Wilder by the Sea is the perfect Corolla vacation home for small families. Just a few steps to the ocean (only 150 yards), this beach cottage is located in the quiet neighborhood of Ocean Sands which offers direct beach access with a wooden walkway and community tennis courts. Close to shopping, restaurants, and Corolla attractions such as the Currituck Lighthouse and Currituck Club Golf Course, Wilder By the Sea is a great location for your Outer Banks vacation. And, with the Free Daily Activities of theFun N Sun Program, http://www.atlanticrealty-nc.com/outer-banks-fun-n-sun-programyour family will never be bored during their stay! The...re are plenty of sun and shade decks with colorful deck furniture for relaxing and taking in the ocean views.After a full day at the beach, cool off as you rinse off the sand in the enclosed outside shower. The fisherman in the family will appreciate the fish cleaning table and gas grillfor cooking up the daily catch. Central air is provided to keep Guests cool in the summer and a fireplace is available to keep everyone warm and cozy in the Off Season. The kitchen features a dishwasher, microwave, and breakfast bar and the dining table has enough seating for 6. A stackable washer and dryer are provided for keeping laundry clean during your stay. High Speed Wireless Internetis available throughout the home for web surfing, checking email and staying connected to friends and family back home. There is a large TV in the living area with VCR and DVD player and an additional TV in the King Master bedroom. Wilder By the Sea does not Allow Pets or Smoking. This home has Keyless Entry and offers Express Check In. Partial Week Stays Welcome! Repeat Guests Save 10%Bedding: 1 King, 2 Fulls, 2 Double Sleep Sofas Bed Linen and Towel Package available for $113 (plus tax).Sunday to Sunday Rental Ground Level:outside shower, carport Mid Level:king master bedroom with full bath, full bedroom, full bedroom, hall full bath Upper Level:great room with 2 sleep sofas, dining area, kitchen, powder roomRead more
Left on 09/19/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Steve from Northumberland
First the door code did not work. After a half hour we were called back and got in. Temp inside was 85. Set aC to 68 and went to dinner. Came back and it was still 85. Called maintenance and was told it was frozen, to let the fan run for an hour and it would be ok. After 2 hours it was still 85 inside. 2 more calls and I was told they had no authority to call out a hvac technician and since the next day was Labor Day they didn'r know if it would happenn then.
Thankfully it was repaired Monday. Also Wednesday we were called to see if we had gotten a welcome packet. We did not.
We have been staying at the Outer banks for 20 years and chose this place due to beach proximity, cost and we wanted to try Corolla. This house was the most poorly equipted house we were ever at.
It also needs to be upgraded. The am/FM casette / intercom did not work. Not that we would have used it. The stove is ancient with all the paint having been steamed off the knobs years ago. Dining room suite was falling apart. The gas grill was disgusting and unuseable. 2 decks but one without chairs unless you drug some down from upstairs.
Close to the beach and if you really wanted to be alone there were few houses to the south so there was no one on the beach.
We'll be back to Corolla but not this place. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. We have made many recommendations to the owners in the past with many assurances that the issues would be resolved, only to be disappointed to find that they were not done as promised. We have perimeters in place to better manage our owners so that we will be able to better manage their properties. This being said, we do have authorization to replace both the range/oven and the gas grill prior to next season. We do regret the issues that you experienced and hope that you will vacation with us again on your next OBX vacation!
A Multi-Year Corolla Renter
A Very Nice Property, Well-Decorated, Well-Furnished, and Well-L
Left on 09/10/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | A Multi-Year Corolla Renter
The property is bright and airy, clean, well-decorated and well-furnished, close to the beach but not too close to neighbors. We also liked the keyless entry feature, the remote check-in and check-out by phone, and the Sunday-to-Sunday rental. We were disappointed upon arrival to find some non-working blinds and malfunctioning sliding glass doors (it was late in the season), but atlantic Realty replaced the blinds the same day and brought in a window and door company to get the doors working better. The kitchen lacked a garbage disposal, the refrigerator was awkwardly located, and it could have used a better selection of glassware and cooking pots and pans. Also, the two decks could use more or different furniture and a better grill. Of special interest to us as Virginians was the fact that the property was/is owned by Doug Wilder, former governor of Virginia, and there are several items in the house attesting to that fact. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. As we will be performing our end-of-season property visits soon, we will forward these suggestions to the owner to make improvements before next season. Please come stay with us again!
Bring your own stuff
Left on 07/25/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | OBXer
This house has a wonderful location & is perfect for small families. We have rented this house for years, and the same issues that existed the first year, still exist today. All the blinds should be replaced, there are several pieces missing, they do not open/close and/or they are not the right size for the windows/doors. The 2 upstairs deck doors do not lock, no sticks to place in tracks. Kitchen lacks ordinary supplies such as serving bowls, pot holders, hot plates & the stovetop dials cannot be read. The door knob on the storage closet desparately needs to be replaced, can take 10-15 minutes to get it open as well as it should be cleaned out, the old kitchen table is in there which takes up alot of space. Would be nice to have a hose on the outside nozzle to rinse off the sand from the beach. Read more
We thank you for your loyalty to Atlantic Realty and (until now!) to this property! We regret the issues that you experienced and were surprised to learn that these items had not been taken care of as we were told that they were by the owners. The owner was made aware of all of the items during our pre-season inspection and assured us that he was (and now has) taking care of them. We are checking on this with a property visit on turn day and will follow up with the owner’s follow through! Please give us another chance on your next OBX vacation!?
Matt and Erin
Great week, great location.
Left on 07/04/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Matt and Erin
Wilder by the sea was a nice place. Very short walk to the beach. The beach itself was pretty amazing and not crowded at all.
Its also very close to shopping and restaurants. My wife and I had a wonderful time. My only complaint is that the gas barbecue was out of gas. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we appreciate both your time and the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for choosing Atlantic Realty for your accommodations. We regret any inconvenience that you may have experienced with the lack of gas for the grill. Please stay with us again on your next OBX vacation!
TOM AND KAY FROM PA
Good location but house is Desperlately in need of updates
Left on 04/04/2013 for a stay in September 2012 | TOM AND KAY FROM PA
Appliances were old, fixtures like ceiling fans did not work, beds were so hard you could not sleep on them. I have stayed in the outer banks several time and this is by far the worse house I have ever rented Read more
Thank you for your post, however we regret the issues that you experienced with this property! We do encourage our owners to update and maintain their properties…so unfortunate that you were disappointed. Please give us another opportunity on your next OBX vacation!
Left on 07/25/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Kim
Unfortunately, this years vacation was not as pleasant as usual due to issues from the get go...
(1) We stopped by the Duck office at 3:20PM to check status of the house. We were told "if you didn't get a text, then I guess your house isn't ready". We drove past the house at 3:42PM only to watch the cleaning girls just arrive. We left.
(2) While waiting for our "text", I decided to check my home (in pa) voicemail. There was a message at 4:10PM stating there was a problem with the house. Why would you leave a message at my home # in pa, 8 hours away, especially since I have provided my cell phone # several times & you knew we were already at the Duck Office??
(3) Reported oven did not work, took 3 days to be resolved.
(4) Reported washing machine did not work, took 6 days to have maintanence back with the parts (but we left before it was fixed).
(5) As I listed on the checkout form, the only way we got status was if we called the office, noone followed up with us. There was no apologizes for being inconvenienced. There was no "sense of urgency" in getting these issues resolved. I realize you need to rely on service vendors to complete the tasks, however, we are contracted to you, not them & therefore, it is up to you to manage/escalate to them.
(6) As I mentioned to Brenda, I immediately noticed & appreciated the new furniture & that the storage closet was cleaned up (although the old dining table takes up the majority of the space). The house is perfect for our small family, we love the location, etc...It just wasn't as pleasant due to the issues listed above. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we value both your time and the feedback. It seems that we fell short of providing the excellent customer service to which we are acustom...we apologize to you for the inconveniences that you experienced, and even though there was some monetary compensation extended, I do understand your frustration! Please give us another chance to earn your confidence on a future OBX vacation!?
Its always Wilder by the Sea!
I can't wait for next year!!
Left on 06/28/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Its always Wilder by the Sea!
This was our second year renting this property. Very affordable and close to the beach, however, being the first to rent for the season (I believe), we run into multiple repairs needed. Atlantic Realty does a good job getting the repairs solve asap. I would have rated "comfort" excellent but the beds are too firm but that's common with most rentals. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do regret the repair issues that you experienced, but thanks for bringing them to our attention so that we could resolve them. We hope that you will rent from Atlantic Realty for your next vacation!
Left on 10/09/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | DISAPPOINTED
WHEN WE FIRST ARRIVED, WE HAD TO CLEAN THE WHOLE
KITCHEN. THERE WAS MOUSE EXCREMENT ALL OVER THE
COUNTER AND STOVE AREA. THE REFRIGERATOR DOOR WAS
EXTREMELY LOOSE AND MADE IT DIFFICULT TO OPEN. WE
WERE TO STAY FROM SUNDAY UNTIL SATURDAY AND HAD TO
LEAVE ON THURSDAY MORNING SINCE WE NOTICED WATER
DRIPPING FROM THE DOWNSTAIRS BATHROOM DOORWAY. THE
FLOOR WAS ALSO WET UPSTAIRS ALMOST DIRECTLY ABOVE
THE WET FLOOR DOWNSTAIRS. WE LEFT BECAUSE WE KNEW
THEY WOULD NEED TO REALLY DELVE INTO THE PROBLEM
AND WE DID NOT WANT TO BE THERE WHILE REPAIRS WERE
BEING MADE. WE EXPLAINED THIS TO THE REALITY
COMPANY AND INSTEAD OF OFFERING TO GIVE US A
DISCOUNT THEY MADE US FEEL THAT WE WERE AT FAULT
FOR NOT STAYING WHILE THE INVESTIGATED THE PROBLEM.
NEEDLESS TO SAY WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING.
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.