Nestled among the Carolina Pines and live oak trees of the maritime forest of Corolla, you'll find the comfort and serenity most can only dream about for your vacation in Waterlieu. With a private pool, game room and large screen HDTV, you won't have to worry about keeping the kids entertained. This charmingly decorated home is across the street from Crystal Lake and it's just around the corner from the community pool, tennis courts and fitness center (nominal fee). There's plenty of decking to enjoy the beauty of nature and it's a short stroll to one of Corolla's prettiest beaches. Waterlieu will exceed your expectations for the perfect... vacation getaway. Distance to the beach: Approximately 695 yardsAmenities Include: Cen. AH, RO, MW, DW, 2 RF (1 w/ IM), W/D, 48" HDTV w/ surround sound, 7 DVDs, 4 VCRs, high speed wireless, private pool (14x24), hot tub, community pool, community tennis, community fitness center (at a nominal fee), nature trails, game room, foosball, two gas grills, highchair, 2 pack and plays, Enc. OS, wet bar, furnished decks, covered deck.Ground Level: Enc. OS, Private pool, Covered entrance, Game Room/Media Room with pool access and Foosball, 48" HDTV w/ Theater sound system, RF, Wet bar w/ MW, Full bath w/ tub shower, Bunk Room with two sets of bunks.Level 1: K Room w/ deck access, TV w/ VCR/DVD shares full bath with Tub shower and dual basin sink w/ Q room has TV w/VCR/DVD, Twin room w/ TV/DVD/VCR shares bath w/ dual basin sink and shower stall w/ Q room with deck access, hall w/ deck access and laundry closet w/ W/D; Hot Tub on deck.Level 2: K Master suite w/ private bath w/ jet tub and shower stall and TV w/ separate DVD player, Powder Room, Great Room, TV w/ DVD, Dining area w/ seating for 8 w/ access to screened porch, counter w/ seating for 4, kitchen w/ pantry, RO, MW, DW, RF w/ IM. AM/FM 5-CD Stereo.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, tennis, hometown hero discount, floor plans available, military discount.Read more
Left on 09/19/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Andrews' family
The home is in a very nice neighborhood with two community pools, a play ground, and tennis courts. The cleaning crew needs to take a little more time to clean the top of fridge and get down cobwebs. The main level air return was black and needed cleaning. Trees have overgrown private pool, so the pool was too cold to use and pine needles were all in the pool. It was apparent pool had not been cleaned because of the sand in the bottom. One area around the pool had turned black from lack of sunlight and needed power washing. Someone needs to go by the home on the day of check in and tear down all spider webbing. This home is surrounded by trees and in North Carolina that does lead to spider issues. The kitchen had very small ants on counter. I did not call to issue a complaint on pool or insect issues because of a small child in home. Also the "midges" (looks similar to fruit flys)were really bad. I thank the homeowners for sharing their vacation home with us and hope this review is helpful to them for future rentals.
Ready To Go Back !
Left on 08/08/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Corlett/Rigsby Family
Our family has gone to OBX for 22 years now. This year we invited some family who were coming down for the first time so we wanted to show then why we love it so much. The house was nice and in close proximity to the beach, A 3 min drive or 10 min walk. The private beach parking area is very nice.
You can also take a 20 min walk to the Corrolla light house or ice cream shop. House had nice large bedromms and beds. The Master has a large jacuzzi tub which my wife loved. The kids liked and lived in the large hang out area on the bottom floor which included a 60 inch big screen TV. The Kitchen and Great Room area area are good for hanging out. Our only complaint is the large number of spider webs and spiders that hung by all the door entrances and even worst in the outdoor shower. No one wanted to take a shower outside with all the spider webs. We also had trouble with the Hot Tub when we got there but the realator was able to dispatch someone to fix it quicly. Tee pool is nice but is shaded from about 3 pm on. All and all we really liked the house but could do without all our 8 legged friends.
Good inside...poor outside
Left on 07/24/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Ninja
I am not one to complain normally, and I usually roll my eyes at bad reviews...but now I'm on the other end...we arrived on Saturday evening after a long day of traveling and found the inside of the home to be good, clean enough, plenty of space to spread out, and a very well stocked kitchen with more than we expected. However, the outside of the house was pretty bad. The pool area and deck areas were all dirty with sticks and dirt and more spider webs and spiders than I've ever seen in my life. There were 2 deck areas on the front of house that couldn't be used because one had a hornets nest and the other was dirty. The outdoor shower was disgusting, couldn't be used we opened and then quickly closed the door. I wrote an email right away to inquire about whether someone could come help us out with that. The next day someone responded saying they were sending that message to the maintenance dept. The following afternoon after not hearing anything, some of our guests decided to go clean the area by the pool up at least, only to find that 3 out of the 4 lounge chairs were broken. One of our guests sat on one unaware of the crack and actually cut herself. So I decided not to wait for the maintenance dept to contact us, and I called them and spoke with a woman who was less than thrilled to offer any assistance, had no apology, and said "I'll see what I can do about getting new chairs". We never heard another word until Friday when someone showed up with new chairs...the last day we were there. Lastly, I realize there are spiders in NC, but it seemed as though no attempt was made to clear any webs from anywhere around the house, and that made for hot tubbing or swimming or sitting outside at night very hard, as no matter which way we looked there were webs and spiders. I dont think I've ever given a bad review for a place I've stayed, but I really feel its important for future guests to be aware before deciding to book here. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/15/2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on this home and your vacation experience. Resort Realty does appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service and our homes. The owner of this home will also be made aware of your comments so that he may take your suggestions into consideration. I am so disappointed to hear that you did not receive top notch customer service as this is always what we strive for at Resort Realty. We have addressed this issue with our maintenance department.
We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
Waterlieu Hot Tub
Left on 07/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Don Lutz
House & location were great. Weather was overcast from Sat- Wed morning so no beach. But we wanted to use the Hot Tub but was 75 degrees. Called Sat after checkin and left message. Called Sunday again and left message in morning. Your message said someone will call in an hour. Called Monday morning and the girl said it's the first they heard of it and she put in a work order. Pool company was great. Was fixed Monday afternoon. Just upset because when we really needed something to enjoy during the bad weather, we couldn't. House was good, service was poor. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/01/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, "Waterlieu". We are indeed sorry your vacation was not as pleasant as it should have been because of the issue with the hot tub. Thanks again, and we hope you will give Resort Realty another opportunity to assist in your future vacation needs.
Great home in relaxing area
Left on 07/03/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | J
The house was perfect for our family - not too large, not too small. The location in Corolla was very relaxing. Not alot of traffic since it is so far north. Great parking at the beach was always available. We have been home 4 days and already planning our next trip. Resort Realty is a great company. Very friendly satff and always will to go the extra mile.
Brimfield Twp, Ohio
Nice House but needs taken care of and cleaned...
Left on 09/06/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | csemonin
We had early Check in at 1pm - Some of our party arrived early and were waiting...Housekeeping came at 12:15-12:30 to clean a 6 Bedroom home... Kitchen and Baths were clean... Not Bedspreads, and find it hard to clean an entire home thourghly from someone elses mess in less than 30 min... No outlets worked in master bath or adjoining bath on 2nd floor.. Spiders everywhere including bed and we had a one year old... Air conditioning did not work on 2nd floor half way threw week... Plenty of dishes-- Only one frying pan to cook for 14 people??? Two gas grills neither had propane..and when we got some... neither worked ... Very dirty on deck and screened in porch... Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/25/2012
Thank you for your taking the time to post a review. Waterlieu is a lovely home, and the owners are very caring about their house and your stay. However, I feel the need to clarify some issues. We have a tracking system for our Houskeeping Department that must be phoned in from the house phone. We show on your arrival day we had 2 cleaners clock in at 12:13pm and clocked out at 1:14 pm, that is the equivilent to 2 hours of cleaning. I believe who you saw in that time was an inspector checking for damages. It is very hard to launder bedspreads during turnover but will take that into consideration and suggest that owners supply a second spread in the event one needs to be laundered or dry cleaned. I do not have any record of receiving any complaints or work orders being entered during your stay. We would have been happy to purchase frying pans, and send someone out to take care of the gas grills, the outlets in the 2 bathrooms, which may have been a gfi tripped. We haven't had anyone report those issues to date since. The spiders have been abundant this summer from the heat and especially being located in a treed area. I do apologize about the screened porch and deck and have forwarded the information to the housekeeping department to remind the cleaners those areas are their responsibility as well. Please keep in mind for your next visit whether it be through us or another company to call with issues and problems. We are happy to assist as it is not our intention for you to have a bad experience. We want our guests to want to come back. Again, thank you for booking with Resort Realty, and we hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
Left on 07/12/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | John Balcerek
Very nice house, great location. Kitchen is very well equiped but could use on more large pot and a few tea towels. Some of the pool furniture is broken and needs replaced. A few cheap beach items would have been a plus. Had 1 call to maintainence and 1 to housekeeping, both were taken care of very quickly. Over all it was a very good rental.
Best rental house ever
Left on 06/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Tanya
We love the quite neighborhood and the local was fantastic. The bedrooms are positioned perfectly. Screened in porch was very nice the kids loved to eat dinner out there. The pool was great in the afternoon. The only thing I would say that could be better and it may have nothing to do with the house and everything to do with the cleaning crew the doorways are covered in spiderwebs and te ceiling of the screened in porch was covered in old and new spiderwebs. This house is definitely worth the drive. The parking lots to the community pools and beach access always had available parking. All in all we are renting this house again and we have never rented a house twice but we have found our favorite. I hope everyone else enjoys this house as much as we did and thanks to the owners for having such and amazing house with a fully stocked kitchen.
Best value in Corolla
Left on 10/19/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | coryjh
For the money you can't beat this house. Very nice home, in a nice community.
Rocky Mount, NC
Left on 10/05/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Jennifer
Check in was easy, they house was relatively clean
Virginia Beach, VA
Great time for all
Left on 07/20/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Kathy
This is a lovely house with plenty of room for more than one family. The separate gameroom with enormous TV downstairs was wonderful for the kids. The kitchen is stocked well with dishes, pots, etc. The beach is wide, which isn't the case in all parts of the outer banks. We wished we could have stayed for a month! thank you
Mentor, Ohio (Northern)
Very pleasant, relaxing and quiet area for my husband and I.
Left on 06/23/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Bet
The house was comfortable and homey. Adult children prefer to be closer to the beach and a larger pool. Other than that I would return. The house could use some extras - beach accessories, bikes etc.
Left on 06/09/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | starieyed00
House was very nice. We had trouble with the spiders and ants. But from what i remember the sound side is usally like that.
we do have 2 suggestions for the house. If you could paint the last step of the pool and ghe seat a different color. I don't know how many times we stubbed our toes on it. And if there were more spoons, that would be great!
Thanks for a great stay at the OBX!!
had a great time, loved by all
Left on 09/22/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | jeemom
The house was very comfortable as far as the amount of people we had in it. We never felt it was cramped even though every bed was filled. Lots for the kids to do b/w the pool and game room. The beds were uncomfortable - very hard. The house was not well cleaned at all. I would highly recommend a better cleaning crew. It's makes a big impression on families coming in. There were fruit flies all over - coming out of sinks etc... Cobwebs and major dust on chandilier above table - walls with dirt marks - outside shower etc... just generally could have been a lot cleaner with little effort. But overall, we enjoyed the house.
Left on 08/06/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | benners
we loved the house, we enjoyed the pool, really liked the location, the beach was beautiful.. am hard pressed to think of anything we'd have differently, and only thing that comes to mind is the window shades in our master bedroom did not block sunlight in early morning, so we hung towels to block to allow ourselves to snooze longer during vacation, but this is a silly thing to ask the homeowner to change!
Left on 07/31/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Johnston Family
Location was wonderful. House was wonder. Acsess to several activity.
East Hartford CT
Very nice stay
Left on 07/14/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Howard
We have been comming OBX for many years now as a group and our experince this year was yet again a very pleasant one. Resort did a nice job meeting our expectations and this particular property was in very good shape, clean, and comfortable for us.
Left on 06/24/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Debbie
We truly enjoyed the home we stayed in. Waterleiu provided us with all the comforts of home. Villages of Ocean Hill is our favorite community to stay in. We enjoy the permanent residents there who run the pools and the fitness center. The accomodations are great! All we could hope for!
Left on 05/12/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Dale
We had a wonderful and fun filled week in the OBX. This was a vacation for our son , daughter-in-law, and twin 3 year old grandchildren. The day we returned home our son had to leave for Mozambique, Africa, as he is a missionary there. Our daughter-in-law and grandchildren will be going there in 2 weeks.This was a wonderful week to spend with them before they go to Africa. We had an additional couple stay with us that are great friends of our family.We all did many activities together, and also individually, as there are many varied interesting things to do in the OBX. Thank you for this time our family and friends had together.
Left on 04/30/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | Copeland Family
This was a nice home away from home. The bedrooms were a nice size. The kids had fun playing the games in the house. The location was about 25 minutes away from the main road/highway. We really enjoyed the house and we would come back.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.