No Place Like Home
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
"There's No Place Like Home" is how we want you to feel in our terrific home near the ocean. Enjoy ocean, sound, and lighthouse views from 2nd and 3rd level decks. Practice your culinary wizardry in the fully stocked kitchen. The personal touches enhance a quiet retreat from town traffic and crowds. Active vacationers can play tennis or work out at the health club across the street. While munchkins can follow the yellow brick road to the beach! Either of 2 community pools, or simply step outside to the home's private solar heated pool. This house is in the Village of Ocean Hills in the Corolla area.Top level: Features a spacious King MBR a...Read more
No Place Like Home
Corolla, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,050 - $3,175||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - May. 10 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|May. 11 2013 - May. 17 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - May. 24 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||-||$2,175||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$2,450||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 5 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 13 2013 - Jul. 19 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 20 2013 - Jul. 26 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 27 2013 - Aug. 2 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 3 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Sep. 13 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 14 2013 - Sep. 20 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 21 2013 - Sep. 27 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 28 2013 - Oct. 4 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 5 2013 - Oct. 11 2013||-||$1,675||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 12 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||-||$1,050||-||7 nights|
|View all 24 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
The pool was dirty and water level was low, hot tub was noticeably slanted and water level was low.
I had to use the hose to wash off the entire concrete patio outside of the pool area due to a thick layer of sand
There were two empty propane tanks and no way to use the grill - There was a large pile of ash and debris below the charcoal grill that had to been there for a while
no Lights were available outside for the pool we received two 60 watt bulbs to take place of the actual flood lights with a promise that they would return with proper lights (never happened)
The inside of the basement floor had sand all over it including part of the carpet
The bath was not properly washed and had some dirt in it still, the vent in the bottom floor bathroom did not work either
There was sheets marked "queen" folded up just laying in the middle of the floor.
Burners on the oven in back did not work
Oven itself did not work and was a large issue with our cooking needs We had no way to properly cook our meals due to no charcoal, propane, or a working oven, How do you rent a house to someone and advertise a kitchen of any sort and not have a way to properly cook? (someone came out to fix them on monday and only managed to fix a single burner had to come back out on Wednesday to fix it. So it took to midweek of our stay to get a properly working kitchen and we finally got propane on Thursday hours after we were told we would get it.
Throughout The House
There was a plethora of burnt out bulbs through the entire house. We had lamps that never worked due to no bulbs ever being in them. We had vanity bulbs forced into a light fixture that wasn't meant for them and it actually left a dark black ring around the bulbs which made me wonder how they got them in there without breaking them and grateful we removed them before something happened. There was also a complete lack of hand towels through the entire house.
Response from Outer Banks Blue - 07/23/2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at "No Place Like Home." Unfortunately the homeowner and Outer Banks Blue do have to rely on outside vendors such as pool and spa professionals to prepare this area of the house, and it seems as though they did not meet your expectations.
In terms of the lights burned out at the property as you indicated you did let us know about some bulbs being burned out and we dispatched a maintenance man the same day you called. He replaced some bulbs that had burned out in various spots around the property, and indeed the bulbs that were put in the outside lights were appropraite for the fixtures there.
We did also dispatch an appliance repair man to the home to rectify the oven issue that you outlined. There were no problems found with the burners - they were working properly, although one of the four bake elements in the oven did need replacement. We apologize for the inconvenience, but as you may know these are individually owned homes and repairs are needed from time to time. Sometimes those repairs occur duing a guests stay.
Finally with regard to the linens you may not have been aware that the queen sheets that were there were for a sleep sofa. The sheets were wrapped in plastic and placed on the sofa. We suspect someone may have put them on the floor. We do provide one bath towel per person one wash cloth per person and a hand towel for each sink in the property. The beds are of course made prior to your arrival too and all of this is done at no extra charge. We do offer extra linen packages to our guests at additional expense which we will be sure our future guests are aware of.
Thanks again Mr. Derrick for pointing out these shortcomings on the service of your rental of this property. We will endeavor to do better in the future and we look foward to serving you again soon.
All the best from the beach!
King George, VA
Outer Banks Blue Customer Service Took a Vacation!!!
Our extended family all gathers 1x per year for an old fashioned family vacation! In spite of Hurricane Irene's arrival the week before we all headed down to OBX and were delighted to find "No Place Like Home" intact and ready for us. Our excitement ended there. The fridge was not cold when we arrived. Upon calling OBX Blue they indicated it had been off and needed time to cool. Afer unpacking everyone headed to the pool and hot tub. We were dismayed to find the pool cold as the free solar heated pool was one reason we choose the house. The hot tub was gross - it stunk and had a greyish foam on top. Some of our group braved the water to find that it immediately made them itch and sting. Again we called the rental company. We were told the pool company would come out for the tub - but not to use it til then. Additionally we were told that the heated pool wouldn't be turned on until 10 September though many other OBX blue adds state that the ad for this house does Not. The pool was much too cold for the little ones in our group .The following day the fridge was still not cool.Another call - another excuse - this time we were told we had improperly set the thermostat. The following day - still not cool - many more calls and we were given one excuse after another.We finally purchased a thermometer and found that the fridge was clearly in the danger zone! Needless to say our storage of perishables in coolers was wise. On day 3 someone finally came out to take a temperature reading on the fridge and informed us that our thermometer was "wrong" the following day a repairman did arrive and repair the fridge and did confirm it was not working. That same day we finally got a visit from the pool company who cleared the hot tub up and confirmed that the solar system on the pool does not work. Overall, we paid $2,000 for a house where we stored our food in coolers, and couldn't use the pool or hot tub for the first 3 days of our trip.Obx Blue this was an epic Fail!
Response from Outer Banks Blue - 10/04/2011
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with "No Place Like Home" and the refrigerator and pool. There obviously was a miscommunication as the refrigerator was never purposefully off. There were intermmittant power outtages in the area, but those were solved well before your arrival. We did in fact send a repair man to the property to check the fridge and there actually never was a problem with the refrigerator as the vendor who went to the property indicated that the freezer was at proper temperature and the same motor controls the freezer that also cools the fridge. The repair man indicated that the door just needed to be left closed.
The website does indeed state that pools are not heated until the week of 9/15 and we are sorry there was confusion on that. The temperatures were extremely warm during your week here so we hope that was only a minor inconvenience for your party.
This property is a wonderful house with a great location and views so we trust that you do feel the amount paid was indeed a great value for this home.
Sorry your expectations were not met in this instance.
All the best from the beach!
Best vacation ever!
We booked this place to celebrate our Dad's 80th birthday as well as a family reunion. We were all in agreement that this was the most awesome vacation we've ever had. The house was gorgeous and clean, beautifully decorated, plenty of room, the kitchen was fully stocked with enough dishes and silverware to feed 3 times as many people, as well as all the main appliances (mixer, coffee maker, even a crock pot). The pool was just the right size. Bring your own rafts and pool toys or you can buy some in one of the many stores by the Food Lion. Even the weather was perfect. It was the first time any of us had been to the Outer Banks and Corolla is the perfect place. It's the farthest north destination on the Outer Banks so there is less traffic, less crowds, and gorgeous beaches. The lighthouse is in Corolla, there is a Fod Lion 4 miles south for all your grocery needs along with plenty of souvenir shops, and an awesome pizza joint right there around the corner from the house. It's true that it looks like you can get to the beach by going across the back yard when you look online but you can't. You have to walk (or drive) a short distance to the beach access. It's not too bad--we always walked. The road ends about a half mile away and you can drive your vehicle right onto the beach! If your timing is right, you can even see the wild horse on the beach. As for the traffic coming in and going out, yes, there is because all the houses check in and out on Saturdays. But if you arrive early and hang out at the beach or the park, you can avoid the traffic coming in and if you leave even an hour early, you can avoid the bad traffic leaving. We did. We are going back for Mom's 80th birthday!!!
Very nice location
This location was perfect. The area was quiet, it was close to shopping, yet
it was not in the busiest area of the Outer Banks. The house is not beach
front, but we did not mind that. It was only a couple blocks' walk to the
beach. It had a nice view of the ocean and the lighthouse. The pool seemed
small at first, but it's actually quite large for the neighborhood and was
perfect for our family. The house itself is very nice. There was plenty of
room, the kitchen was well stocked with appliances etc, and the master bath
had a huge tub and shower. I only had a couple of minor complaints. The
patio furniture at the pool and on the decks was cheap plastic, and frankly
with a house of this expense one would expect better. Half the chairs were
broken and the other half were just plain filthy. One of the bathrooms on
the second floor, although clean, smelled like a public restroom. We did not
use that bathroom at all because of it. Finally, it is normal for a beach
house to have a musty first floor in the middle of August, but I would
expect at least a dehumidifier to cut it back. The rec room was so damp
and musty I gave up on the pool table after the first night. I have allergies
so I probably noticed it more than others would. I am probably pickier than
Marylander's firt time to Outer Banks
Loved the house, very nice, well layed out and had everything you could want. Liked that it was so close to the beach, close enough to markets and stores, but far enough away for a nice peaceful vacation, the beaches in Corolla are very nice, they are wide and not crowded at all. Plenty of things to do , kids loved the pool at night, and me and my son enjoyed the den, we would play pool and watch Espn on the big screeen at night. Kitchen was nice and the Great Room was a nice place to relax in the evenings, enjoyed our vacation there alot and would recommend this house and location to anyone.
Great Family Vacation
Our family (all 15 of us) have been coming to OBX for 17 years. This was our first venture into Ocean Hills, and we loved it! We had been at Corolla Resort, but found it was getting more and more crowded :(
We loved the house. It was much better equipped than any house we rented that we could remember. We loved that we could all be in the common area and it wasn't crazy crowded. The kids loved the gameroom and the layout in general. We had two problems in the kitchen which we called about and were addressed within hours-- great service there. We have parents that have walking issues, so the distance to the beach was a bit of a bummer, but the lot helped with that.
ellicott city, maryland
great house, a slight trek to the beach
first, i will say that the house was great! this is our 12th year in the outer banks and we've stayed in some great houses and some not so great - this was on the great side of the spectrum! truly, a very comfortable house, perfect size for two families (could certainly accommodate three families), wonderful pool area (had pook deck room to move!), very well maintained, great decks for outdoor reading, clean, well equipped kitchen, wireless internet, etc. we just didn't realize that in the villages of ocean hill you do not have easy access to the beach. you do have to walk a few blocks (depending on where you are) or pack the car and drive to one of two parking areas with voh beach access. the map made it appear that you could cut through the court in back of the house and beach access was at the end of the court. there are rest room facilities and a community pool (and ice cream!) at the beach access area, which was nice - and you can rent an umbrella there. overall - a wonderful value for the outer banks!
We have been to many beaches and I think we all agreed this was the best. The house was awesome. We didn't miss the boardwalk of other beaches because it was great to come back to the house and have everything we needed after a day at the beach. It was awesome that we could leave all our stuff on the beach from day to day and know that it would still be there! Pool was great as was the hot tub. Plenty of space inside for everyone to spread out and enjoy themselves! I will say for people who want to be in more of the action they probably wouldn't want to stay in Corolla, because it's a ways to travel to get to the more touristy attractions!
This house was great. Just wish it was more convenient to get to the beach. Everything was clean and it accommodated the 16 of us. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the rec room. The 3 floors gave us the privacy we needed.
We held our 2009 reunion at this house and we were quite satisified. The house location was very close to many local sites (lighthouse, bike paths, 4x4 beaches, shopping, etc.) and had plently of space for our whole family (17 of us). The property was clean with gret views and was well maintained. The Property Management Co. was very responsive to any problems we had and was professional in dealing with any problems.
I enjoyed having both non-motorized and 4x4 beaches within a mile of the property. It made enjoying the beaches and ocean very easy.
I didn't enjoy the additional traffic encountered when arriving or leaving. Having to drive through Duck 25mph-35mph was painfully slow. Perhaps they'll get that other bridge in one day!
This was our first time at the Outer Banks. This house was
fabulous. I loved being able to see the Lighthouse and at this time
they had it lite for Christmas. The ocean every morning was a
wonderful view and walk. We will be back again and enjoyed our
stay at the great house. thanx
No Place Like Home Review
Although we have not stayed in this house for over a year, we had stayed in this house 2 years in a row for Memorial Day weekend. We enjoyed our stay each time and have made recommendations to others. We would stay in this house again. The only complaint we probably have is that the outside pool area and decking is always kind of dirty and has a lot of cobwebbs, etc. We always end up hosing it all down at the beginning of our stay.
poor response to feedback
We stay in Corolla every year and up until 2008 we were always very satisfied. This year the house was not as clean as one would expect upon arrival. Their was blood on the toilet and hair in the showers. We called immediately and the rental company did send someone to clean the next day (of course we had already cleaned it because we needed to use the bathroom). I was dishearted that I never spoke with anyone from the actual rental company of Outer Banks Blue, only 2 teenager girls who arrived the next morning to clean. A follow up call or response to previously filled out survey would have been nice. I have used other rental companies in the area and had much better customer service from them. We won't be booking again with OOB.
Response from Outer Banks Blue - 09/28/2008
Thank you for letting us know of your concerns in this survey.
We apologize that the bathroom was not cleaned properly, and we were under the impression that the issue was resolved.
It is our policy to follow up on every call, and I do not know why there was no contact on this matter.
We look foward to serving you better in the future.
All the best from the beach!
escape from the grind for a little while
We spent a week at this wonderful getaway over Thanksgiving. It was a great escape from what hassles you. The temperature was great, we were in shorts everyday.
The beach is just a few steps away. The master bedroom with its wall full of windows made me feel lost in the luxury.
Well worth every penny.
Lori and Ed
Camp Hill PA
Truly Feels Like Home
We would highly recommend this home to anyone. The photos don't truly do it justice. It seemed like much more than a rental. Everything that we needed was available. The pool was an awesome bonus, especially on a moonlit night. We spent our 4th of July evening, sipping drinks and soaking in the hot tub - while incredible fireworks lit up our view of the Currituck Lighthouse. The beach was a very short, enjoyable walk away. After spending time at other northern beaches, the Corolla beach was a breath of fresh air. We weren't packed in with other beach goers, didn't have to be bombarded with the music or the loud conversations of others. We had incredible views of the sunrise and sunset, had access to tennis courts and a gym, and took full advantage of the Whalehead Club grounds and new museum/visitor center. The only suggestion would be to make this a Sunday to Sunday rental as the Saturday traffic is a major stress inducer.
Beautiful Home. Relaxing Vacation
A great, spacious house with lots of amenities. There was plenty of room for 13 people (10 adults and three children). The pool was always inviting, the hot tub blissful, and the views wonderful.
The beach wasn't as close as we thought and the public access was about a 8-10 minute walk, with beach accessories. If you plan to spend time at the beach bring a cart and load it up with everything you need including drinks.
We enjoyed a night walk to the beach and saw lots of crabs scurrying about at dusk. The shops and stores were within driving distance.
We highly recommend this house for a fun-filled and relaxing vacation.
A Comfortable Stay
The House was beautiful, tastefully decorated, warmly furnished, and quite large! The Great Room was spacious and comfortable, with a good color scheme, and great windows. The Dining Area was large, and tasteful, and very welcoming. The Kitchen was very spacious, although the appliances weren’t the best. They worked fairly well though, and they were very clean. The Master Bedroom was very comfortable, and had a nice view of the pool area, the adjoining bathroom was clean, and had a nice shower. The Second level had 4 very nice bedrooms, the two connected to the spacious balcony on it were very nice, because you could open the door, and hear the ocean. The bedroom with the bunk beds had fun and colorful bedspreads, and it was nice that it had a TV with a VCR and some classic movies. The Bottom level was smart, the pool table proved to be quite fun, the pool sticks weren’t great, but they served their purpose well. The bedroom down there was comfortable, and the bathroom had a nice shower. The living area down there was nice for conversation, and for watching movies. The refrigerator proved very useful for drinks and stuff to take to the beach. The location was pretty good, and the walk to the beach was only about a minute long, which was quite excellent, because it let you walk back and forth between the house and beach when it got too hot, or for meals. Overall, the house was excellent, and a joy to stay in.