
Great little beach house conveniently located...but horribly dir
We rented this home for a long weekend in October. The home has everything necessary for a great stay but we have two small children who spend alot of time on the ground. We are not clean freaks by any means but the back bedfroom, where generally everyone sleeps because the other bedroom is more of an passthrough office with a skylight, smells like it was used as a kennel for a pack of dogs! The urine smell is overpowering and the carpet looks like...well what you would expect if a bunch of dogs were locked in...I'm, just hoping those were mud stains! there is Double/single bunk bed and another full in the back room, which is broken so its slopes torawrd the foot of the bed. There's also a lot of water damage in the bathroom where water/termites(?) have eaten sections of the baseboard away...kind of gross.
Other than those easliy fixable issues...the house is a winner. Really cute decorating and functional furniture but desperatly needs some TLC!
Response from Catalina Island Vacation Rentals - 11/12/2012
Thanks for you response. I will discuss the issues with housekeeping and the owner of the property on all your concerns,
My whole family enjoyed our stay soo much we are ready to go bac
The place was the perfect setting for my family. It was clean well lit, comfortable, and the kids felt that we were home. Thank you so much for our memorable weekend vacation. This was the best vacation we had in a while and as a first timer in Catalina Island, I felt that I won the jackpot finding this sweet cottage.
Clean and Easy
Sure there were things that could be done better but all in all clean, attractive, great location - only downside no outside area/porch - so you are either in the house or out doing something there is no in between.
San Diego area
4th of July in avalon is the best anywhere!
This cottage has undergone some needed maintenance this past year & it's now better than ever. We love it & plan to keep coming back for a very long time.
el monte, california
the house we stayed in was very clean and roomy. i have a family of five and it
was very comfortable for all of us. the service was excellent. i made my
reservations over the phone, all of my questions were answered and i was
guided properly. the location of the house was ideal. we were able to walk to
the beach, the shops and the restaurants. my family enjoyed the serenity of
the island and of course the beauty of the view.
North Tustin, CA
Great cottage for family
We were very happy with our stay at 218 Clarissa. We visit Avalon every March and this was by far the quietest location yet. It was roomy for a family of 4 and clean. We would surely stay here again. We had a problem with the heat the first night, but the manager quickly solved it for us. Excellent, friendly service!
family Vacation with 18 and 21 year old
I have visited Avalon as a sailor over the last 30 years staying on boats. This was our first experience renting a home for a week. The family worried about "would there be enough to do? We were pleasantly surprised at the home with it's nautical, cheerful look. It took a day or two to get used to the sounds and rhythm of the town. The house sits right on the street but comes with mostly respectful levels of noise. It is a thoroughfare street so is a little noisier than other streets.
All ages enjoyed the trip and the magic of Avalon. The location was ideal for quick and easy access to the beach and for people to walk from the pier as they came and went on the ferries. We learned the ropes of bringing towels and chairs to the beach in the am and then moseying down for a day of books,snorkeling (casino point and lovers cove both easy walks),kayaking(renting kayaks at Descanso Cove and paddling about a mile up to frog rock took about and hour and was fun), movie at the casino, strolling at night, renting golf carts for a driving tour was a highlight for the kids.
The home had everything we needed for cooking except a blender. The beds were not great and the sheets didn't stay on. The shower is tiny. The addition of a bbq would be great also.
All in all we had a great time and my wife and I will do this again.
Maria in Catalina
Aliso Viejo, California
My Catalina Experience
The customer service representative was very helpful. The cottage was cute, I wished the towels were newer and the carpet was cleaner. The amenities were nice; however, having a hair dryer would have been nice. What I liked the best is the location, we were close to everything. I was not crazy about having to wash my own dishes on the last day as packing is stressful enough.
This little cottage was perfect. It was clean and stocked with everything you would need. The rental company was great we, had an elderly handicap, they allowed early check in so he could rest before enjoying the island. It is one block from the beach and short distance to everywhere. One block from the tour park which was great. We highly recommond staying at this 2 bedroom 1 bath cottage
San Diego, CA
Great location and house
We spent a long weekend on Catalina. The house was in a great location - a quick walk to the main street and all of the activities there. The house was just the right size for our family of 4 plus one adult friend - my daughters loved the bunk bed. It was clean and contained everything we needed for our stay there. Check-in and check-out was a breeze also.
San Diego, CA
Great Cottage - would stay again
There were 3 of us who stayed in this cottage, and we still had room for a few more. Everything was within walkin distance. Clean and comfortable. The only problem we had, is that the heater was boke and it was a cold day..especially after waverunners! They brought one little space heater, but it really didn't do much.
Noise is a factor
We rented 2 homes. This was the smaller of the two. It was across the street from the home I actually slept in but the street was clearly noisy regardless of location of house. I do not recommend this street to anyone who has a small child or who wants to relax quietly. The sound of gas driven golf carts is loud along with the horns of taxi's made for sleepless nights and smelly walks. I cannot comment further on this specific rental.