|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Villa Ventosa enjoys a truly pristine, off-the-beaten-path location, 450 feet above Coral Bay just off the east mountain range of the Virgin Islands National Park. The views from here are sensational and very private. This villa can accommodate 2-6 persons in three master suites with deluxe private baths. Alternatively, the top floor with the great room and a master suite can be rented to a couple as a five-star luxury love nest, with the two bedrooms on the first level closed off. The expansive great room creates a relaxing atmosphere with two, oversized sofas, Turkish rug and complete entertainment system. Villa Ventosa is extremely well bu...Read more
Coral Bay, Saint John
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$3,255 - $5,145||$0||7 nights|
|Dec. 15 2010 - Apr. 15 2011
|Dec. 15 2010 - Apr. 15 2011
|Apr. 16 2011 - Dec. 14 2011
|Apr. 16 2011 - Dec. 14 2011
|Jan. 1 2012 - Jan. 7 2012
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Feb. 19 2012 - Feb. 25 2012
|Dec. 23 2012 - Dec. 29 2012
|Dec. 30 2012 - Jan. 5 2013
|Feb. 17 2013 - Feb. 23 2013
|Dec. 22 2013 - Dec. 28 2013
|View all 10 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 03, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
columbia station, OH
We spent ten wonderful days at Villa Ventosa..Weather perfect every day, the hot tub was huge and so nice to sit in looking at the stars after a day of exploring the island and visiting trunk bay, cinnamon and other beaches.
If you desire tranquility, this spectacular home is the place. A four wheel drive vehicle is needed to climb up to the villa. And the road is rough...But the drive is Sooo worth the awesome view up the 500 FT.
A T.V. Provided in every room as well as in the living room. An open concept is the design of this home (a builder from Ohio did the design and it is fairly new, about 10 yrs. old. The kitchen is totally equipped for the gourmet cook, includes a huge separate ice-maker. The outdoor grill is outstanding...huge. Well worth the cost of the rental and three couples can divide that. By far (and I have traveled extensively) this is the most beautiful vacation I have experienced.
Location on Coral Bay facing the British Virgin Islands. Many boat rentals, incl. sailboats will take you to the Brits, but remember your passports if you intend to do this.
Response from WindSpree - 02/20/2013
Thank you for your wonderful (and accurate review.) We hope to have you back at Villa Ventosa again soon!
The road up is a bit of a challenge but every time we return we've seen improvements (new paving in critical spots). We have stayed in other villas on Coral Bay and the roads to most have been similar (steep and spots of paving) it is a price of the less populated/more private Coral Bay, but worth it. Villa Ventosa is loaded with character and comfort. We enjoy the Villa and the amenities, and always want to return and do!
We absolutely loved this villa. Everything about it was excellent and showed that much thought went into making visitors feel welcome, comfortable, and well provisioned. The only reason we don't give it a full five-star rating is because of the road leading to the villa. Hopefully this will be paved someday.
This is a beautiful house, one that is extremely well cared for, with all the amenities. The owners have done a wonderful job. The primary reason that our experience was unhappy was that we were not told about the construction that went on all day below the house on most days that we were there. The noise made it pretty much impossible to sit outside. And the new housing units are really an eyesore, and were not visible from the pictures on the website. This is billed as a luxury rental, and we expected that the rental company would have alerted us to the problem and that the cost of the rental would have accurately reflected the noise and lower quality of the view. Had we known about this problem, we would not have rented the villa. I was very disappointed in the way we were dealt with by the rental company.
Response from WindSpree - 12/21/2010
We are sorry that you had an unpleasant stay on St. John. We were not aware of any major construction going on at the time of your stay. Our understanding was that development of the houses in the valley was in the final stage of landscaping.
However, we do not doubt your experience, but rather wish that you had let us know of the problem while you were on island. Our policy at Windspree Vacation Homes is to accommodate our guests in any way possible. Certainly, had we understood at the time of your stay that you were unhappy with construction noise in the neighborhood, we would have considered moving you to a quieter location. Unfortunately, you did not let us know that you were unhappy until after your departure, when there was little that we could do to help you.
As regards the view, we do not at all feel that it is diminished by the houses in the valley, but are sorry that you do. We are glad that, despite your unhappy experience, you appreciate the quality construction and amenities of Villa Ventosa. It is a lovely house that, as you acknowledged in your email to us, is in mint condition. I hope that prospective guests will recognize that your low ranking is not levied against the property but was, rather, situational.
We do hope that you will give St. John and Windspree Vacation Homes another chance. Next time, please let us know of your grievances while you are here! We promise that we will do everything within reach to accommodate you.
Villa Ventosa - Repeat Vacationers
Villa Ventosa is beautiful and provides a breathtaking view of East End-St. John, Tortola, Virgin Gordon and other islands. This year will be our 4th stay at Ventosa. In years past we stayed at a different rental each time we traveled to St. John. However, once we stayed at Ventosa, we never wanted to stay anywhere else again. The only downside to Ventosa is the unpaved, rough and rutty "road" leading up to the villa. It's a long, slow climb, and if you meet another vehicle coming from the opposite direction, chances are that one of you is going to have to back up. You do get used to it. Hopefully, they will make some major improvements to the road up the mountain in the near future.
Response from WindSpree - 01/04/2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Villa Ventosa. We wanted to let you and other guests know that substantial improvements have been made to the road, with the lower switchbacks paved, as well as an area leading to the driveway at Villa Ventosa. It is still an "adventure" driving the road, which we do not fail to tell guests, but it is manageable and is part of what makes Villa Ventosa a private retreat! We hope to see you back on the island in 2011!